Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Jim Robe Illusrations of John Spenkelink Execution
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Robe, James T. |
| Title: | Jim Robe Illusrations of John Spenkelink Execution |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1979 |
| Quantity: | 6 items |
| Abstract: | Illustrations of the execution of John A. Spenkelink by |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
James T. Robe (1926-2000) was an American freelance artist based in Florida. Robe produced portraits, caricatures, landscapes, magazine and book illustrations, and a cartoon strip for the Cincinnati Post, and was a staff artist for the Tampa Tribune. He was also a courtroom artist, producing sketches of Ted Bundy, Columbian drug dealer Carlos Lehder, and others who were brought to trial in Florida.
John A. Spenkelink (1949-1979) was convicted of first-degree murder in Florida in 1973. Capital punishment had been suspended by the US Supreme Court in 1972 as a result of the case Furman v. Georgia; Spenkelink was the first person executed in Florida after it was reinstated in 1976.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Jim Robe Illusrations of John Spenkelink Execution consists of six sketches portraying the execution of John A. Spenkelink. The drawings were created by Florida aritist James T. Robe for us in television coverage of the case by WFLA, the Tampa NBC affiliate. The drawings include
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Jim Robe Illusrations of John Spenkelink Execution,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 10 Sep 2024
Revision history: