Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music
Title:	Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records
Inclusive Dates:	1940-2020
Quantity:	16 linear ft.
Abstract:	Records from the Syracuse (New York) music society. Clippings, constitution and bylaws, correspondence, financial records, fundraising material, grant applications, minutes, printed material, programs, anniversary celebrations, etc.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music, founded by Syracuse professor of music and violinist Louis Krasner, has been in operation since 1950. The SFCM brings acclaimed chamber musicians to venues in and around Central New York for a series of concerts each year from October through April. Past performers include the Ying Quartet, Gryphon Trio, Tokyo String Quartet, and Concertante. They also sponsor a young musicians' competition and concert.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records comprises the files of the Syracuse (New York) music society. It includes clippings, constitution and bylaws, correspondence, financial records, fundraising information, grant applications, minutes, printed material, programs, and audio recordings as well as material related to the organization's anniversary celebrations.

Unidenfied/undated material contains either general material not associated with any particular season (e.g. letterheads), as well as items that could not be identified as to which season they pertain. Material related to Identified seasons has been arranged chronologically by season and then, if practical or appropriate, subdivided. In the case of earlier seasons, material has not been further sorted or arranged as there were no clear categories.

Recordings are listed alphabetically by title (which is usually the name of the group).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged by season. Recordings are listed at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also has the records of the Syracuse Society for New Music as well as the records of Clark Music Company, a local manufacturer of pianos and organs, and Professor Louis Krasner's Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music, 1990-2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 11 Oct 2006
Revision history: 24 Oct 2006 - revised funder/founder information (MRR); 13 Oct 2016 - audiorecording inventory added (PJM); 17 May 2023 - records processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Unidentified or undated material
Box 1		Bylaws
Box 1		Certificates of incorporation
Box 1		Historical information
Box 1		Letterheads, etc.
Box 1		Publicity - items by (e.g. brochures and flyers) and clippings about
Box 1		Miscellaneous - includes a 1940-1941 Cleveland Orchestra program

