Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education.
Title:	Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records
Inclusive Dates:	1951-2008
Bulk Dates:	1955-1975
Quantity:	30 linear ft.
Abstract:	Material collected or published by Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE). Publications include original monographs as well as works from the Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults, Fund for Adult Education, the International Seminar on Adult Education, the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, ERIC, American Foundation for Continuing Education, the Library of Continuing Education at Syracuse University, and miscellaneous publications by notable adult educators including Alexander N. Charters, Cyril O. Houle, J. Roby Kidd, A.A. Liveright, John Ohliger, James B. Whipple, et al.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

In 1969 the Ford Foundation approved a five-year grant to Syracuse University for the continued availability, distribution, and servicing of materials developed by the American Foundation for Continuing Education and the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, both former grantees of the Ford Foundation's Fund for Adult Education. Prior to that, in 1950, University College (UC) of Syracuse University (SU) had published a series of "blue books" in the field; the University's Library of Continuing Education (LCE) developed and published a number of works in the 1960s; and ERIC initiated documents, which the University had published alone or in cooperation with other institutions. All began to be collected under the general rubric of SUPCE, along with significant works by prominent adult educators and material published by other adult education organizations such as the Fund for Adult Education. Doris Chertow served as the editor for the publications under SU's Vice President for Continuing Education, Alexander N. Charters.

Although SUPCE's federal funding ended in 1975, it continued to release updates to original SUPCE publications as well as publishing the occasional new monograph under its own name and, later, under the auspices of the Academic Institute for Educators of Adults (AIEA) within the School of Education at Syracuse University, until 2008.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records consists of a near-complete set of all material collected or published by SUPCE, along with drafts of some items and some administrative files for both SUPCE and Syracuse Resources for Educators of Adults (SUREA). Individuals well-known in the field of adult education represented in the collection include Robert J. Blakely, Alexander N. Charters, Roger DeCrow, Cyril O. Houle, J. Roby Kidd, A. A. (Alexander Albert) Liveright, Paul H. Sheats, John Ohliger, and James B. Whipple.

Drafts, notes and galleys contains pre-publication versions of a few SUPCE publications.

Publications contains a nearly-complete set of all items published, reprinted, or collected by SUPCE over the course of its existence. Although SUPCE's federal funding ended in 1975, updates to many of its publications as well as the occasional new SUPCE monograph have been released on an irregular basis over the years, under the auspices of the Academic Institute for Educators of Adults (AIEA) within the school of education at Syracuse University. The publications are divided into several subseries which are arranged alphabetically; individual items are in numerical order by their three-letter code.

Note that several of the MSS subseries documents contain lists of SUPCE publications or resources. These were accurate at the time of compilation but naturally may have since been superseded; this finding aid comprises the most complete and current listing. Because a complete list of SUPCE materials does not exist elsewhere, we have taken the unusual step of making the list given here in the finding aid complete, despite the fact that the collection itself is not. Items missing from the collection are indicated by the notation "[MISSING]" immediately following the three-letter code and preceding the title of the item. As of August 2006, Box 9 was missing. All items in that box are therefore marked as [MISSING].

Administrative files and SUREA comprise office files pertaining to the operation of these two organizations, including correspondence, financial records, order logs, and more.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is sorted alphabetically by SUPCE's three-letter codes, and within that titles are listed numerically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Many of the MSS series documents have been digitized and are available through SCRC Online, our digital portal.

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

During processing (Aug 2006), Box 9 could not be found. All box 9 items have been marked [MISSING] until it can be located.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 22 Jul 1991
Revision history: 2 Aug 2006 - additions, reorg, converted to EAD (MRR); 24 Aug 2007 - additions, description updated (MRC); 26 May 2008 - additions (MRC); 8 Jul 2009 - OCP 59 added (MRC); 20 Jun 2011 - MSS 15 and 33 added (MRC); 8 Mar 2016 - REP139 located and returned (MRC); 23 Jun 2016 - MSS21 correction (MRC); 5 Jun 2018 - REP144 found (MRC); 11 Sep 2023 - entire collection rehoused, inventory corrected/updated (MS/MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Many of the MSS series documents have been digitized and are available through SCRC Online, our digital portal.

	Administrative files
Box 1		[General] 1966-1985 (5 folders)
Box 1		"Accent on Social Philosophy" 1974-1975 (2 folders)
Box 1		Adult Education Association 1970-1976
Box 1		Adult Education Clearinghouse 1964-1974
Box 1		ACHE, NAPCAE, NEA 1970
Box 1		Apps, Jerrold 1973-1976
Box 2		Autographs 1972-1973
Box 2		Bartlett, Kenneth G. 1971-1972
Box 2		Bown, Lalage 1975-1976
Box 2		Carlson, Robert A. 1969-1974
Box 2		Chicago Tribune 1972-1975
Box 2		CPAE (Commission of Professors of Adult Education) 1972-1973
		Correspondence
Box 2			[General] 1965-1986 (8 folders)
Box 3			Carbons 1970-1971 (3 folders)
Box 3			Mailings 1970-1974 (3 folders)
Box 3			Doris Chertow 1974-1975 (3 folders)
Box 3			Crime book 1969
Box 3			Dubnick, Phyllis 1969
Box 3			Krinsky, Fred 1971-1972
Box 3			Schwartz, Harry 1969-1970
Box 3		Council on Continuing Education 1973
Box 3		Cross, Wilbur 1973-1976
Box 3		Darkenwald, Beder, Merozow 1974
Box 4		Discussion leadership guide inquiries 1969
Box 4		Dissertation abstracts 1979
Box 4		Distribution contracts 1968-1971
Box 4		Even, Mary Jane 1973-1976 (2 folders)
Box 4		"Evolution of Man" contract agreement
Box 4		"Evolution of Man" correspondence 1966-1971
			See also Publications: American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) series (AFC): AFC68 Evolution of Man
Box 4		"Exploring the Universe" correspondence 1960-1974 (4 folders)
Box 4		"Exploring the Universe" permissions
Box 5		"Exploring the Universe" photograph permissions
Box 5		Form letters 1973-1974
Box 5		"Future of Religion" 1972
Box 5		"Great Issues in American Politics" 1967-1970
			See also Publications: American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) series (AFC): AFC33 Great Issues in American Politics Part I; Publications: Fund for Adult Education series (FAE): FAE30 Great Issues in American Politics Part I
Box 5		Greer, Loyal 1974-1977
Box 5		Houle, Cyril O. 1971-1972
Box 5		I.B.M. 1974-1975
Box 5		Inventories 1968-1978
Box 5		Jacobson, Nolan Pliny 1968
Box 5		Jessup, Frank 1972-1973
Box 5		Kozoll, Charles 1970-1972 (2 folders)
Box 5		"List of Publications," Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald 1983-1988
			Appears to be the same as MSS26.
Box 6		"List of Publications," Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald 1983-1988
			Appears to be the same as MSS26.
		Manuscripts
Box 6			"Concerns About Adult Education" / Schroeder, Wayne
Box 6			"New Media" 1968-1969
Box 6			"Why Adults Learn" / Tough, Allen
Box 6			Miscellaneous 1968-1970, undated (2 folders)
Box 6		Memos 1980-1986 (3 folders)
Box 6		Memos from Alexander N. Charters 1972-1976
Box 6		"Memo from Syracuse" 1972-1976
Box 7		Miller, Paul 1973
Box 7		Moses, Stanley 1971-1974
Box 7		"Mystery of Matter" records and permissions 1963-1972
Box 7		National Institute for Adult Education, England (NIAE) 1968, 1973
Box 7		New York Associaton for Continuing Education (NYACE) 1969-1975
Box 7		Non-profit corporation reports 1964-1969 - includes articles of incorporation
Box 7		Office procedures 1977
Box 7		Ohliger, John 1969-1975, 1984, undated
Box 7		Organizer's manual, AFCE 1962
Box 7		Oxford Press projects 1966-1973
Box 7		Pardoen, Alan R. 1975-1976 - includes 3 research papers by him (2 folders)
Box 7		Penfield, Kathleen 1973-1974
Box 7		Peters, John M. 1975-1977
Box 7		Problems 1977-1978
		Publications
Box 8			[General] 1960-1982 (11 folders)
Box 9			[General] undated (2 folders)
Box 9			Correspondence 1977-1979 (3 folders)
Box 9			Form letters 1977-1978
Box 9		Raybould, Sidney G. 1970
Box 9		Readings in American foreign policy 1958-1971 (2 folders)
Box 9		Readings in world politics 1966-1969
Box 9		Records, financial 1970-1977
Box 9		Redman, George 1976
Box 10		Rivera, William 1992 - curriculum vitae, summary of professional experience
Box 10		School of Education minutes 1976-1977 (2 folders)
		Science and international relations
Box 10			Carnegie Endowment for International Peace 1965-1968
Box 10			Permissions 1967-1971 (3 folders)
Box 10			Working papers 1967-1968
Box 10		Science and public policy 1967-1972 - correspondence (2 folders)
		Science and world affairs
Box 11			Biographies
Box 11			Illustrations
Box 11			Reading lists
Box 11		"Ways of Mankind" 1959, 1969-1970
Box 11		Whipple, James 1967-1972
Box 11		Young, Louise 1968-1971 - correspondence

	Drafts, notes and galleys
Box 12		AFC48 Science and Public Policy / AFCE/Oceana (6 folders)
			See also Publications: American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) series (AFC): AFC48 Science and Public Policy / AFCE/Oceana
Box 12		LNH2 The Cooperative Extension Service: Paradoxical Servant / Miller, Paul A.
			See also Publications: Landmark and New Horizons series (LNH): LNH2 The Cooperative Extension Service: Paradoxical Servant
Box 13		NES59 The System of Adult Education in Yugoslavia / Savicevic, Dusan M. (2 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES59 The System of Adult Education in Yugoslavia
Box 13		NES60 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man / Whipple, James B.; Goldman, Freda H.; Haygood, Kenneth; Siegle, Peter (2 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES60 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man
Box 13		NES61 Aim: From Concept to Reality / Wedemeyer, Charles A.; Najem, Robert E. (4 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES61 Aim: From Concept to Reality
Box 13		NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society / Cook, Samuel Dubois; Stern, George G.; Green, Thomas F.; Weiner, Anthony J. (1 of 6 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society
Box 14		NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in ContemporarySociety / Cook, Samuel Dubois; Stern, George G.; Green, Thomas F.; Weiner, Anthony J. (5 of 6 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education forAdults series (NES): NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy:Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society
Box 14		NES63 Knowledge is Power to Control Power / Blakely, Robert; Lappin, I. (5 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES63 Knowledge is Power to Control Power
Box 15		NES64 The University and Community Service / Whipple, James B.; Chertow, Doris (5 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES64 The University and Community Service
Box 15		NES65 Essays on New Careers / Riessman, Frank; Rosen, Sumner M.; Featherstone, Joseph; Gartner, Alan) (8 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES65 Essays on New Careers: Social Implications for Adult Educators
Box 16		NES66 Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide / Ziegler, Warren (5 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES66 Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide
Box 16		NES69 Ends and Means: The National Conference on Continuing Education in Nursing / McHenry, Ruth W. (2 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES69 Ends and Means: The National Conference on Continuing Education in Nursing
Box 16		NES70 Residential Continuing Education / Houle, Cyril O.
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES70 Residential Continuing Education
Box 16		NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and Continuing Educators / Leagans, J. Paul; Copeland, Harlan G.; Kaiser, Gertrude E. (2 of 4 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES): NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and Continuing Educators
Box 17		NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Educationfor Extension and Continuing Educators / Leagans, J. Paul; Copeland, Harlan G.; Kaiser, Gertrude E. (2 of 4 folders)
			See also Publications: Notes and Essays and Reports in Continuing Education forAdults series (NES): NES71 Selected Concepts fromEducational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and ContinuingEducators
Box 17		OCP19 Accent on Adults: The Small College Program at Brooklyn / Jacobson, Myrtle S.; Offenbacher, Deborah I.
			See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP19 Accent on Adults: The Small College Program at Brooklyn
Box 17		OCP20 Faculty Perceptions of Continuing Education at Syracuse University / Porter, Lee
			See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP20 Faculty Perceptions of Continuing Education at Syracuse University
Box 17		OCP21 Community Service and Continuing Education / Whipple, James B.
			See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP21 Community Service and Continuing Education
Box 17		OCP22 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult / Anderson, Darrel; Niemi, John (2 folders)
			See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP22 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult
Box 17		OCP24 Lifelong Learning or Lifelong Schooling: A Tentative View of the Ideas of Ivan Illich / Ohliger, John; McCarthy, C.
			See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP24 Lifelong Learning or Lifelong Schooling: A Tentative View of the Ideas of Ivan Illich
Box 17		OCP25 The Learning Force: A More Comprehensive Framework for Educational Policy / Moses, Stanley
			See also Publications: Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP): OCP25 The Learning Force: A More Comprehensive Framework for Educational Policy

	Publications
		American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) series (AFC)
Box 17			AFC1 Economics and Politics / Harlan, H. C. 1958
Box 17			AFC2 Readings in World Politics v. 1-2 1951
Box 18			AFC2 Readings in World Politics v. 3-4, plus Discussion Leader'sManual 1951
Box 18			AFC3 Readings in World Politics v. 1-3, 2nd edition 1953
Box 18			AFC4 Readings in World Politics, Vol. 1, 2 / Goldwin, Robert A.; Lerner, Ralph; Stourzh, Gerald 1957
Box 18			AFC5 Readings in World Politics, Session Guides / staff, American Foundation for Political Education 1957
Box 18			AFC6 Readings in World Politics, Sessions 1 and 2 / staff, American Foundation for Political Education 1957
Box 18			AFC7 Readings in World Politics, Discussion Leader's Manual / staff, American Foundation for Political Education 1955
Box 18			AFC8 Readings in Russian Foreign Policy, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, 2d Edition / Goldwin, Robert A. and Zetterbaum, Marvin 1953
Box 18			AFC9 Readings in Russian Foreign Policy, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2, 3rd Edition / Goldwin, Robert A. and Zetterbaum, Marvin 1953
Box 18			AFC10 Readings in Russian Foreign Policy, Sessions 8 & 9 / staff, American Foundation for Political Education 1957
Box 18			AFC11 The Russian Foreign Policy Program, Discussion Leader's Manual / Zetterbaum, Marvin 1957
Box 18			AFC12 Readings in Russian Foreign Policy, Supplement; Tables and Maps / Goldwin, Robert A. and Zetterbaum, Marvin 1953
Box 19			AFC13 Readings in American Democracy, Vol. 1 and 2 / Stourzh, Gerald and Lerner, Ralph 1957
Box 19			AFC14 Readings in American Democracy, Sessions 1 & 2 / staff, American Foundation for Political Education
Box 19			AFC15 A Statement Concerning the American Foundation for Political Education / staff, American Foundation for Political Education 1953
Box 19			AFC16 Annual Report of Ex. Director Year ending March 31, American Foundation for Political Education / Nelson, Charles E.
Box 19			AFC17 Annual Report of Ex. Director Year ending June 30, American Foundation for Political Education / Nelson, Charles E.
Box 19			AFC18 American Foundation for Political Education, A Statement including Annual Report of Exec. Director [for the] Year ending June 30, 1955 / Nelson, Charles E. 1956
Box 19			AFC19 American Foundation for Political Education, A Statement Including Annual Report of Exec. Director [for the] Year Ending June 30, 1956 / Ziegler, Jerome M. 1956
Box 19			AFC20 American Foundation for Political Education, Annual Report [for the] Year ending June 30, 1957 / Ziegler, Jerome M. 1958
Box 19			AFC21 American Foundation for Continuing Education, 2 Year Report [for the] Period ending June 30, 1959 / Ziegler, Jerome M. 1959
			AFC22 [MISSING] American Foundation for Continuing Education, Programs and Publications / Williams, Harold S.
Box 19			AFC23 American Foundations for Continuing Education, Programs and Publications / Williams, Harold S.
			AFC24 [MISSING] The American Foreign Policy Program, Discussion Leader's Manual / Goldwin, Robert A. 1955
			AFC25 [MISSING] Readings in American Foreign Policy 6th edition / Goldwin, Robert A. and Stourzh, Gerald 1958 - Vol. I - Sessions 1-5 Vol. II - Sessions 6-8
			AFC26 [MISSING] Readings in American Foreign Policy 4th edition / Goldwin, Robert A. 1955 - Vol. 1 - Sessions 1-4; Vol. 2 - Sessions 5-7; Vol. 3 - Sessions 8-10
			AFC27 [MISSING] Readings for Men & Labor / Fertig, Ralph D. 1962
Box 19			AFC28 Readings for Peace Corps Trainees, nos. 1-5, 8-10 / Christensen, David, University of Chicago 1966 (8 folders)
				Vol. I - The Peace Corps: Missionary Society's Peace Army or What? Vol. II - Cultural Confrontation:Terrifying and Illuminating Vol. III - Freedom Round or Freedom Square Vol. IV - On the Making of Volunteers Vol. V - Of Gifts and Bribes and Stones that Cry Vol VIII - Varieties of Cannibalism Vol. IX - Bringing It All Back Home Vol. X - Where Has It Been and Where Is It Going?
			AFC29 [MISSING] Ways to Justice / Sinclair, Lister 1954
			AFC30 [MISSING] Jefferson and Our Times / Malone, Dumas 1955
			AFC31 [MISSING] Jeffersonian Heritage / Malone, Dumas 1955
			AFC32 [MISSING] Introduction to the Humanities
			AFC33 [MISSING] Great Issues in American Politics Part I / Hofstadter, Richard 1956
				See also Administrative files: "Great Issues in American Politics".
			AFC34 [MISSING] The Power to Govern: An Examination of the Separation of Powers in the American System of Government / Odegard, Peter H. and Rosenblum, Victor G. 1957
			AFC35 [MISSING] Economics and Politics: A Book of Readings / Harlan, H. C. 1958
			AFC36 [MISSING] Arms and Foreign Policy in the Nuclear Age / Rakove, Milton 1964
			AFC37 [MISSING] Developing Responsible Public Leaders / Nelson, Charles A.
			AFC38 [MISSING] The Case of the Lively Ghost / Goldwin, Robert A. and Shoemaker, Don 1956
			AFC39 [MISSING] The Case of the Toppling Idol / Stourzh, Gerald 1956
			AFC40 [MISSING] The Case of the Lengthening Chain / Steward, Jr., Charles K. and Goldwin, Robert A. 1959
Box 9			AFC41 [MISSING] The Case of the Blighted City / Banfield, Edward C. 1959
			AFC42 [MISSING] The Case of the Censored Librarian / Berns, Walter F. 1959
			AFC43 [MISSING] The Case of the Golden Door / Davidson, James F. 1960
			AFC44, 45, 46 [MISSING] Readings for Capitol Hill, Vols. 1, 2, 3 / Ziegler, Warren L. 1963
			AFC47 [MISSING] Exploring the Universe, McGraw-Hill 1963
			AFC48 [MISSING] Science and Public Policy / AFCE/Oceana 1970
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: AFC48 Science and Public Policy / AFCE/Oceana.
			AFC49 [MISSING] The Exploration of the Universe / AFCE 1962
			AFC50 [MISSING] Democracy in America: Scripts of the Fourteen Dramatizations / Sinclair, Lister and Probst, George E. 1962 - in collaboration with National Educational Television Radio Center
			AFC51 [MISSING] The Happy Republic / Probst, George E., ed. 1962
			AFC52 [MISSING] Democracy in America: Vols. 1 & 2 / de Tocqueville, Alexis 1962
			AFC53 [MISSING] Democracy in America: Laden's Discussion and Reading Guide / Probst, George E. 1962
			AFC54 [MISSING] Democracy in America: Discussion and Reading Guide for students and discussion participants / Probst, George E. 1962
			AFC55 [MISSING] Readings in American Foreign Policy / Stourzh, Gerald and Goldwin, Robert A. 1959
			AFC55A [MISSING] Readings in American Foreign Policy, second edition / Goldwin, Robert A. and Clar, Harry M. 1971
			AFC56 [MISSING] Readings in Russian Foreign Policy / Stourzh, Gerald and Zetterbaum, Marvin, editors 1959
Box 20			AFC57 Exploring the Ways of Mankind / Goldschmidt, Walter, editor 1960
Box 20			AFC58 Aging in Today's Society / Tibbits, Clark and Donahue, Wilma 1960
Box 20			AFC59 Discovering Modern Poetry / Drew, Elizabeth and Conner, George 1961
Box 20			AFC60 The Mystery of Matter Experimental Edition, Vol. 1 / Young, Louise B. 1963 (2 folders / 2 copies)
			AFC61 [MISSING] The Mystery of Matter, Vol. 2 / Young, Louise B. 1962
			AFC62 [MISSING] The Mystery of Matter, Vol. 3 / Young, Louise B. 1962
Box 21			AFC62A The Mystery of Matter / Young, Louise B. 1965
Box 21			AFC63 Discussion Leader's Guide for Use with Discovering Modern Poetry / Drew, Elizabeth and Conner, George 1961
			AFC64 [MISSING] Reading in Economics and Politics / Harlan, H. C.; Galbraith, Kenneth; Lerner, Max; Nixon, Richard; Kennan, George, editors 1966
Box 21			AFC65 Readings in American Democracy / Stourzh, Gerald and Lerner, Ralph, editors 1966
Box 21			AFC66 Ten Major Issues in American Politics / Hofstadter, Richard 1968
Box 22			AFC67 Readings in World Politics / Pearce, Anthony 1970
Box 22			AFC68 Evolution of Man / Young, Louise B., ed. 1970
				See also Administrative: "Evolution of Man" - correspondence and Administrative: "Evolution of Man" - contract agreement
Box 22			AFC69 Readings on Drug Education / Reagen, Michael V., ed. 1972
			AFC70 [MISSING] The Citizen and the New Age of Science, Vol. 1
Box 22			AFC71 Advanced Management Training Workbook (2 folders)
		Syracuse University Centennial series (CEN)
			CEN1 [MISSING] Continuing Education Programs #1 / Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1971
Box 23			CEN2 Bureau of School Service #2/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1970
Box 23			CEN3 Division of International Programs Abroad #3/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1970
Box 23			CEN4 Division of Summer Sessions #4/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. (2 copies)
Box 23			CEN5 ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education #5 / Charters, Alexander N. (2 copies)
Box 23			CEN6 International Management Development Department / Charters, Alexander N. 1970
Box 23			CEN7 Library of Continuing Education #7/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1970 (2 copies)
Box 23			CEN8 Archives of Continuing Education #717A/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. (2 copies)
Box 23			CEN9 Professional Development in Adult and Continuing Education/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1970 - 1 copy first edition, 2 copies second edition (3 copies)
Box 23			CEN10 Publications in Continuing Education #9/ Charters, Alexander N., ed.
Box 23			CEN11 Research, Evaluation, and Planning in Adult and Continuing Education #10/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1970
Box 23			CEN12 This is U.C. [University College] #11/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1970 (2 copies)
		Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) series (CRE)
Box 23			CRE1 Acquisition List, Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults: by Descriptive Subject Headings / Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P.
Box 23			CRE2 Newsletters, Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults / Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P. 1978
Box 23			CRE3 Professional Development for Educators of Adults: A Bibliography / Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P. 1977 (2 folders)
Box 23			CRE4 Annotated Bibliography for the Education of Public Offenders: By Descriptive Subject Headings / Charters, Alexander N.; Holmwood, Donald P.; Willis, Michael J.
Box 24			CRE5 Community Education: An Annotated Bibliography / harters, Alexander N. and Gschwender, Edward J. 1979
Box 24			CRE6 Literacy in the '70s: An Annotated Bibliography / Rivera, W. and Laubach, Robert S. 1980
		Distributing Agent series (DAG)
Box 24			DAG1 Strategies for Lifelong learning / Himmelstrup, Per, et al., ed. 1981
		Eric Clearinghouse on Adult Education series (ECA)
Box 24			ECA1 Evening College Education, Basic Information Sources 1967
Box 24			ECA2 Higher Adult Education #1 / Current Information Sources #1a 1967
			ECA3 [MISSING] Community Education for Adults 1967
Box 24			ECA4 Adult Basic Education #1 / Current Information Sources #3 1967
Box 24			ECA5 Continuing Education in the Professions #1 / Current Information Sources#4 1967
Box 24			ECA6 Management Development #1 / Current Information Sources #5 1967
Box 24			ECA7 Television and Radio in Adult Education #1 / Current Information Sources#6 1967 (2 copies)
Box 24			ECA8 Methods and Techniques in Adult Training #1 / Current Information Sources#7 1967
Box 24			ECA9 Training of Adult Education Personnel #1 / Current Information Sources#8 1967
Box 24			ECA10 Public School Adult Education #1 / Current Information Sources #9 1968
Box 24			ECA11 Human Relations-Training and Research #1 / Current Information Sources#10 1968
Box 24			ECA12 Higher Adult Education #2 / Current Information Sources #11 1968
Box 25			ECA13 Adult Education in Africa / Current Information Sources #12 1968
Box 25			ECA14 Adult Education in Asia, Australia and New Zealand / Current Information Sources#13 1968
Box 25			ECA15 Education for Aging / Current Information Sources #14 1968
Box 25			ECA16 Programmed Instruction in Adult Education / Current Information Sources#15 1968
Box 25			ECA17 Community Education for Adults / Current Information Sources #16 1968 (2 copies)
Box 25			ECA18 Management Development / Current Information Sources #17 1968
Box 25			ECA19 Adult Basic Education / Current Information Sources #18 1968
Box 25			ECA20 Public School Adult Education / Current Information Sources #19 1968
Box 25			ECA21 Adult Learning Characteristics / Current Information Sources #20 1968
Box 25			ECA22 Continuing Education of Women / Current Information Sources #22 1968
Box 25			ECA23 Counseling and Personnel Services in Adult Education: Counseling, Testing,Selection, Retention / Glick, Barry, ed. / Current Information Sources#23 1969
			ECA24 [MISSING] Unknown
Box 25			ECA25 Residential Adult Education: An Analysis and Interpretation / Current InformationSources #20 1969 - title page only; full version available on microfilm#2973.
Box 25			ECA26 Management and Supervisory Development / Current Information Sources #26 1969
Box 25			ECA27 Adult Basic Education / Current Information Sources #27 1970
Box 25			ECA28 Programmed Instruction in Business and Industry / Current Information Sources #28 1970
Box 25			ECA29 Occupational Training for Disadvantaged Adults / Current Information Sources#29 1970
Box 25			ECA30 Parent, Home and Family Life Education / Current Information Sources #30 1970
Box 25			ECA31 Personnel Development in Adult Education / Current Information Sources #31 1970
Box 25			ECA32 Continuing Education of Women / Current Information Sources #22 [32?] 1968 - annotated version of ECA22 Continuing Education of Women / Current Information Sources #22.
			ECA33 [MISSING] Training of Law Enforcement Personnel 1971
			ECA34 [MISSING] Methods and Techniques of Adult Training
Box 25			ECA35 Cooperative Extension / Current Information Sources #20 [35?] 1968
			ECA36 [MISSING] Adult Education Research Current Information Series 1968
			ECA37 [MISSING] ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education 1967
			ECA38 [MISSING] ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education 1968
			ECA39 [MISSING] Scope and Service of ERIC-AE 1968
Box 25			ECA40 ERIC-AE Publications 1967-69 1969
			ECA41 [MISSING] Joint Newsletter with University College, Syracuse University Eric Clearinghouse on Adult Education
Box 26			ECA42 Continuing Education for Adults 1968-1974 - nos. 129-165, 168-198, 200-201; many issues have 2 copies
Box 26			ECA43 Research and Investigation in Adult Education, Annual Register 1971
Box 26			ECA44 Evening College Education 1967
Box 26			ECA45 Adult Education Periodical Holdings Literature 1967
Box 26			ECA46 Abstracts of Papers Presented to the National Seminar on Adult Education Research,Chicago Feb 1968 (2 copies)
Box 26			ECA47 A Model Information System for the Adult Education Profession / DeCrow, Roger 1968
			ECA48 [MISSING] Cross-Cultural Training / DeCrow, Roger 1968
Box 26			ECA49 Mass Media in Adult Education: A Review of Recent Literature / Ohliger, John 1968
Box 26			ECA50 A Register of Research and Investigation in Adult Education Adult Education 1968
Box 26			ECA51 Cross-Cultural Interaction Skills: A Digest of Recent Training Literature / DeCrow,Roger 1969
Box 26			ECA52 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult / Anderson, Darrell and Niemi, John A. 1969
Box 27			ECA53 Adult Education in Germany: Bibliography / Schadt, Armin L. 1969
			ECA54 [MISSING] A Handbook for Teachers of English to Non-English Speaking Adults / Hefferman-Cabrera, Patricia 1969
			ECA55 [MISSING] Adult Learning and Instruction / Grabowski, Stanley M., ed. 1970
Box 27			ECA56 Education for Aging: A Review of Recent Literature / Jacobs, H. Lee; Mason, W. Dean; Kauffman, Earl 1970
			ECA57 [MISSING] Correspondence Study: A Summary Review of the Research and, Development of Literature / Mathieson, David E. 1971
Box 27			ECA58 Self Concept in Adult Participation: Conference Report and Bibliography 1969
			ECA59 [MISSING] The Use of Mass Media in Religiously Motivated Adult Educators: A Review of the Literature / Clyde, Robert W. Jaberg, Eugene C. 1970
Box 27			ECA60 Mass Media in Public Affairs: A Review of the Literature / Power, Hilton M.
Box 27			ECA61 Digests of Papers Presented to the Adult Research Conference, Minneapolis Feb 1970 (2 copies)
Box 27			ECA62 ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education: Publications 1969-1970 1970
			ECA63 [MISSING] ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult Education Information Analysis Priorities 1970
			ECA64 [MISSING] The Mass Media in Cooperative Extension: A Review of Recent Literature / Everly, Jack C. 1971
			ECA65 [MISSING] Television: A Viable Channel for Educating Adults in Culturally Different Poverty Groups: A Literature Review / Niemi, John A. and Anderson, Darrel V. 1971
			ECA66 [MISSING] The Use of Mass Media in Adult Education in Countries Outside the U.S. and Canada: A Literature Review / Cassirer, Henry R. 1971
Box 27			ECA67 "I'm Beginning to Think Like the Bird!" Or, Social and Philosophical Issues in the Use of Mass Media in Adult Education: A Review of the Literature / Blakely, Robert J. 1971
			ECA68 [MISSING] The Mass Media in Adult Education in the Developing Countries: A Literature Review / Guevlette, David G. 1971
Box 27			ECA69 Cost Benefit Analysis and the Adult Educator: A Literature Review / Steele, Sara M. 1971
Box 27			ECA70 Abstract of Papers Presented to the National Seminar on Adult Education Research,Toronto / Grabowski, Stanley M. Feb 1969
			ECA71 [MISSING] Needed: A New Coalition for Public Affairs Education: A Review of the Literature / Johnson, Eugene I. 1972
Box 27			ECA72 The Education of the Mentally Retarded Adult: A Selective Review of the Literature / Long, Huey B. 1973
Box 27			ECA73 The Preparation of Adult Educators: A Selected Review of the Literature Produced in North America (2 copies)
		Fund for Adult Education series (FAE)
			FAE1 [MISSING] Economic Reasoning, An Introduction to / Robinson, Marshall A. and Morton, Herbert C. 1955
Box 27			FAE2 Readings for the Executive Seminar, 2d edition, Vol I / Brooks, Shepherd 1960
Box 28			FAE2 Readings for the Executive Seminar, 2d edition, Vol II / Brooks, Shepherd 1960
Box 28			FAE3 An Introduction to Economic Reasoning: A Manual for Discussion Group Participants and Leaders / Robinson, Marshall A. and Morton, Herbert C. 1955
Box 28			FAE4 An Introduction to Economic Reasoning: Book of Readings / Robinson, Marshall A.; Morton, Herbert C.; Calderwood, James D. 1956
Box 28			FAE5 Looking at Modern Painting: A Discussion Leader's Guide / Field, Frances - 2 copies, different page counts (2 folders)
Box 28			FAE6 Looking at Modern Painting: A Study Discussion Program / Department of Art, University Extension, University of California-Los Angeles 1957
Box 28			FAE7 An Introduction to the Humanities: A Guide for Discussion Leaders / Humanities staff, University of Chicago 1958
Box 28			FAE8 What to Listen for in Music / Copland, Aaron 1939 - excerpts only
Box 29			FAE9 An Introduction to the Humanities: Book of Readings and Music Supplement / University of Chicago 1955 - includes Book of Readings and Music Supplement; A Discussion Manual;Participant's Manual; Supplement of Painting and Architecture; ArtReproductions; 2 slides (4 folders)
Box 29			FAE10 Humanities Adult Education Series: 10 Units Introducing Painting, Music and Literature, Revised / Ashbrook, William; Carpenter, Marjorie; Dudley, Louise; Sterling, Alfred 1958 - includes discussion guide/participant's manual (2 folders)
Box 29			FAE11 Avenue to the Arts A. Authors - Biographical Sketch - Titles / Fund for Adult Education 1959 (2 copies/2 folders)
Box 29			FAE12 Avenue to the Arts B. Table of Contents / Fund for Adult Education 1959
Box 29			FAE13 FAE Avenue to the Arts C. Part one, Part two, Test Edition / Fund for AdultEducation 1959
Box 29			FAE14 FAE Avenue to the Arts D. Part three Session IV / Fund for AdultEducation 1959
Box 29			FAE15 FAE Avenue to the Arts E. Part three Session V / Fund for AdultEducation 1959
Box 29			FAE16 FAE Avenue to the Arts F. Part three Session VI / Fund for AdultEducation 1959
Box 29			FAE17 FAE Avenue to the Arts G. Part three Session VII & VIII / Fund for AdultEducation 1959
Box 29			FAE18 FAE Avenue to the Arts H. Part three Session IX / Fund for AdultEducation 1959
Box 29			FAE19 FAE Avenue to the Arts I. Part four / Fund for Adult Education 1959
Box 29			FAE20 FAE Avenue to the Arts J. Part four - Session X ["and XI and XII" written insidefront cover] / Fund for Adult Education 1959
Box 30			FAE21 The Educational Experience / Redfield, Robert 1955
Box 30			FAE22 A Study of Participants in the Great Books Program / Davis, James A. 1957
Box 30			FAE23 The Great Awakening: Including a Plan for Education for Leadership in the U.S. / Fletcher, C. Scott 1958
Box 30			FAE24 Education for Public Responsibility / Fund for Adult Education 1958
Box 30			FAE25 Accent on Learning: An Analytical History of the Fund for Adult Education'sExperimental Discussion Project, 1951-1959 / Burch, Glen 1960 - includes "Research in Adult Group Learning in the Liberal Arts" byJohn Walker Powell
Box 30			FAE26 A Comparative Study of Lecture and Discussion Methods / Hill, Richard J. 1960
Box 30			FAE27 Study-Discussion in the Liberal Arts / Kaplan, Abbott 1960
Box 30			FAE28 Able People Well Prepared / Shilen, Ronald 1961
Box 30			FAE29 A Ten Year Report of the Fund for Adult Education 1951-1961 / Ford Foundation 1961
			FAE30 [MISSING] Great Issues in American Politics: Part I / Hofstadter, Richard 1956
				See also Administrative files: "Great Issues in American Politics"
			FAE31 [MISSING] The Happy Republic
Box 30			FAE32 Readings in the Ways of Mankind Vol. 1 / Fund for Adult Education 1957
Box 31			FAE32 Readings in the Ways of Mankind Vol. 2 / Fund for AdultEducation 1957
Box 31			FAE33 Readings in the Ways of Mankind: Discussion Leader's Guide 1957 (2 copies/2 folders)
			FAE34 Looking at Modern Poetry / Freedman, Leonard, ed. [MISSING] 1961
Box 31			FAE34A Discovering Modern Poetry / Drew, Elizabeth and Connor, George 1961
Box 31			FAE34B Discovering Modern Poetry / Drew, Elizabeth
Box 31			FAE35 Ways to Justice / Goldschmidt, Walter and Sinclair, Lester 1954-1955
Box 31			FAE35A Law & Justice / Goldschmidt, Walter) 1954
Box 31			FAE36 Looking at Modern Paintings: A Discussion Leader's Guide / Fund for Adult Education 1958 - include "Slide Manual for Discussion Leaders" and "Some SuggestionsAbout the Discussion"
Box 31			FAE37 Residential Colleges: Some New Developments in British Adult Education / Hunter, Guy
Box 31			FAE37A Looking at Modern Paintings / Freedman, Leonard 1961
Box 32			FAE38 Education: The Challenge Ahead / Fletcher, C. Scott
Box 32			FAE39 The Perkins Lectures: Popular Government and Foreign Policy / Perkins, Dexter 1956
Box 32			FAE40 Ways of Mankind: How to organize a listen-and-talk group in your own home [1960]
Box 32			FAE40A Exploring the Ways of Mankind / Goldschmidt, Walter 1960
Box 32			FAE40B Discussion Leader's Guide for Use with Exploring the Ways of Mankind/ Goldschmidt, Walter 1961
Box 32			FAE40C Ways of Mankind: An Adult Discussion Program/ Goldschmidt, Walter 1955
Box 32			FAE40D Ways of Mankind 2nd printing / National Association of Educational Broadcasters 1955
Box 32			FAE40E The Ways of Mankind: A Discussion Leader's Guide / The Fund for Adult Education 1958
Box 32			FAE40F A Word in Your Ear: A Study in Language 1953 - Essay No. 1 in the series of experimental discussion programs on "The Ways of Mankind"
Box 32			FAE40G The Ways of Mankind Adult Discussion Series: How People Live Together Different Times and Places / The Fund for Adult Education 1954
Box 32			FAE40H Ways of Mankind Discussion Leader's Guide 1954
Box 33			FAE41 You and Modern Art / Langsher, Jules 1954
Box 33			FAE42 The Citizen and the Mass Media: Participant's Manual / Dale, Edgar and Kilbourn, Robert W. 1955
Box 33			FAE43 You and the Mass Media Part I-Part II; Supplementary readings; Additional readingsto Session III; Discussion Leader Guide; Evaluation Procedures / Seldes,Gilbert 1957 (3 folders)
Box 33			FAE44A You and Your Community: Our Community / Mial, Dorothy and Curtis 1960
Box 34			FAE44B You and Your Community: Obstacles to Healthy Community Growth / Dodson, DartW. 1954
Box 34			FAE44C You and Your Community: The Future of the Community / McKee, Elmore 1954
Box 34			FAE44D You and Your Community: Participant's Manual / Fund for AdultEducation 1954
Box 34			FAE44E Aging in the Modern / World University of Michigan 1957
Box 34			FAE45 Shakespeare and His Theatre / Canadian Association for Adult Education 1958 - includes Participant's Manual, Experimental Edition; Participants'Manual; Evaluation Forms; Discussion Leader's Guide; Introducing Shakespeareby G.B. Harrison (3 folders)
Box 34			FAE46 The Power to Govern / Odegard, Peter H. and Rosenblum, Walter G. 1956-1957 - includes preliminary copy, published copy, some loosepages (3 folders)
Box 35			FAE47 Transition and Tension in Southeast Asia / Peffer, Nathanial 1957 - includes experimental edition part 1-2; published edition; Discussion Leader's Guide, draft and printed; loose forms; National Geographic map ofSE Asia; Atlantic Monthly supplement "Perspective of Indonesia" (4 folders)
Box 35			FAE48 You and Modern Art / Fund for Adult Education 1953 - includes first draft; notes for a series of slide talks; organizer'smanual; miscellaneous sheets (3 folders)
		Library of Continuing Education at Syracuse University series (LCE)
Box 36			LCE1 Directory of Adult Education Association / Vaughn, Betty Jane [1965] (2 copies)
Box 36			LCE2 Directory of Adult Education Association / DeCrow, Roger; Ironside, Diana J.; Vaughn, Betty Jane 1966
Box 36			LCE3 University Adult Education: A Selected Bibliography / DeCrow, Roger; Ironside, Diana J.; Vaughn, Betty Jane 1967 - review and topical index
Box 36			LCE4 Directory of Adult Education Organizations / Ironside, Diana J. 1968
Box 36			LCE5 Directory of Adult Education Organizations / Vaughn, Betty Jane 1970 (2 copies)
			LCE6 [MISSING] Recent Acquisitions: Adult Education Periodical Holdings and Adult Education Newsletter Holdings / DeCrow, Roger; Ironside, Diana J.; Vaughn, Betty Jane 1971
			LCE7 [MISSING] International Seminar on Adult Education / Ziegler, Warren L., Seminar Director
		Landmark and New Horizons series (LNH)
Box 36			LNH1 Report on the 1969 Galaxy Conference of Adult Education Organizations / Charters, Alexander N. 1971 (2 copies)
Box 36			LNH2 The Cooperative Extension Service: Paradoxical Servant: The Rural Precedent in Continuing Education / Miller, Paul A. 1973 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: LNH2 The Cooperative Extension Service: Paradoxical Servant
Box 36			LNH3 A Tale of Three Cities: Elsinore-Montreal-Tokyo / Kidd, James R. 1974 (2 copies)
Box 36			LNH4 The Worker's Educational Association: Aims and Achievements 1903-1977 / Fieldhouse,Roger 1977
		Manuscript series (MSS)
			Note on alternate formats: Many of the MSS series documents have been digitized and are available through SCRC Online, our digital portal.
Box 36			MSS1 Aids to Access: Resources for Educators of Adults / Charters, Alexander N. 1978
Box 36			MSS2 Professional Development of Educators of Adults / Charters, Alexander N. 1977
Box 36			MSS3 Desarrollo Professional de Educadores de Adultos / Charters, Alexander N. 1977 (2 copies)
Box 37			MSS4 Publications in Continuing Education / Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1978 (2 copies)
Box 37			MSS5 Who We Are: What Some Educators Say About Their Characteristics, Competencies, and Roles / Charters, Alexander N. and Hilton, Ronald J. 1977 (2 copies)
Box 37			MSS6 Continuing Education for Educators of Adults: The Roles of Research / Charters, Alexander N. 1977 (2 copies)
Box 37			MSS7 Syracuse University Resources in Adult Education / Charters, Alexander N. 1978 (2 copies)
Box 37			MSS8 Periodicals, Newsletters, & Indexes in E.S. Bird Library and Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults / Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald P. 1978
Box 37			MSS9 Accessibility to Resources for Educators of Adults / Charters, Alexander N. 1977 (2 copies)
Box 37			MSS10 Acquisition List Pamphlet File - E.S. Bird Library / Charters, Alexander N. 1977
Box 37			MSS11 Abstracts of Dissertations and Theses: Syracuse University Graduates in Adult Education / Charters, Alexander N. 1979 (2 copies/2 folders)
Box 37			MSS12 Publications in Continuing Education, Revised / Charters, Alexander N. 1980
Box 37			MSS13 Acquisition List Pamphlet File - E.S. Bird Library, Revised / Charters, Alexander N. 1980
Box 37			MSS14 Clearinghouse Resources for Educators of Adults. Four Year Report October1975-June 1979 / Charters, Alexander N., Project Director 1980
Box 38			MSS15 Syracuse University Resources in Adult Education, Revised / Charters, Alexander N. 1979
Box 38			MSS16 Adult and Continuing Education Collections: A Descriptive List of Manuscript Holdings in Syracuse University Libraries / Charters, Alexander N. 1977
Box 38			MSS17 Adult Education Masters' Theses and Doctoral Dissertations on Microfilm in Syracuse University Library / Charters, Alexander N. 1977
Box 38			MSS18 International Handbook of Resources for Educators of Adults/ Charters, Alexander N., ed. 1979 - 4 versions: 6.76, 10.76, 1986, and 3-ring binder (4 folders)
				See also related collection Alexander Charters Papers: Professional correspondence-subject files: International Handbook of Resources for Educators of Adults.
Box 39			MSS19 The Laubach CollectionL Personal Papers of Frank C. Laubach [and] Documents ofLaubach Literacy, Inc. / Chmaj, Deborah R. and Wolde, Menbere, compilers 1974 (2 folders)
Box 39			MSS20 The Paul Hoy Helms Library in Liberal Adult Education / Charters, Alexander N. 1973, 1978
Box 39			MSS21 The What and the How of the Syracuse Collection / Stubblefield, Harold 1984
				In some lists, MSS21 is given as "Omnibus Series / Charters, Alexander N., 1965." However, that is not what is in the collection.
Box 39			MSS22 Audio Tapes [at] E.S. Bird Library / Charters, Alexander N., compiler 1978 (2 copies)
Box 39			MSS23 Adult Education Sound and Video Recordings [in] E.S. Bird Library / Charters, Alexander N. and Abbott, George 1982
Box 39			MSS24 Omnibus Series - E.S. Bird Library / Charters, Alexander N. 1978, 1992 (3 copies total, 2 of the 1978 edition)
Box 39			MSS25 Humanizing Adult Education Research: Five Stories from the 1930's / Hilton, Ronald 1982
Box 39			MSS26 Publications in Continuing Education / Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald 1983
Box 39			MSS27 Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education on Microfiche / Charters, Alexander N. 1983
				See MSS36 for later version.
			MSS28 [MISSING] Continuing Education Photograph Collection: by Event and Person / Charters, Alexander N. and Davis, Carolyn
Box 39			MSS29 Adult Education Periodicals and Newsletters [in] E.S. Bird Library / Charters, Alexander N. and Gschwender, Edward 1982
				See MSS41 for later version.
			MSS30 [MISSING] Acquisition List Pamphlet File [in] E.S. Bird Library / Charters,Alexander N. and Goodman, Edward 1983
Box 39			MSS31 SUPCE and SUREA: Publications and Resources for Educators of Adults / Stubblefield, Harold W. 1983 Nov
Box 39			MSS32 Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults A Retrospective View: Looking into the Future / Charters, Alexander N. and Vaughn, Betty Jane 1986, 1992
				See MSS53 for later version.
Box 40			MSS33 Historical and Research Materials Related to Adult Continuing Education / Frost, Jane B., compiler 1988
				See MSS35 for later version.
Box 40			MSS34 The Adult Education Collection at Syracuse University / Charters, Alexander N., compiler 1989 (5 folders)
Box 40			MSS35 Historical and Research Materials Related to Adult Continuing Education / Frost, Jane B., compiler 1992
				Revision/update of MSS33
Box 40			MSS36 Publications in Continuing Education / Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald 1992
				Revision/update of MSS27. See MSS45 for later version.
Box 40			MSS37 Adult Education Sound & Video Recordings / Charters, Alexander N. and Abbot, George 1992
				Revised and updated MSS23. See MSS48 for later version.
Box 40			MSS38 Bibliography of Materials Autographed by Educators of Adults 1992
Box 40			MSS39 Finding Aid to Alexander N. Charters Materials in Archives [and] E.S. Bird Library / Charters, Alexander N. 1992
Box 40			MSS40 Abridged Description [sic] Subject Listing for Adult and Continuing Education Research Collection 1992
			MSS41 [MISSING] Adult Education Periodicals and Newsletters [in] E.S. BirdLibrary. 1992
				Revision/update of MSS29
Box 40			MSS42 Adult Education Acquisitions List: Pamphlet File, E.S. Bird Library / Charters, Alexander N. 1992
				Revision/update of MSS30
Box 40			MSS43 Some Observations: Early Years of Committee/Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) / Charters, Alexander N. 1992
Box 41			MSS44 Comparative Studies in Adult Education: A Review / Charters, Alexander N. 1992
			MSS45 [MISSING] Publications in Continuing Education / Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald 1996
				Revision of MSS36. See MSS49 for later version.
Box 41			MSS46 Photographs in Adult and Continuing Education (A); Descriptive Subject Headings (B) / Charters, Alexander N. 1995
Box 41			MSS47 SUPCE Supplements to MS 13, 29, 35, 37, 38 / Charters, Alexander N. and Keenan, Terrance 1995
Box 41			MSS48 Resources for Educators of Adults: Adult Education Sound and Video Recordings / Charters, Alexander N. and Abbot, George 2003 (2 copies)
				Revision/update of MSS37
Box 41			MSS49 List of Publications in Alphabetical Order by Code with Author and Title LIstsAppended / Charters, Alexander N. and Holmwood, Donald 2003 (2 copies)
				Revision/update of MSS45
Box 41			MSS50 List of Adult Educational Journals and Organizations / Charters, Alexander N. andShablak, Scott 2003 (2 copies)
Box 41			MSS51 Adult and Continuing Education Pamphlets, Materials and Fugitive / Charters, Alexander N. 2004 (Mar) (2 copies)
Box 41			MSS52 Adult and Continuing Education Pamphlets, Materials and Fugitive / Shablak, Scottand Cooper, Natasha 2004 (Aug) (2 copies)
Box 41			MSS53 A Retrospective View: Looking into the Future / Charters, Alexander N. and Shablak,Scott 2006 (2 copies)
				Revision/update of MSS32
Box 41			MSS54 Continuing Education at Syracuse University, 1973 / Charters, Alexander N. 2005 (May) (2 copies)
Box 41			MSS55 Comparative Adult Education: An Overview / Charters, Alexander N. 1988, 2007 (2 folders)
Box 42			MSS55 Comparative Adult Education: An Overview / Charters, Alexander N. 2008
		Notes and Essays in Continuing Education for Adults series (NES)
Box 42			NES1 When It Comes to the Pooling of Ignorance / Smith, Russell F.W. 1952
Box 42			NES2 Significant research in adult education: Report to Atlanta Convention of theAssociation of University Evening Colleges / Palmer, Orville H. 1952
Box 42			NES3 Evaluating Courses not Students: An evening college experiment with objective devices / Miller, Harry L. 1953
Box 42			NES4 Social Roles of the Middle-Aged Person: A method of identifying the needs of adults / Havighurst, Robert 1953
Box 42			NES5 Television and the University / University of Chicago 1953 (2 copies)
Box 42			NES6 A School for Optimists / McGee, Paul 1953
Box 42			NES7 The Liberation of the Adult / Kallen, Horace 1954
Box 42			NES8 Adult Education as a Time-Binding Process / Hayakawa, S. I. 1954
Box 42			NES9 Mass Society and Liberal Education / Mills, C. Wright 1954
Box 42			NES10 Teaching a Human Relations Workshop / Malumud, Daniel I. 1955 (2 copies)
Box 42			NES11 Faculty Organization at Rutgers; The Basic Program at Chicago / Demarest, G.Stuart; Kinnel, Galway 1955
Box 42			NES12 Psychological Needs of Adults / Murphy, Gardner and Kuhlen, Raymond G. 1955
Box 42			NES13 Schooling for Maturity / Diekhoff, John S. 1955 (2 copies)
Box 42			NES14 The Residential School in American Adult Education / Pitkin, Royce S. 1956
Box 42			NES15 Professional Preparation of Adult Educators 1956
Box 42			NES16 Reality and Purpose: A Visitor's Reflections on Some Aspects of American Adult Education / Elsdon, Konrad. T. 1957
Box 42			NES17 Adult Education in the Liberal Arts Colleges / Crimi, James E. 1957
Box 42			NES18 Liberal Education / Carnegie Foundation 1957
Box 42			NES19 Especially for Adults / Whipple, John B. 1957
Box 42			NES20 The Marginality of Adult Education / Clark, Burton R. 1958 (2 copies)
Box 42			NES21 I Want Many Lodestars / Schwertman, John B. 1958
Box 42			NES22 Learning and Teaching Through Discussion / Hill, Ida Stewart and Hill, William Fawcett 1958
Box 42			NES23 Pleasures in Learning / Division of General Education of New York University 1958
Box 42			NES24 Major Trends in Higher Adult Education / Houle, Cyril O. 1960
Box 42			NES25 Liberal Education for Adults Re-Examined: The Queens College Program / Belth, Marc and Scheuler, Herbert 1959
Box 42			NES26 Higher Adult Education: Its Place and Function / Simons, Hans 1959
Box 42			NES27 A Report on University Adult Education in Australia and New Zealand / Sheats, Paul H. 1960
Box 42			NES28 Aims in Adult Education: A Realist View / Broudy, Harry S. 1960 (2 copies)
Box 42			NES29 Week-End Learning in the USA / Schacht, Robert H. 1960
Box 42			NES30 Adult Education in Colleges and Universities; Liberal Adult Education / Liveright, A. A.; Miller, Harry L. 1960
Box 42			NES31 Adult Education in the British West Indies / Houle, Cyril O. 1960 (2 copies)
Box 43			NES32 On Teaching Adults: An Anthology / Miller, Marilyn V., editor 1960 (2 copies)
Box 43			NES33 People, Programs, and Persuasion: Some Remarks About Promoting University Adult Education / Stern, Milton R. 1961 (2 copies)
Box 43			NES34 Today and Tomorrow: Three Essays on Adult Education in the Future / Taylor, G.; Blackwell, G. W.; Mead, Margaret 1961
Box 43			NES35 Challenge to the University: An Inquiry into the University's Responsibility for Adult Education / Burch, Glen 1961
Box 43			NES36 The University and Community Education / Haygood, Kenneth 1962
Box 43			NES37 Educational Imperative: The Negro in the Changing South / Goldman, Freda H. 1963 (2 copies)
Box 43			NES38 The Few and the Many: Two Views on Public Affairs Education / Freedman, Leonard and Power, Hilton 1963 (2 copies)
Box 43			NES39 The Meanings of Work / Levy, Sidney J. 1963 (2 copies)
Box 43			NES40 Psychological Backgrounds of Adult Education / Kuhlen, Raymond C., editor 1963
Box 43			NES41 Sociological Backgrounds of Adult Education / Burns, Hobart W., editor 1964 (2 copies)
Box 43			NES42 Ordered Pluralism: A Philosophical Plan of Action for Teaching / Barton, George E. Jr.
Box 43			NES43 Perspective on Automation: Three Talks to Educators / Theobald, Robert; Johnston, John W. C.; Weinberg, Jack 1964
Box 44			NES44 Growing Time / DeCrow, Roger, editor 1964 (2 copies)
Box 44			NES45 Meaning and Metaphor / Goldberg, Maxwell H. 1965
Box 44			NES46 A Live Option: The Future of the Evening College / Haygood, Kenneth, editor
Box 44			NES47 A Turning to Take Next: Alternative Goals in the Education of Woman / Goldman, Freda H. 1965
Box 44			NES48 Education in the Peace Corps: Evolving Concepts of Volunteer Training / Pagano, Jules 1965
Box 44			NES49 Toward a Homeodynamic Society / Blakely, R. J. 1965
Box 44			NES50 Institutional Backgrounds of Adult Education: Dynamics of change in the Modern University / Ingham, R. J., editor
Box 44			NES51 Oakland Papers: Symposium on Social Change and Educational Continuity / Whipple, James B. and Woditsch, Gary A., editors 1966
Box 44			NES52 Speaking for Myself: A Humanist Approach to Adult Education for a Technical Age / Deinum, Andries 1966
Box 44			NES53 Political Backgrounds of Adult Education: The University in Urban Society / Cummings, Thomas, editor 1967
Box 44			NES54 The Continuing Task: Reflections on Purpose in Higher Continuing Education / Houle, Cyril O.; Blackwell, Gordon W.; Kallen, Horace M.; Whipple, James B. 1967
Box 44			NES55 A Critical Balance: History of CSLEA / Whipple, James B. 1967
Box 44			NES56 On Behalf of Adult Education: A Historical Examination of the Supporting Literature / Cotton, Webster E. 1958
Box 44			NES57 Anthropological Background of Adult Education / Tax, Sol; Diamond, Stanley; Rainwater, Lee; Mangin, William; Bharati, Ahehananda 1968
Box 44			NES58 Of Messages and Media: Teaching and Learning by Public Television / Alter, Henry C. 1968
Box 45			NES59 The System of Adult Education in Yugoslavia / Savicevic, Dusan M. 1968
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES59 The System of Adult Education in Yugoslavia
Box 45			NES60 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man / Whipple, James B.; Goldman, Freda H.; Haygood, Kenneth Siegle Peter) 1960
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES60 Liberal Education Reconsidered: Reflections on Continuing Education for Contemporary Man
Box 45			NES61 AIM: From Concept to Reality: The Articulated Instructional Media Program at Wisconsin / Wedemeyer, Charles A. Najem, Robert E. 1969
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES61 Aim: From Concept to Reality
Box 45			NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society / Cook, Samuel Dubois; Stern, George G.; Green, Thomas F.; Weiner, Anthony J. 1969
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES62 Dilemmas of American Policy: Crucial Issues in Contemporary Society
Box 45			NES63 Knowledge is Power to Control Power / Blakely, Robert and Lappin, I. 1969
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES63 Knowledge is Power to Control Power
Box 45			NES64 The University and Community Service: Perspectives for the Seventies / Whipple, James B. and Chertow, Doris 1970 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES64 The University and Community Service
Box 45			NES65 Essays on New Careers: Social Implications for Adult Educators / Riessman, Frank; Rosen, Sumner M.; Featherstone, Joseph; Gartner, Alan 1970 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES65 Essays on New Careers: Social Implications for Adult Educators
Box 45			NES66 Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide / Ziegler, Warren 1970 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES66 Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide
Box 45			NES67 Toward the Educative Society / Charters, Alexander N. 1971
Box 45			NES68 Sensitivity Training: Processes, Problems and Applications / Blumberg, Arthur 1971 (2 copies)
Box 46			NES69 Ends and Means: The National Conference on Continuing Education in Nursing / McHenry, Ruth W. 1971 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES69 Ends and Means: The National Conference on Continuing Education in Nursing
Box 46			NES70 Residential Continuing Education / Houle, Cyril O. 1971 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES70 Residential Continuing Education
Box 46			NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and Continuing Educators / Leagans, J. Paul; Copeland, Harlan G.; Kaiser, Gertrude E. 1971
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: NES71 Selected Concepts from Educational Psychology and Adult Education for Extension and Continuing Educators
Box 46			NES72 International Seminar on Publications in Continuing Education / Charters, Alexander N. and Rivera, William M. 1972
		Occasional Papers (CSLEA) series (OCP)
Box 46			OCP1 Adult Education Programming Form and Function / Tuskegee Institute 1960
Box 46			OCP2 National Trends in Higher Adult Education / Liveright, A. A. 1960
Box 46			OCP3 Liberal Education for Community Clubs / Rhode, William E. 1960
Box 46			OCP4 Liberal Orientations for Vocational Teaching / Miller, Harry L. 1963
Box 46			OCP5 Adults That Grew in Brooklyn and Some That Didn't / Stern, Bernard H. 1963
Box 46			OCP6 [MISSING] We Need a Philosophy / Diekhoff, John S. 1963
Box 46			OCP7 New Eyes for Old: The Quest for Education / McKenna, Richard 1963
Box 46			OCP8 The Human Enterprise: An Experimental Program in Adult Liberal Education at Northern Illinois University / Rodney, Robert M. 1964
Box 46			OCP9 Promoting High Standards of Professional Excellence / Horn, Francis H. 1964
Box 46			OCP10 Inter-Association Cooperation Reconsidered / Spengler, Edwin H.; McMahon, Ernest E.; Winters, Clifford 1965
Box 46			OCP11 The Case Against the Adult Dropout / Sheats, Paul 1965
Box 46			OCP12 Significant Developments in Continuing Higher Education / Liveright, A. A. and Goldman, Freda H. 1965
Box 46			OCP13 Purposes of the Evening College: Reflections in 1953 / Houle, Cyril O.; Blackwell, Gordon W.; Kallen, Horace M.; McGrath, Earl J. 1967
Box 46			OCP14 Participation of Adults in Education: A Force-Field Analysis / Miller, Harry L. 1967
Box 46			OCP15 Daytime School for Adults: A New Program Dimension at University ofCalifornia-Berkeley / Gordon, Morton 1967
Box 46			OCP16 The College and Its Community: A Conference on Purpose and Direction in theEducation of Adults 1968 - papers presented at University of Wisconsin by personnel fromsouthern Negro colleges and northern universities
Box 46			OCP17 Toward a National Center for Higher Continuing Education / Hudson, Robert B. 1968
Box 46			OCP18 The Mass Media in Adult Education: A Review of Recent Literature / Ohliger, John 1968
Box 47			OCP19 Accent on Adults: The Small College Program at Brooklyn / Jacobson, Myrtle S. and Offenbacher, Deborah I. 1970 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP19 Accent on Adults: The Small College Program at Brooklyn
Box 47			OCP20 Faculty Perceptions of Continuing Education at Syracuse University / Porter, Lee 1970 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP20 Faculty Perceptions of Continuing Education at Syracuse University
