Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Actors' Equity Association. |
| Title: | Actors' Equity Association Correspondence |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1919-1928 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder, 38 items (SC) |
| Abstract: | Correspondence of actors, actresses, directors, producers, and playwrights, including that of Heywood Broun, Richard Carle, Sheldon Cheney, Ernest H. Culbertson, Dudley Digges, Kenneth MacGown, Josephine A. Meyer, Channing Pollock, Arthur Richman, Joseph Santley, Blanche Yurka, and others. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Actors' Equity Association is an American labor union that represents theater artists and stage managers. Although founded in 1913 it was not officially recognized as a labor union until it joined the America Federation of Labor in 1919 and undertook a successful strike. In 1955 it merged with the Chorus Equity Association.
Actors' Equity has a strong record of supporting its members impartially and without bias. The organization opposed segregation as early as the 1940s, and in the 1950s (unlike its sister organization the Screen Actors' Guild) Actors' Equity refused to participate in the McCarthy era blacklisting of stage and screen stars accused of "un-American activities." It assisted the founding of the National Endowment for the Arts (1960s), fought to preserve historic Broadway theatres (1970s), and has taken a central role in raising public awareness of HIV/AIDS.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Actors' Equity Association Correspondence consists of 38 pieces of correspondence. Actors represented include Heywood Broun, Kenneth MacGown, Channing Pollock, and others.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Actors' Equity Association Correspondence
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 23 Aug 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)