Umbrella Barrage Aerial Bomb Drawings An inventory of its drawings at Syracuse University

Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

The American umbrella barrage aerial bomb was made up of a single large bomb with an integral propeller and an additional 48 bomblets (small bombs) that were designed to be scattered in a pre-determined pattern at a certain height and fall and detonate at an area of approximately 80 acres. The bomb was first designed and used during World War II.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Umbrella Barrage Aerial Bomb Drawings consists of three blueprint drawings. The first blueprint offers a sectional view through the length of the bomb; the second includes a cross-section and a lateral cross-section through one of the bomblets; the final print offers a side and bird's eye view of the area that the bomb would affect. Each drawing has a handwritten inscription in the lower left-hand corner that reads, "Read and understood, J.H. Payne, Sept. 12, 1940." Underneath the inscription are the typed letters (most likely initials) of PRH.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection retains its original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top