Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Offenbach, Jacques, 1819-1880. |
| Title: | Jacques Offenbach Letter |
| Inclusive Dates: | undated (after 1844) |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | One letter from the German-born French composer composer, to a friend in Paris. |
| Language: | French |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Jacques Offenbach (1819–1880) was a German-born French composer and cellist of Jewish ancestry. He had a strong influence in popular music in Europe, and was one of the originators of the operetta, of which he wrote more than one hundred. His works were noted for their elements of satire and parody; two for which he is particularly known are the operetta Orpheus in the Underworld and the opera The Tales of Hoffman.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Jacques Offenbach Letter consists of a single letter from Offenbach to someone surnamed Achard in Paris. The letter, in French, sends greetings from Offenbach and his wife and suggests that it is high time they should have a chance to see M. and Mme. Achard again. The recipient may be Amédée Achard, 1814-1875, a comic singer of the Société des Frileux.
The letter is undated but as it mentions Offenbach's wife, whom he married in 1844, it must be after that date.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Jacques Offenbach Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, unspecified date.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 1 Jul 2010
Revision history: