Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Bill Freyse Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1954-1969 |
| Quantity: | 0.1 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Original art, clippings, memorabilia, relating to the American cartoonist. Collected by donor. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Bill Freyse (1898-1969) was an American cartoonist. His tenure on the established comic strip, Our Boarding House, ran from 1939 to 1969.
Born and raised in Detroit, Freyse began his newspaper career at a young age, working first as an editorial cartoonist for the Detroit Journal, then later as a staff artist for the Detroit Times. In 1939, Freyse signed on with NEA to continue Gene Ahern's immensely popular Our Boarding House comic strip starring Major Hoople. Ahern had left the strip a few years earlier, in 1936, to launch a knock-off version for King Features Syndicate, Room and Board starring Judge Puffle (Wood Cowan, Bela "Bill" Zaboly and others filled-in on Our Boarding House during the interim). Freyse's tenure on the strip was notable for the success with which he was able to maintain Ahern's identifiable artistic style while adding his own exceptional comic talents. Bill Freyse worked on Our Boarding House until his death in 1969. The strip continued with various artists until 1981.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Bill Freyse Collection consists of artwork (one item of original art, several printed pieces of art) and memorabilia (clipping, program from Freyse's memorial service). The material was collected by the donor.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
See also the Bill Freyse Cartoons.Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred additional cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.
Subject Headings
Persons
Associated Titles
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Bill Freyse Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Daniel Zilavy, 2018.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: EF
Date: 19 Jan 2018
Revision history:
Inventory
| Artwork | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Original "Major Hoople" cartoon by Freyse | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Clippings of cartoons by Freyse (2 items) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Christmas card designs by Freyse (12 items) | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Clipping about Freyse - brief summary of career, published on occasion of his death | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Program from memorial service for Freyse | ||||||||||