Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Graeff, Grace M. |
| Title: | Grace M. Graeff Manuscript |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1966 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Typescript; several chapters and a synopsis of Graeff's 1966 book, House Not Made With Hands |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Grace M. Graeff was born Julia Martha Lirie Henninger in Mayville, New York on October 22, 1918. She was later adopted by Karl and Lucile Shearer. She studied at Oberlin Conservatory (1936-1939) and the Cleveland Institute of Music (1939-1941), and in 1941 married Myron J. Graeff with whom she had four children. She later returned to her studies at Western Reserve University (1965-1966) and finally graduated with a B.A. from Empire State College in 1974.
Graeff's first job was as a receptionist at Welch Grape Juice Co. (1959-1961); later she became partner-manager of her adoptive father's company, Carnahan Shearer (1961-1965). She also worked as house manager at Western Reserve University (1965-1967) and then for Chautauqua County as assistant special deputy to commissioner jurors and court clerk (1967). Her first and only book, House Not Made With Hands, was published in 1966 by the Philosophical Library in New York.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Grace M. Graeff Manuscript consists of approximately 60 pages of typescript of Graeff's book House Not Made With Hands. The first two pages are a synopsis and suggest that the book is at least partially autobiographical, since the main character was adopted as a child and the mother herself of four children. The book's title is taken from Second Corinthians 5:1 which reads, "For we know that if our earthly house of this tabernacle were dissolved, we have a building of God, an house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens."
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Associated Titles
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Grace M. Graeff Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Apr 2007
Revision history: