Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Cartoons

Correspondence and newspaper clippings

printer friendly version

Charles Brooks Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Brooks, Charles G., 1920-
Title: Charles Brooks Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1960-1969
Bulk Dates: 1965-1969
Quantity: 1.8 linear ft.
Abstract: 126 original editorial cartoons, correspondence and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Charles G. Brooks (1920- ) is an American editorial cartoonist who worked for the Birmingham News for 38 years.

Charles Brooks was born in Andalusia, Alabama on November 20, 1920. He studied at Birmingham-South College starting in 1939. Wanting to focus on cartooning, he left for the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts in 1941 where he studied under Pulitzer Prize winning cartoonist Vaughn Shoemaker.

Brooks enlisted in the Army and saw combat during World War II. Following his service, Brooks worked in Chicago producing cartoons for an advertising agency. In 1948, Brooks became the Birmingham News’ first editorial cartoonist. In the mid 1980s, Brooks retired from the Birmingham News.

Thirteen Freedom Foundation awards were presented to Brooks as well as a National VFW Award and a Sigma Delta Chi Award (1960). Brooks was president of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists and in 1968 he was the president of the Alabama Chapter of the Sigma Delta Chi Journalism Fraternity. Brooks’ cartoons have been exhibited at the Birmingham Public Library, the National Portrait Gallery in London, and the Smithsonian.

Brooks edits the annual compilation Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year which was first published in 1973 and is a member of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Brooks Papers consist of consists of 2 series. The first series, Cartoons (1965-1969) contains 126 original, dated cartoons from Brooks' tenure at the Birmingham News. Brooks often portrayed the Southern point of view on national issues however few of the cartoons in this particular collection focus on specific Birmingham or Alabama issues. The Vietnam War and issues related to civil unrest dominated Brooks' subject matter during this time. The cartoons were drawn on illustration board primarily with ink and graphite.

The second series is Correspondence and Newspaper Clippings which contains 8 pieces of correspondence (1964-1967) sent to Brooks and 3 newspaper clippings (1960, 1967).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged in chronological order. Correspondence and clippings are arranged as received.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brooks, Charles G., 1920-

Corporate Bodies

Birmingham news.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Alabama.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Political cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Brooks Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles Brooks, 1967-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 23 Sep 2009 - added detailed inventory, index and bio (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (126 items) 13" x 19 1/4"
Click here for a list of specific dates.
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 2 1966
Oversize 1, Folder 3 1967 Jan, Apr
Oversize 1, Folder 4 1967 May
Oversize 1, Folder 5 1967 Jun-Jul
Oversize 1, Folder 6 1967 Aug-Oct
Oversize 1, Folder 7 1967 Nov-Dec
Oversize 2, Folder 1 1968 Jan-Feb
Oversize 2, Folder 2 1968 Mar-Apr
Oversize 2, Folder 3 1968 May-Jun
Oversize 2, Folder 4 1968 Jul-Aug
Oversize 2, Folder 5 1968 Sep-Dec
Oversize 2, Folder 6 1969 Jan-Apr, Jun
Oversize 2, Folder 7 1969 Aug-Oct
Oversize 2, Folder 8 1969 Nov-Dec
Correspondence and newspaper clippings
Box 1 Incoming correspondence 1964-1967; undated
Newspaper clippings
Box 1 "Sketchbook by Brooks- EXPO 67" 14 May 1967
Box 1 "George Wallace: Candidate for President" 21 May 1967 - transcript of a question and answer session at which Brooks participated
Box 1 "News cartoonist wins SDX award" 18 Apr 1960

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top