Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Henry, Leland Boyd, 1895-1968.
Title:	Leland Boyd Henry Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1915-1968
Quantity:	17 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American Methodist Episcopal, later Protestant Episcopal, minister and social activist; collection includes writings (book reviews, sermons, speeches, Army chaplain log books) and memorabilia, including numerous vey full scrapbooks with a wide variety of content
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Leland Boyd Henry (1895-1968) was an American clergyman and social activist.

Born June 3, 1895 in Buffalo, New York, the son of Charles Edward and Eva Boyd Henry, he graduated from Buffalo Central High School in 1914. He then entered Syracuse University where he participated in a variety of activities and was successively reporter, associate editor, managing editor and editor of the campus newspaper, the Daily Orange. In 1918 Henry graduated from Syracuse University and entered the United States Army as a sergeant with the 39th Infantry in France. There he served on the Marne and in the Argonne and was awarded the Purple Heart.

Upon release from military service he entered Drew Theological Seminary, from which he received the Bachelor of Divinity degree in 1922, and spent the following year in further study at Cambridge University. When he returned to the United States he served as a minister at Asbury Methodist Episcopal Church in Buffalo, the church at Newfane and the Corn Hill Methodist Episcopal Church of Rochester, all in New York State. In 1930 Henry and his wife Ruth became members of the Protestant Episcopal Church and Henry sought admission to its priesthood. In September he began work as an educational assistant at St. Paul's Church in Rochester and was ordained to the priesthood in 1931. In 1932 he became rector of St. Luke's Parish in Brockport, New York, and in 1937 was called to serve as assistant to the rector at St. George's Church in New York City, a position he held until 1942 when he entered the military chaplaincy. He spent the early part of the war teaching in chaplains' schools but during its later stages served as chaplain on the hospital ship St. Mihiel in the Atlantic and Pacific.

Upon his return to New York in 1946 Henry was appointed executive secretary of the Social Service Commission of the Diocese of New York, which in the same year was renamed the Christian Social Relations Commission. The National Council of the Protestant Episcopal Church appointed him as its observer at the United Nations beginning in 1949. Henry was a logical choice for this post because of his great concern for problems of world order and his active involvement in seeking creative solutions. In 1955 he was appointed to the Human Rights Commission of New York City. During his tenure he was actively involved in attempts to improve housing for low-income families and his efforts in this direction brought him an honorary Doctor of Divinity degree from Lincoln University. In 1951 he became rector of St. Mary's Church in Scarborough, New York, where he served until his retirement in 1965. He continued with the diocesan commission on a part-time basis until 1957 when he resigned as executive director. In June 1968 Henry was awarded an honorary Doctor of Sacred Theology degree by Syracuse University. He died shortly thereafter, on August 31, 1968.

Henry was married twice. In 1918 he married Ruth Van Arsdale, a college classmate, who died in 1947. In 1950 he married Beatrice M. Hetzler.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leland Boyd Henry Papers consist of writings and memorabilia.

Writings include book reviews, sermons, speeches, a study guide, and miscellaneous items. Sermons are dated according to Dr. Henry's own system, by the Sundays of the church year beginning with the Advent season, with the place of delivery noted in each instance. There are also a few sermons specifically for secular holidays (e.g., Memorial Day), and some written for no particular date. There is also a folder of research material. In almost every instance the sermons are original typescripts with Henry's revisions. Speeches, mostly revised transcripts, all originate in the period when Henry was executive director of the Commission on Christian Social Relations of the Episcopal Diocese of New York. The speeches and the study guide especially reflect Dr. Henry's concern for the implications of the Christian faith for social problems. Although the sermons deal with all the major themes and concepts of the Christian faith, they also reflect his particular social concerns.

Memorabilia includes address cards, bulletins, clippings, material from the Commission on Christian Social Relations, confirmation materials, orders of worship, but the bulk of this series consists of eighteen large scrapbooks. These scrapbooks document most of Henry's life, beginning in 1914 when he was still in high school and continuing until 1965, just a few years before his death. The contents includes photographs, newspaper clippings, programs, playbills, invitations, letters, and more.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Writings are subdivided by type. Book reviews are in their original order, as received. Sermons are arranged as Henry had them -- in church calendar order and within that chronologically by year. Where a sermon was delivered more than once, it will be found under the Sunday on which it was first delivered. A series of sermons delivered on holidays not included in the church year are arranged chronologically by the date of the holiday and within that order by the dates on which they were first preached. A miscellaneous series of sermons is arranged alphabetically by title. Memorabilia is subdivided by type and within that arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leland Boyd Henry Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of collection, gift of Mrs. Leland Boyd Henry, 1969-1970. Two notebooks of sermons, gift of Allen C. Best, 1974. Scrapbooks transferred from University Archives, 1979.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EFB
Date: Nov 1970
Revision history: 20 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 8 Feb 2023 - additions processed, scrapbooks rehoused, books removed and sent to cataloging (MS/MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Writings
Box 1		Book reviews - from a reading club Henry belonged to, which called itself "Club Kilin" after the Chinese mythological creature Qilin; includes letter from Henry's wife, Beatrice (2 folders)
		Sermons
Box 1			First Sunday in Advent 1942-1964 (11 folders)
Box 1			Second Sunday in Advent 1947-1963 (10 folders)
Box 1			Third Sunday in Advent 1932-1963 (14 folders)
Box 1			Fourth Sunday in Advent 1934-1964 (11 folders)
Box 1			Christmas Eve 1933-1963 (6 folders)
Box 1			Christmas 1925-1964 (7 folders)
Box 2			Christmas 1925-1964 (5 folders)
Box 2			Holy Innocents Day 1952
Box 2			First Sunday after Christmas 1934-1961 (5 folders)
Box 2			Watch Night 1937-1945 (2 folders)
Box 2			Second Sunday after Christmas 1953-1963 (3 folders)
Box 2			Epiphany 1957-1965
Box 2			First Sunday after Epiphany 1938-1939, 1950-1964 (12 folders)
Box 2			Second Sunday after Epiphany 1935-1965 (14 folders)
Box 2			Third Sunday after Epiphany 1938, 1948-1965 (11 folders)
Box 2			Fourth Sunday after Epiphany 1939, 1952-1965 (8 folders)
Box 2			Fifth Sunday after Epiphany 1954-1965 (4 folders)
Box 2			Sixth Sunday after Epiphany 1962
Box 3			Septuagesima Sunday 1947-1967 (12 folders)
Box 3			Sexagesima Sunday 1940, 1948-1965 (12 folders)
Box 3			Quinquagesima Sunday 1948-1965 (11 folders)
Box 3			Lent 1953-1954, 1968 (2 folders)
Box 3			Ash Wednesday 1936-1965 (8 folders)
Box 3			First Sunday in Lent 1948-1965 (14 folders)
Box 3			Second Sunday in Lent 1946-1949 (8 folders)
Box 4			Second Sunday in Lent 1960-1965 (6 folders)
Box 4			Third Sunday in Lent 1954-1964 (12 folders)
Box 4			Fourth Sunday in Lent 1962-1965 (4 folders)
Box 4			Fifth Sunday in Lent 1955
Box 4			Passion Sunday 1948-1965 (12 folders)
Box 4			Palm Sunday 1932-1965 (16 folders)
Box 4			Wednesday before Easter 1962
Box 4			Maundy Thursday 1939-1965 (5 folders)
Box 4			Good Friday 1938-1961 (6 folders)
Box 5			Good Friday 1957-1965 (2 folders)
Box 5			Easter Sunday 1926-1965 (19 folders)
Box 5			Lent 1953
Box 5			First Sunday after Easter 1933-1968 (10 folders)
Box 5			Second Sunday after Easter 1940-1965 (10 folders)
Box 5			Third Sunday after Easter 1934-1965 (13 folders)
