Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Beck, George A., 1908-1977.
Title:	George Beck Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1950-1969
Quantity:	24.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	American industrial designer. Collection includes notes, drawings, correspondence, reports, conference materials, public relations and marketing material, product data, slides, transparencies, models, and much more.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

George A. Beck (1908-1977) was an American industrial designer. He first worked for Montgomery Ward and then Sears Roebuck, but the majority of his career (more than thirty years, starting in 1934) was spent with General Electric.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Beck Papers includes notes, drawings, correspondence, reports, conference materials, public relations and marketing material, product data, slides, transparencies, models, and much more.

The collection has received minimal processing. The inventory that follows is a simple box list, and folders retain Beck's original labels and are in no particular order. Researchers are advised to read the entire inventory to ensure locating all relevant materials.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many noted industrial designers. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Beck Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from University Archives, 2000.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: University Archives
Date: 4 Aug 1994
Revision history: 22 May 2024 - box numbers updated in inventory (DF)

Return to top

Inventory

	Box list
Box 1		ICSID 1963-1967 (6 folders)
Box 1		Sketches
Box 1		Notebooks - general notes
Box 1		Drawings
Box 1		Personal 1951-1953 (3 folders)
Box 1		President
Box 1		Personal and personnel letter book 1948
Box 1		Personal 1950
Box 1		Personal and personnel letter book 1951-1952 (2 folders)
Box 1		Personal 1943-1947
Box 1		G.E., radios and radio-phonographs 1942 - presentation notebooks
Box 1		Appliance and merchandising department, appearance design
Box 1		G.E. marketing plans 1956
Box 1		G.E. cabinet data
Box 1		Combinations - cabinet drawings
		General Electric
Box 2			LMEE Johnson City
Box 2			Light military - sales promotion
Box 2			LMED office
Box 2			Missiles
Box 2			Representative sheets
Box 2			Capacitor department
Box 2			Military electronics, 1,2, & 3
Box 2			Radio and tv color proofs
Box 2			Washington headquarters
Box 2			Graphics and packaging
Box 2			Transmitter, mikes
Box 2		Industrial design organizational plans 1958
Box 2		ICSID
Box 2		IDI
Box 2		Photos of hill
Box 2		MDA
Box 2		Miscellaneous
Box 2		Negatives
Box 2		Oneida silver
Box 2		Optical display unit
Box 2		Presidential plaza
Box 2		Raytheon
Box 2		Telemax, Mason
Box 2		Sako
Box 2		Wescon
Box 3		IDSA Detroit 1967
Box 3		George Beck 1967-1968 (2 folders)
Box 3		IDSA administration - ethics, policy and re. correspondence
Box 3		Certification
Box 3		Miscellaneous committees and reports
Box 3		Education survey and council
Box 3		Executive committee, and board of directors minutes, reports, budgets
Box 3		Membership rosters, IDSA directory 1969
Box 3		IDSA membership
Box 3		IDSA publications
Box 3		Safety council
Box 3		IDSA surveys
Box 3		IDSA 'design notes' publication
Box 3		IDI correspondence 1964
Box 3		IDI 'date line' and miscellaneous publications
Box 3		IDI educational programs 1963
Box 3		IDI/ASID inter-society committee (merger)
Box 3		ASID/IDI 1964
		ICSID
Box 3			News bulletins
Box 3			Addresses
Box 3			Constitution, codes, resolutions, policy, ethics
Box 3			1957-1960 (4 folders)
Box 3			Paris 1963
Box 4		GAB comment
Box 4		General Electric, Bridgeport
Box 4		Locomotives
Box 4		Portraits
Box 4		G.B. graphics 11/69 - letterheads, cards, etc.
Box 4		G.B. stationery
Box 4		G.B. graphics
Box 4		Graphics completed
Box 4		Caz college IDSA
Box 4		ICSID Ibiza (International Conference of Industrial Designers) 1971
Box 4		Administration, general
Box 4		Wescon 1962
Box 4		Syracuse University
Box 4		Talk speeches
Box 4		Administration, speeches/papers
Box 4		LMEE, talks and speeches
Box 4		ID/articles/speeches, art center
Box 4		Syr March 1976
Box 4		Conference leadership
Box 4		Creativity as a process
Box 5		P.R. materials and promotion
Box 5		Design critique
Box 5		Limelight and various newsletters
Box 5		Merger
Box 5		News clippings
Box 5		Correspondence
Box 5		IDSA publications
Box 5		Miscellaneous publications
Box 5		General Electric portfolios
Box 5		L.M.M. Correspondence
Box 5		L.B. 3rd floor
Box 5		L.B. Minoa letters
Box 5		Monroe building, Costello, Cooney and Fearon
Box 5		L.B. Minoa sketches
Box 5		Albert's sketches
Box 5		White Towers, Washington
Box 5		Foamold brochure
Box 5		G.E. Intercom
Box 5		Glass frame display, Hommel
Box 5		Everson Museum
Box 5		Everson Museum information
Box 5		Eagan display table
Box 5		D.C.P.
Box 5		Kiosk
Box 5		Vanderbilt square signs
Box 5		Nebs, point of sale signs
Box 5		Chamber of commerce award
Box 5		1881 chest, Oneida ltd.
Box 5		Oneida silver, combination tv/ware tray
Box 5		Oneida ltd., melamine trays
Box 5		Oneida r & d
Box 5		U.N. Club
Box 5		George reprints
Box 5		Resume, G. Beck
Box 5		Miscellaneous published materials
Box 5		Slides
Box 6		A-G
Box 6		Anderson and Pickard
Box 6		Bernzomatic - color flame
Box 6		Bernzomatic - ceramic grill
Box 6		Bernzomatic development
Box 6		Bernzomatic annual report 1971
Box 6		CGT and Associates Inc. (communication growth technology)
Box 6		Car bumpers
Box 6		Eagan signs 2/71
Box 6		Eagan plaque
Box 6		Eagan/Kemper 1968-1970
Box 6		Kemper Eagan real estate
Box 6		Jerrold Electronics SDS keyboard encoder 1974
Box 6		Jerrold Sep 1974, Oct-Jan 1975
Box 6			Annual report
Box 6			ADTSG and compet
Box 6			To do
Box 6			1974, Jan-Aug (7 folders)
Box 6			1973, Mar-May (4 folders)
Box 6			Electronics 1973
Box 6			Oprints 1973
Box 6			Electronics 1972
Box 6		Kennedy Memorial
Box 6		Manlius Liquor Store
Box 6		Magnavox
Box 6		Ober-bull sketches
Box 6		PPS bulletin
Box 6		IDI 1963
Box 6		Oak Park High School Journal
Box 6		J. Van Heusen display
Box 6		The Rochester Story
Box 6		Design concepts
Box 6		Office product sketches
Box 6		Lincoln Bank/MONY
Box 6		Microelectronics symbol
Box 6		Foamold
Box 6		Graphics
Box 7		Syracuse, new bldg. 1980
Box 7		Syracuse, model update 1980
Box 7		King, Syracuse U. Library
Box 7		Auburn city model
Box 7		Comm. College
Box 7		MDA directory
Box 7		Central Syracuse display
Box 7		Upstate
Box 7		University Hill model
Box 7		University Hill display
Box 7		U. Hill corporation photos
Box 7		Old university hill area building drawings
Box 7		King and King
Box 7		Bristol sketches
Box 7		Brach. model Syracuse
		Pres. Plaza apt.
Box 7			Sketches
Box 7			Letters
Box 7			Notes
Box 7			Fountain
Box 7			Holstein space
Box 7			Sec'ty service space
Box 7		Onon. Community College
Box 7		Arthur's King of beef
Box 7		Arthur's time study
Box 7		Maxson, telefax
Box 7		Merchants
Box 7		Class interest
Box 7		S.U. Smith outlines
Box 7		Misc. notes
Box 7		Class outlines
Box 7		Oneida script
Box 7		Monday Nov. 30, 1970
Box 7		Oneida display
Box 7		Oneida display unit
		Oneida
Box 7			Tray #179
Box 7			Graphics
Box 7			Chest research and study
Box 7			Trays and chests stain flatware storage
Box 7		MDA brochure 1969
Box 7		Hazeltine Corp
Box 7		Unit span
Box 7		Human factors
Box 7		Human engineering
Box 7		Standards and v.e.
Box 7		Industrial design standards engineering
Box 7		MDA II type
Box 7		Dept. of City Planning, Syracuse
Box 8		Story board
		IDSA
Box 8			Design dialogue 3
Box 8			[Miscellaneous] 1971-1974
Box 8			Pocono
Box 8		Design study program
Box 8		IBA march
Box 8		Patents
Box 8		Office misc.
Box 8		Dui
Box 8		Stearns and wheeler
Box 8		Aw meeting/text
Box 8		Oneida, Bob Reed, kitchen sys.
Box 8		Jerrold 1975-1976
Box 8		Remote control unit
Box 8		Ideas DMM
Box 8		Resume
Box 8		Potential
Box 8		Phlander, Corning toaster
Box 8		Weekly day timer 1972-1973
Box 8		Safeway verticar, notes
Box 8		Fire rescues
		Safeway verticar
Box 8			Sketches
Box 8			Brochure/photos
Box 8			Clippings
Box 8			Newsprint and comments
Box 8		Hi-rise fire info.
Box 8		Alivator
Box 8		Oman engines
Box 8		Safeway verticar June 1975
Box 8		Fire June 1975
Box 8		Towering inferno
Box 8		Advertising
Box 8		Aircraft and early George Beck
Box 8		Art Center College
Box 8		Automobiles
Box 8		G.E. Avionic
Box 8		G.E. SST presentation design
Box 8		G.E. Optical display unit
Box 8		F-S optical sight model redesign
Box 8		Design awards
Box 8		Dwight enterprises
Box 8		Jerrold
Box 9		Photographs and color transparencies
Box 10		Beck's label, 'miscellaneous, correspondence, clients'
Box 10		Arthur's K. Beef
Box 10		Cazenovia College
Box 10		Chamber of Commerce
Box 10		Costello, Cooney and Fearon
Box 10		Digney, Marion
Box 10		Eagan Real Estate
Box 10		Edwards, Lincoln
Box 10		5-9 shop, OCSB
Box 10		Guaranteed Parts Company, Incorporated
Box 10		Hodgdon, Dewey
Box 10		E. Hommel and Son
Box 10		IBM
Box 10		King and King architects
Box 10		Kiosk
Box 10		Laroche
Box 10		Linklaen house
Box 10		Lincoln house
Box 10		Lucy's
Box 10		Mackenzie, Smith, Lewis, Mitchell, Hughes
Box 10		Massachusetts mutual
Box 10		Maxson electronics
Box 10		Metropolitan Development Association
Box 10		Minnesota Hospital Service Association
Box 10		Ninos
Box 10		Oberdorfer
Box 10		Oneida Ltd.
Box 10		Onondaga Community College
Box 10		Onondaga County Savings Association
Box 10		Dr. William Peacher
Box 10		Park Lane Shoe
Box 10		189 - OCSB brochure
Box 10		GAB brochure
Box 10		Film, negative and positives
Box 10		GAB resume folders
Box 10		Oneida 1971-1972
Box 10		Oberdorfer Pump Division
Box 11		Cazenovia College
Box 11		G.E. Integrated circuit products department
Box 11		Oneida Ltd.
Box 11		Bristol Asprite System
Box 11		Merchants Bank
Box 11		Stearns and Wheeler notes
Box 11		Robson and Woese Incorporated
Box 11		ID Magazine proposal
Box 11		MDA report, directory and envelope
Box 11		Lipe, rollway
Box 11		Optical display unit
Box 11		Maxon sign
Box 11		Maxson logo
Box 11		Fone-fax
Box 11		Oneida
Box 11		Telemax
Box 11		Roast beef restaurant
Box 11		Titles, Fred
Box 11		Lincoln Bank, Fred
Box 11		Syracuse blue receipts
Box 11		Correspondence
Box 11		AIGA contest
Box 11		Charles Gourmet symbol
Box 11		Charles Gourmet packaging
Box 11		Five - 9 fashions
Box 12		Stearn and Wheeler
Box 12		Brochure plans and misc.
Box 12		Square pulse bonder
Box 12		General purpose control department
Box 12		Misc.
Box 12		Thin film bonding control
Box 12		Accounting sheets
Box 12		Confidential, current monthly account sheets
Box 12		MDA booklets
Box 12		Public relations
Box 12		G.B., congratulations notes
Box 12		IDI, IDSA, ICSIA
Box 12		Insurance receipts
Box 12		GAB - personal/family
Box 12		James Parsons
Box 12		Naneese, Vernon Court
Box 12		Guy , Univ of Denver
Box 12		UDC, direct costs
Box 12		Beck's "to file"
Box 12		Proposals, gab
Box 12		George Beck brochures
Box 12		Day-time records, G.B.
Box 12		MDA - brochure mock-ups
Box 12		Jefferson Tower, Pres. Plaza Apartments
Box 12		Pres. Plaza publicity
Box 12		Raytheon
Box 12		Rochester school model #19
Box 12		Dr. Stark and Connelly
Box 12		Sutton Real Estate
Box 12		Syracuse 1980
Box 12		Syracuse Dept. of City Planning
Box 12		United Parcel Service
Box 12		University Hill Corp.
Box 12		U.D.C. Folder
Box 12		Valley Sport Center
Box 12		Watt, Gordon
Box 12		Harry Ward Liquor Store
		White Tower Corporation
Box 12			Syracuse butteries
Box 12			World buttery
Box 12			Misc.
Box 13		Tv channel selector
Box 13		Photo albums
Box 13		Executive planner
Box 13		Appointment book 1977
Box 13		Photographs in briefcase
Box 13		Drawings
Box 13		Photo album
Box 13		Sketches of silverware
Box 13		Photos
Box 14		Limelight magazine
Box 14		IDSA 1965
Box 14		National meeting 1966
Box 14		Board meeting minutes
Box 14		IDSA, national meeting
Box 14		IDI, Detroit 1964
Box 14		ICSID, Vienna Congress
Box 14		Pert
Box 14		IDSA 1966
Box 14		Design recognition
Box 14		Miscellaneous drawings
Box 14		House plans
Box 14		Drawing
Box 14		Photos
Box 14		General Electric folio
Box 14		Photos and drawings
Box 14		Portable cab
Box 14		Transmitter
Box 14		Coordinated unit cabinets
Box 14		Tone arms
Box 14		Table models
Box 14		Speciality division
Box 14		Record changer
Box 14		Radio/phono
Box 14		Advance (pub. mat.)
Box 14		Calendar, notes, correspondence
Box 14		Line console cabinets 1952
Box 14		G.E. Radio color
Box 14		Musaphonic by General Electric
Box 14		Sketches, period console
Box 14		Receipts, trip to europe
Box 14		Many photographs
Box 14		G.B. - G.E. correspondence 1961
Box 15		Various drawings
Box 15		Architectural plans
Box 15		P. and A. Designs
Box 15		G.E.
Box 16		International list of schools of design
Box 16		Various newsletters
Box 16		IDA award to Beck
Box 16		The HMED Look reprint
Box 16		Reprints from Industrial Design 1965
Box 16		Aluminum dinnerware
Box 16		Tableware contest
Box 16		139 Oneida cutlery
		Oneida
Box 16			Macy display
Box 16			Ltd. Showroom
Box 16			Discount
Box 16			Ltd. Modular chest stainless
Box 16			Ltd. P.T. Noyes
Box 16			Package, foamold
Box 16		Raytheon, electronic oven
Box 16		Party invitations
Box 16		Onondaga County Savings Bank
Box 16		Vads rate table
Box 16		G.E. F 4d sight test station
Box 16		G.E. Optical sight display
Box 16		Call for entries 9th annual wescon
Box 16		G.E. Avionic controls
Box 16		Gamble
Box 16		Albert's display lights
Box 16		J.V.H. Display
Box 16		Sako, Finland
Box 16		ID Magazine, Sako
Box 16		Minnesota hospital
		Pres. Plaza
Box 16			Modifications
Box 16			Lobby fountain
Box 16			General
Box 16		Bristol Labs
Box 16		Bristol
Box 16		Time capsule
Box 16		Valley Sport Center
Box 16		Fairmont Fair
Box 16		Fairmont Fair Landscape
Box 16		Green Giant
		Lincoln Bank
Box 16			Rendering
Box 16			Tellers counters
Box 16			Signs
Box 16			Directory and display area
Box 16			Check desk
Box 16			Money and file cart
Box 16			Stairway details
Box 16			Misc. Equipment stand
Box 16			General
Box 16		Systems analysis brochure ibm
Box 16		Mr. and Mrs. G. Nait
Box 16		Mental hygiene center
Box 16		Harry Ward Liquors
Box 16		Correspondence and various design plans
Box 16		Elfun Society 1962-1964
Box 16		Management conference, Grossinger's 1960
Box 17		Published materials
Box 17		Bulletins
Box 17		Booklets
Box 17		Brochures
Box 17		Fairmont fair
		News clippings
Box 17			McKinley death 1901
Box 17			Roosevelt death 1945
Box 17			World War II ends 1945
Box 17			Association Island and G.E. Syracuse
Box 17		Advertisements
Box 18		Slides
Box 19		Air conditioner
Box 19		Ash tray & humidor
Box 19		Automobile design
Box 19		Bissel
Box 19		Boats
Box 19		Beverage cooler
Box 19		Escutcheon
Box 19		Dishwasher
Box 19		Dictaphone
Box 19		Correspondence
Box 19		Casco
Box 19		Boat
Box 19		Fans
Box 19		Perspective
Box 19		Photostat
Box 19		Radio-auto
Box 19		Radio-prints
Box 19		Metal, silverware, glassware, ceramic, plastics
Box 19		Displays
Box 19		Chicago
Box 19		Refrigerator hard prints
Box 19		Range hard prints
Box 19		Ranges
Box 19		General
Box 19		Cartoon
		Renderings
Box 19			Interiors
Box 19			Gold/brass/chrome smokador
Box 19			Advertising & sketches
Box 19			Booklets & competition
Box 19			Tables, etc.
Box 19			Stands & trays
Box 19			Full-size
Box 19			Tables ash tray
Box 19		Design, pencil
Box 19		Rendering, color
Box 19		Refrig. nameplate paints
Box 19		Toasters
Box 19		Thermo guide humidity ind.
Box 19		To do
		Smokador
Box 19			Color stock Baylis co.