Box 47			OCP21 Community Service and Continuing Education / Whipple, James B. 1970 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP21 Community Service and Continuing Education
Box 47			OCP22 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult / Anderson, Darrel and Niemi, John 1970 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP22 Adult Education and the Disadvantaged Adult
Box 47			OCP23 The New Environment: Questions for Adult Educators / Blakely, R. J. 1971 (2 copies)
Box 47			OCP24 Lifelong Learning or Lifelong Schooling? A Tentative View of the Ideas of IvanIllich with a Quotational Biography / Ohliger, John and McCarthy, C. 1971 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP24 Lifelong Learning or Lifelong Schooling: A Tentative View of the Ideas of Ivan Illich
Box 47			OCP25 The Learning Force: A More Comprehensive Framework for Educational Policy / Moses, Stanley 1971 (2 copies)
				See also Drafts, notes and galleys: OCP25 The Learning Force: A More Comprehensive Framework for Educational Policy
Box 47			OCP26 Real Estate Tax Exemption for Continuing Education Programs / Charters, Alexander N. 1972 (2 copies)
Box 47			OCP27 The Hill and the Valley: The Story of University College Through 1964 / Charters, Alexander N. 1972 (2 copies)
Box 47			OCP28 Response to Need: A Case Study of Adult Education Graduate Program Development in the Southeast / Kozoll, C. 1972 (2 copies)
Box 47			OCP29 Agenda for Comparative Studies in Adult Education: Report from the International Expert Meeting 1972 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP30 Toward Gog and Magog? or, A Critical Review of the Literature of Adult Group Discussion / Osinski, F.; Ohliger, John; McCarthy, C. 1972 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP31 Historical and Cultural Influences Upon the Development of Residential Centers forContinuing Education / Jessup, F. 1972 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP32 Paulo Freire: A Revolutionary Dilemma for the Adult Educator / Grabowski, Stanley, editor 1972 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP33 The Challenge of Modern Church-Public Relations / Reagan, M. and Chertow, Doris, editors 1972 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP34 Consumer Education Programming in Continuing Education / Charters, Margaret 1973 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP35 Conceptual Learning: From Mollusks to Adult Education / Carlson, R. 1973 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP36 Toward a Working Philosophy of Adult Education / Apps, J. 1973 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP37 Adult Education in Church and Synagogue: A Review of Recent Literature / Long,H. 1973 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP38 Evaluating the Attainment of Objectives in Adult Education: Process, Properties, Problems, Prospects / Steele, Sara M. and Brack, Robert E. 1973 (2 copies)
Box 48			OCP39 Educational Television in Its Cultural and Public Affairs Dimension: A Selected Literature Review of Public Television as an Issue in Adult Education / Carlson, Robert A. 1973 (2 copies)
Box 49			OCP40 The Use of Instructional Television in Adult Education: A Review of Some Recent Developments / Blakely, R. J. 1974 (2 copies)
Box 49			OCP41 The Syracuse Black Community 1970: A Comparative Study / Sacks, Seymour and Andrew, Ralph 1974 (2 copies)
Box 49			OCP42 Development, Demonstration and Dissemination: Case Studies of Selected Special Projects in Basic Adult Education / Beder, Harold W. and Darkenwald, Gordon G. 1974 (2 copies)
Box 49			OCP43 The University Council on Education for Public Responsibility, 1961-1965 / Davis, Granville D. 1975 (2 copies)
Box 49			OCP44 Comparative Studies in Adult Education: An Anthology / Bennet, Clif, editor; Kidd, J. Roby; Kulich, Jindra 1975 (2 copies/2 folders)
Box 49			OCP45 Continuing Education of Adults in Colonial America / Long, Huey B. 1976 (2 copies)
Box 49			OCP46 Training Teachers of Adults: Models and Innovative Programs / Grabowski, Stanley 1976 (2 copies)
Box 49			OCP47 Adults in Transition 1965
			OCP48 Understanding Group Behavior / Miller, Harry L. [MISSING] 1953
Box 50			OCP49 Continuing Education for Adults CSLEA newsletter Jul 1961-Jul 1968, Sep 1971, Jan-Feb 1972 (8 folders)
Box 50			OCP50 How Much Does Adult Experience Count? A Report of the Brooklyn College Experimental Degree Project / Stearn, Bernard H. 1955
Box 50			OCP51 A Turning to Take Next: Alternative Goals in the Education of Women / Goldman, FredaH.
Box 50			OCP52 Themes and Variations: An Invitation to Literature: Discussion Guide / Smith, Russell F. W. 1953
Box 50			OCP53 Our Modern Art, the Movies / Callenbach, Ernest 1955
Box 50			OCP54 Scientists at Work: Case Studies in the Physical Sciences / Sayvetz, Aaron 1954
Box 50			OCP55 Understanding Group Behavior / Miller, Harry L. 1953 - discussion guide
Box 51			OCP56 Leading Group Discussion / CSLEA 1954, 1955 - two different editions; includes Part I: Discussion Guide; Part II:Supplementary Readings; Part III: Training Guide (3 folders)
Box 51			OCP57 Newsletters, various organizations 1976, 1978, 1983-1985
			OCP58 [MISSING]
Box 51			OCP59 The Contributions of Alexander N. Charters to the Field of Adult Education / Siddiqui, Dilnawaz 2002
		Single publications (PRE)
Box 51			PRE1 New Directions for Adult Education / Charters, Alexander N. 1958
			PRE2 [MISSING] Adult Education Procedures, Methods and Techniques: A Classified and Annotated Bibliography 1953-1963 / Aker, George 1965
Box 51			PRE3 Leading Group Discussions: A Discussion Leader's Guide, revised edition 1969
Box 51			PRE4 Project Continuing Education for Health Manpower. Part I Book I: Fostering the Growing Needto Learn: Designs for the Continuing Education of Health Manpower / Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J. 1973 - unpublished
Box 52			PRE4 Project Continuing Education for Health Manpower. Part I Book II: Fostering the Growing Need to Learn: Designs for the Continuing Educationof Health Manpower / Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, RobertJ. 1973 - unpublished
Box 52			PRE5 Project Continuing Education for Health Manpower. Part II: A Selected AnnotatedBibliography for Continuing Educators for Health Manpower / Charters,Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J. 1973
Box 52			PRE6 Project Continuing Education for Health Manpower. Part III: A Report of SomeSignificant Activities in Continuing Education for Health Manpower n the United States / Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J. 1973
Box 52			PRE7 Project Continuing Education for Health Manpower. Part IV: A Critique of Descriptorsof Terms in Continuing Education for Health Manpower / Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J. 1973
Box 52			PRE8 Fostering the Growing Need to Learn / Charters, Alexander N. and Blakely, Robert J. 1973
			PRE9 [MISSING] Newsletter 1961
Box 52			PRE10 French Universities and Adult Education / Caldwell, T.B. 1962 (2 copies)
			PRE11 [MISSING] List of Institutions and Individuals Active in University Adult Education 1965
		Papers on Adult Education, University College publications (PUC) (Blue Books)
Box 53			PUC1 Special Report on University College / Charters, Alexander N. 1955 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC2 Some Motivational Aspects of College Training / Snygg, Donald 1956 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC3 Learning Theory and Its Application to Classroom Teaching / Thelen, Herbert 1956 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC4 Learning Theory and Classroom Practice in Adult Education / Getzels, J. W. 1956
Box 53			PUC5 Evaluation in Evening colleges / Charters, Alexander N. 1956
Box 53			PUC6 Course Construction and the Use of Teaching Resources / Liveright, A. A. 1957 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC7 Continuing Education / Crawford, Finla G. 1958
Box 53			PUC8 Summary Report on Adult College Students / Knox, Alan B. 1959
Box 53			PUC9 Looking Ahead in Adult Education / Tolley, William P. 1959
Box 53			PUC10 A Report on the Semester in Italy / Adams, John Clarke 1960
Box 53			PUC11 World Affairs Don't Have to be Boring / Cleveland, Harlan 1960 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC12 Learning and Change, the Problems of Evaluation in Liberal Adult Education / Powell, John Walker 1960 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC13 Government in Action, a Final Report on the Experimental Adult Education Program Presented at University College / Schmidt, Karl M. 1960 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC14 Development of an Objective Instrument for Evaluation of Scientific Maturity in Electrical Engineering / Jutila, Sakari Tampani 1960 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC15 Local Community Leadership / Freeman, Linton C. et al. 1960 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC16 The Evening College and Its Relationship to "Community Publics" / Bartlett, Kenneth G. 1960
Box 53			PUC17 Bottles Old, Wine New; Wine Old, Bottles New / Schwertman, John B. 1961 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC18 The Free University--Its Role in Education for Public Responsibility and the Future of Our Free Society and the Free World / Fletcher, C. Scott 1961 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC19 The Story of Sagamore / Applegate, Howard L. 1961 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC20 Many Opinions / Diekhoff, John S. 1961 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC21 University Adult Education: The Center for Experiment in Education / Liveright, A. A. 1961
Box 53			PUC22 We Must be Educator-Administrators / Neville, Howard R. 1961 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC23 Adult Education in Australia / Hely, Arnold S. M. 1961 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC24 Geographers Look at the World (/ Cressey, George B.; Gould, Peter 1961 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC25 The Story of Pinebrook / Applegate, Howard L. 1962 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC26 The Story of Minnowbrook / Applegate, Howard L. 1962 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC27 Metropolitan Decision-Making: Further Analysis from the Syracuse Study of Local Community Leadership / Freeman, Linton C, 1962 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC28 University Adult Education in Some Commonwealth Countries / Raybould, S. G. 1963 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC29 The Negro in Syracuse: His Education, Employment, Income and Housing / Campbell, Alan K. 1964 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC30 A Kind Word for Mankind / Olson, John F. 1964 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC31 The Unfinished Business of Human Rights in Syracuse / Willie, Charles V. 1965 (2 copies)
Box 53			PUC32 An Investigation of the Status of the Student Personnel Program in Evening Colleges / Simonaitis, John 1960 (2 copies)
		Reports series (REP)
Box 53			REP101 New Directions in Programming for University Adult Education (/ Siegle, Peter E. and Whipple, James B. 1957
Box 53			REP102 New Directions in Liberal Education for Executives / Siegle, Peter E. 1958
Box 54			REP103 New Directions for Alumni: Continuing Education for the College Graduate / McMahon, Ernest E. 1960
Box 54			REP104 New Directions in Degree Programs Especially for Adults / Liveright, A. A. and DeCrow, Roger 1963
Box 54			REP105 The Vassar Institute for Women in Business / Vaughan, Marilyn 1957
Box 54			REP106 The Changing University: A Report on the Seventh Annual Leadership Conference / Daigneault, George H., editor 1959
Box 54			REP107 University Adult Education in the Arts: A Descriptive View of Programs / Goldman, Freda H. 1961
Box 54			REP108 The Audience for Liberal Adult Education / Knox, Alan B. 1962
Box 54			REP109 Administrative Practices in University Evening Colleges / DeCrow, Roger 1962
Box 54			REP110 Reorientation in Labor Education: A Symposium on Liberal Education for Labor in the University / Goldman, Freda H. 1962
Box 54			REP111 Never Too Late for College: The Brooklyn Degree Program for Adults / Stern, Bernard H. 1963
Box 54			REP112 Research Arrangements Within University Adult Education Divisions / Knox, A. B. 1963
Box 54			REP113 A Conspectus to the Self-Study Project of University College, the University of Chicago / Roth, Robert M., editor 1964
Box 54			REP114 Metroplex Assembly: An Experiment in Community Education / Johnson, Eugene I. 1965
Box 54			REP115 Bachelor of Liberal Studies: Development of a Curriculum at the University of Oklahoma / Burkett, J. E. Riggiers, Paul C.
