Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Tinker, Mark
Title:	Mark Tinker St. Elsewhere Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1982-1988
Quantity:	13 linear ft.
Abstract:	Scripts and production notes for the television drama St. Elsewhere
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

St. Elsewhere was a weekly television drama series produced by MTM Enterprises which originally ran on NBC from October 26, 1982 to May 25, 1988. The series was set in a decaying urban teaching hospital called St. Eligius Hospital in Boston's South End neighborhood. The hospital's nickname, "St. Elsewhere," is medical industry slang for poor hospitals that serve patients not wanted by the more prestigious institutions. As a medical drama, St. Elsewhere dealt with serious issues of life and death, though episodes also included a substantial amount of black comedy. The show ran for six seasons and 137 episodes.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mark Tinker St. Elsewhere Collection contains Scripts and production notes for the complete run of the show, with 137 scripts and six sets of production notes, one for each season. The four-digit production number for each episode is given in parentheses ( ).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged in order by season and, within each season, by air date. Production notes can be found at the beginning of each season.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently CLOSED. It will reopen in May of 2020.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mark Tinker St. Elsewhere Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mark Tinker, director of the series.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: unknown
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Scripts and production books
		Season 1
Box 1			1st Season Production Book
Box 1			Episode 1 (2313) Pilot 10/26/82
Box 1			Episode 2 (2301) Bypass 11/9/82
Box 1			Episode 3 (2304) Down's Syndrome 11/16/82
Box 1			Episode 4 (2305) Cora and Arnie 11/23/82
Box 1			Episode 5 (2303) Samuels and the Kid 11/30/82
Box 1			Episode 6 (2306) Legionnaires 12/7/82
Box 1			Episode 7 (2309) Legionnaires II 12/14/82
Box 1			Episode 8 (2307) Tweety and Ralph 12/21/82
Box 1			Episode 9 (2308) Rain 1/4/83
Box 1			Episode 10 (2310) Hearts 1/11/83
Box 2			Episode 11 (2302) Graveyard 1/18/83
Box 2			Episode 12 (2311) Release 2/1/83
Box 2			Episode 13 (2312) Family History 2/8/83
Box 2			Episode 14 (2314) Remission 2/22/83
Box 2			Episode 15 (2315) Monday- Tuesday- Sven's Day 3/1/83
Box 2			Episode 16 (2316) The Count (Retitled) 3/8/83
Box 2			Episode 17 (2317) Brothers 3/15/83
Box 2			Episode 18 (2318) Dog Day Hospital 3/22/83
Box 2			Episode 19 (2320) Working 4/5/83
Box 2			Episode 20 (2321) Craig in Love 4/12/83
Box 2			Episode 21 (2319) Baron von Munchausen 4/19/83
Box 2			Episode 22 (2322) Addiction 5/3/83
		Season 2
Box 3			2nd Season Production Book
Box 3			Episode 1 (3301) Ties that Bind 10/26/83
