Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Vanity Fair Silk Mills Production Manager's Notebook
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Snader, Howard, 1886- |
| Title: | Vanity Fair Silk Mills Production Manager's Notebook |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1922-1929 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume (SC) |
| Abstract: | Notebook relating to the company's production of underwear and stockings |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Vanity Fair Silk Mills began in 1899 as a glove and mitten company in Pennsylvania. Between 1910 and 1935 it added underwear, hosiery, and elastic; during World War II it manufactured parachutes. Eventually it became the multibillion dollar VF Corporation, owning such well-known brands as Wrangler, Timberland, and Nautica. Howard B. Snader was an important member of the company's leadership team, serving as production manager, sales manager, and treasurer at various times.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Vanity Fair Silk Mills Production Manager's Notebook is a single volume containing handwritten production tables, sizing information, test results, notes, clothing labels, receipts, correspondence, and more. All of the contents relate to the company's production of underwear and stockings.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Vanity Fair Silk Mills Production Manager's Notebook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 20 Feb 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Research notes | |||||||||||
| SC 878 | Production manager's notebook 1922-1929 - relating to the company's production of underwear and stockings | ||||||||||