Methodist Collection A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Materials include Minutes of quarterly conference of the Oneida Conference, Cazenovia District, Georgetown Circuit, 1855-1856; baptismal records, 1856-1863; and journal of a circuit minister, Joseph Elsegood of Richmond, Northampton County, Pennsylvania, 1843-1844; periodicals, conference & local church journals & publications; The Gospel in All Lands/Christianity in Ernest; Quarterly Conference Records - Sodus, Cato, Victory & Rose Circuits 1813-1830; Quarterly Conference Records - Sodus Circuit, Sept. 27, 1828 - Sept. 2, 1830; Cazenovia Seminary subscription book; items from Cazenovia Seminary; other items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Elsegood, Joseph

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Black River Conference.

Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Central New York Conference.

Methodist Church (U.S.). -- East Genesee Conference.

Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Genesee Conference.

Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Oneida Conference.

Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Wyoming Conference.

Subjects

Church records and registers -- New York (State)

Methodist Church -- New York (State)

Methodists -- New York (State)

Methodists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Church records.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Methodist Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

The origin of much of the collection is unknown. Some items gift of Robert Harris, 1971-1973, 1977, 1979; Doris Thorpe, 1973; Cherry Valley United Methodist Church, 1978; Erwin United Methodist Church, 1998.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 19 May 2022
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top

Collection inventory

Table of Contents