Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Cartoons

printer friendly version

Al Liederman Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Liederman, Al.
Title: Al Liederman Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1969
Quantity: 2.8 linear ft.
Abstract: Over 500 original editorial cartoons drawn for the Long Island Press (1964-1969).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Al Liederman (1911-1992) was an American editorial cartoonist and comics artist.

Al Liederman was born September 26, 1911 and attended the Rochester Art Institute. He worked as an artist for the Rochester Journal American but left Rochester to work as the Syracuse Journal American's art director where he drew sports and editorial cartoons. Following his stint in Syracuse, Liederman drew cartoons for the Buffalo Evening News and the Akron Beacon Journal before ending up at the Long Island Press.

Liederman’s interest in several genres of cartooning led him to assist with various issues of Captain America and he is credited with contributing to some issues of Captain Marvel and other assorted comic book projects. He is believed to have worked on a daily strip, Madge the Badge for the Trans World News in the late 1970s. Liederman published a book of baseball cartoons entitled Li’l Leaguer in 1960.

He was a member of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists and the National Cartoonists Society. Al Liederman died December 5, 1992.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Al Liederman Cartoons consist of over 500 original drawings of editorial cartoons. The cartoons were created for the Long Island Press from 1964 until 1969. The cartoons are arranged chronologically and are foldered by month. Materials used include illustration board, graphite and ink.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Liederman, Al.

Corporate Bodies

Long Island Press (Jamaica, N.Y.)
United States. Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- New York (N.Y.)
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Hồ, Chí Minh, 1890-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Peace -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Political cartoons.
Russia -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Al Liederman Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Al Liederman, 1966-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK
Date: 24 Jul 1978
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 26 Aug 2009 - added detailed inventory, index and bio (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons 11" x 14 ½"
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 1964
Oversize 1, Folder 2 Jan 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 3 Feb 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 4 Mar 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 5 Apr 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 6 May 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 7 Jun 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 8 Jul 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 9 Aug 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 10 Sep 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 11 Oct 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 12 Nov 1965
Oversize 1, Folder 13 Dec 1965
Oversize 2, Folder 1 Jan 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 2 Feb 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 3 Mar 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 4 Apr 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 5 May 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 6 Jun 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 7 Jul 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 8 Aug 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 9 Sep 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 10 Oct 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 11 Nov 1966
Oversize 2, Folder 12 Dec 1966
Oversize 3, Folder 1 Jan 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 2 Feb 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 3 Mar 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 4 Apr 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 5 May 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 6 Jun 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 7 Jul 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 8 Aug 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 9 Sep 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 10 Oct 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 11 Nov 1967
Oversize 3, Folder 12 Dec 1967
Oversize 4, Folder 1 Jan 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 2 Feb 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 3 Mar 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 4 Apr 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 5 May 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 6 Jun 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 7 Jul 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 8 Aug 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 9 Sep 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 10 Oct 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 11 Nov 1968
Oversize 4, Folder 12 Dec 1968
Oversize 5, Folder 1 Feb 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 2 Mar 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 3 Apr 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 4 May 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 5 Jun 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 6 Jul 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 7 Aug 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 8 Sep 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 9 Oct 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 10 Nov 1969
Oversize 5, Folder 11 Dec 1969

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F=Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top