Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Kaish, Morton, 1927- |
| Title: | Morton Kaish Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1947-2008 |
| Quantity: | 2.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Correspondence, exhibition material, and memorabilia relating to the American painter. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Morton Kaish (1927- ) is an American realist painter. He studied at the Academy de la Grand Chaumiere in Paris and has taught at the Art Students League, Columbia University, and the New School for Social Research. His work has been exhibited in major art galleries around the country. Morton was married to Luise Kaish, also an artist.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Morton Kaish Papers includes correspondence, exhibit catalogs, clippings, and photographs relating to the American painter.
Biographical material consists of a curriculum vitae highlighting Kaish's career as an artist.
Correspondence includes Kaish's correspondence with art collectors, gallery owners, and art academic program directors. Correspondence regards his artwork as well as his job as art instructor at various schools.
Exhibition materials comprises catalogs, invitations, and visitor logs for his art exhibitions.
Memorabilia consists of awards, clippings, photographs, and event programs. Clippings are magazine and newspaper clippings that mention Kaish or showcase his artwork. There is a photograph of Kaish in 1949 and photographs of one of his exhibitions. Event programs are for a medal presentation dinner and for the 1949 Syracuse University commencement.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is arranged alphabetically. Correspondence is arranged by last name.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Books in the collection were transferred to rare books for cataloging.
See also the Luise Kaish Papers.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Morton Kaish Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Morton Kaish, 2000, 2001, 2009.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Jan 2010
Revision history: 14 Feb 2022 - collection processed (DTF)
Inventory
| Biographical material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Curriculum vitae circa 1996 | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Art Students League of New York 1981-1982 - includes teaching contract | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | A-B, miscellaneous 1964-1973, 1979-1996 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Chalfant, Richard 1976, 1992, 1996 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | C-E, miscellaneous 1964, 1967, 1974-1996 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Fashion Institute of Technology 1977, 1982-1983, 1989, 1994 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | F-G, miscellaneous 1966, 1979-1982, 1991-1993 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Holden, Donald 1979, 1983, 1986, 1990, 1999 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | H-M, miscellaneous 1964, 1967, 1979-1996 (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | National Academy of Design 1983-1994 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | The National Arts Club 1983, 1993-1994 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | N-P, miscellaneous 1968, 1976, 1979, 1983, 1986, 1993, 1996 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Philadelphia College of Art 1982 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Q-R, miscellaneous 1958, 1964, 1974-1979, 1991, 1993 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Staempfli Gallery 1963-1966, 1971, 1979, 1989, 1999 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | S-T, miscellaneous 1963, 1974-1979, 1989-1993 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Winsor and Newton 1993-1994 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | U-Z, miscellaneous 1979, 1993, 1996 | ||||||||||
| Exhibition materials | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Catalogs 1962-1969, 1979-1982, 1991-1993 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Catalogs 1972-2009 (5 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Invitations 1973, 1976, 1984, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1997, 2005 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Visitor log, Hollis Taggart Gallery 1996 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Visitor log, Staempfli Gallery 1983, 1986, 1989 | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Award, certificate of appreciation, Winsor and Newton, 1994 art competition 1994 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Clippings 1947-1948, 1993-2008 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Clippings 1965, 1973, 1983, 2008 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Newsletters 1989, 1997, 2006 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Photograph, Morton Kaish 1949 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Photographs, exhibition circa 1996 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Program, Artists' Fellowship annual medal presentation dinner 2001, 2006 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Program, Syracuse University 90th commencement 1949 | ||||||||||