Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Malo, Paul.
Title:	Paul Malo Papers
Inclusive Dates:	circa 1955-1975
Quantity:	approximately 30 items
Abstract:	Professional and student work of the American architect, professor, and historian
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Paul Malo (1930-2008) was an American architect, professor, and historian.

Malo was an alumnus (1956) and Professor Emeritus of Syracuse University's School of Architecture, where he taught for more than thirty years while also working as a professional architect. He was employed first with the firm of Sargent, Webster, Crenshaw and Folley and then as partner in the firm of McAfee and Malo, designing many residences and public buildings in Central New York including the Onondaga County Civic Center. He won numerous awards for his work, including the 1999 Pillar of New York Award, the 2001 Annual Award of the Preservation League of New York State and the Special Achievement Award of the Landmark Society of Western New York. He wrote several books on the Thousand Islands area, and was a past president of the Preservation League of New York State and a founding trustee of the Adirondack Architectural Heritage. He was also a pianist, painter, photographer, and gourmet chef.

[Sources: "Paul Malo Remembered," thousandislandslife.com; Paul H. Malo obituary, obits.syracuse.com]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Paul Malo Papers consists almost entirely of original artwork, both as a student and as a practicing architect.

Professional work include residential and commercial buildings.

Student work includes architectural studies as well as a set of drawings for a staging of MacBeth.

A few Miscellaneous items (original work that cannot be identified as professional or student, and one poster) complete the collection.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Paul Malo Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Judith Wellman, 2023.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 3 Mar 2023
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Professional work
Map-Case , Folder 1		Architectural - pencil and watercolor on paper; Singer residence, Cazenovia; unidentified bank building, Syracuse; First Trust and Deposit Co., Syracuse

	Student work
Map-Case , Folder 2		Architectural - ink and watercolor on boards: women's dorm lounge, tennis court, drive-in bank, residence, gate-house/control tower for industrial plant, summer theater, swimming pool/pool court
Map-Case , Folder 3		Architectural - ink and watercolor on paper: studio by the sea, free-standing fountain, pavilion for park, outdoor stairway for public park, milk-bar, weekend cottage, open-air theatre
Oversize 1		Theatrical, "A study on the staging of MacBeth" - ink and watercolor, with accopanying typed notes; stamped "LeMoyne College Library"

	Miscellaneous
Oversize 1		Artwork, unidentified - pencil, watercolor
Map-Case , Folder 4		Artwork, unidentified - watercolor
Map-Case , Folder 4		Poster for opening of Civic Center

Return to top