Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Walls, William Jacob, 1885-1975.
Title:	William J. Walls Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1898-1977
Quantity:	15.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the bishop of the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church. Conference proceedings, correspondence, personal material, photographs, printed material, and writings.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

William J. Walls (1885-1975) was a Black American churchman and author.

Walls was born in Chimney Rock, North Carolina. He was recognized as an effective preacher at very young age, being ordained to the AME Zion ministry at the church's Hopkins Chapel in Asheville shortly after his 14th birthday. He graduated from Livingstone College and Hood Theological Seminary, after which he did graduate work at Columbia University and received an advanced degree from the University of Chicago.

Walls was an active member of the AME Zion Church, originally formed in 1796 in New York City in response to discrimination against Black members in the regular Methodist Church. Walls' home congregation was Thomas Memorial AME Zion in Watertown, New York, long known as an anti-slavery church; notable members included Harriet Tubman, Sojourner Truth, Katherine Harris,Jermaine Loguen, and Frederick Douglass.

Among his other duties, Walls served as senior bishop and secretary of the Board of Bishops and as chairman of the Board of Christian Education, Home and Church, and participated in Christian Education conventions on the denominational, national, international, and world levels. He was a member of the Central Committee of the World Council of Churches, the executive committee of the World Council of Methodism, and the General Assembly and General Board of the National Council of the Churches of Christ, and was the ecumenical spokesman for Zion Methodism.

In addition to his church activities, Wall was active in the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), serving on the Board of Directors and as vice president. He also found time to write, producing a biography of Joseph Charles Price, founder and first president of Livingstone College, and a definitive history of AME Zion entitled The African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church: Reality of the Black Church (1974).

Speaking about Black theology, he said. "I don't know what it is. The less we try to reduce Jesus Christ to a segregated level or try to color Him, the better off we will be."

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William J. Walls Papers consists of conference proceedings, correspondence-subject files, personal material, photographs, printed material, and writings.

Conference proceedings contains material from Methodist and AME Zion conferences at the regional and national level. The bulk are from the New England and Western New York Conferences.

Correspondence-subject files includes fellow churchmen, friends, family, organizations, and legislators at the local, state, and federal level. Much of this material reflects Walls' range of activities within the church, including church camps, schools, leadership conferences, and so on.

Personal material consists of material identified as such by Walls, e.g. items with "Personal" written in upper right corner, or contained in folder labeled "Personal." Included here are early photographs of Walls as a child and young man, programs from events at which he was a guest speaker or honoree, clippings about him, biographical sketches and lists of achievements. Also included here are items of correspondence with legislators at the state and national level which Walls deemed personal.

Most of the Photographs come from various events Walls was attending, speaking at, being honored, and so on. There are also photographs of at least two churches in Africa with which he was connected.

The bulk of Printed material consists of clippings about the AME Zion Church and its conferences, including many which mention, quote, or discuss Walls. There are also articles about civil rights, police brutality, political events, and jazz (Walls wrote an article on the "jazzing" of church music). The remainder of this series contains a few booklets, pamphlets, newsletters, and other random items.

Writings contains articles, books, booklets, Quadrennial Reports the General Conference of the AME Zion Church, sermons, speeches, and miscellaneous items. Of particular interest

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

For the most part, Walls' original order, organization, and folder titles have been maintained. Conference proceedings are filed alphabetically by title of the conference and within that chronologically. Correspondence-subject files are filed alphabetically by the title given them by Walls, with the exception that some notable correspondents (e.g., Martin Luther King, Jr.) have been pulled out and given their own folders. Personal material has been filed alphabetically by the title given it by Walls, or by the simplest title we could deduce (e.g. Photographs). Photographs are arranged chronologically. Printed material is subdivided by type of material; clippings are further arranged chronologically. Writings are subdivided by type and then further arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William J. Walls Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Apr 1999
Revision history: 12 Dec 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 17 May 2023 - additions incorporated, entire collection rehoused (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Conference proceedings
Box 1		AME Zion 1936, 1950, 1966 - 89th, 101st, 117th
Box 1		Allegheny Conference 1937-1939, 1941-1942, 1946-1947, 1949-1951 - 90th-92nd, 94th, 95th, 100th, 101st, 103rd-105th (2 folders)
Box 1		Blue Ridge Conference 1963-1967 - 73rd-77th
Box 1		Indiana Conference 1937-1942 - 27th-33rd
Box 2		Indiana Conference 1945-1947 - 36th-38th
Box 2		Kentucky Conference 1939-1944 - 74th-77th
Box 2		New England Conference 1929-1932, 1934, 1937-1938, 1940, 1942-1951, 1955-1956 - 85th-88th, 90th, 93rd, 94th, 96th, 98th-107th, 111th, 112th (5 folders)
Box 3		New England Conference 1960-1963 - 116th-119th
Box 3		New York Conference 1945, 1947-1949, 1952-1954, 1957-1959, 1961-1962, 1963 - 124th, 126th-128th, 131st-133rd, 136th-138th, 140th-142nd (5 folders)
Box 3		Western Alabama Conference 1925-1929 - 30th, 31st, 33rd, [34th?]
Box 3		Western New York Conference 1944, 1946-1949 - 95th, 97th-100th, 102nd, 103rd
Box 4		Western New York Conference 1953-1954, 1956, 1958-1964, 1966 - 104th, 105th, 107th, 109th, 110th-115th, 117th (2 folders)
Box 4		Western North Carolina Conference 1951, 1955, 1957-1959, 1961-1967 - 67th-72nd, 74th-77th (4 folders)

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 5		African-Asian and foreign organizations 1959
Box 5		AME Zion departments 1952-1962, undated - includes Christian education, financial, foreign missions, etc.; see also specific departments below (2 folders)
Box 5		American Bible Society 1948, 1957-1967 (2 folders)
Box 5		Anderson, F.S. (Bishop) 1960-1963, 1966-1968
Box 5		Appreciation [and] thank you expressions 1959-1964, undated (2 folders)
Box 5		A general (2 folders)
Box 5		Bell, A.C. 1958-1963
Box 5		Bess, Hunter B. 1954, 1958-1963
Box 5		Board of Bishops 1957-1960 (3 folders)
Box 6		Board of Bishops 1961-1971, undated (2 folders)
Box 6		Boy Scouts / Girl Scouts 1959-1960, 1969, undated
Box 6		Brown, W.C. (Bishop) 1959-1963, undated
Box 6		B general (3 folders)
Box 6		Camp Barber 1958-1964, 1970, 1973, undated
Box 6		Camp Dorothy Walls 1958-1962 (3 folders)
Box 7		Camp Dorothy Walls 1963-1965, undated (2 folders)
Box 7		Cauthen, J.D. (Bishop) 1958-1964
Box 7		Christian education, Dr. J.W. Eichelberger 1958-1964, 1967, 1971-1974 - See also AME Zion departments, above. (2 folders)
Box 7		Church extension, Mr. D.W. Andrews 1959-1963, 1972 - See also AME Zion departments, above.
Box 7		Church Federation of Greater Chicago 1958-1964, undated
Box 7		Church school literature, Dr. J. Van Catledge 1958-1963
Box 7		Church union and consultation on church union 1968-1974 (3 folders)
Box 7		Circular, incoming 1959-1960, 1962
Box 7		Circular, outgoing 1958-1964 - "pastoral letter" from First District, AME Zion
Box 7		Clement, Rufus E. (Bishop) 1958, 1960, 1973
Box 7		Clinton Junior College 1958-1959, 1963, undated
Box 7		Connectional Council 1958-1960, 1963-1964, 1974
Box 7		Cooper. W.A. 1958-1963
Box 7		CORE 1960-1961, undated
Box 8		C general (3 folders)
Box 8		Discipline, hymnals, General Conference 1960-1963 - regarding publication of "The AME Zion Church Discipline," a book of hymnals; see also Hymnal Commission / Hymnal matters
Box 8		D general (2 folders)
		Eichelberger, J.W. - See Christian education, Dr. J.W. Eichelberger
Box 8		Evangelism, Dr. W.S. Dacons 1959-1960
Box 8		Evangelism, Dr. E.S. Hardge 1961-1963
Box 8		E general
Box 8		Finance department, R.W. Sherrill 1958-1963 - See also AME Zion departments, above.
Box 8		First District conferences 1963-1967 - includes some legal material (contracts, lawsuit, etc.); see also Western New York Conf??
Box 8		First District youth conferences 1959-1964, undated (2 folders)
Box 8		Foggie, Charles H. (Bishop) 1960, 1962, 1966, 1969, 1972
Box 9		Foreign letters and stamps 1959-1964, undated (2 folders)
Box 9		Foreign missions, "Missionary Seer," J.C. Haggard 1959-1964, 1972 - See also AME Zion departments, above.
Box 9		Foster, Richard A.G. 1958-1967
Box 9		Fraternal Negro Council of Churches 1959
Box 9		Freedom Centennial, First Epis. Dist. 1963 (5 folders)
Box 9		F general (2 folders)
Box 9		General conference correspondence 1959-1960 (2 folders)
Box 10		General conference, Indianapolis 1964 (2 folders)
Box 10		General Secretary auditor, Mrs. Alstork 1959-1960, undated
Box 10		General Secretary auditor, Mr. E.M. Graham 1961-1964, 1967
Box 10		G general (2 folders)
Box 10		Hardge, Arthur L. 1958-1963
Box 10		Hardy, Lenora 1958-1959
Box 10		Harriet Tubman Home 1954-1961, 1964-1972, undated - See also Leak, Hattie M.; includes photograph (4 folders)
Box 10		Henderson, William T. 1958-1960
Box 10		Hilliard, W.A. (Bishop) 1959-1964, 1969
Box 11		Home missions pensions relief, Dr. A.P. Morris 1957-1969, 1972, undated
Box 11		Hood Theological Seminary 1959-1961, 1964, undated - see also individual names; Walls filed some people associated with HTS under their own name(s)
Box 11		Hughes, Langston 1967
Box 11		Hunter, R.T. 1958-1963
Box 11		Hymnal Commission / hymnal matters, printing 1958-1959 - See also "Discipline, hymnals, General Conference" above
Box 11		H general (3 folders)
Box 11		Inter-Church Center 1958-1960, undated (3 folders)
Box 11		International Society of Christian Endeavor 1959-1963, 1969, 1973
Box 11		Invitations 1957-1959
Box 12		Invitations 1960-1964, 1967, 1969, 1972, 1974 (5 folders)
Box 12		I general
Box 12		Jones, R.L. (Bishop) 1959-1964, 1972, undated
Box 12		J general (2 folders)
Box 12		Kennedy, John F. 1958-1963 - includes typescript carbon of "AME Zion Bishops greetings…on the occasion of…the 100th year of emancipation and 167 years of freedom's march"
Box 12		Khan, Abiel 1958-1959, 1969, 1972-1974 - Isabella Thoburn College, Lucknow
Box 12		King, Martin Luther Jr. 1958-1959, 1964-1965
Box 12		K general
Box 12		Lake Placid property 1957-1964
Box 13		Lartey, S. Dorme (Bishop) 1958-1964, 1967, 1969 (2 folders)
Box 13		Leak, Hattie M. 1958-1965
Box 13		Libraries, misc. 1969, 1972
Box 13		Livingstone College 1958-1968 (8 folders)
Box 14		Livingstone College 1969-1974, undated (2 folders)
Box 14		Livingstone College, Presiden S.E. Duncan 1958-1961, undated
Box 14		Lomax-Hannon College 1959
Box 14		L general (2 folders)
Box 14		McGuire, P.E. (Paul) 1958-1959
Box 14		McKinney, Carnes 1958-1963
Box 14		McKinney, Petty D. 1959-1963
Box 14		Medford, H.T. (Bishop) 1958-1964
Box 14		Michael, E.R. 1958-1963, 1969
Box 14		Miller, John H. 1958-1963, 1969
Box 14		M general (2 folders)
Box 14		Mc general
Box 15		National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) 1958-1964, 1967, 1972 (2 folders)
Box 15		National Conference on Religion and Race 1962-1963
Box 15		National Council of Churches of Christ 1956-1969, 1972, undated (9 folders)
Box 16		National Council of Churches of Christ, General Assembly 1963
Box 16		New England Conference 1958-1964 (3 folders)
Box 16		New York Conference 1902, 1957-1963 (5 folders)
Box 16		N general
Box 16		O general
Box 16		Paris, William A. 1958-1963
Box 16		Pittsburgh Courier 1958-1961, 1969
Box 17		Pope, Daniel C. (Bishop) 1959-1964
Box 17		Programs 1943, 1947, 1949, 1955, 1957-1968 - dedications, services, district conferences, memorials, anniversaries, etc.; includes Livingstone College, New York Conference, Board of Bishops, Young Peoples' Conference, etc. (12 folders)
Box 18		Programs 1969, 1973-1974, undated - dedications, services, district conferences, memorials, anniversaries, etc.; includes Livingstone College, New York Conference, Board of Bishops, Young Peoples' Conference, etc.
Box 18		Protestant Council of Churches, New York 1959-1963 (3 folders)
Box 18		Public relations, Mr. Alexander Barnes 1959-1963
Box 18		Publishing House, Dr. L.L. Boyd 1959-1962
Box 18		P general (3 folders)
Box 18		Quarterly review, Dr. David H. Bradley 1958-1963
Box 18		Randolph, A. Philip 1959-1962, 1969
Box 18		Rice, Willa Mae 1958-1963, 1967
Box 18		Robeson, B.C. 1958-1962
Box 18		Robinson, Jackie 1958-1962
Box 18		Robinson, M.B. 1958-1969 - See also Star of Zion.
Box 18		Rochester, Enoch B. 1960-1963
Box 18		Rockefeller, Nelson 1961, 1963, 1968
Box 18		Roosevelt, Eleanor 1954, 1958, 1960
Box 18		Rudd, Matthew S. 1958-1964 - includes his wife Daisy
Box 18		R general (2 folders)
Box 19		Satterwhite, John H. 1959-1965, 1969
Box 19		Shaw, H.B. (Bishop) 1959-1963, 1969
Box 19		Siler, Lee Clinton 1958-1969
Box 19		Slade, W.W. (Bishop) 1959, 1963
Box 19		Smith, Leslie 1960-1963
Box 19		Smith, W.M. (Bishop) 1960-1963, 1972-1973
Box 19		Southern Conference Education Fund, Inc. 1959-1960
Box 19		Spottswood, S.G. (Bishop) 1959-1964, 1969
Box 19		Star of Zion 1954, 1959-1963, 1972 - editors W.R. Lovell, M.B. Robinson
Box 19		State and local councils 1958-1967, 1972 - mostly New York, North Carolina (3 folders)
Box 19		Stewart, James E.W. 1958-1964, 1972-1973
Box 19		Stewart, W.A. (Bishop) 1959-1965, 1969
Box 19		Subscriptions 1959-1960, undated - books, magazines, papers, etc.
Box 19		S general (4 folders)
Box 20		Telegrams, incoming 1958-1970 (3 folders)
Box 20		Telegrams, outgoing 1958-1967
Box 20		Thomas, Carl Alan 1958-1959, 1963
Box 20		Thomas, George 1960-1964, 1968, 1973
Box 20		Trent, William J. 1958-1964, 1969
Box 20		Tucker, C.E. (Bishop) 1959-1963, 1969
Box 20		T general (2 folders)
Box 20		U.S. Department of State 1961-1963, 1969
Box 20		Ursuline Lower School 1971 - letters from students at Catholic girls' school in Westchester County
Box 20		U general
Box 20		Vantage Press 1958, 1960
Box 20		V general
Box 20		Walters, Zoe 1958-1961
Box 20		Ward, M.N. 1958-1961
Box 20		Watkins, Johnsie and Donnie 1958-1961
Box 21		Wells, I.J.K. 1958-1961
Box 21		Western New York Conference 1957-1964 (4 folders)
Box 21		Western North Carolina Conference 1957-1963 (5 folders)
Box 21		White House Conference on Children and Youth 1959-1960
Box 21		World Council of Christian Education 1958-1963, 1969
Box 22		World Council of Churches 1946, 1949, 1957-1967, 1972-1975, undated (4 folders)
Box 22		World Council of Churches, 3rd General Assembly 1961 (2 folders)
Box 22		World Council of Churches, 4th General Assembly 1968
		World Methodist Council 1958-1967 (3 folders)
Box 22		World Sunday School Convention - See World Council on Christian Education
Box 22		W general: Wa-Whi (2 folders)
Box 23		W general: Who=-Wy (2 folders)
Box 23		X-Y-Z general
Box 23		Unidentified

	Personal
		Items filed here were identified as such by Walls, e.g. "Personal" written in upper right corner, or contained in folder labeled "Personal."
Box 23		Biographies and achievements
Box 23		Clippings about 1925, 1943-1958, 1963-1968, 1975, undated (3 folders)
Box 23		Correspondence, government misc. 1916, 1958-1968 - includes White House, Congress, state and local legislators, etc.
Box 23		Correspondence, individuals 1958-1963 - Mazie and James Noble; Fannie [last name unknown]
Box 23		Correspondence 1943, 1956-1975, undated - undated items include two partial letters from Walls to his mother (3 folders)
Box 24		Financial and legal miscellany - bank books, copy of will, etc.
Box 24		Photographs 1898, 1918, 1921, 1924, 1926, 1950, 1953, 1956, 1966, 1968, 1971, undated
Box 24		Programs 1937, 1943-1954, 1957, 1965, 1968-1969, 1973 - events at which Walls spoke, presided, presented, etc.
Box 24		Travel memorabilia - England, Norway, Germany, "Pan Am Clipper" material (3 folders)
Box 24		Tributes and honors 1913, 1916, 1939, 1941-1942, 1949, 1954-1969, 1974-1977, undated - a few items accompanied by photographs (5 folders)
Box 25		Miscellaneous (2 folders)

	Photographs
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1940, 1946, 1948, 1953, 1957-1959 - Adam Clayton Powell at AME Zion Sesquicentennial Program in New York City; Camp Dorothy Walls buildings; Livingstone College Board of Trustees; consecration of youth officers
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1960 - Livingstone College presentation of property; General Conference, Buffalo NY; cornerstone ceremony for Cartwright Memorial AME Zion church in Monrovia; testimonial banquet honoring Bishop and Mrs. Walls (2 folders)
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1961-1962 - World Council of Churches, Lucknow, India; Board of Bishops, Knoxville; dedication of Boys Building, Camp Dorothy Walls; World Methodist Conference, Oslo; Founders' Day, Livingstone College; Governor Terry Sandford, Mayor Lynnwood Foil, Christian Education conference
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1963 - Freedom Centennial; Commencement, Livingstone College; Board of Bishops meeting with President Kennedy; Walls Temple
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1964 - Dorothy Walls Girls School, Liberia; General Conference, Indiana; World Methodist Council Executive Board
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1965 - dedication of William J. Walls Center, Livingstone College; Western North Carolina Conference, Salisbury NC; National Council of Churches, Des Moines
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1966-1967 - Board of Bishops; World Methodist Council, London; J.W. Eichelberger; dedication of Harriet Tubman Memorial Chapel, Niagara Falls; Walls Memorial Church and baseball team; WH&FM Society General Conference; architect's rendering of Heritage Hall, Livingstone College; Walls receiving Distinguished Alumni Award; Dr. Frederick Douglass Patterson; Youth Congress, Western NY
Box 25		Miscellaneous 1968-1969 - testimonial dinners for Walls; Commencement, Livingstone College; Dr. Carrington retirement banquet
Box 25		Miscellaneous undated - dedication ceremony for Cartwright Memorial Chapel, Liberia; Walls with Vice-President Nixon

