Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Melodeon Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1869-1870 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Printed item and memoraibilia related to melodeons |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
A melodeon, sometimes spelled "melodion," is a type of reed organ originating in the late 18th century. Reed organs employ a suction or bellows arrangement to generate sound by forcing air flow past thin pieces of metal, known as reeds. In America, melodeons were widely used in smaller churches and private homes through the 19th century.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Melodeon Collection contains one published book and one marriage certificate, both related to melodeons.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Melodeon Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Book, unknown; found in Belfer stacks.
Marriage certificate, gift of Davis Edward Nichols, 1999.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Apr 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | School for the parlor-organ, melodeon, and harmonium by J.A. Getze, O. Ditson & Company, Boston 1869 | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Marriage certificate, Seth Huntly Nichols and Ida Flora Davis 1870 - with note that melodeon was played at their wedding | ||||||||||