Box 6			Fourth Sunday after Easter 1938-1967 (12 folders)
Box 6			Fifth Sunday after Easter 1933-1964 (15 folders)
Box 6			Ascension Day 1949
Box 6			Sunday after Ascension 1950-1965 (9 folders)
Box 6			Whitsunday 1932-1967 (14 folders)
Box 6			Trinity Sunday 1952-1964 (8 folders)
Box 6			First Sunday after Trinity 1935-1967 (12 folders)
Box 7			Second Sunday after Trinity 1954-1965 (7 folders)
Box 7			Third Sunday after Trinity 1932-1962 (11 folders)
Box 7			Fourth Sunday after Trinity 1941-1966 (7 folders)
Box 7			Fifth Sunday after Trinity 1941-1967 (14 folders)
Box 7			Sixth Sunday after Trinity 1938-1964 (11 folders)
Box 7			Seventh Sunday after Trinity 1941-1961 (8 folders)
Box 7			Eighth Sunday after Trinity 1932-1963 (9 folders)
Box 8			Ninth Sunday after Trinity 1940-1961 (4 folders)
Box 8			Transfiguration 1939, 1967 (4 folders)
Box 8			Eleventh Sunday after Trinity 1941-1960 (4 folders)
Box 8			Twelfth Sunday after Trinity 1940-1965 (8 folders)
Box 8			Thirteenth Sunday after Trinity 1940-1965 (11-folders)
Box 8			Fourteenth Sunday after Trinity 1939-1964 (12 folders)
Box 8			Fifteenth Sunday after Trinity 1940-1965 (14 folders)
Box 8			Sixteenth Sunday after Trinity 1940, 1953-1963 (6 folders)
Box 9			Seventeenth Sunday after Trinity 1954-1962 (5 folders)
Box 9			Eighteenth Sunday after Trinity 1939-1940, 1953-1963 (6 folders)
Box 9			Nineteenth Sunday after Trinity 1938, 1952-1964 (8 folders)
Box 9			Twentieth Sunday after Trinity 1941-1963 (8 folders)
Box 9			Twenty-first Sunday after Trinity 1953-1964 (10 folders)
Box 9			Twenty-second Sunday after Trinity 1951-1964 (10 folders)
Box 9			Twenty-third Sunday after Trinity 1951-1964 (5 folders)
Box 9			Twenty-fourth Sunday after Trinity 1951-1962 (5 folders)
Box 9			All Saints Day 1940-1964 (6 folders)
Box 9			Twenty-fifth Sunday after Trinity 1951-1956 (3 folders)
Box 10			Twenty-sixth Sunday after Trinity 1936-1964 (7 folders)
			Secular holidays
Box 10				Memorial Day 1943-1961 (4 folders)
Box 10				Independence Day 1959
Box 10				Labor Day 1953
Box 10				Thanksgiving Day 1938-1963 (8 folders)
Box 10				Quiet Day for Women 1954-1961 (2 folders)
			Miscellaneous
Box 10				The Church and War undated
Box 10				The Fact and Schism and the Search for Unity 1961
Box 10				The Race Problem Today 1961
Box 10				Should the Public Schools Release Time for Religious Instruction? 1949
Box 10				The Survival Value of Christianity 1949
Box 10				The Teachings of the Bible on War 1951-1952
Box 10				Untitled (on American foreign policy)
Box 10				Research material
		Speeches
Box 10			"Changing in Rome" 1965
Box 10			"Children in Trouble" 1953
Box 10			"The Christian and Civil Rights" undated
Box 10			"Christian Social Relations" 1951-1953
Box 10			"Christian Social Relations in the Parish" 1949
Box 10			"The Church and Society" 1951
Box 10			"Church Social Services Today" 1952
Box 10			"The Church and War" 1944
Box 10			"The Churches and War" 1950
Box 10			"A Duty to Defend the Law" 1950 - part of presentation "The Churches and War"
Box 10			"The Moral Dilemma of the U.N." undated
Box 10			"Released Time" 1949
Box 10			"Religion in Public Education" 1951
Box 10			"The Search for Peace" 1951
Box 10			"Some Reflections on the Race Problem" undated
Box 10			"The Supreme Court and Prayer in the Public Schools" 1962
Box 10			"United States Responsibility in the World Community" 1953
Box 10		Study guide, " Christian Principles of World Order" 1946 - prepared by Henry for use by church groups in studying the Christian basis for concern about problems of world order
Box 11		"St. Mihiel" chaplain's log 1945 - from Henry's time as Army chaplain aboard the USAHS St. Mihiel; includes daily typed log interspersed with copies of the ship's on-board newsletter "The St. Mihiel Traveller," correspondence with Army regarding publication clearance for his article "Hopsital Ship"
		Miscellaneous

	Memorabilia
Box 11		Address cards - written by Henry's second wife Beatrice to a Mr. Ayer
		Bulletins
Box 11			Lent 1945-1964
Box 11			Thanksgiving, Christmas 1957, 1960, undated
Box 11			Miscellaneous 1948-1951, 1963, 1967, undated
Box 11		Clippings
Box 11		Commission on Christian Social Relations [Diocese of New York] 1946-1950, 1958 - newsletters
Box 11		Commission on Christian Social Relations [Diocese of New York] [1947-1955] - bulletins, workshops, conferences, etc.
Box 11		Confirmation materials - outlines used by Henry to instruct confirmation classes of young people and adults
Box 11		Dinner invitation and program 1949 - honoring volunteer leaders of the U.S. Savings Bonds Program for New York State, hosted by Gov. Thomas Dewey
		Military documents
			Chaplain's log 1942-1945
Box 11			Miscellaneous 1942-1946
Box 11		Orders of worship 1955-1965 - used by Henry in conducting church services
Box 11		Printed materials, miscellaneous - pamphlets, booklet "I am an American" from chaplain school, etc.
Oversize 1		[Scrapbook 1] circa 1915 - Buffalo HS, Syracuse University, photos
Oversize 2		[Scrapbook 2] circa 1920 - photos of family, friends
Oversize 3		[Scrapbook 3] 1922-1923 - photos, ocean liner travel to England, 2 drawings
Oversize 3		[Scrapbook 4] 1922-1923 - photos, ocean liner travel to England, 2 drawings
Oversize 2		[Scrapbook 5] 1918-1919, 1929-1935 - many church bulletins, "order of service" slips, while living Rochester; some early photos
Oversize 4		[Scrapbook 6] 1946-1947 - clippings and bulletins from churches in the New York City area after Henry moved there after WWII
Oversize 5		[Scrapbook 7] 1948 - clippings, bulletins, events
Oversize 6		[Scrapbook 8] 1948 - material related to Tampa, Florida and the University of Tampa
Oversize 6		[Scrapbook 9] 1948 - clippings, church bulletins, programs
Oversize 7		[Scrapbook 10] 1949 - clippings, church bulletins, programs, events
Oversize 8		[Srcapbook 11] 1950 - clippings, church bulletins, programs, events, invitations, playbills
Oversize 9		[Scrapbook 12] 1951 - clippings, church bulletins, programs, events, invitations, sermons, playbills
Oversize 10		[Scrapbook 13] 1952-1955 - clippings, church bulletins, invitations, playbills, events
Oversize 11		[Scrapbook 14] 1956-1957 - clippings, church bulletins, invitations, playbills, letters, events, photos
Oversize 12		[Scrapbook 15] 1958 - clippings, church bulletins, playbills, concert programs, invitations
Oversize 13		[Scrapbook 16] 1959-1960 - clippings, church bulletins, playbills, invitations, events
Oversize 14		[Scrapbook 17] circa 1961-1962 - clippings, church bulletins, playbills, invitations, events; also includes some laid-in loose material from earlier years
Oversize 15		[Scrapbook 18] 1963-1965 - clippings, church bulletins, playbills, concert programs, invitations

Return to top