	Identified seasons
		1951-1968 seasons
Box 1			Programs (2 folders)
Box 1			Miscellaneous
Box 1		1968-1969 season
Box 1		1969-1970 season (2 folders)
Box 2		1970-1971 season (2 folders)
Box 2		1971-1972 season
Box 2		1972-1973 season
Box 2		1973-1974 season
Box 2		1974-1975 season
Box 2		1975-1976 season
Box 2		1976-1977 season (2 folders)
Box 2		1977-1978 season
Box 3		1977-1978 season
		1978-1979 season
Box 3			NEA, NYSCA grants
Box 3			Programs, publicity
Box 3			Miscellaneous
Box 3		1979-1980 season
Box 3		1980-1981 season
		1981-1982 season
Box 3			NEA, NYSCA grants (2 folders)
Box 3			Miscellaneous
		1982-1983 season
Box 3			NEA, NYSCA grants (2 folders)
Box 3			Publicity
Box 3			Miscellaneous
		1983-1984 season
Box 3			NEA grant
Box 4			NYSCA grant
Box 4			Publicity
Box 4			Miscellaneous
		1984-1985 season
Box 4			Contracts
Box 4			NEA, NYSCA grants (2 folders)
Box 4			Publicity
Box 4			Miscellaneous
		1985-1986 season
Box 4			Board meetings
Box 4			NEA, NYSCA grants (4 folders)
Box 4			Publicity
Box 4			Miscellaneous
		1986-1987 season
Box 5			NEA, NYSCA grants
Box 5			Miscellaneous
Box 5		1987-1988 season
		1988-1989 season
Box 5			NEA, NYSCA grants
Box 5			Programs
Box 5			Miscellaneous
Box 5		40th anniversary, Oct 1989
		1989-1990 season
Box 5			Programs, publicity
Box 5			Miscellaneous
		1990-1991 season
Box 5			NEA grant
Box 5			Miscellaneous
		1991-1992 season
Box 5			Board meetings
Box 5			Programs, publicity
Box 5			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 5		1992-1993 season
		1993-1994 season
Box 6			NYSCA grant
Box 6			Programs, publicity
Box 6			Miscellaneous
		1994-1995 season
Box 6			NYSCA grant
Box 6			Programs
Box 6			Publicity
Box 6			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
		1995-1996 season
Box 6			Programs, publicity
Box 6			Miscellaneous
		1996-1997
Box 6			Publicity
Box 6			Miscellaneous
		1997-1998 season
Box 7			Board meetings
Box 7			Programs, publicity
Box 7			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
		1998-1999 season
Box 7			Programs, publicity
Box 7			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 7		50th anniversary, Sep 1999
		1999-2000 season
Box 7			Programs, publicity
Box 7			Miscellaneous
		2000-2001 season
Box 7			Programs, publicity
Box 7			Miscellaneous
Box 8			Miscellaneous
		2001-2002 season
Box 8			Board survey
Box 8			Grants, fundraising
Box 8			Programs
Box 8			Publicity
Box 8			Miscellaneous (3 folders)
		2002-2003 season
Box 8			Board survey
Box 8			Contracts and financial
Box 8			Other chamber series
Box 8			Programs
Box 9			Publicity - includes promo packet about Tokyo String Quartet with photos (2 folders)
Box 9			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
		2003-2004 season
Box 9			Board meetings
Box 9			Board survey
Box 9			Contracts and financial
Box 9			Grants, fundraising
Box 9			Programs
Box 9			Publicity - includes promo packet about Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson trio with photos (2 folders)
Box 9			Miscellaneous
		2004-2005 season
Box 10			Board meetings (2 folders)
Box 10			Board survey
Box 10			Contracts and financial
Box 10			Grants, fundraising
Box 10			Programs
Box 10			Publicity
Box 10			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
		2005-2006 season
Box 10			Board meetings
Box 11			Board survey
Box 11			Financial miscellany
Box 11			Grants, fundraising
Box 11			Programs
Box 11			Publicity
Box 11			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
		2006-2007 season
Box 11			Board meetings (2 folders)
Box 11			Financial miscellany (2 folders)
Box 12			Grants, fundraising (2 folders)
Box 12			Programs (2 folders)
Box 12			Publicity (2 folders)
Box 12			Miscellaneous (5 folders)
		2007-2008 season
Box 12			Board meetings
Box 13			Board meetings
Box 13			Grants, fundraising (3 folders)
Box 13			Programs (2 folders)
Box 13			Publicity
Box 13			Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 14			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
		2008-2009 season
Box 14			Board meetings (2 folders)
Box 14			Board survey
Box 14			Contracts and financial
Box 14			Grants, fundraising (2 folders)
Box 14			Programs
Box 14			Publicity
Box 14			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 15			Miscellaneous (7 folders)
		2009-2010 season
Box 15			Board meetings (2 folders)
Box 15			Board survey
Box 15			Contracts
Box 16			Grants, fundraising (2 folders)
Box 16			Pressler concert
Box 16			Programs
Box 16			Publicity
Box 16			Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 17			Miscellaneous (5 folders)
Box 17		60th anniversary, May 2010
		2010-2011 season
Box 17			Board meetings (2 folders)
Box 17			Contracts
Box 17			Programs
Box 17			Publicity
Box 18			Miscellaneous
		2011-2012 season
Box 18			Board meetings
Box 18			Contracts
Box 18			Grants, fundraising - NY CDP, NYSCA (3 folders)
Box 18			Programs, publicity (2 folders)
Box 18			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
		2012-2013 season
Box 18			Board meetings
Box 18			Contracts
Box 19			Programs (2 folders)
Box 19			Miscellaneous
		2013-2014 season
Box 19			Programs
Box 19			Miscellaneous
		2014-2015 season
Box 19			Board meetings
Box 19			Programs
		2015-2016 season
Box 19			Board meetings
Box 19			Programs, publicity
Box 19			"Quartet" sheet music, signed
Box 19			Miscellaneous
		2016-2017 season
Box 19			Board meetings
Box 19			Programs
Box 19			Publicity
Box 19			Miscellaneous
		2017-2018 season
Box 20			Board meetings
Box 20			Programs (2 folders)
Box 20			Publicity
Box 20			Miscellaneous
		2018-2019 season
Box 20			Board meetings
Box 20			Programs
Box 20			Miscellaneous
		2019-2020 season
Box 20			Programs
Box 20			Publicity

