Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Connor, John T. (John Thomas), 1914-2000.
Title:	John T. Connor Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1964-1967
Quantity:	6.5 linear ft. plus 13 film reels
Abstract:	Clippings, Department of Commerce publications, interviews, and speeches by United States Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

John T. Connor (1914-2000) was an American attorney, businessman, and United States Secretary of Commerce from 1965-1967.

Connor was born in Syracuse, New York, on November 3, 1914. He graduated from Syracuse University in 1936, and went on to receive his law degree from Harvard Law School in 1939. Following his graduation from Harvard, Connor served as general counsel to the Office of Scientific Research and Development and special assistant to the Secretary of the Navy before joining the pharmaceutical company Merck as general counsel in 1947. Connor became president of Merck in 1955, and remained there until his appointment to President Johnson’s cabinet.

In his role as Secretary of Commerce, Connor was tasked with drawing corporations into Johnson’s voluntary balance-of-payments program, meant to reduce the deficit in the United States’ international balance of payments. His approach to the position was shaped by a desire to increase the voice of industry in the creation of US policy. He also played a role in the resolution of the 1965 dockworkers strike and the 1966 General Electric strike. Connor was openly critical of Johnson’s approach to U.S. involvement in the Vietnam war for both moral and economic reasons, and resigned from his position in 1967.

Following his resignation, Connor took on executive positions at Allied Chemical Corporation, where he remained until his retirement in 1979. Connor died on October 6, 2000.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John T. Connor Papers consist of clippings, Department of Commerce publications, interviews, speeches, and miscellaneous.

Clippings consists of magazine articles written about Connor, articles and editorials written by Connor, and sections of International Commerce relating to Connor's work, all from 1965-1966.

Department of Commerce publications spans 1964-1967 and primarily consists of press releases from the Department of Commerce during Connor's tenure as Secretary, as well as a small number of press releases from Connor's predecessor, Luther H. Hodges. It also contains bound copies of the Commerce News Digest, booklets, reports, and press kits.

Interviews consists of interviews with Connor from 1965-1966. Formats include magnetic tape, film reels, and print.

Speeches consists of speeches delivered by Connor from 1965-1967. The speeches primarily revolve around the international balance of payments, employment, and the relationship between the government and industry. Formats include photocopied drafts, printed copies, bound copies, magnetic tape, and 16mm film recordings.

Miscellaneous consists of recordings of events, television advertisements, and training videos from 1965-1966.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically. Clippings have been further arranged chronologically within each folder. Publications are subdivided by type and arranged alphabetically by type. Interviews and speeches are arranged by format.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John T. Connor Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority gift of John T. Connor, 1966-1967.

Speech drafts gift of Horace Knowles, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2010
Revision history: 18 Sep 2023 - collection fully processed (SAB)

Return to top

Inventory

	Clippings
Oversize 1		Articles about Connor 1965
Box 1		Articles about Connor 1965-1966
Box 1		Articles by Connor 1965-1966
Oversize 1		Articles by Connor 1967
Box 1		International commerce magazine 1965-1966

	Department of Commerce publications
		Booklets
Box 1			Economic ABC's 1964-1966 (2 folders)
Box 1			Economic growth 1965-1966
Box 1			Miscellaneous 1966
		Bound periodicals
Box 8			Commerce news digest nos. 2915 thru 3171 1965 (2 items)
Box 9			Commerce news digest nos. 3172 thru 3322 1966 (2 items)
		Press kits
Box 1			National Bureau of Standards dedication 1966
Box 1			USC GSS Oceanographer commissioning 1966
Box 1			Youth opportunity campaign 1966
		Press releases
Box 1			Hodges 1964-1965 (2 folders)
Box 1			Connor 1965
Box 2			Connor 1965-1966 (12 folders)
Box 3			Connor 1966-1967 (4 folders)
Box 9			Selected Sunday feature articles issued by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor 1965-1967
		Reports
Box 3			Annual report of the Secretary of Commerce 1965
Box 3			Annual report of the Secretary of Commerce 1966
Box 3			Value of new construction put in place 1962-65 1966

	Interviews
		Print
Box 3			Of Connor 1965-1966
Oversize 1			Of Connor 1966
Box 3			Of others 1965
		Recordings
Reel			General Electric International Day, interview with Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor Oct. 29, 1965 - label number: "M-65-473A" (16mm film) (ID#: connor_jt_029)
Box 11			Interview of Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor on ABC Reports with Edward J. Koppel September 29, 1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_015)
Box 10			Interview of Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor on Martha Deane Show March 13, 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_011)
Box 10			Questions and Answers at Address by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor to the Economic Club of New York City March 15, 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_010)
			Toward the 1970s
Box 10				Part 1: People and progress (week of October 15) October 15, 1965 - first of broadcasting recording of a special six-part series accompanied by a flyer (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_006)
					Our growing Nation - its needs and how they are being met. Guests: John T. Connor, Secretary of Commerce, James G. Morton, Special assistant to the Secretary, A. Ross Eckler, Director, Bureau of the Census with David Von Sothen, moderator, Station WRC.
Box 10				Part 2: The Challenges of Prosperity (week of October 17) October 22, 1965 - broadcasting recording of a special six-part series accompanied by a flyer (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_001)
					A look at America's economic future, the pursuit of balanced and orderly growth, efforts to modernize our manpower to fill the need for skilled labor, productivity and its implications, measures to curb the dollar outflow, and a general overview of economic challenges and prospects. Guests: John T. Connor, Secretary of Commerce, James G. Morton, Special assistant to the secretary with Dean James H. McBurney, Northwestern University, moderator.
Box 10				Part 3: Technology and the knowledge explosion (week of October 24) October 29, 1965 - broadcasting recording of a special six-part series accompanied by a flyer (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_002)
					The technological explosion and its effects on man and machine, Federal programs in science and technology in the civilian sector, spreading the fruits of technology broadly through the range of American industry under the State Technical Services Act, technology and national growth. Guests: Dr. J. Herbert Hollomon, Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Science and Technology, Dr. Ivan L. Bennett, Jr., Deputy Director, Office of Science and Technology Executive Office of the President with Dean James H. McBurney, Northwestern University, moderator.
Box 10				Part 4: The car, the road, and your life (week of October 31) November 5, 1965 - broadcasting recording of a special six-part series accompanied by a flyer (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_003)
					The new Federal legislation to improve highway safety, the systems approach of vehicle, road, and driver, the Interstate Highway System, the highway spot improvement program, and the challenge of preparing for trillion-mile-a-year travel in America. Guests: Alan S. Boyd, Under Secretary for Transportation, Rex M. Whitton, Federal Highway Administrator with Dean James H. McBurney, Northwestern University, moderator.
Box 10				Part 5: The sky above, the sea below (week of November 7) November 12, 1965 - broadcasting recording of a special six-part series accompanied by a flyer (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_004)
					The multi-million dollar pursuit of knowledge of man's environment, ocean exploration and its hopes for man, the weatherman in space, improved measures to protect life and property during the rampages of nature, and economic potential of the undiscovered world that lies 70% under the seas. Guests: Dr. Robert M. White, Administrator, Environmental Science Services Administration, Dr. Robert A. Frosch, Assistant Secretary of Navy for Research and Development with Dean James H. McBurney, Northwestern University, moderator.
Box 10				Part 6: Is Trade the route to prosperity? (week of November 14) November 19, 1965 - broadcasting recording of a special six-part series accompanied by a flyer (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_005)
					Potentials of world trade, balance-of-payments aspects, renewed efforts to close the travel gap, two-way investment, America's declining trade surplus and what we are doing about it, prospects for building bridges of trade to Eastern European countries to encourage their peaceful aspirations. Guests: John T. Connor, Secretary of Commerce, Lawrence C. McQuade, Assistant to Secretary, Lawrence A. Fox, Director, Bureau of International Commerce with Dean James H. McBurney, Northwestern University, moderator.

	Speeches
		Bound volumes
Box 5			Appropriation testimony by Secretary of Commerce John T Connor 1965-1966
Box 5			Documents on voluntary balance of payments programs 1966
Box 5			Legislative testimony by Secretary of Commerce John T Connor 1965-1966
Box 6			Speeches by Secretary of Commerce John T Connor 1965 (2 items)
Box 7			Speeches by Secretary of Commerce John T Connor 1966-1967 (2 items)
Box 3		Drafts 1965-1966 (3 folders)
Box 3		Print 1965
Box 4		Print 1965-1967 (11 folders)
Oversize 1		Print 1966
		Recordings
Box 10			Address by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor to the Economic Club of New York City March 15, 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_009)
Reel			Advertising Council, Balance of payment: Report to America, John T. Connor, Secretary of Commerce (JC-4-60) undated - one 60 sec. ad; label number: "67669/755" (16mm film) (ID#: connor_jt_023)
Box 10			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor at the 15th Annual Fall Management Conference of the School of Business, Northwestern University November 11, 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_013)
Box 10			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor at the 2nd Annual Business Outlook Conference of National Industrial Conference Board September 23, 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_012)
Box 11			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor on American University lectures in Business-Government Relations, tape 1 November 30 1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_018)
Box 11			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor on American University lectures in Business-Government Relations, tape 2 November 30 1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_019)
Box 10			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor on Faye Henle Show September 29, 1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_014)
Box 11			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor on National's Business with Dorese Bell October 20, 1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_016)
Box 11			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor on National's Business with Dorese Bell October 21, 1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_017)
Box 10			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor on Report to the People with Linton Wells March 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_008)
Box 10			Remarks by Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor with Dr. Carl Madden for the United States Chamber of Commerce, Education Series: The Enterprise Economy 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: connor_jt_007)
Reel			Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor: "E" Award Presentation, University of Houston March 11, 1966 (16mm film) (ID#: connor_jt_027)
Reel			Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor: Interstate Highway dedication statement undated - Prod. #997-167 (16mm film; running time 00:02:12) (ID#: connor_jt_028)

	Miscellaneous
Reel		Advertising Council, Balance of payment: Jack Benny (JB-1-60) undated - one 60 sec. ad; label number: "64226/15" (16mm film) (ID#: connor_jt_020)
Reel		Advertising Council, Balance of payment: Jack Benny (JB-2-30) undated - one 30 sec. ad; label number: "67774/10" (16mm film) (ID#: connor_jt_021)
Reel		Advertising Council, Balance of payment: John T. Connor, Secretary of Commerce (JC-5-30) undated - one 30 sec. ad; label number: "67774/8" (16mm film) (ID#: connor_jt_024)
Reel		Advertising Council, Balance of payment: John T. Connor, Secretary of Commerce (JC-6-20) undated - one 20 sec. ad; label number: "67774/8" (16mm film) (ID#: connor_jt_025)
Reel		Advertising Council, Balance of payments: Jack Benny (JB-3-20) undated - one 20 sec. ad; label number: "67669/755" (16mm film) (ID#: connor_jt_022)
Reel		Apprentice training for automobile technicians, with Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor March, 1965 - Manpower Development and Training Act, Chrysler Motors Corp. film (16mm film; running time 14:00) (ID#: connor_jt_030)
Reel		General Electric International Day, United States Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor's visit Oct. 29, 1965 - label number: "M-65-473" (16mm film; running time 00:01:17) (ID#: connor_jt_026)
Reel		Oceanographer undated (16mm film; running time 13:30) (ID#: connor_jt_031)
Reel		Secretary of Commerce John T. Connor [various films] Nov. 29, 1966; Oct. 27, 1966; Sept. 28, 1966 (16mm film; running time 13:30) (ID#: connor_jt_032)
			Contains: Nov. 29, 1966: Christening USC & GS Mt. Mitchell [MSS 22], Jacksonville, Florida, Newsfilm Station WJXT (two sequences); Oct. 27, 1966: "Your right to say it", Station WGN-TV; Sept. 28, 1966: [General Electric] International Day, Cleveland, Newsfilm, Station WJW-TV (two sequences).

Return to top