Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Weston, Harold, 1894-1972.
Title:	Harold Weston Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1897-1971
Quantity:	14.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American painter, humanitarian. The collection includes artwork reproductions, correspondence subject files, memorabilia and writings, much of which deal with Weston's work in various organizations, including the Adirondack Trail Improvement Society, the American Federation of Arts, the Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors, Food for Freedom, the International Association of the Plastic Arts of Plastic Arts, the National Council on the Arts and Government and the United Nations. The collection provides a detailed look at the lobbying efforts to create the National Endowment for the Arts as well as development of post-World War Two international cooperation in the arts.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Harold Weston (1894-1972) was an American modernist painter and activist for humanitarian causes as well as international cooperation in the arts. Following his 1916 magna cum laude Fine Arts degree from Harvard, he built a log cabin near St Huberts, NY in the Adirondack Mountains where he became involved in the Adirondack Trail Improvement Society. Between the World Wars he travelled extensively in Europe and when the Second World War began, he founded Food for Freedom to deliver humanitarian aid to refugees. At the end of the War, Weston became involved in the creation of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and through his work there, with the International Association of the Plastic Arts. His work on international arts cooperation in turn led him to lobby for government funding of the arts and the creation of the National Endowment for the Arts. Harold Weston died in New York City in 1972.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Weston Papers consists of Artwork reproductions, Correspondence-subject files, Memorabilia and Writings.

Artwork reproductions includes more the two hundred black and white photographs of Weston's paintings with titles and dates.

Correspondence-subject files includes incoming and outgoing correspondence with a wide range of legislators, colleagues and public figures as well as the organizational records of various organizations in which Weston was involved, including the Adirondack Trail Improvement Society, the American Federation of Arts, the Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors, Food for Freedom, the International Association of Plastic Arts, the National Council on the Arts and Government and the United Nations, especially UNESCO.

Memorabilia includes newspaper clippings, several hundred photographs from Weston's travels around the world, especially to Iran, Iraq and India, aswell as exhibition catalogs and announcements.

Writings includes articles, several drafts of his book Battle of Bread and the texts of several speeches.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by topic or title except for the general correspondence which is chronological.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Weston Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harold Weston, 1964-1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 23 Mar 1988
Revision history: 26 Aug 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 8 Mar 2018 - processed (PRB)

Return to top

Inventory

	Artwork, reproductions
Box 1		Adam 1929
Box 1		Amber necklace undated
Box 1		Ann 1933
Box 1		Arena 1939
Box 1		At camp 1932
Box 1		At tea 1931
Box 1		Atunement 1927
Box 1		Back to the Sun 1928
Box 1		Basic bath 1929
Box 1		Betwen windows 1932
Box 1		Big head 1931
Box 1		Bittersweet 1929
Box 1		The blue kimona 1927
Box 1		Braiding hair 1925-1934
Box 1		Bronze nude 1930
Box 1		Building the UNited Nations series 1 1949-1952
Box 1		Building the United Nations(transparencies) 1949-1952
Box 1		Butterfly 1930
Box 1		By camp fire 1948
Box 1		By fire 1929
Box 2		Cabbage 1927-1933
Box 2		Calla lilies 1929
Box 2		Callie undated
Box 29		Candlelight 1929
Box 2		Catalan grandmother 1929
Box 2		Cats fighting 1930
Box 2		Cats under stove 1926
Box 2		Cerêt chapel undated
Box 2		Chopelle Pond 1938
Box 2		Charlotte 1929
Box 2		China closet at Prats 1929
Box 2		Combing hair 1929
Box 2		Coming from the sea undated
Box 2		Convalescent 1929
Box 2		Corn field 1927
Box 2		Corner of studio 1929
Box 2		Courting 1927
Box 2		Crouching (figure) 1929-1930
Box 2		Cyclamen 1930
Box 2		Dancers 1927
Box 2		Dancers at Giens undated
Box 2		Dr. Felix Adler 1933
Box 2		Dr. Henry Sloane Coffin 1930
Box 2		Don't believe it 1929
Box 2		Door 1931
Box 2		Doubt 1929
Box 2		Dressing 1930
Box 2		Duck & bath 1932
Box 2		Dutch girl 1929
Box 2		Embryonic 1927
Box 2		Etching tray 1929
Box 2		Eva 1929
Box 2		Fertilizing the fields 1927
Box 2		Forest floor 1955
Box 2		Forest spring 1922
Box 2		Frances undated
Box 2		French girl 1929-1930
Box 2		Fresco baby 1929
Box 2		Fruit bowl undated
Box 2		Getting ready for bed 1929
Box 2		Getting up 1930
Box 2		Giant in the moonlight 1930
Box 2		Girl reading 1929
Box 2		Girl with the green hat 1937
Box 2		Going home 1942
Box 2		Gothic nude 1933
Box 2		Harmony 1929
Box 2		Haystack Mountain 1931
Box 2		Head on pillow 1932
Box 2		Helping hand undated
Box 2		Horizons undated
Box 2		Hospital bed 1929
Box 2		Houses Cerêt 1929
Box 2		In the studio (self portrait) 1949
Box 2		The inlet 1922
Box 2		Intimacy 1927
Box 2		The jester 1933
Box 2		John Dos Passos 1933
Box 2		The kiss 1928
Box 2		Kneeling 1930
Box 2		Leon Trotsky 1939
Box 2		Loneliness 1929
Box 2		The lumberman 1922
Box 2		Making auto bodies undated
Box 2		Making hats undated
Box 2		Man and nature 1922
Box 2		Man who brings our "fagots" of wood, Lt. Martin 1929
Box 2		March wind-New York 1932
Box 2		Marja 1931
Box 2		Mary Pawling 1928
Box 2		Marya 1928
Box 2		Melon 1929
Box 2		Memory 1960
Box 2		Mimosa 1930
Box 2		Mother and child 1929
Box 2		My father (S. Burns Weston) 1927
Box 2		My father (S. Burns Weston) 1932
Box 3		Nanna the farm hand 1929
Box 3		The new stove 1926
Box 3		New York apartment 1952
Box 3		Next? (Rue de la Harpe) 1927
Box 3		Nita 1927
Box 3		Nude 1932
Box 3		Nude on green 1934
Box 3		Nude on pillows undated
Box 3		Oak leaves 1933
Box 3		Oil refining undated
Box 3		On studio bed 1930-1931
Box 3		Papa undated
Box 3		Paris Left Bank 1929
Box 3		Peasant head 1926
Box 3		Philadelphia from north east undated
Box 3		Philadelphia from south west undated
Box 3		Pines and Boreas Range 1940
Box 3		Pine by lake 1938
Box 3		Pine cones undated
Box 3		Pom poms 1927
Box 3		Portrait of James Clark 1952
Box 2		Posing 1929
Box 3		Pregnancy 1930
Box 3		Pre-view 1933
Box 3		Pride 1929
Box 3		Prof. Adler 1930
Box 3		Profile 1931
Box 3		The puppet 1933
Box 3		Pussywillows 1929
Box 3		Pyrenees farm 1930
Box 3		Ready for camp 1932
Box 3		Reclining nude 1932
Box 3		Reservations 1928
Box 3		Resignation 1929
Box 3		Restless 1929
Box 3		St. Georgina 1929
Box 3		Sawing wood undated
Box 3		School girl 1930
Box 3		Seated nude 1931
Box 3		Self portrait 1922
Box 3		Self portrait 1929
Box 3		Self portrait 1931
Box 3		Silence 1948
Box 3		Sleep 1933
Box 3		Song of Solomon 1958
Box 3		Starting braids 1929
Box 3		Strands undated
Box 3		Sunburst 1930
Box 3		Swoon song 1930
Box 3		Syphon 1933
Box 3		Terrace at Prats undated
Box 3		Textiles - hosiery undated
Box 3		Torso 1929
Box 3		Tree trunk 1929
Box 3		Two figures 1932
Box 3		Underssing 1926
Box 3		Virginity 1927
Box 3		Waking 1930
Box 3		Washing feet 1927
Box 3		Wind on wheat 1929
Box 3		Winter undated
Box 3		Winter Sun 1929-1930
Box 3		Woman at rest 1931
Box 3		Woman in red 1931
Box 3		Woman in yellow 1929
Box 3		Woman reclining 1932
Box 3		Woman sleeping 1933
Box 3		Woman with folded arms undated
Box 3		Yellow birch 1932-1933
Box 3		Miscellaneous - destroyed undated
Box 3		Miscellaneous untitled 1928
Box 3		Miscellaneous untitled undated
Box 29		Miscellaneous untitled undated

	Correspondence subject files
Box 4		Biographical material 1931-1962
Box 4		General correspondence 1947-1965, undated (6 folders)
Box 4		Abbott, Berenice 1953, 1956
Box 4		Actors' Equity Association 1953, 1965
Box 4		Adams, Sherman 1955
Box 4		Adirondack Trail Improvement Society 1897-1961 (5 folders)
Box 5		Adirondack Trail Improvement Society 1962-1970, undated (4 folders)
Box 5		Aiken, George D. 1951, 1959,
Box 5		Ailey, Alvin 1964-1965
Box 5		Albert, Carl 1963-1964
Box 5		Aldrich, Nelson W. 1960-1961
Box 5		Allen, Leo E. 1956
Box 5		American Federation of Arts 1955-1957
Box 5		American Federation of Labor 1950
Box 5		Anderson, Marian 1961
Box 5		Andrews, Glenn 1965
Box 5		Anfuso, Victor L. 1961
Box 5		The Arden House Conference on Family Living 1962
Box 5		Artists' Societies for National Defence 1941
Box 5		Aspinal, Wayne 1959-1960
Box 5		Avedon, Richard 1957
Box 5		Avery, William H. 1962
Box 5		Bailey, Cleveland M. 1956
Box 5		Barber, Samuel 1956-1957
Box 5		Barden, Graham A. 1955-1960
Box 5		Bell, Alfonzo 1965
Box 5		Bellamy, Ralph undated
Box 5		Belluschi, Pietro 1956-1965
Box 5		Bernhardt, C. Murray 1947
Box 5		Bernstein, Leonard 1957, 1961
Box 5		Billings, Henry 1954-1958
Box 5		Blake, Eugene Carson 1957
Box 5		Bolling, Richard 1956-1957
Box 5		Botkin, Henry 1955
Box 5		Bourdelle, Pierre 1963
Box 5		Bowles, Chester 1945-1963
Box 5		Boyd-Orr, John 1949
Box 5		Brown, Clarence J. 1956
Box 5		Brunsdale, Clarence, Norman 1960
Box 5		Buckley, Charles A. 1956-1960
Box 5		Bunch, Ralph 1957
Box 5		Burckhardt, Rudolph 1956
