Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Polymeric Systems
Title:	Polymeric Systems Collection
Inclusive Dates:	Undated
Quantity:	41 items
Abstract:	Collection consists of 36 copy color and black and white photographs of a manufacturing facility; and five 7" plastic sound discs manufactured with polystyrene by Richardson Company Polymeric Systems Division. The use of polystyrene was purported to eliminate surface noise from the discs.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Polymeric Systems of Madison, Connecticut, a producer of resins, was owned by the Richardson Group, and was sold in 1982 to a newly formed company formed by Polymeric management and the Amadon Corporation.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Polymeric Systems Collection consists of 36 copy color and black and white photographs of a manufacturing facility; and five 7" plastic sound discs manufactured with polystyrene by Richardson Company Polymeric Systems Division. The use of polystyrene was purported to eliminate surface noise from the discs.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged by format.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Polymeric Systems Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Len Schecter, 2003.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Oct 2010 - records returned to collection; inventory updated (MRC); 8 Apr 2022 - media processed/updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Photographs
Box 1		Manufacturing facilities (36 items)

	Polystyrene sound discs
Box 1		Eliminate Surface Noise!: Stella by Starlight; Audio Equipment Adjustment Test [copy 1] (Grooved analog disc; running time 2:27) (ID#: polymeric_003)
			Song from the Jordge Dalto LP "Chevere" UA-LA671-G. Envelope label reads: "The demo record made from Richardson's standard polystyrene compound that helps eliminate surface noise and improves audio quality".
Box 1		Eliminate Surface Noise!: Stella by Starlight; Audio Equipment Adjustment Test [copy 2] (Grooved analog disc; running time 2:27) (ID#: polymeric_004)
			Song from the Jordge Dalto LP "Chevere" UA-LA671-G. Envelope label reads: "The demo record made from Richardson's standard polystyrene compound that helps eliminate surface noise and improves audio quality".
Box 1		Eliminate Surface Noise!: Stella by Starlight; Audio Equipment Adjustment Test [copy 3] (Grooved analog disc; running time 2:27) (ID#: polymeric_005)
			Song from the Jordge Dalto LP "Chevere" UA-LA671-G. Envelope label reads: "The demo record made from Richardson's standard polystyrene compound that helps eliminate surface noise and improves audio quality".
Box 1		Stella by Starlight; Audio Equipment Adjustment Test [copy 1] - promotional disc from the Jordge Dalto LP "Chevere" UA-LA671-G (Grooved analog disc; running time 2:27) (ID#: polymeric_001)
Box 1		Stella by Starlight; Audio Equipment Adjustment Test [copy 2] - promotional disc from the Jordge Dalto LP "Chevere" UA-LA671-G (Grooved analog disc; running time 2:27) (ID#: polymeric_002)

Return to top