Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	American Book Company.
Title:	American Book Company Records
Inclusive Dates:	1801-1971
Quantity:	3313 linear ft.
Abstract:	The American Book Company was formed in 1890 by consolidation of Van Antwerp, Bragg and Co., A.S. Barnes and Co., D. Appleton and Co., and Iveson, Blakeman and Co. The collection includes the records of the company which manufactured books and educational materials in several locations in the United States, with head offices in New York City; the book list embraced all subjects at all educational levels. The collection is primarily textbooks, including several editions as far back as 1840 of the McGuffey readers; also included are business records and illustrations.
Language:	Bulk in English , some items in Spanish, French, German, and Latin
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The American Book Company (ABC) was an educational book publisher that published textbooks at the elementary school, secondary school and collegiate levels. The company was formed in 1890 by the consolidation of four publishing houses: Van Antwerp, Bragg and Co., A.S. Barnes and Co., D. Appleton and Co., and Iveson, Blakeman and Co. It operated successfully as the American Book Company for more than seventy years with the public school system and other educational institutions as its main clients, publishing educational titles on accounting, agriculture, art, civics, foreign languages, history (both ancient and modern), life sciences, literature, mathematics, penmanship, physical sciences, and various levels of readers.

In the 1960s and 1970s the company passed first to Litton Industries and then to the International Thomson Organization, finally being acquired by D. C. Heath and Company in 1981. ABC was eventually absorbed into D. C. Heath and ceased to exist as an imprint.

The company employed many noted artists as illustrators for its public school textbooks, including Norman Rockwell and Frederick Remington. It is perhaps best known for its series of McGuffey Readers, which sold 120 million copies between 1836 and 1960.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The American Book Company Papers consists of general correspondence, calendars, business records, books, miscellanea, illustrations, and study charts, with correspondence and illustrations comprising the vast majority of the collection. Both ABC itself and its predecessor companies (Van Antwerp, Bragg and Co., A.S. Barnes and Co., D. Appleton and Co., and Iveson, Blakeman and Co.) are represented in the collection. The vast scope of the material provides a detailed picture of the education received by children in the American public school system in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, as well as the state of various fields of knowledge at the time.

General correspondence consists of correspondence with authors, publishers, illustrators and others in the course of ABC's publishing work. This portion of the inventory is presented as a spreadsheet to simplify sorting the material in various ways.

Business records contains a miscellaneous assortment of business-related records, including small desk calendars decorated with excerpts from American Book Company textbooks which were distributed to educators as a publicity feature, contracts, editorial forms, permissions, steps in the book production process, meeting minutes, and other similar material. No personnel records of any kind are included in the collection. At the end of the business records are several boxes of index card files, including an index to correspondence.

Books contains books published by the American Book Company and its acquisitions, and its founders and their acquisitions. There are multiple copies of many books, in which case at least one copy is the "marked copy" (that is, the Editor's Library copy, carrying annotations and/or pasted-in proofs showing changes made between printings and editions). One of the most famous American Book Company publications is the series of McGuffey's Readers; the collection includes several editions of these readers dating back to 1840. The series also includes wall posters, flash cards, and writing slates. This portion of the inventory is presented as a spreadsheet to allow sorting of the material in various ways.

Miscellanea contains photographs, artifacts and memorabilia, and a notebook recording the trips made by the company's private railroad car.

Illustrations contains photographs of people, industry, and architecture; galleys and proofs of original work by staff artists; prints, reproductions, and copies of famous paintings and sculpture; maps; and original drawings, watercolors, and paintings, all of which were used in the company's publications. It contains a number of works by noteworthy artists and illustrators, among whom are Norman Rockwell and Frederick Remington. Staff have compiled a list of plates with works by major artists. This portion of the inventory is presented in the form of spreadsheets to permit sorting the material in various ways.

Authors and book titles for whom illustrations are present include the following:

