Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Holmes, Oliver Wendell, 1809-1894. |
| Title: | Oliver Wendell Holmes Manuscript |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1861 |
| Quantity: | 1 item (SC) |
| Abstract: | Papers of the American author and educator. Father of U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Oliver Wendell Holmes (1841-1935), and inventor of the hand stereoscope. Signed holograph poem, "Army Hymn." |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Oliver Wendell Holmes (1809-1894) was an American author and educator and was father to Supreme Court Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes (1841-1935). The former is the author of numerous essays on medical, civic, literary, and academic subjects as well as the inventor of the hand stereoscope.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Oliver Wendell Holmes Manuscript is a one page signed holograph poem, "Army Hymn," by the American author and professor of anatomy (1809-1894).
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Oliver Wendell Holmes Manuscript
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of George and Lena Arents.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: SEH
Date: Dec 1993
Revision history:
19 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC)