Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Seccombe, Thomas, 1866-1923. |
| Title: | Thomas Seccombe Scrapbooks |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1909-1915 |
| Quantity: | 3 volumes |
| Abstract: | Scrapbooks created by the English author, critic, and educator; one specifically relates to Samuel Johnson's bicentenary |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Thomas Seccombe (1866-1923) was a British author, editor, critic, and lecturer in English and history. He was the author of three books, including The Age of Johnson (1898), a comprehensive historical account of the cultural and social developments in England during the period of Samuel Johnson's life.
Samuel Johnson (1709-1784), often known as Dr. Johnson, was an English poet, playwright, essayist, moralist, literary critic, sermonist, biographer, editor, and lexicographer. His life was documemented in a number of contemporary and later biographies, the most well-known of which is James Boswell's Life of Samuel Johnson (1791).
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Thomas Seccombe Scrapbooks consists of three sets of loose pages in paper wrappers with typed labels. The volumes contain letters, announcements, event programs, pamphlets, brochures, as well as clippings from newspapers, magazines, and books. Larger items such as broadsides are occasionally laid in. One volume is focused on English writer Samuel Johnson, including items related to the 1909 celebrations of the bicentenary of his birth and announcements about Seccombe's lectures on Johnson. The other two volumes are on various topics of general interest to Seccombe. Most of the clippings are clearly labeled as to publication and date.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Thomas Seccombe Scrapbooks,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Acquired 1987. Notes in file indicate it may have been gift of Chancellor Tolley.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 26 Jun 2024
Revision history: 26 Jun 2024 - processed (MRC)
Inventory
| Scrapbooks | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | The Johnson Bicentenary & Dr. Johnson and Mrs. Thrale 1909-1912 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | General press cuttings 1912 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | General press cuttings 1914-1915 | ||||||||||