Box 3			Episode 2 (3302) Lust et Veritas 11/2/83
Box 3			Episode 3 (3303) Newheart 11/9/83
Box 3			Episode 4 (3304) Qui Transtulit Sustinet 11/16/83
Box 3			Episode 5 (3305) A Wing and a Prayer 11/23/83
Box 3			Episode 6 (3307) Under Pressure 11/30/83
Box 3			Episode 7 (3308) Entrapment 12/7/83
Box 3			Episode 8 (3309) All About Eve 12/14/83
Box 3			Episode 9 (3306) AIDS and Comfort 12/21/83
Box 4			Episode 10 (3310) A Pig Too Far 1/11/84
Box 4			Episode 11 (3311) Blizzard 1/18/84
Box 4			Episode 12 (3312) Hearing 2/1/84
Box 4			Episode 13 (3313) In Sickness and in Health 2/8/84
Box 4			Episode 14 (3314) Drama Center 2/15/84
Box 4			Episode 15 (3315) Attack 2/22/84
Box 4			Episode 16 (3316) After Dark 2/29/84
Box 4			Episode 17 (3317) Vanity 3/7/84
Box 4			Episode 18 (3318) Equinox 3/14/84
Box 4			Episode 19 (3319) The Women 3/28/84
Box 4			Episode 20 (3320) Cramming 5/2/84
Box 4			Episode 21 (3321) Rough Cut 5/9/84
Box 5			Episode 22 (3322) Hello and Goodbye 5/16/84
		Season 3
Box 5			3rd Season Production Book
Box 5			Episode 1 (4301) Playing God - Part 1 9/19/84
Box 5			Episode 2 (4302) Playing God - Part 2 9/26/84
Box 5			Episode 3 (4303) Two Balls and a Strike 10/3/84
Box 5			Episode 4 (4304) Strike Out 10/17/84
Box 5			Episode 5 (4305) Breathless 10/24/84
Box 5			Episode 6 (4306) My Aim is True 10/31/84
Box 5			Episode 7 (4307) Fade to White 11/7/84
Box 5			Episode 8 (4308) Sweet Dreams 11/14/84
Box 5			Episode 9 (4309) Up on the Roof 11/21/84
Box 5			Episode 10 (4310) Girls Just Want to Have Fun 11/28/84
Box 6			Episode 11 (4311) Homecoming 12/5/84
Box 6			Episode 12 (4312) The Children's Hour 12/12/84
Box 6			Episode 13 (4313) Dr. Wyler- I Presume 12/19/84
Box 6			Episode 14 (4314) Whistle- Wylie Works 1/2/85
Box 6			Episode 15 (4315) Bye George - Part III 1/9/85
Box 6			Episode 16 (4316) Saving Face 1/16/85
Box 6			Episode 17 (4317) Give the Boy a Hand January 23,1985
Box 6			Episode 18 (4318) Any Portrait in a Storm 1/30/85
Box 6			Episode 19 (4319) Red- White- Black and Blue 2/13/85
Box 6			Episode 20 (4320) Amazing Face 2/20/85
Box 6			Episode 21 (4321) Murder- She Rote 2/27/85
Box 7			Episode 22 (4323) Tears of a Clown 3/13/85
Box 7			Episode 23 (4324) Bang the Eardrum Slowly 3/20/85
Box 7			Episode 24 (4322) Cheers 3/27/85
		Season 4
Box 7			4th Season Production Book
Box 7			Episode 1 (5309) Rememberance of Things Past 9/18/85
Box 7			Episode 2 (5302) Fathers and Sons 9/25/85
Box 7			Episode 3 (5310) Haunted 10/23/85
Box 7			Episode 4 (5303) The Naked and the Dead 10/30/85
Box 7			Episode 5 (5304) Slice o' Life 11/6/85
Box 7			Episode 6 (5305) Lost and Found in Space 11/13/85
Box 7			Episode 7 (5306) Close Encounters 11/20/85
Box 7			Episode 8 (5307) Watch the Skies 11/27/85
Box 8			Episode 9 (5308) Sanctuary 12/4/85
Box 8			Episode 10 (5323) Loss of Power 12/11/85
Box 8			Episode 11 (5314) Santa Claus is Dead 12/18/85
Box 8			Episode 12 (5312) The Boom-Boom Womb 1/8/86
Box 8			Episode 13 (5313) To Tell the Truth 1/15/86
Box 8			Episode 14 (5315) Family Ties 1/22/86
Box 8			Episode 15 (5316) Family Feud 1/29/86
Box 8			Episode 16 (5317) Family Affair 2/12/86
Box 8			Episode 17 (5318) Time Heals -Part I 2/19/86
Box 8			Episode 18 (5301) Time Heals -Part II 2/20/86
Box 8			Episode 19 (5319) Out on a Limb 2/26/86
Box 9			Episode 20 (5320) Come Home- Oh Sapien 3/5/86
Box 9			Episode 21 (5321) Cheek to Cheek 3/12/86
Box 9			Episode 22 (5324) Black's Magic 3/19/86
Box 9			Episode 23 (5325) The Equalizer 4/30/86
Box 9			Episode 24 (5322) E.R. 5/7/86
		Season 5
Box 9			5th Season Production Book
Box 9			Episode 1 (6301) Where There's Hope- There's Crosby 9/24/86
Box 9			Episode 2 (6302) When You Wish Upon a Scar 10/1/86
Box 9			Episode 3 (6303) A Room With a View 10/8/86
Box 9			Episode 4 (6304) Brand New Bag 10/15/86
Box 9			Episode 5 (6305) You Beta Your Life 10/29/86
Box 9			Episode 6 (6306) Not My Type 11/5/86
Box 9			Episode 7 (6307) Up and Down 11/12/86
Box 10			Episode 8 (6308) Nothing Up my Sleeve 11/19/86
Box 10			Episode 9 (6310) Afterlife 11/26/86
Box 10			Episode 10 (6309) Once Upon a Mattress 12/3/86
Box 10			Episode 11 (6311) Lost Weekend 12/10/86
Box 10			Episode 12 (6312) Cold War 1/7/87
Box 10			Episode 13 (6313) Russian Roulette 1/14/87
Box 10			Episode 14 (6314) Visiting Daze 1/21/87
Box 10			Episode 15 (6315) Getting Ahead 1/28/87
Box 10			Episode 16 (6316) Jose- Can You See? 2/4/87
Box 10			Episode 17 (6317) Schwarzwald 2/11/87
Box 10			Episode 18 (6318) You Again? 2/18/87
Box 10			Episode 19 (6319) Rights of Passage 2/25/87
Box 10			Episode 20 (6320) Women Unchained 3/4/87
Box 11			Episode 21 (6323) Good Vibrations 5/13/87
Box 11			Episode 22 (6321) Slip Sliding Away 5/20/87
Box 11			Episode 23 (6322) Last Dance at the Wrecker's Ball 5/27/87
		Season 6
Box 11			6th Season Production Book
Box 11			Episode 1 (7301) Resurrection 9/16/87
Box 11			Episode 2 (7302) The Idiot and the Odyssey 9/23/87
Box 11			Episode 3 (7303) A Moon for the Misbegotten 9/30/87
Box 11			Episode 4 (7304) Ewe Can't Go Home Again 10/21/87
Box 11			Episode 5 (7305) Night of the Living Bed 10/28/87
Box 11			Episode 6 (7306) The He-Man Woman-Haters Club 11/4/87
Box 11			Episode 7 (7307) Handoff 11/11/87
Box 11			Episode 8 (7308) Heart On 11/18/87
Box 12			Episode 9 (7323) Weigh In- Way Out 12/2/87
Box 12			Episode 10 (7310) No Chemo- Sabe? 12/9/87
Box 12			Episode 11 (7311) A Coupla White Dummies Sitting Around Talking 12/16/87
Box 12			Episode 12 (7312) Final Cut 1/6/88
Box 12			Episode 13 (7313) Heaven's Skate 1/13/88
Box 12			Episode 14 (7314) Curtains 2/3/88
Box 12			Episode 15 (7315) Fairytale Theater 2/10/88
Box 13			Episode 16 (7316) Down and Out on Beacon Hill 2/17/88
Box 13			Episode 17 (7317) Their Town 4/20/88
Box 13			Episode 18 (7318) The Naked Civil Surgeon 4/27/88
Box 13			Episode 19 (7319) Requiem for a Heavyweight 5/4/88
Box 13			Episode 20 (7320) Split Decision 5/11/88
Box 13			Episode 21 (7321) The Abby Singer Show 5/18/88
Box 13			Episode 22 (7322) The Last One 5/25/88

Return to top