Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Tangney, Ralph J.
Title:	Ralph J. Tangney Films
Inclusive Dates:	1963-1968
Quantity:	2 items
Abstract:	Educational films directed and produced by Ralph J. Tangney for the National Educational Television and Radio Center
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Ralph J. Tangney (1923-2009) was an American radio and television producer, and a documentary and educational film director.

Tangney was born in New York City. After returning from his service as an Army pilot during World War II, he completed his bachelor's degree at Syracuse University's School of Journalism. Throughout his career, he focused on creating educational broadcasting programs for both children and adults while he worked as a program director for public radio and a senior producer for public television during his time at the National Educational Television (NET) network and its successor, the Public Broadcasting System (PBS).

Tangney contributed to more than 50 films and TV programs, winning numerous awards for his works, which included "The Fighter", a documentary on the heavyweight championship contest between Muhammad Ali and Joe Frazier, and "Lorraine Hansberry: The Black Experience in the Creation of Drama", a documentary on the life of the prominent playwright Lorraine Hansberry.

In the late 1970s, Tangney became a professor of Telecommunications at Mercer College in West Windsor, New Jersey where he taught courses in Television and Cinema.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ralph J. Tangney Films consist of two educational films titled "In Search of Space" and "Of Time, Work, and Leisure". In the film "In Search of Space" three boys present in their "Doomsday 2000" class report environmental problems of air and water pollution, expanding population, and lack of recreational facilities in the big cities. In the second film, "Of Time, Work, and Leisure", Sebastian De Grazia shares his thoughts on time, work, and leisure.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Films are organized alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ralph J. Tangney Films Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Rob MacKinnon, 2023.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: IRP
Date: 10 Nov 2023
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Films
Reel		In Search of Space - final print (16mm film; running time 28:58) (ID#: tangney_rj_001)
			Three boys lose their ballfield to an apartment project. Issues include air and water pollution, expanding population, and lack of recreational facilities. Produced by the National Educational Television for the "What's New" Children's Series. Film credits: Ralph J. Tangney, director, Eugene R. Caprio, Madison Public Schools, Madison, N.J.; G. Franco Romagnoli; Patricia Powell; John Bower; Victor Denny; Louis Napolitano. Leader note: "Recreation, final timings, A-Roll".
Reel		Of Time, Work and Leisure (16mm film; running time 29:05) (ID#: tangney_rj_002)
			Produced by the National Educational Television and Radio Center, Based on the Twentieth Century Fund study by Sebastian de Grazia, adapted for television, produced and directed by Ralph J. Tangney, narrated by John Ashley.

Return to top