	Printed material
Box 26		Book: Together we live by William A. Cooper 1962
Box 26		Booklets - miscellaneous booklets and pamphlets (2 folders)
Box 26		Clippings 1949-1953, 1956-1963 - most are about AME Zion Church events, many of which mention, feature, or quote Walls (7 folders)
Box 27		Clippings 1964-1975, undated - most are about AME Zion Church events, many of which mention, feature, or quote Walls (3 folders)
Box 27		Newsletters an periodicals - most have to do with Christian education
Box 27		Miscellaneous

	Writings
		Articles
Box 27			The African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church undated
Box 27			The bishop's word 1961 - pubilshed The lamplighter
Box 27			The church faces totalitarianism and war [circa 1943]
Box 27			From nature's pulpit to editor's chair undated
Box 27			The greatest opportunity of Protestantism 1932, 1942
Box 27			Green hair undated - published in Grassroots supplement
Box 27			History of the Star of Zion 1921
Box 27			On jazzing Negro religious songs 1958, 1960 - includes issue of Hue which has an article on the topic and quotes Walls; see also Clippings from this date
Box 27			Politics undated
Box 27			Rise of the Negro church undated
Box 27			Some conditions on Methodist union 1967
Box 27			Washington memorial attended by nearly 2000 [1915] - regarding Booker T. Washington memorial service in Louisville
Box 27			What the churches are doing in race relations 1930
		Booklets
			Some of these may be printed versions of speeches or addresses, it is not always clear.
Box 27			Connectionalism and the Negro church undated
Box 27			Glimpses of memories 1921
Box 27			Harriet Tubman undated
Box 27			The Harriet Tubman home: Its present and future 1954
Box 27			Living essentials of our Methodism undated
Box 27			Meeting the present challenge undated
Box 27			The trials and triumphs of bishops undated
		Books
Box 28			Prophets of freedom - ten chapters, typescript (5 folders)
Box 28			The romance of a college 1963 - published edition; about Livingstone College
		Quadrennial reports
Box 28			Historian Fund 1972, 1974
Box 28			First Episcopal District 1956, 1960, 1964, 1968 - 35th, 36th, 37th, 38th sessions (4 folders)
Box 29			Second Episcopal District 1948, 1952 - 33rd, 34th sessions
Box 29			Fourth Episcopal District 1944 - 32nd session
Box 29			Fifth Episcopal District 1940, 1963 - 31st session; typed pages also have a 1963 date, unclear why
Box 29			Eighth Episcopal District 1932, 1936 - 29th and 30th sessions
Box 29			Tenth Episcopal District 1928, 1963 - 28th session
Box 29			[as] Editor of the Star of Zion 1924 - 27th session
		School papers
			Most, if not all, of these were written by Walls for his work at the University of Chicago towards the MA in Religious Education. They vary widely in length and complexity.
Box 29			B-C [1938-1941] - The bible in modern religious experience; Close study of the prophet Isaiah
Box 29			H [1938-1941] - History of Christian thought in America
Box 29			J-N [1938-1941] - Jesus' ascetic teaching and its basis; John Wesley's doctrine of the church; Liberal Christian theology in the light of the present cultural situation; Methods of private religious living; The Negro and the intelligence
Box 29			T [1938-1941] - The teaching of Jesus
		Sermons
Box 28			Appalachian preaching mission, sermons 1-6 1956 - topics include Christian leadership, Christians and the law, dreams and God's word; includes correspondence and printed material relating to the project
Box 29			Miscellaneous 1948, 1955-1957, 1959, 1963, undated (2 folders)
		Speeches and addresses
			All of these were identified as "Speeches and addresses" by Walls. Included here are episcopal addresses, fraternal addresses, commencement speeches, eulogies, prayers for specific occasions, radio speeches, and so on. Some are typed originals, some are carbon copies. Some have corrections and annotations. Several of the earlier-dated items were evidently retyped at a much later date, as they are on modern paper with the original date handwritten at the top.
Box 29			All aboard for Africa: Hoist the flag for Christendom 1965
Box 29			The AME Zion Church: Its Methodist identity 1966
Box 29			The AME Zion Church in the present religious situation
Box 29			American freedom and the Negro
Box 29			Bishop J.S. Caldwell and 25 years of episcopacy
Box 29			Black power 1968
Box 29			The Black preacher and his church: Our omnipresent freedom force 1971
Box 29			Business and religion 1918
Box 29			The Central Committee: An interpretation 1949
Box 29			Christian devotion and loyalty 1951
Box 29			Civil rights 1972
Box 29			Demands of the situation 1956
Box 29			Desegregation 1954 - radio address
Box 30			The ecumenical movement 1955
Box 30			Episcopal addresses, Allegheny Conference 1939, 1941, 1951
Box 30			Episcopal addresses, Indiana Conference 1937, 1939
Box 30			Episcopal addresses, Kentucky Conference 1936
Box 30			Episcopal addresses, New England Conference 1933, 1939, 1941, 1945
Box 30			Episcopal addresses, New York Conference 1954
Box 30			Episcopal addresses, North Carolina Conference 1951
Box 30			Episcopal addresses, unidentified 1960, 1962
Box 30			Eulogy, Rev. A.A. Perry [1963]
Box 30			Evangelism and the AME Zion Church in the freedom centenary 1963
Box 30			Fraternal addresses 1918, 1928 - delivered at AME Zion General Conferences
Box 30			Freedom and love 1959
Box 30			The function of the Negro press circa 1920?
Box 30			Getting beyond verbalizing about religion to the religious reconstruction of personal and social experience 1941
Box 30			The gospel of liberation 1972
Box 30			Home and church school in a technological age 1940 - radio address
Box 30			The home heart of America 1939 - radio address
Box 30			In Pakistan and India 1935 - Isabella Thoburn College in Lucknow, India
Box 30			Jesus' asceticism teaching and its basis 1940 - radio address
Box 30			Jesus' conception of his own task undated - radio address
Box 30			John Wesley, evangelist and social leader 1940s
Box 30			Ministers undated
Box 30			The Negro and labor unions 1940s
Box 30			The Negro's needs and desires 1936
Box 30			On public school prayer 1962
Box 30			Our day: Smiting a passage through a world like this 1952
Box 30			The place of the Negro church in history 1951
Box 30			Prayers, miscellaneous 1950, 1958
Box 30			Realizing the reality 1940
Box 30			Religion and the American spirit 1932 - radio address
Box 30			Religion and the public mind
Box 30			Richard Allen and our time 1962
Box 30			The romance of a college: its evolution 1963
Box 30			Rough times ahead 1956
Box 30			Significance of Bandung 1954
Box 30			The spirit of Lincoln in the present age 1935 - radio address
Box 30			Supremacy of the cook book 1940
Box 30			The tree is known by his fruit 1972
Box 31			Types of creative living 1950
Box 31			Walking with the Lord 1955-1956 - "in recognition of the Mongomery, Alabama bus boycott"
Box 31			What the Negro wants 1919 - clipping from the Louisville Leader
Box 31			Why and how Paul purposed on Rome 1963
Box 31			Will yesterday be tomorrow undated
Box 31			Untitled 1931, 1941, 1956, 1958-1959, 1963, 1965, undated
		Miscellaneous
Box 31			Invitational tour of Europe by representative American clergymen 1947-1948 - organized by the US Department of the Army and Secretary of War Robert Patterson; includes several photographs
Box 31			My creed [1949]
Box 31			Notebook - notes on various books of the Bible; numerous laid-in items have been left in their original position
Box 31			Travel diary 1952 - notes made during a trip to South Africa
Box 31			A-Z, miscellaneous - includes handwritten notes on John Locke, "appraisements" of the 1951 World Methodist Conference, press release on firing of Autherine Lucy from University of Alabama, response to article by William Faulkner, foreword to a booklet entitled "My Life," paper on problems in religious education, Walls' testimony before the Senate Foreign Relations Committee in 1949, responses to interview questions, etc.
Box 31			Fragments
Box 31			Author uncertain - most likely by other people

Return to top