Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Michaels, Ed.
Title:	Ed Michaels Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1962-1989
Quantity:	1 linear ft.
Abstract:	Collection contains papers, reports and newspaper articles on resin transfer molding, including the renovation of the Truman balcony at the White House; photographs and slides from Michaels' career and the products he created; and videotapes.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Ed Michaels (1922-2002) was an American inventor and manufacturer in the plastics industry.

Michaels worked with reinforced thermoset plastics and developed zero-shrink polyester resin formulations used in molds for composites, making it possible to mold large parts with light-weight polyester molds. He obtained several patents related to the Resin Transfer Mold Process (RTM). Over the course of his career he formed two companies: Composites Consulting in Sheboygan Falls, WI and Fiberglass, Tooling and Specialties. He used his skills to renovate the White House Truman Balcony using polyester. He died March 26, 2002.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ed Michaels Papers contains papers, reports and newspaper articles on resin transfer molding, including the renovation of the Truman balcony at the White House; images (photographs and slides) from Michaels' career and the products he created; and videotapes.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Note: Collection was already processed upon receipt by Special Collections Research Center. Notes below were provided with the collection.

Collection found in no order except the Polaroids which were arranged in two binders, titled Fiberglass Tooling RTM and Repair Rebuilding, and the slides. Slides are labeled and in order as left by Michaels. Arranged in series by format. Polaroids are filed in the order in which they were in the binders. [Processed 2006 by Margaret O. Moore, Donohue Group, Inc., Wethersfield, CT.]

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ed Michaels Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Mrs. Esther Michaels via Thomas E. Doyle.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Jun 2009 - additions (MRC); 23 Apr 2019 - film removed, videotapes added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Papers, reports, and articles
Box 1		Miscellaneous - newspaper clippings, including on the Truman balcony renovation at the White House, and papers on resin transfer molding, FRP Manufacturing (Kohler, Inc.) and polyester technology (Koppers)

	Photographs 1962-1989
		Prints (387 items)
Box 3			Fiberglass plant, series A
Box 3			Fiberglass plant, series B
Box 3			Fiberglass production
Box 2			"Fiberglass Tooling RTM" binder
Box 3			Michaels in his office
Box 2			"Repair Rebuilding" binder
Box 1			Miscellaneous - Banning High School, Ed Michaels with unidentified man, and workers handling plastic pieces (8 items)
		Slides (1198 items)
Box 4, Folder 1			Bway Elixir doors/Alta Manufacturing c. 1962-1984
Box 4, Folder 1			Toledo Plant 1970
Box 4, Folder 1			Trips 1970-1972
Box 4, Folder 1			SPI 1976
Box 4, Folder 1			Fritz boat 1976
Box 4, Folder 1			RTM - molding, Plastark (?) 1983
Box 4, Folder 1			White House gutter & fascia 1983
Box 4, Folder 1			SPI, Houston 1984
Box 4, Folder 2			Guard doors 1985
Box 4, Folder 2			RTM (has identifying list) c. 1984-1987
Box 4, Folder 2			RTM, misc.
Box 4, Folder 2			Assembly of doors 1986
Box 4, Folder 2			Raising/lowering device 1985
Box 4, Folder 2			Plenco machine 1986
Box 4, Folder 2			Artificial limb 1986
Box 4, Folder 2			Macair 1986
Box 4, Folder 2			Wet jet 1986
Box 4, Folder 2			Van
Box 4, Folder 2			Air shroud, Envirex (?), Macair
Box 4, Folder 2			Mack Truck
Box 4, Folder 3			Wind blade 1987
Box 4, Folder 3			Helix I 1987
Box 4, Folder 3			RTM (has identifying list) 1987-1988
Box 4, Folder 3			Back of house & garden, EEA, Oshkosk river trip 1988
Box 4, Folder 4			RTM (has identifying list) 1988-1989
Box 4, Folder 4			Misc. raise/lowering device 1988-1989
Box 4, Folder 4			Unidentified 1989
Box 5			"Fiberglass tool" (18 packets of 14-18 slides each)
Box 5			"Transmold" (10 packets of 14-18 slides each)
Box 5			Miscellaneous - companies represented include DuPont, Kawasaki, W.H. Brady, Yakima; may also include some personal slides (20 packets of 14-18 slides each)

	Videotapes
Box 6		1A Resin Transfer Mold (RTM) at Heicom - Birth of A new CO. 57m 45A, Fluidization bed, MRI for knee, cheese press lid. By N. Ed Michaels, Composites Consulting (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: michaels_e_002)
Box 6		Cheese Press Lid; Fluidization Bed; MRI No. 2A; Wind Blade (8 mm Hi8 Video; running time 20:00) (ID#: michaels_e_006)
Box 6		Composites Consulting, Resin Transfer Mold (RTM) No. 1 - Formerly Fiberglass Tooling and Specialties, Inc. N. Ed Michaels. (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: michaels_e_001)
Box 6		Hauff Wind Blade (1st Edit) (VHS; running time 120:00) (ID#: michaels_e_003)
Box 6		Resin Transfer Mold (RTM) (Betamax) (ID#: michaels_e_005)
Box 6		Training Hand Lay Up in Puebla; Working on Bus Seats (Copy) (VHS) (ID#: michaels_e_004)

Return to top