Box 54			REP116 Creativity Research and Its Implications for Adult Education / Zahn, Jane C. 1966
Box 54			REP117 The Arts in Higher Adult Education: A Second Review of Programs / Goldman, Freda H. 1967
Box 54			REP118 Changing Patterns in Continuing Education for Business / Olean, Sally J. 1967
Box 54			REP119 Listening Groups: Mass Media in Adult Education / Ohliger, John 1967
Box 54			REP120 Adult Education and Adult Needs / Havighurst, Robert J. and Orr, Betty 1960
Box 54			REP121 Forms and Forces in University Adult Education / Carey, James T. 1961
Box 55			REP122 A Comparison of the Effectiveness of Residential and Nonresidential Learning Situations / Lacognata, A. A. 1961
Box 55			REP123 The Development of the University Evening College as Observed in Ten Urban Universities / Carey, James T. 1961
Box 55			REP124 New Perspectives in University Correspondence Study / Wedemeyer, Charles and Childs, Gayle B. 1961
Box 55			REP125 Evaluating Liberal Adult Education / Miller, Harry L. and McGuire, Christine H. 1961
Box 55			REP126 Decision Making in the University Evening College: The Role of the Resident Department Chairman / Daigneault, George H. 1963
Box 55			REP127 Teaching Styles and Learning / Solomon, Daniel; Rosenberg, Larry; Bexdek, William 1963
Box 55			REP128 The Continuing Learner / Solomon, Daniel, editor 1964
Box 55			REP129 The Exeter Papers: Report of the First International Conference on the Comparative Study of Adult Education / Liveright, A. A. and Haygood, Norwood 1968
Box 55			REP130 A Study of Adult Education in the United States / Liveright, A. A. 1968
Box 55			REP131 Ivory Towers in the Market Place / Dyer, John P. 1956
Box 55			REP132 The Part-time College Teacher / Gowin, D. B. and Daigneault, George H. 1961
Box 55			REP133 Ability and Achievement of Evening College and Extension Students / DeCrow, Roger 1959
Box 55			REP134 Why Students Drop Out: A Study of Evening College Student Motivations / Carey, James T. 1953
Box 55			REP135 Cumulative Indexes to the Association of University Evening Colleges Proceedings and National University Extension Association Proceedings, 1915-1957
Box 56			REP136 The Role of Liberal Arts in the University Evening College Curriculum, Pinebrook,N. Y. Oct 1954 - CSLEA conference report
Box 56			REP137 Tradition and Innovation in University Adult Education, Swampscott, Massachusetts Oct 1954 - CSLEA conference report
Box 56			REP138 The University's Responsibility for the General Education of Adults, Chicago, Illinois Mar 1956 - CSLEA conference report
Box 56			REP139 The Concerns of the Dean in University Adult Education, Chicago, Illinois Mar 1956 - CSLEA conference report
Box 56			REP140 Administrative Policies and Practices of Evening Colleges / Neuffer, FrankR 1953
Box 56			REP141 A Review of Center Activities and Projects / CSLEA 1956
Box 56			REP142 A Review of Center Activities and Projects / CSLEA 1957
Box 56			REP143 A Review of Future Directions of the Center and A Report of Current Activities / CSLEA 1958 (2 copies)
Box 56			REP144 CSLEA in Retrospect / Liveright, A. A. 1968
		Reprints series (RPR)
Box 56			RPR1 "The Evening College." Houle, Cyril O. Journal of Higher Education Vol. XXV, No. 7 Oct. 1954
Box 56			RPR2 "The University's Role in Adult Education: A Journal Symposium." Diekhoff, John S.; Leys, Wayne A. R.; Conley, William H.; Schwertman, John B. Journal of Higher Education Vol. XXVI, No. 1 Jan. 1955
Box 56			RPR3 "The American University and Adult Education." Houle, Cyril O. Educational Record Oct. 1955
Box 56			RPR4 "Liberal Education Reexamined" Horn, Francis H. Harvard Educational Review, Vol. XXVI, No. 4 Fall 1956
Box 56			RPR5 "What's Your Line? The Task of the Adult Educator" Miller, Harry L. Adult Leadership, Vol. 6, No. 3 Sep 1957 (2 copies)
Box 56			RPR6 "The Alumni University." Diekhoff, John S. Journal of Higher Education, Vol. XXVIII, No. 7 Oct. 1957
Box 56			RPR7 "AUEX Background: From Coffee to Capers to Educational Leadership." Love, Robert A. AUEC Newsletter, Vol. VI, No. 1 Nov. 1957
Box 56			RPR8 "An Exchange of Letters Between Alfred [Albert] Einstein and Sigmund Freud on the Subject Why War?"
Box 56			RPR9 "Why Don't We Have Better Teaching for Adults?" Miller, Harry L. 1957
		Syracuse University Related publications (SUR)
Box 56			SUR1 To Serve the Public Interest: Educational Broadcasting in the United States / Blakely, Robert J. 1979
Box 57			SUR2 Comparing Adult Education Worldwide / Charters, Alexander N. et al. 1981 - hardcover; published by Jossey Bass
Box 57			SUR3 Changing Approaches to Studying Adult Education / Long, Huey B. and Hiemstra, Roger 1980
Box 57			SUR4 Information Resources for Educators of Adults / Charters, Alexander N. 1979 - typed photocopy and printed edition
Box 57			SUR5 CAEO Through the Years / Charters, Alexander N. 1977
Box 57			SUR6 [MISSING] The Teaching Profession and the Education of Adults: A Review and an Agenda / Committee on Adult Education World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession
Box 57			SUR7 A Statement on Coalition of Adult Education Organizations / Charters, Alexander N. 1976 (2 copies)
		William Pearson Tolley Medal series (WPT)
Box 57			WPT1 The Uncommon School / Houle, Cyril O. 1966
Box 57			WPT2 University and The Community / Mehta, Mohan S. 1969
Box 57			WPT3 Universities, Adult Education and Social Criticism / Raybould, Sidney Griffith 1970
Box 57			WPT4 Towards Still Greater Professionalism / Bartlett, Kenneth G. 1971
Box 57			WPT5 Relentless Verity: Education for Being-Becoming-Belonging / Kidd, James Robbins 1973
Box 57			WPT6 "A Rusty Person is Worse Than Rusty Iron" : Adult Education and the Development of Africa / Bown, Lalage 1975
Box 57			WPT7 The Promise and Pragmatism of Adult Education (/ White, Thurman 1979

	Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults (SUREA)
Box 57		Annual report 1980
Box 57		Collection descriptions and lists 1980, 1988, 1995, undated
Box 57		Descriptive subject headings
Box 57		Drafts 1988-1989 - annotated draft of a description of the adult education collections; possibly an earlydraft of MSS34 which was later split into severaldifferent MSS series publications (3 folders)
Box 58		General correspondence 1973-1987 (9 folders)
		Memos
Box 58			SU-AE Memo nos. 1-6
Box 59			SU-AE Memo nos. 7-76 (2 folders)
Box 59			SUREA Memo nos. 1-9
Box 59		National Center for Higher Education Management Systems 1977
Box 59		Notes [of] Alexander N. Charters undated
Box 59		Printed material 1976-1980, undated
Box 59		Stensland, Per Gustaf
Box 59		SUPCE, SUREA statements
Box 59		Syracuse University Libraries 1979-1981 - correspondence with library personnel regarding donors, gifts, cataloguing, and other matters related to the adult education collections
Box 60		Syracuse University Libraries 1982-1987 - correspondence with library personnel regarding donors, gifts,cataloguing, and other matters related to the adult educationcollections (2 folders)

Return to top