Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Piper, H. Beam. |
| Title: | H. Beam Piper Diary |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1963 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume (SC) |
| Abstract: | Personal diary of the American science fiction author, near the end of his life |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
H. Beam Piper (1904-1964) was an American science fiction author known for his novels of far-future human history and alternate timelines including the Paratime and Fuzzy Sapiens stories. Piper committed suicide in November of 1964. In 1999 his novel Lone Star Planet received the Hall of Fame Award for Best Classic Libertarian SF Novel.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The H. Beam Piper Diary covers the year 1963, shortly before Piper's death in November of 1964. Entries discuss his progress on various writing projects as well as such mundane details as what time he went to bed and what he had for dinner.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
H. Beam Piper Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Forrest J Ackerman; transferred from the Forrest Ackerman Papers to be its own small collection. In a letter from Piper's biographer John F. Carr to Forrest Ackerman, he writes that "Mike Knerr, Piper's friend and protege, left Piper's diaries -- from 1955 to '64 -- in your [Ackerman's] hands for safekeeping." When the Ackerman papers were processed, however, only this one volume was found.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 20 Feb 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| SC 881 | Diary 1963 - topics include writing projects, daily activities, weather, etc.; entries in November and December mention his divorce and the Kennedy assassination | ||||||||||