• Abreau (Gomez) & Flores : Leyendas Mexicanas, 1951
• Alexander & Cormack : Bruce and Marcia, Woodsmen, 1939
• Allen & Monpeurt : En Route
• Allen & Wirth : This Government of Ours
• Athey : Along Nature's Trails, 1936
• Atticka : A First Course in Bookkeeping, 1935
• Barnes and Others, The Realm of Reading : Doorways, 1941; Trails, 1941; Highways, 1940; Heritage, 1940; The American (two packages), regular edition 1940, Texas edition 1941; The English Scene, 1940
• Batchelor & Vorath : Horizontes Latinoamericanos, 1955
• Bauman & Erlenbach : College Bookkeeping (No book - not published
• Bernstein : Judy's Ocean Voyage, 1932
• Betz & Holzwarth : A Second German Book, 1933
• Betz & Price : Learning German - A First Book, 1935; First Book, 1917
• Bourbousson : Ecrivains Francais-d'Aujourd'Hui, 1953
• Brauer : Chemistry and Its Wonders, 1938; Exploring the Wonders of Chemistry, 1938
• Bradley & Upton : Air Navigation Workbook, 1943
• Brigham & McFarlane : How the World Lives and Works, 1933
• Brown & Butterfield : Bozo the Woodchuck, 1933
• Buckley, White, Adams, & Silvernale : The Road to Reading series, 1938 (State Contract and Regular Editions for all titles), including Away We Go (A); Happy Times (B); In Storm and Sunshine (C); In Town and Country (D); Here and There (E); Around the Year (F); On Land and Water (G); Who Travels There? (H)
• Buckley & White : Activity Spellers, 1931, Grades 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
• Buckley & White : Speller and Workbook, Grades 2-6 (in one package), 1936; Speller and Workbook, Grades 7 & 8 (in one package), 1936
• Burns : Come and Sing, 1938
• Cabot & Fanning : A New Approach to Spanish, First Year, 1942; A New Approach to Spanish, Second Year, 1945
• Capen : Being a Citizen, 1947
• Capen & Melchior : My Worth to the World, 1934, Regular and State Editions; My Worth to the World, Revised (included in above)
• Carpenter : Canada and Our Northern Neighbors, 1946; Caribbean Lands, 1950; Our Little Friends of the Arabian Desert, 1934; Our Little Friends of China; Our Little Friends of Switzerland, 1941; Our Little Neighbors at Work and Play, 1939; Our Little Neighbors at Work and Play, 1939, Revised; Workbook for above, 1939; Our Neighbors Near and Far, 1933; Our Neighbors Near and Far, 1933, Revised (includes Regular, Gray (Pennsylvania), and New York State Editions); My Geography Workbook, 1934; Our South American Neighbors, 1942 (2 packages)
• Cavanah & Myers : Handwriting for Expression, 1940; alphabet ruler; Teacher's First Book; Pupil's First Book; omnibus package of photos
• Clifford : American Leaders, 1953; Yesterday in America, 1949
• Cornell & MacDonald : Business Organization and Practice, 1936
• Cronin : Economics and Society, 1939
• Dodge and Others : Quelques Choses de Facile, 1935
• Du Mont : Introductory French - A Reading Approach, 1941
• Dvorak and Others : Typewriting Behavior, 1936
• Elsbree : The American Teacher, 1939
• Elson : United States - Its Past and Present, 1926 (see cards for illustration before 1931); Modern Times and the Living Past, 1921 (See cards. This must be for copyrights after 1931)
• Evans & Coulter : First Lessons in Georgia History, 1913 (see cards also)
• Foresman : Our Music in Story and Song, 1935; Songs and Pictures (First Edition titled Books of Songs); Child's Book, 1928 (See also cards) - First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth
• Garner & Capen : Our Government (two packages; see also cards), 1930
• Gerwig : Guideposts to Citizenship (Ambition, Loyalty, and Perseverance, all in one package), 1932
• Gellette & Reinhardt : Current Social Problems, 1933
• Goodfellow & Rosenberg : The Ace Supermarket, 1951
• Gordon & Loftus : Come to France, 1939
• Grayson & Lohman : Principles of Economics, 1956
• Grismer & Arroyo : Buenos Amigos, 1943
• Gruener & Lankelma : Introduction to Organic Chemistry, 1939
• Halleck : English Literature (two packages), 1900 (see also cards); American Literature (two packages), 1911 (See also cards); The Romance of American Literature, 1934; The Story of English Literature, 1937; History of Our Country for Higher Grades, 1923 (see also cards)
• Halleck & Frantz : Our United States, 1935; Founders of Our Nation, 1929 (see also cards); Makers of Our Nation, 1930 (see also cards)
• Hart & Wilson : The Philippines, 1946
• Healey & Faucher : France: Silhouettes et Croquis, 1950
• Hesse (Peebles) : Drei Erzählungen, 1950
• Hill : Drei Zeitgenössische Erzähler, 1951
• Hilton : Rural School Management, 1949
• Hoffman : Bookkeeping, 1949; Workbook in Bookkeeping, 1949
• Holmes & Hernandez : Practical Spanish Grammar, 1943
• Huber : Cinder the Cat, 1931
• Hughes : Rhythmic Games and Dances, 1942
• Hunkins & Allen : Sod House Days, 1941
• Hunter : Problems in Biology, 1931; Laboratory Problems in Biology, 1932; Science Teaching, 1934
