Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Doherty, Amy S.
Title:	Women in Photography Conference Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1980-2021
Bulk Dates:	1983-1986
Quantity:	3.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, background/research material, conference presentations, etc. about the first Women in Photography Conference held at Syracuse University in October, 1986, collected by conference director Amy Doherty
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Women in Photography Conference, held in October of 1986 in Syracuse, New York, was the first international conference on women in photography held in the United States. The conference was sponsored by the University's S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. The conference gathered many of the foremost women photographers of the time. The material was collected by Amy Doherty, conference developer/director and Syracuse University Archivist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Women in Photography Conference Collection contains background material, conference material, correspondence, participant files, and post-conference material.

Background material contains material gathered by Any Doherty as part of the planning and proposal process. Included here are clippings and other research material, drafts of the proposal itself, fundraising plans and letters, assistance provided by the National Press Photographers Association, and miscellaneous notes.

Conference material cotains material produced by, during, or in support of the two-day conference itself. This includes articles about the conference, audiorecordings of many of the presentations and panels, attendee and mailing lists, Amy Doherty's notes taken at the time, material connected with two exhibits put on in conjunction with the conference, files on program participants, informal photographs taken during the event, slides used during one or more of the presentations, publicity in advance of the conference, registration forms, and an example of a t-shirt created for the conference.

Correspondence begins in 1980 and documents the life cycle of the conference from fledgling idea to note of gratitude and praise after its completion.

Post-conference material, the smallest portion of the collection, includes material related to the second, third, and fourth Women in Photography Conferences, held in Bryn Mawr (1989), Tucson (1992), and Houston (1994), a personal tape made by Amy Doherty of photography-related radio episodes, her notes, and a large poster signed by all the original conference participants.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by name or topic, except for correspondence which is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Women in Photography Conference Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Amy Doherty, 2021.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Mar 2023
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Background material
Box 2		Clippings, etc. circa 1980-1985 - research material gathered in preparation for proposing and creating the conference; much of this consists of photocopies (3 folders)
		Fundraising
Box 2			Doherty paper 1984? - handwritten and typed drafts, presumably to persuade Syracuse University to sponsor/host the conference
Box 2			Internal SU 1985
Box 2			Kodak 1985 (2 folders)
Box 2			Nikon 1985
Box 2			Miscellaneous letters 1984-1986 - solicitations of support sent to Gannet Foundation, Hallmark, Helena Rubenstein, Jackie Onassis, Minolta, etc.
Box 2			Miscellaneous - information on fundraising generally
Box 3		National Press Photographers Association (NPPA) 1985 - includes correspondence, clippings, suggestions for speakers, a copy of their membership directory
		Proposal
Box 3			Application guidelines
Box 3			Drafts (3 folders)
Box 3			Miscellaneous - information on proposal-writing in general
Box 3		Notes, miscellaneous - probably Doherty's (2 folders)

	Conference material
Box 3		Articles about 1986 - coverage in various related publications, both local and national
		Audiorecordings of presentations
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 1 10/10/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_001)
				Contains: beginning of the conference, Friday 12:30 PM.
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 2 10/10/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_002)
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 3 10/10-11/1986 - Vicki Goldberg and Peter Palmquist (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_003)
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 4 10/11/1986 - Mary Ellen Mark (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_004)
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 5 10/11/1986 - Nancy Brown (first half) and Ann[e] Noggle (second half) (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_005)
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 6 10/11/1986 - end of Ann[e] Noggle and beginning of Margaret Randall (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_006)
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 7 10/11/1986 - Margaret Randall, Marion Post Wolcott, Keynote address (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_007)
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 8 10/12/1986 - Bea Nettles, Anne Tucker, Deborah Ryan, Ruth Unzicker (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_008)
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 9 10/12/1986 - side 1: end of Ruth Unzicker, Bea Nettles, Sue Davis; side 2: panel discussion (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_009)
Box 1			Women in Photography Conference, Tape 10 10/12/1986 - end of panel discussion (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: women_photog_010)
Box 3		Attendee and mailing lists (2 folders)
Box 3		Book sale - possibly connected with Peter Palmquist, who provided numerous lists of books he had for sale
Box 3		Doherty notes 1986 - taken during the conference
Box 4		Evaluation forms 1986-1987
Box 4		Exhibit, Jackie Martin (2 folders)
Box 4		Exhibit, Marion Post Wolcott
Box 4		Keynote address, Marion Post Wolcott
Box 4		Local arrangements - hotel, alternative housing, restaurants, etc.
		Participants - may include printed items, clippings, correspondence (before, during, and after the conference), travel arrangements, bios, drafts of presentations, etc.
Box 4			Baty, Laurie
Box 4			Brown, Nancy
Box 6			Davies, Sue
Box 4			Goldberg, Vickie
Box 4			Gover, C. Jane
Box 4			Grover, Jan Z.
Box 4			Jones, Laura
Box 4			Jussim, Estelle
Box 4			Lewenz, Lisa
Box 4			Marcus, Helen (2 folders)
Box 4			Mark, Mary Ellen
Box 4			Noggle, Anne
Box 5			Palmquist, Peter 1982-1995, 2003, 2021, undated (6 folders)
Box 5			Phillips, Jan
Box 5			Randall, Margaret
Box 5			Solomon-Godeau, Abigail
Box 5			Tucker, Anne
Box 5			Unzicker, Ruth A. (Kodak)
Box 5			Willis-Ryan, Deborah
Box 5			Wolcott, Marion Post - includes text of her speech (2 folders)
Box 5			Miscellaneous
Box 6		Photographs - photos taken during the conference; prints, negatives, slides, contact sheets (3 folders)
Box 6		Presentation images - slides used during the conference; some numbered, some not, almost all have a handwritten penciled title
Box 6		Publicity 1986 - pre-conference publicity from Syracuse University, announcements in local and national publications, etc. (2 folders)
Box 6		Registration forms
Box 8		T-shirt

	Correspondence
Box 6		General 1980-1986 Apr - includes requests for information about the conference, inquiries from women photographers wishing to participate, notes of support, etc. (3 folders)
Box 7		General 1986 Apr-1994, undated - includes requests for information about the conference, inquiries from women photographers wishing to participate, notes of support, etc. (7 folders)

	Post-conference material
Box 7		1989 conference, Bryn Mawr
Box 7		1992 conference, Tucson
Box 7		1994 conference, Houston
Box 1		[Amy Doherty tape] 05/28/1986; 04/10/1987 - radio programs taped off the air (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: women_photog_011)
			Side A: "About Books and Writers" with Jeanne Moutoussamy-Ashe (black woman photographer) on WAER, 05/28/1986; Side B: excerpt from "As It Happens" about "Dial" on WRVO, 04/10/1987.
Box 7		Doherty notes - memories of conference; notes/outline for book or paper?
Map-Case		Poster, signed by participants

Return to top