Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Chinn, Harry G. |
| Title: | Harry G. Chinn Papers. |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1952-1967 |
| Quantity: | 2 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers of plastics engineer Harry G. Chinn. |
| Language: | English, Japanese. |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Harry G. Chinn (dates unknown) was a British engineer and inventor in the field of plastics. He specialized in the development of processes involving the heat sealing of plastics and holds seven patents in this field. These patents range from the heat sealing of large tarps together for agricultural use, to heat sealing of plastic packaging for food product distribution. Chinn worked for the Union Carbide Corporation (Bakelite Corporation) and for Riegel Paper Corporation. He was also a stockbroker and later in his career transitioned into teaching high school physics, chemistry, and math.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Harry G. Chinn Papers contain technical reports, patents, plastic samples, printed materials, publications, traning manuals, and writings. The bulk of the collection relates to Harry's time at the Union Carbide Corporation working with heat sealing and plastic packaging.
Patents contains patents Chinn held on heat sealing a plastic package.
Plastic samples contains plastic-coated paper made for the Riegel Paper Corporation and plastic packaging, which contains sewing needles, for Union Carbide.
Printed materials contains business cards and guides to packaging.
Publications contains articles and full periodicals, such as Kabelitems and Plastic Greenhouses.
Technical reports consist of large bound notebooks that contain lab results, studies and other data related to Chinn's time at the Union Carbide Corporation.
Training manuals are from Union Carbide and relate to packaging development, extrusion, and blow molding.
Writings consists of five notepads of research notes and a personal journal Chinn used on business trips.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is arranged alphabetically, then chonologically and maintains the original order of the collections when possible.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Harry G. Chinn Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Norma Shepperd, 2019.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Horsford, Sean
Date: 2022-04-23
Revision history: 23 Apr 2022 - collection processed (SH);
23 Aug 2022 - updated finding aid (RMH)
Inventory
| Patents | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Patents 1956-1957 | ||||||||||
| Plastic samples | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Plastic packaging sample undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Plastic-coated paper undated | ||||||||||
| Printed materials | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Bakelite Review 1955 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Business cards undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Modern Packaging 1956, 1961 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Petrothene Polyethylene...a progressing guide 1958 | ||||||||||
| Publications | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Kabelitems 1956-1957, 1959-1960 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Plastic Greenhouses undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Technical Bulletin 1956-1957, 1959-1961 | ||||||||||
| Technical reports | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Technical reports 1952-1961 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Technical reports 1955-1961 (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Technical reports 1957-1960, undated (9 folders) | ||||||||||
| Training manuals | |||||||||||
| Box 3 | Blow molding refresher course 1960 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Fundamentals of extrusion 1960 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Packaging development department 1957 | ||||||||||
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Box 4 | Notepad 1965-1967, undated (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Personal journal undated | ||||||||||