Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Pease, Anna E. |
| Title: | Anna E. Pease Diary |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1908-1911 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume (SC) |
| Abstract: | Diary of a young woman in Central New York, during her last year at Wells College and first two years after graduation. Miss Pease seems to have been very musical as there is frequent mention of piano lessons, recitals, church choirs, singing, etc. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Anna E. Pease graduated from Wells College in 1908. Nothing else is know of her beyond the information given in the diary.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Anna E. Pease Diary is the diary of a young woman in Central New York, during her last year at Wells College and continuing for about two years after graduation. Entries are brief, with frequent mention of piano lessons, recitals, church choirs, singing, etc. Typical of the entries are these:
February 1, 1909. Mon. Dad came on early train. Lecture in afternoon. Spent evening at the Sewalls. Learned about chess. Home late. Cold.February 2, 1909. Tues. Went to subway with Dad -- took the Empire State 8:30. Worked all rest of day. Went to library in P.M. Read all eve.February 3, 1909. Lesson at 9:30. Theory & Dictation classes. Home at 1. Letters from Laurie & Ethel. Worked all day. Mrs. Sevier[?] called in evening.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Anna E. Pease Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unspecified, 1977.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 29 Mar 2010
Revision history: