Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Wilson, Jerry [Garfield?] |
| Title: | Jerry [Garfield?] Wilson Sketchbook |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1970 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Sketchbook by African American college student and artist |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Jerry Wilson (the artist) and many of the subjects of the drawings contained in the book appear to have been students at Savannah State College in the 1970s. He may be Jerry Garfield Wilson, mentioned in the 1968 Tiger's Roar (the SSC yearbook) as having exhibited artwork and "received a $500 scholarship from the Savannah chapter of the N.C.A.", the National Conference of Artists. Jerry Garfield Wilson is also mentioned in the 1971 Tiger's Roar as being a member of the Men's Glee Club.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Jerry Wilson Sketchbook consists of approximately 130 pages filled with sketches, mostly of people. All of the subjects appear to be African-American. Medium is mostly pencil, a few are in pen, and one self-portrait in watercolor. Many of the sketches are signed by Wilson and in many cases by the subject as well. One appears to be a portrait of Wilson signed by another artist. Many are dated. Taken as a whole, the sketches provide a glimpse of Black student life in the 1970s.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Jerry [Garfield?] Wilson Sketchbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2020.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 18 Dec 2020
Revision history: