Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Glassbury, Betty Blanc. |
| Title: | Betty Blanc Glassbury Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1944-1972 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Correspondence and writings of the American poet. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Betty Blanc Glassbury (d. 1979) was an American poet. Her works have been published in the United States, Canada, England and Australia. She served as president of Composers, Authors and Artists of America and the National League of Creative Artists, and was an active member of various arts-related organizations including the Chopin Society and the Ziegfeld Club. Glassbury was also an opera singer, traveler, linguist and collector of Asian art. Following her operatic career she turned to art, painting and working in ceramics. She and her husband John had one daughter, Eunice.
[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from Glassbury's obituary in the New York Times, 4 May 1979.]
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Betty Blanc Glassbury Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, and writings.
Biographical material include awards and certificates, and a few clippings about her.
Correspondence contains items sent in Glassbury's capacity as president of Composers, Authors and Artists of America and some miscellaneous items.
Writings contains poetry, all of which is typescript, and several issues of Composers, Authors and Artists of America which contain Glassbury's poetry as well as the regular "President's Remarks" column written during her term as president of the organization.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Betty Blanc Glassbury Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: [Summit record]
Date: Mar 1967
Revision history: 22 Apr 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC);
5 Jul 2024 - additions, rehoused for offsite (MRC)
Inventory
| Biographical material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Awards and certificates 1944-1945, 1971 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Clippings about 1965-1966 | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Composeres, Authors, and Artists of America 1965-1967 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 1966, 1971-1972 | ||||||||||
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Composers, Authors and Artists of America 1964-1967 - full issues; most include poetry by Glassbury as well as her "Presiential Remarks" column (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Poems - typescript drafts; also includes one poem as published in Poetry Digest | ||||||||||