Box 19			Color
Box 19			Displays
Box 19			Wall-type ashtray
Box 19		Ornament, empire design
Box 19		Oil burner
Box 19		Nameplates-labels
Box 19		Murals
Box 19		Kitchen
Box 19		Laundry
Box 19		Radio
Box 19		Comments by clients
Box 19		Gamble company - radio designs & photos
Box 19		Certificates
		Jerrold
Box 19			Electric convertor
Box 19			RCU wall hanger
Box 19			RCU unit
Box 19			TV convertor
Box 19			SDS 1
Box 19			Keyboard unit
Box 19			RCU artwork
Box 19			Bernzomatic gas grill re-do
Box 19			G.B. XLT brochures
Box 19			Eagan-Fairmount
Box 19			Raytheon range graphics
			G.B. brochures
Box 19				General
Box 19				1973
Box 19			GAB corporate I.D. 1972
Box 19			Manlius Liquors
Box 19			Metropolitan Development Association 1972
			Oneida
Box 19				Stainless storage
Box 19				Melamine merchandising display
Box 19				Display 8/28/72
Box 19				Des. dev. sketches 12/20/71
Box 19				Solid stainless display 12/71
Box 19				Lysander new community models 3/25/71
Box 20		'Fortune' article; nation & its industry in space 'industrial design' March 1961
Box 20		Fires in high-rise buildings
Box 20		Executive weekly day-timer (Arthur's)
Box 20		Weekly day-timer (George beck associates)
Box 20		Weekly day-timer Oct 1970 - Oct 1971
Box 20		Oberdorfer pump renderings
Box 20		GAB folder
Box 20		Telemax drawings
		New contracts
Box 21			Agway
Box 21			Arthur's
Box 21			Morris Kopelove
Box 21			Alcoa
Box 21			Albert's
Box 21			Albert's graphics
Box 21			Barton Aschiman
Box 21			Brian
Box 21			New community Baldwinsville, Lysander
Box 21			World buttery
Box 21			Buttery menu panel
Box 21			Cazenovia College
Box 21			J. Van Heusen award dinner
Box 21			Charles Gourmet
Box 21			Digney, Marion
Box 21			Eagan models
Box 21			Ekblau
Box 21			Faxton
Box 21			5 to 9
Box 21			Foamold (2 folders)
Box 21			Pure fluid devices
Box 21			Ziaia
Box 21			G.E. dining\Hommel
Box 21			Kopp
Box 21			Lincoln Bank - money market signs
Box 21			Color sample
Box 21			Lincoln Bank
Box 21			Magnavox
			Maxson
Box 21				General
Box 21				Telemax
Box 21			Telemax colors
			Maxson
Box 21				Fone-Fax
Box 21				Related materials
Box 21			Root & Clark. OCC
Box 21		Hueber/Le Moyne
Box 21		King & King
Box 21		Auburn
Box 21		Models
Box 21		MDA; Un. Hill renovation & cube minibus 12/69
Box 21		Stevens, Burton, O'Connell
Box 21		Onondaga Bank
Box 21		Marine pump
		Oberdorfer
Box 21			General
Box 21			Pump division
Box 21			Market survey
		Presidential plaza
Box 21			Correspondence
Box 21			Medical center
Box 21			Beck's 1201-sch i
Box 21		Raytheon
		Sako
Box 21			Finland
Box 21			Correspondence, notes
Box 21			Trip
Box 21			Sketches
Box 21		Juhani Feb 1970
Box 21		Sutton re Co.
Box 21		Syroco
Box 21		Syracuse - housing, city planning, UDC, MDA
Box 21		Syracuse Press Club
Box 21		University Hill GNRP - illus. site plan scale 1"-80'
Box 21		United Parcel Service
Box 21		H. Ward
Box 21		H.P.C. Hamilton Publishing Co.
		F.M.
Box 21			Corridors & lobby
Box 21			Colors, Manlius Elem.
Box 21			Corridor & lobby
Box 21			School
Box 21			Classroom
Box 21		Assoc.
Box 21		GAB assoc.
Box 21		University Club of Syr.
Box 21		F.M. Curtis' office
Box 21		Flight service
Box 21		Sibley's proposal
Box 21		Office personnel & organization
Box 21		Budget 1956
Box 21		Administrative committee
		Budget
Box 21			[Miscellaneous] 1951-1952
Box 21			General
Box 21			[Miscellaneous] 1944-1948 (5 folders)
Box 21		Scroll, Hazeltine data display control
Box 22		Portfolio
Box 23		Portfolio - including modern water colors by G. Beck
Box 24		Portfolio - including various drawings
Box 25		Portfolio

Return to top