Box 5		Burleson, Omar 1959, 1961
Box 5		Byrd, Harry Flood, Sr. 1959-1961
Box 6		Cannon, Clarence 1961
Box 6		Carey, Hugh L. 1965 1965
Box 6		Carlino, Joseph F. 1962
Box 6		Catan-Rose Institute of Art 1965
Box 6		Cater, Harold Dean 1962
Box 6		Celler, Emanuel 1955-1963
Box 6		Chavez, Dennis 1959-1961
Box 6		Chayefsky, Sidney Aaron “Paddy” 1956
Box 6		Childs, Marquis W. 1946-1947, 1960
Box 6		Clark, Joseph S. 1961-1965
Box 6		Cliburn, Van 1965
Box 6		Collingwood, Charles 1956, 1964
Box 6		Comager, Henry 1965
Box 6		Committee for International Cultural Exchange 1961
Box 6		Committee of the Weston United Nations Paintings 1949-1965
Box 6		Connally, Tom 1950-1951
Box 6		Cook, Howard A. 1956
Box 6		Cooper, John Sherman 1947-1962
Box 6		Copland, Aaron 1961
Box 6		Cornell, Katherine undated
Box 6		Crisp, Arthur 1942
Box 6		Curtis, Laurence 1957
Box 6		Curtis, Thomas B. 1959
Box 6		Daniels, Dominick V. 1962
Box 6		Delaney, James J. 1957
Box 6		De Mille, Agnes George 1956, 1965
Box 6		Dent, John H. 1965
Box 6		Dominick, Peter H. 1965
Box 6		Douglas, Paul H. 1956-1962
Box 6		Dreyfuss, Henry 1957-1965
Box 6		Dulles, John Foster 1955
Box 6		Eisenhower, Dwight D. 1955-1962
Box 6		Elliott, Carl 1957-1960
Box 6		Ellsworth, Harris 1956
Box 6		Essex County Committee to Defend America 1940-1942
Box 6		Evans, Luther H. 1947, 1950
Box 6		Farbstein, Leonard 1961, 1963
Box 6		Farrell, James T. 1957
Box 6		Federal Security Agency 1950
Box 6		Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors 1937-1955 (2 folders)
Box 7		Federation of Modern Painters and Sculptors 1956-1966 undated (2 folders)
Box 7		Feininger, Lionel 1954-1956
Box 7		Fleming, Arthur S. 1961
Box 7		Flynt, John J., Jr. 1963
Box 7		Fogarty, John 1963
Box 7		Food for Freedom: General 1942-1945 (5 folders)
Box 8		Food for Freedom: General 1949-1950 (6 folders)
Box 9		Food for Freedom: General, undated (2 folders)
Box 9		Food for Freedom: Financial, ) 1942-1948 (6 folders)
Box 10		Forand, Aime J. 1959
Box 10		Fulbright, J. William 1957-1963
Box 10		Galbraith, John Kenneth 1960
Box 10		Garroway, Dave 1958-1960
Box 10		Gellert, Hugo 1962-1965
Box 10		General Federation of Women’s Clubs 1964
Box 10		George, Walter F. 1956
Box 10		Gershwin, Ira 1956, 1958
Box 10		Giamio, Robert 1960-1963
Box 10		Gish, Lillian 1965
Box 10		Goldberg, Arthur J. 1961-1962
Box 10		Graham, Martha 1961-1965
Box 10		Green, Edith 1957-1965
Box 10		Green Theodore F. 1960
Box 10		Guillon, Allen W. 1942
Box 10		Halpern, Seymour 1960
Box 10		Hansen, Julia Butler 1961
Box 10		Harlow, Bryce 1956
Box 10		Harris, Oren 1962-1963
Box 10		Hathaway, William D. 1965
Box 10		Hayden, Carl 1961
Box 10		Hayes, Helen 1957
Box 10		Hays, Wayne 1961-1963
Box 10		Hennings, Thomas C. 1957-1959
Box 10		Herter, Christian 1950
Box 2		Hill, Lister 1956-1965
Box 2		Hillyer, Robert S. 1956
Box 10		Hirschfeld, Al 1958
Box 10		Holbrook, Hal 1961-1962
Box 10		Holland, Elmer J. 1965
Box 10		Holm, Celeste 1957
Box 10		Houseman, John 1957
Box 10		Hull, Cordell 1944
Box 10		Humphrey, Hubert H. 1956-1966
Box 10		The Institute of International Education 1956, 1958
Box 10		International Association of the Plastic Arts, general 1952-1955 (2 folders)
