Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Associated American Artists
Title:	Associated American Artists Galleries Records
Dates:	1916-1974
Quantity:	4 linear ft.
Abstract:	The Associated American Artists Galleries Records comprises articles, clippings, exhibition catalogs, photographs and promotional material pertaining to the general history of the organization, the individual artists it represented, and promotions for various clients. Originally housed in 27 scrapbooks, the documents have been removed and placed in folders for archival preservation.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Associated American Artists is an art gallery and business established in 1934 in New York City by Reeves Lewenthal. It focused on popularizing and marketing fine art prints to the middle classes.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Clippings, exhibition catalogs, and photographs pertaining to the organization's history and to specific artists including Howard Baer (1941-1946); Thomas Hart Benton (1939-1946); Arbit Blatas (1943-1951); Aaron Bohrod (1939-1942); John Steuart Curry (1942-1947); Adolf Dehn (1941-1948); George Grosz (1941-1950); Joe Jones (1942-1948); Luigi Lucioni (1939-1951); Grant Wood (1935-1950), and others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Artists contains material relating to Howard Baer, Thomas Hart Benton, Arbit Blatas, Aaron Bohrod, John Steuart Curry, Adolf Dehn, George Grosz, Joe Jones, Luigi Lucioni, and Grant Wood.

Clippings and exhibition catalogs document the Association's History - General, including print sales and Stonelain Pottery projects, client promotions for American Tobacco Company, Lowenstein, Ohrbachs, and Riverdale as well as promotional material for the gallery.

Catalogs contains catalogs for prints, etchings, lithographs, and gifts spanning nearly forty years, including sale catalogs, Patrons Supplements, Print Collector newslettter/catalog, and catalogs features individual artists.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Aaron Bohrod Papers, Luigi Lucioni Papers.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Associated American Artists Galleries Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

24 scrapbooks, gift of Archives of American Art, 1966.

All catalogs in Box 8, gift of Gibbes Museum of Art, 2010.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: Jul 1995
Revision history: 1 Jul 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 17 Apr 2013 - box number typo fixed (MBD); 26 Aug 2014 - catalogs added; bio updated (MRC); 12 May 2022 - Grant Wood original item identified (MRC); 23 May 2022 - Collection title changed (DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

	Artists
		Baer, Howard
Box 1			Articles
Box 1			Clippings
Box 1			Exhibition catalogs
		Benton, Thomas Hart
Box 1			Articles (4 folders)
Box 1			Clippings (7 folders)
Box 2			Exhibition catalogs (3 folders)
Box 2			Photographs
Box 2			Reproductions (4 folders)
		Blatas, Arbit
Box 2			Articles
Box 2			Clippings
Box 2			Exhibition catalogs
Box 2			Reproductions
		Bohrod, Aaron
Box 2			Articles
Box 2			Clippings
Box 2			Exhibition catalogs
Box 2			Reproductions
		Curry, John Steuart
Box 3			Articles
Box 3			Clippings
Box 3			Exhibition catalogs
Box 3			Reproductions
		Dehn, Adolf
Box 3			Articles
Box 3			Clippings
Box 3			Exhibition catalogs
Box 3			Reproductions
		Grosz, George
Box 3			Articles
Box 3			Clippings
Box 3			Exhibition catalogs
Box 3			Reproductions
		Jones, Joe
Box 4			Articles
Box 4			Clippings
Box 4			Exhibition catalogs
Box 4			Reproductions
		Lucioni, Luigi
Box 4			Articles
Box 4			Clippings
Box 4			Exhibition catalogs
Box 4			Reproductions
		Wood, Grant
Box 4			Articles
Box 4			Clippings
Box 4			Exhibition catalogs
Box 4			Original art 1940 - lithograph, signed and titled in pencil, lower margin; published by Associated American Artists for distribution by Abbott Laboratories
Box 4			Reproductions

	History - General
Box 5		Clippings (2 folders)
Box 5		Exhibition catalogs
		Projects
			Print sale
Box 5				Exhibition catalogs (3 folders)
Box 6				Reproductions
Box 6				Sample forms (2 folders)
			Stonelain Pottery
Box 6				Clippings (2 folders)
Box 6				Photographs
Box 6				Promotional materials (2 folders)
Box 7		Promotional material for gallery
		Promotions (by client)
			American Tobacco Company
Box 7				Promotional material
			Lowenstein
Box 7				Articles
Box 7				Clippings (2 folders)
Box 7				Promotional material
			Ohrbachs
Box 7				Promotional material
			Riverdale
Box 7				Articles
Box 7				Clippings (4 folders)
Box 7				Exhibition catalogs
Box 7				Photographs
Box 7		Sample forms

	Catalogs
Box 8		Collector's World 1979-1984, undated
Box 8		Gifts - sculpture, paintings, prints, pottery, etc.
Box 8		Individual artists - Milton Avery, Adolph Dehn, Richard Florsheim, Louis Lozowick, others
Box 8		Patrons Supplement 1940-1979, undated
Box 8		Price lists - typed price lists, no images
Box 8		Print Collector 1981-1983 - combination catalog and newsletter
Box 8		Sales catalogs
Box 8		Miscellaneous (2 folders)

Return to top