	Recordings
		RESTRICTED: Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.
Oversize 1		Ars Musica: The Baroque Orchestra [Pieces 1 and 2] 02/11/1986 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_002)
Oversize 1		Ars Musica: The Baroque Orchestra [Piece 3] 04/14/1985 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_003)
Oversize 1		Ars Musica: The Baroque Orchestra [Piece 4] 04/14/1985 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_004)
Oversize 1		Ars Musica: The Baroque Orchestra [Piece 5 and 6] 04/14/1985 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_005)
Oversize 2		Boston Chamber Music Society Piece #2 11/14/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_020)
Oversize 2		Boston Chamber Music Society Piece #2 11/14/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_021)
Oversize 4		Buswell-Parnas-Luvisi Trio 01/21/1989 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_043)
Oversize 4		Buswell-Parnas-Luvisi Trio [Haydn, Zaninelli and Brahms] 01/21/1989 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_039)
Oversize 1		Cascade Soloists Piece #4 11/16/1985 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_009)
Oversize 1		Cascade Soloists Piece #10 11/16/1985 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_008)
Oversize 2		Concerto Soloists: Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia Pieces #1-3 10/17/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_019)
Oversize 2		Concerto Soloists: Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia Pieces #4 and 5 10/17/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_018)
Oversize 4		Emerson Quartet Musica Viva (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_049)
Oversize 1		Emerson Quartet Piece #3 11/02/1985 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_007)
Oversize 4		Emerson String Quartet Pieces #1-2 [Schubert and Shostakovich] 09/23/1989 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_040)
Oversize 1		Emerson String Quartet Piece #3 11/02/1985 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_006)
Oversize 4		Emerson String Quartet Pieces #4-5 [Beethoven and Haydn encore] 09/23/1989 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_041)
Oversize 1		Juilliard String Quartet Piece #2 Beethoven 04/26/1986 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_011)
Oversize 1		Juilliard String Quartet "old" Piece #1 and #2 04/26/1986 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_010)
Oversize 2		Los Angeles Piano Quartet 03/21/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_014)
Oversize 2		Los Angeles Piano Quartet Piece #3 Brahms (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_015)
Oversize 3		Los Angeles Piano Quartet [Piece #6] 10/21/1989 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_034)
Oversize 4		Los Angeles Piano Quartet Piece #7 [Dvorak] 10/21/1989 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_042)
Oversize 3		Members of the Juilliard String Quartet with Gilbert Kalish [Piece #1-5] 10/15/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 141:000) (ID#: sfcm_032)
Oversize 3		Members of the Juilliard String Quartet with Gilbert Kalish [Piece #2] 10/15/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_033)
Oversize 2		Mendelssohn String Quartet Piece #1 12/05/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_023)
Oversize 2		Mendelssohn String Quartet Piece #2 12/05/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_022)
Oversize 1		Michala Petri Duo Pieces #1-3 03/07/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_012)
Oversize 1		Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute: Michala/Hanne Petri 04/28/1985 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_001)
Oversize 3		Music Antiqua Koln Pieces #8-10 [Purcell, Biber, Pachelbel] 10/29/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_035)
Oversize 3		Music Antiqua Koln Pieces #11-14 [Telemann, Bach, Biber] 10/29/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_036)
Oversize 4		Musicians from Marlboro Piece #3 [Dvorak] 11/12/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_038)
Oversize 4		Musicians from Marlboro Pieces #4-5 [Beethoven and Shostakovich] 11/12/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_037)
Oversize 3		Takacs String Quartet Pieces #1-2 [Haydn and Bartok] 03/12/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_030)
Oversize 3		Takacs String Quartet Pieces #2-3 [Bartok and Brahms] 03/12/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_031)
Oversize 3		The Painter’s Music, The Musician’s Art, An die Musik [Part 1 and 2] 03/19/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_026)
Oversize 3		The Painter’s Music, The Musician’s Art, An die Musik [Part 3 and 4] 03/19/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_027)
Oversize 2		The Petri Duo Pieces #1-4 03/07/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_013)
Oversize 4		Tokyo String Quartet 10/27/1984 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_046)
Oversize 2		Tokyo String Quartet Part 1 Pieces #1 and 2 04/11/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_017)
Oversize 2		Tokyo String Quartet Part 2 Pieces #3 and 4 04/11/1987 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_016)
Oversize 3		Tokyo String Quartet [Piece #3] 04/16/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_029)
Oversize 3		Tokyo String Quartet [Pieces #1 and 2] 04/16/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_028)
Oversize 4		[Tokyo String Quartet] (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_047)
Oversize 4		[Tokyo String Quartet] (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_048)
Oversize 3		Vermeer Quartet Piece #3 02/06/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_025)
Oversize 2		Vermeer Quartet Pieces #1-2 02/06/1988 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_024)
Oversize 4		[untitled] (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_044)
Oversize 4		[untitled] (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: sfcm_045)

Return to top