Box 11		International Association of the Plastic Arts, general 1956-1959 (5 folders)
Box 12		International Association of the Plastic Arts, general 1960-1961 (5 folders)
Box 13		International Association of the Plastic Arts, general 1962-1963 (5 folders)
Box 14		International Association of the Plastic Arts, general 1963-1965 (8 folders)
Box 15		International Association of the Plastic Arts, general undated (3 folders)
Box 15		International Association of the Plastic Arts, financial 1952-1965, undated
Box 16		International Union for Child Welfare 1950
Box 16		Ives, Irving M. 1951-1957
Box 16		Jackson, Henry M. 1955
Box 16		Jackson, R.G. A. undated
Box 16		Javitz, Jacob K. 1957-1965
Box 16		Joelson, Charles S. 1962
Box 16		Johnson, Lady Bird 1965-1966
Box 16		Johnson, Lyndon B. 1957-1964
Box 16		Johnston, Olin D. 1962
Box 16		Jones, Robert E. 1957-1963
Box 16		Kearns, Carroll D. 1959-1961
Box 16		Keating, Kenneth B. 1959
Box 16		Kelley, Augustine B. 1955-1956
Box 16		Kennedy, Jacqueline 1961-1963
Box 16		Kennedy, John F. 1961-1963
Box 16		Kent, Norman 1956
Box 16		Keogh, Eugene J. 1961-1962
Box 16		King, Carleton J. 1962-1965
Box 16		Knaths, Karl 1953-1954
Box 16		Knauth Arnold W. 1942-1955
Box 16		Koussevitzky, Serge and Olga 1957-1965
Box 16		Kroll, Leon 1954-1955
Box 16		Kuchel, Thomas H. 1962
Box 16		Lahm, Renee 1941
Box 16		Lancaster, Burt 1957
Box 16		Lardera, Berto 1954-1965 (2 folders)
Box 16		Latham, Henry J. 1956
Box 16		Lawrence, David L. 1961
Box 16		Lehman, Herbert 1953-1965
Box 16		Leinsdorf, Erich 1965
Box 17		Lescaze, William 1958-1962
Box 17		The Library of Congress 1947-1964
Box 17		Lindsay, Howard 1959-1964
Box 17		Lindsay, John V. 1959-1966
Box 17		Lippman, Walter 1956
Box 17		Lodge, Henry Cabot, Jr. 1950
Box 17		Long, Edward V. 1962
Box 17		Luce, Clare Booth 1946, 1961, 1962
Box 17		Luce, Henry 1957
Box 17		Macleish, Archibald 1941-1942
Box 17		Madden, Ray J. 1957
Box 17		Magnuson, Warren 1961
Box 17		Mankiewicz, Joseph L. 1956
Box 17		McClure, Stewart E. 1956-1965
Box 17		McConnell, Samuel K. 1957
Box 17		McDowell, Harris B. 1959-1962
Box 17		McGee, Gale W. 1960
Box 17		McGovern, George 1957
Box 17		McNamara, Pat 1958
Box 17		Metcalf, Lee 1956-1957
Box 17		Mills, Wilbur D. 1959-1961
Box 17		Mink, Patsy T. 1965
Box 17		Minnow, Newton 1961
Box 17		Mitchell, MacNeil 1958-1964
Box 17		Monroney, Almer Stillwell “Mike” 1960
Box 17		Moore, Henry 1963
Box 17		Morgan, Thomas E. 1959-1961
Box 17		Morrow, Elizabeth 1943-1950
Box 17		Morse, Wayne 1961-1962
Box 17		Moses, Robert 1955-1961
Box 17		Mumford, L. Quincy 1957
Box 17		Murray, James E. 1956-1960
Box 17		Murrow, Edward R. 1956-1962
Box 17		National Broadcasting Company, Inc. 1961
Box 17		National Council on the Arts and Government, general 1953-1956 (4 folders)
Box 18		National Council on the Arts and Government, general 1957-1960 (6 folders)
Box 19		National Council on the Arts and Government, general 1960-1962 (6 folders)
Box 20		National Council on the Arts and Government, general 1962-1964 (5 folders)
Box 21		National Council on the Arts and Government, general 1965-1967 (6 folders)
Box 22		National Council on the Arts and Government, general undated (4 folders)
Box 22		National Council on the Arts and Government, financial 1955-1965
Box 23		The National Cultural Center 1960
Box 23		Nielson, William Allen 1946
Box 23		Nixon, Richard M. 1960
Box 23		O’Hara, James G. 1964-1965
Box 23		O’Neill, Thomas P. 1956-1957
Box 23		Pasvolosky, Leo 1942
Box 23		Pell, Claiborne 1961-1965
Box 23		Perkins, Roswell B. 1956
Box 23		Peterdi, Gabor 1960
Box 23		Phillips, Duncan 1942-1960
Box 23		Pousette-Dart, Nathaniel 1942
Box 23		Powell, Adam Clayton 1962, 1965
Box 23		Pringle, Henry 1948-1950
Box 23		Prouty, Winston L. 1965
Box 23		Pucinski, Roman C. 1965
Box 23		Pulitzer, Joseph, Jr. 1956
Box 23		Randolph, Jennings 1960
Box 23		The Reconstruction Service Committee 1942
Box 23		Reuss, Henry 1957-1965
Box 23		Rhodes, John J. 1956
Box 23		Ribicoff, Abraham 1960-1962
Box 23		Richards, James P. 1956
Box 23		Richardson, Elliot 1957-1959
Box 23		Richmond, Isidore 1957
Box 23		Roberts, Owen J. 1946
Box 23		Robinson, Edward G. 1957
Box 23		Rockefeller, David 1962-1964
Box 23		Rockefeller, John D., III 1965
Box 23		Rockefeller, Laurence 1965
Box 23		Rockefeller, Nelson A. 1956-1966
Box 23		The Rockefeller Foundation 1960
Box 23		Roosevelt, Eleanor 1942-1962
Box 23		Roosevelt, Franklin D. 1937
Box 23		Roosevelt, James 1965
Box 23		Root, John Wellborn, Jr. 1956
Box 23		Rusk, Dean 1962-1963
Box 23		Russell, Richard B. 1951
Box 23		Saarinen, Eero 1957
Box 23		Salinger, Pierre 1961
Box 23		Saltonstall, Leverette 1951-1956
Box 23		Sandberg, Carl 1956, 1965
Box 23		Scott, Hugh 1956-1959
Box 23		Shanley, Bernard M. 1956
Box 23		Sickles, Carleton R. 1964-1965
Box 23		Sievers, W. David 1962
Box 23		Simon, Caroline K. 1960
Box 23		Smith, H. Alexander 1956-1957
Box 23		Smith, Howard W. 1956, 1962
Box 23		Smith, William A. 1963
Box 23		Staudinger, Hans 1942
Box 23		Steichen, Edward 1963-1966
Box 23		Stevenson, Adlai E., II 1961-1963
Box 23		Stillwell, James A. 1947
Box 23		Stokes, Emlen and Lydia 1942-1943
Box 23		Stone, Edward D. 1959-1960
Box 23		Swados, Harvey 1960
Box 23		Swing, Richard 1947
Box 23		Taft, Robert A., Jr. 1960, 1964
Box 23		Taylor, Billy 1963
Box 23		Taylor, Dean P. 1947, 1951, 1956
Box 24		Thompson, Frank, Jr. 1955-1965
Box 24		Thornberry, Homer 1957
Box 24		Tillich, Paul 1963
Box 24		Tolley, William P. 1967
Box 24		Treadwell, Helen 1958
Box 24		Trilling, Lionel 1957
Box 24		Trimble, James W. 1956
Box 24		Truman, Harry S. 1945-1947
Box 24		Udall, Stewart 1961
Box 24		United Nations undated
Box 24		United Nations Economic and Social Council 1950
Box 24		United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) 1950-1965
Box 24		United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization 1950
Box 24		United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF) 1947
Box 24		United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA) 1945-1947
Box 24		United Nations World Health Organization (WHO) 1950
Box 24		United States Department of Commerce 1947, 1957
Box 24		United States Department of Health, Education and Welfare 1955-1962
Box 24		United States Department of State 1961-1964
Box 24		United States Department of the Interior 1961
Box 24		United States Department of the Treasury 1965
Box 25		United States Information Agency 1956-1968
Box 25		United States Post Office Department 1963-1964
Box 25		Wagner, Robert F. 1955-1965
Box 25		Wainwright, Stuyvesant Walker, Ralph 1958, 1962
Box 25		Welles, Sumner 1945
Box 25		Weston, Faith 1945
Box 25		Whitaker, Frederick 1955
Box 25		Widnall, William 1963
Box 25		Wilder, Thornton 1962
Box 25		Williams, Harrison 1962
Box 25		Williams, John J. 1960
Box 25		Wiley, Alexander 1947
Box 25		Wood, Peggy 1960-1965
Box 25		Wooley, Mary E. 1942-1947
Box 25		Wyckoff, Florence 1946-1947
Box 25		Wyeth, Andrew 1962
Box 25		Yarborough, Ralph 1965
Box 25		Yates, Sidney 1959
Box 25		Zeidler, Frank P. 1958

	Memorabilia
		Clippings
Box 25			Miscellaneous 1920-1957 (5 folders)
Box 26			Miscellaneous 1958-1965, undated
		Exhibitions
Box 26			Announcements and invitations 1935-1963
Box 26			Catalogs 1937-1964
		Photographs
Box 29			Adirondacks (220 negatives)
Box 29			Ashur (Qal’at Sherqat) undated (18 negatives)
Box 29			Babylon undated (8 negatives)
Box 29			Baghdad City YMCA, Kadg Main undated (35 negatives)
Box 29			Baghdad YMCA, advanced base undated (28 negatives)
Box 29			Baku, Persia undated (6 negatives)
Box 29			Baquba [Iraq], Assyrian refugees undated (25 negatives)
Box 29			Bisotun, Kangavar, Motor convoy to Hamedan undated (20 negatives)
Box 29			British military, Mesopotamia undated (30 negatives)
Box 29			Building (cottage studies) 1920 (18 negatives)
Box 29			Buria undated (16 negatives)
Box 29			Caravan undated (10 negatives)
Box 29			Ceylon, Singapore undated (13 negatives)
Box 29			China – Hong Kong, Canton undated (20 negatives)
Box 29			China – Peking – Summer Palace, Forbidden City undated (18 negatives)
Box 29			China – Shanghai , Peking City undated (24 negatives)
Box 29			Coming up the Tigris undated (10 negatives)
Box 29			Delbid undated (16 negatives)
Box 29			Elburz Mountains undated (12 negatives)
Box 29			Exeter undated (5 negatives)
Box 26			Food for Freedom undated (5 prints)
Box 29			Gardens, Palms undated (9 negatives)
Box 29			Hamadan 1919 (12 negatives)
Box 29			Hamadan City – people, missions 1918 (18 negatives)
Box 29			Hamadan environs, Alvand Range undated (21 negatives)
Box 29			Honolulu undated (8 negatives)
Box 29			India, Baghdad 1916 (19 negatives)
Box 29			India – Jutagh, Linda 1916 (30 negatives)
Box 29			India – Madras, Madura 1919 (41 negatives)
Box 29			India – Poona, Delhi undated (14 negatives)
Box 29			Isfahan undated (42 negatives)
Box 26			International Association of the Plastic Arts undated (9 prints)
Box 29			Japan – Kyoto, Tokyo, Kanakura undated (22 negatives)
Box 29			Japan – Nikkor undated (14 negatives)
Box 29			Karind undated (negatives)
Box 29			Karmanshah, Motor convoy 1918 (27 negatives)
Box 29			Kashan to Isfahan undated (3 negatives)
Box 29			Kazvin undated (12 negatives)
Box 29			Kermanshah undated (17 negatives)
Box 29			Khanikin undated (11 negatives)
Box 29			Korea undated (12 negatives)
Box 29			Lower Lake 1920 (negatives)
Box 29			Marion 1911-1912 (3 negatives)
Box 29			Marseilles – “La Tourraine” 1916 (9 negatives)
Box 29			Nantucket 1912 (6 negatives)
Box			Naqsh-e-Rustam undated (11 negatives)
Box 29			Nomad tents undated (4 negatives)
