Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	The Plastics Academy, Inc.
Title:	Plastics Hall of Fame Records
Inclusive Dates:	1972-2018
Quantity:	3.0 linear ft
Abstract:	Records of the Plastics Academy related to the organization of the Plastics Hall of Fame containing correspondence, organizational notes, meeting minutes, member lists, press clippings, nomination forms, biographies, photographs, event information, induction ceremony programs and other materials related to the Plastics Hall of Fame.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Plastics Hall of Fame is an industry educational organization founded to celebrate those "who, through dedication, work and accomplishment have contributed most significantly to the growth and success of the plastics industry." In October of 1972, Modern Plastics magazine in cooperation with The Society of the Plastics Industry (SPI) established the Plastics Hall of Fame. The first induction took place during the National Plastics Exposition and Conference held in Chicago from November 5 to 9, 1973. In 1974 the concept was expanded to include posthumous induction into the Hall of Fame to honor great contributors to the plastics industry. In 1976, Modern Plastics shifted responsibility for inducting members to the Society of the Plastics Industry (SPI) and after the 1982 event, the Plastics Academy Inc. (a tax exempt organization), was founded to manage the Hall of Fame nominations and inductions.

[Adapted from information given on the Plastics Academy website.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Plastics Hall of Fame Records contains correspondence, organizational notes, meeting minutes, member lists, press clippings, nomination forms, biographies, photographs, event information, induction ceremony programs and other materials related to the organization.

Administrative material contains documents regarding the operation of the organization including bylaws, nomination forms, procedural documents, membership lists, press releases, and relevant correspondence to and from the Plastics Hall of Fame. Also included are materials associated with the National Plastics Center & Museum, such as project estimates, floor plans, and exhibition drawings.

Nominations and inductions includes biographies and photographs of members of the Plastics Hall of Fame as well as materials relating to their nominations including nomination forms, letters of recommendation, articles, and additional biographical information. This series also contains materials relating to Plastics Hall of Fame induction ceremonies, such as notes and memos, event plans, program scripts, invitations, and event programs.

Most of the Photographs are formal shots (portrait photographs) of Hall of Fame inductees. The vast majority are prints or reproductions, but there are a few negatives and color slides.

Printed material contains newspaper and magazine articles relating to the organization and members of the Plastics Hall of Fame, as well as some issues of the Plastics Academy publications. Also included are studies and research reports relating to plastics in building construction.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by subject.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Plastics Hall of Fame Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Original collection, gift of National Plastics Center and Museum, 2010.

Later additions, gift of various individuals and organizations.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SDG
Date: 29 Jul 2011
Revision history: Mar 2012 - updated (SCJ); 10 Feb 2014 - additions (MRC); 5 Dec 2018 - additions (MRC); 27 Feb 2018 - additions (MRC); 30 Apr 2019 - 1 packet of photos added; all photos identified and sorted (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Administrative material
Box 1		Bylaws, Plastics Academy 23 Jan 1998
Box 1		Correspondence - includes Plastics Hall of Fame, inductees, and members of the plastics industry
Box 1		Elections and procedures (4 folders)
Box 1		Membership lists - Plastics Academy members and Plastics Hall of Fame inductees
Box 1		Minutes 1998
Box 1		Museum and exhibitions - National Plastics Center and Museum, and Plastics Hall of Fame exhibitions
Box 1		Press releases 1976-1998
Box 2		Recommendations, administration
Box 2		Miscellaneous 1976-1998 - includes introductory speeches, internal and external communications, membership application, and a cd-r with images of trophies and medals

	Nominations and inductions
Box 2		Biographies of hall of fame inductees (2 folders)
Box 2		Induction ceremony 1976-1979 - correspondence, scripts, financials, etc. relating to event planning, budget, guests, and speakers (2 folders)
Box 2		Induction ceremony 1982 - correspondence, scripts, financials, etc. relating to event planning, budget, guests, and speakers (2 folders)
Box 3		Induction ceremony 1982 - correspondence, scripts, financials, etc. relating to event planning, budget, guests, and speakers
Box 3		Induction ceremony programs 1973, 1976, 1979, 1982, 1986-1988, 1991, 1993-1994, 1996-1997, 1999-2000, 2003, 2005-2006, 2008-2009, 2011-2012, 2014-2015, 2018 (6 folders)
Box 4		Nomination materials - forms, schedules, deadlines
Box 4		Nominations 1972-1973, 1976, 1979, 1982 - forms, letters of recommendation, biographies, etc. (7 folders)
Box 5		Nominations 1993-1998 - forms, letters of recommendation, biographies, etc. (2 folders)
Box 5		Nominations, posthumous - correspondence, forms, etc.

	Photographs
Box 5		Correspondence about
			These had already been separated from the photographs to which they refer when the collection was received.
Box 5		Bill Cruse, India Trip 1957
Box 5		Hall of Fame inductees - digital files, tif and jpg format; file listing; prints with filenames on reverse CD-ROM (ID#: plast_hof_001)
Box 5		Hall of Fame inductees, A-G (3 folders)
Box 6		Hall of Fame inductees, H-W (3 folders)
Box 6		Miscellaneous - includes group shots, photos of inductees receiving award, packet of photos from Russia
Box 6		Miscellaneous, unidentified
Box 6		Slides and negatives - some identified, some not

	Printed material
Box 6		Clippings about Hall of Fame 1972-2009
Box 6		Clippings about people
Box 6		Clippings, miscellaneous
Box 6		Publications - issues of Plastics Academy News, Hall of Fame Newsletter
Box 6		Reports, miscellaneous
			SMANCA, Thermoplastic Duct (PVC) Construction Manual, (1974) ASHRAE Standard, Energy Conservation in New Building Design (1975)
Box 6		Technical Report, Fire Research Project - includes slides (2 folders)
Box 6		Miscellaneous - brochure, notecards, etc.

Return to top