Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Loren Glass Interviews Relating to Grove Press
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Glass, Loren |
| Title: | Loren Glass Interviews Relating to Grove Press |
| Inclusive Dates: | 2009-2010 |
| Quantity: | 12 audio files |
| Abstract: | Interviews of former members of Grove Press, conducted by Loren Glass as part of the research for his book Counter-Culture Colophon: Grove Press, the Evergreen Review and the Incorporation of the Avant-Garde. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Grove Press was an American alternative book press founded in 1951 by editor and publisher Barney Rossett. It merged with The Atlantic Monthly Press in 1991 and as of 2010 is an imprint of the publisher Grove/Atlantic, Inc. Grove Press was known for its unusual and sometimes controversial publications, including French avant-garde authors Jean Genet and Eugene Ionesco; Beat poets Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg, and William Burroughs; and books deemed obscene at the time, such as unexpurgated editions of Henry Miller's Tropic of Cancer and D. H. Lawrence's Lady Chatterley's Lover.
Loren Glass is an Associate Professor at the University of Iowa, specializing in 19th and 20th century American literature and culture. He has received numerous awards, honors and grants in recognition of his scholarly work. Counter-Culture Colophon is his second book.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Loren Glass Interviews Relating to Grove Press consists of digital audiorecordings of a number of interviews of former members of the avant-garde publishing house Grove Press. The interviews were conducted by Loren Glass as part of the research for his book on the history of the company, entitled Counter-Culture Colophon: Grove Press, the Evergreen Review and the Incorporation of the Avant-Garde (Stanford University Press, 2013).
Interviewees are:
- Morgan Entrekin - president and publisher of Grove/Atlantic
- Morrie Goldfischer - vice president and director of publicity
- Herman Graf - vice president and director of sales
- Fred Jordan - vice president and editor of Evergreen Review
- Claudia Menza - managing editor and assistant editor of Evergreen Review
- Barney Rosset - publisher of Grove Press and Evergreen Review
- Judith Schmidt Douw - manager of rights and permissions and foreign rights
- Jeanette Seaver - widow of Grove Press editor Richard Seaver
- Nat Sobel - vice president and director of sales
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Loren Glass Interviews Relating to Grove Press,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Loren Glass, 2013.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 20 Feb 2013
Revision history:
Inventory
| Interviews | |||||||||||
| Entrekin, Morgan October 26, 2010 File: Entrekin102610.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Goldfischer, Morrie July 5, 2010 File: Goldfisher070510.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Goldfischer, Morrie October 22, 2010 File: Goldfischer102210.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Graf, Herman October 25, 2010 File: Graf102510.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Jordan, Fred October 6, 2009 File: Jordan.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Jordan, Fred October 23, 2010 File: Jordan102310.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Menza, Claudia October 21, 2010 File: Menza102110.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Rosset, Barney October 5, 2009 File: Rosset.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Rosset, Barney October 23, 2010 File: Rosset102310.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Douw, Judith Schmidt October 9, 2009 File: SchmitzDuow.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Seaver, Jeanette October 21, 2010 File: Seaver102110.WMA |
|||||||||||
| Sobel, Nat October 26, 2010 File: Sobel102610.WMA |
|||||||||||