Box 29			Pasargadae undated (10 negatives)
Box 29			People 1920 (11 negatives)
Box 29			Persepolis undated (26 negatives)
Box 29			Persia – Irrigation, ploughing undated (negatives)
Box 29			Persian characters – men and women undated (14 negatives)
Box 29			Qasr-e Shirin undated (12 negatives)
Box 29			Quizal Rolat undated (5 negatives)
Box 29			Reslat undated (4 negatives)
Box 29			Rugs undated (7 negatives)
Box 29			Sarnak undated (9 negatives)
Box 29			Sheikland undated (10 negatives)
Box 29			Shiraz undated (22 negatives)
Box 29			Snow 1920 (20 negatives)
Box 29			Spring Street 1920 (8 negatives)
Box 29			Table Mountain, Sindigah, Military pontoon bridge over Diahla River undated (8 negatives)
Box 29			Takht-i-Bostan undated (8 negatives)
Box 29			Teheran undated (10 negatives)
Box 29			Tigris River- Mahelas, Marsh Arabs undated (19 negatives)
Box 26			Trotsky, Leon with Natalia Sedova and Harold and Faith Weston, Mexico 1936 (3 prints)
Box 29			Upper Lake 1920 (11 negatives)
Box 26			Weston, Harold 1952, 1960, 1969 (5 prints)
Box 29			Yezdikbast undated (15 negatives)
Box 29			YMCA undated (23 negatives)
Box 29			Miscellaneous untitled undated (149 prints)

	Writings
		Articles
Box 27			Adventures in the gardens of the Persian potentates undated
Box 27			Being a woman in Persia undated
Box 27			A modern Sennacherib undated
Box 27			A painter speaks undated
Box 27			Red letter day undated
Box 27			Sate support- a rebuttal undated
Box 27			Who pays the piper? undated
		Books
			Battle of bread
Box 27				Early draft entirely revised - partial undated
Box 27				Draft A chapters 1-4 undated
Box 27				Draft A chapters 5-12 undated
Box 27				Draft A appendix undated
Box 27				Draft B chapters 1-5 undated
Box 27				Draft B chapters 6-12 undated
Box 27				Draft C chapters 3-10 undated
Box 27				Miscellaneous drafts and revisions undated
		Speeches
Box 28			Arts and government – written for Sen. Herbert Lehman 1956
Box 28			The arts, the community and government 1962
Box 28			The arts in the United States-yesterday, today and tomorrow 1961
Box 28			The arts in the United States – the second half of the Twentieth Century 1963
Box 28			Coming to grips about UNRRA 1945
Box 28			Federal and state legislation for the arts 1961
Box 28			Federal subsidies for the arts 1962
Box 28			Food and the peace undated
Box 28			Food-builder of peace 1945
Box 28			Government should help to advance the arts in the United States 1961
Box 28			The government’s role in multiple responsibility for the arts 1962
Box 28			The inside story of the Hoover Report 1946
Box 28			To the limits of our strength 1946
Box 28			Positive aspects of governmental support of the arts 1963
Box 28			Public responsibility of the arts 1961
Box 28			The proposed Federal Advisory Council on the Arts. 1961
Box 28			Remarks after receiving the American Society of Contemporary Artists’ award 1964
Box 28			The Role of the artist in national life 1964
Box 28			The role of the government in the arts in the United States. 1961
Box 28			United Nations relief 1944
Box 28			The voice of the American artist 1958
Box 28			What the citizen wants to know about UNRRA 1944

Return to top