• Hunter & Hunter : Manual of College Biology, 1938
• Hunter & Knopf : Mastery Tests in General Science, 1934 (two, perhaps)
• Hunter & Whitman : Problems in General Science, 1930; workbook, 1932; manual, 1931; The March of Science, 1935; My Own Science Problems, plus workbook; Science in Our World of Progress
• Knowlton et al.: The Westward March of Man series, including Our Beginnings in the Past, 1933; Our Past in Western Europe; Beginnings of Our Nation, 1933; Since We Became a Nation, 1934; When We Were Colonies, 1934; Our America - Past and Present, 1938
• Leavell et al.: The Friendly Hour Readers (State Contract and Regular editions), 1935; Pre-Primer - Friends at Play; Primer - Ben and Alice; Book One - Playmates; Book Two - Indoors and Out; Book Three - Friends to Know; Book Four - Trails of Adventure; Book Five - The World's Gifts; Book Six - Winning Our Way; Reading Readiness Workbook for Preference; workbooks for Primer, Books One through Six
• Leonard, Miles & Van der Kar : The Child at Home and School, 1942
• Lothrop : The Wayside - Home of Authors, 1940
• Lucas : Organic Chemistry, 1953 (Two packages)
• McElroy & Younge : Toby Chipmunk, 1935
• Macomber : Guiding Child Development in the Elementary School, 1941
• Maddy & Giddings : Fun in Music, 1937
• Marble : Home Safety, 1940
• Mawhinney & Smith : Business and Professional Speech, 1950
• Menge & Faunce : Working Together for Better Schools, 1953
• Merrick and Others : My Typewriter and I, 1937
• Nyberg : Fundamentals of Algebra, First Book, 1944; Fundamentals of Algebra, Second Book, 1945; Key to Fundamentals of Algebra, Second Book, 1945; Fundamentals of Solid Geometry, 1944
• Pack : Kee and Bah, Navajo Children, 1940
• Parker : Commercial Algebra, 1952
• Partridge & Mooney : Education in Living - Time Out for Living, 1941
• Pate : Local Government and Administration, 1954
• Patenski & Wilson : The Charm String, 1943
• Payne : Biology - Season by Season, 1942; Seasonal Experiences in Biology, 1943
• Peattie : Rambles in Europe, 1934
• Perry & Price : American History First Book, 1913 (see also cards); American History Second Book, 1914 (See also cards)
• Pflueger & Moore : Das Unvergängliche, 1951
• Place : Second Latin Course, 1930
• Pollard : Virginia-Born Presidents, 1932
• Porter & Hansen : Fields and Fence Rows, 1937
• Ray : Laboratory Manual for Social Psychology, 1951
• Reed : The Effective and Ineffective College Teacher, 1935
• Reeder & Renner : Home Geography, 1944
• Reich & Siegler : Selling to the Consumer, 1937
• Reinhardt and Others : Social Problems, 1952
• Riemer & Liebling : Expert Typewriting, 1949
• Ross & Wallace : Short Stories in Context, 1953
• Skinner & Skinner : Fun in Town and Country, 1940
• Snyder & Wilson : Roots of Political Behavior, 1949
• Spears : The High School for Today, 1950
• Steadman pads (remnants of earlier publications)
• Strayer & Upton : Social Utility Arithmetics (regular and state editions) Books 1 (1938) through 6; Social Utility Arithmetics, revision of 1951, Books 1-6
• Strong : Writing Business Letters, 1950
• Talbot & Pearson : Homemaking for Boys and Girls, 1935;Practical Problems in Homelife, 1936
• Taylor : Dynamic and Abnormal Psychology, 1954
• Van Tuyl : Mathematics at Work, 1935; Mathematics of Business, 1940; Key to Mathematics of Business, 1941; New Complete Business Arithmetic, 1947
• Walden : Harness and Pack, 1935
• Walker : Our Birds and Their Nestlings, 1904 (See also cards)
• Warfel : American Novelists of Today, 1951; American College English, 1949
• Wheat & Fitzpatrick : General Biology, 1932; General Biology, Rev., 1942; Everyday Problems in Health, 1923
• Whitbeck and Others : The Working World, 1937; Manual and Key, 1939
• Whitman : Laboratory Manual for Whitman-Peck Physics, 1947; Teaching Manual for Whitman-Peck Physics, 1947
• Whitman & Peck : Physics, 1946 (two packages)
• Wikdall : The Training of a Secretary, 1938
• Williams : Toby, the Little Lost Dog, 1942
• Williams : Secondary Schools for American Youth, 1948
• Williams & Fink : Projects in Psychology, 1955
• Wilson & Others: Our Ways of Living series, including Where Our Ways of Living Come From; Ways of Living in Many Lands; Living in the Age of Machines; Richer Ways of Living; workbooks for the above 4 titles
• Wilson, Bowman, & King : This America, 1942

Study charts contains a small group of charts.

Some additional information is contained in the library's correspondence with ABC, prior to and during their donation of material. Please contact the repository listed above for more information on this correspondence.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The primary arrangement of the General correspondence is loosely chronological from ca. 1880 to 1964; it is secondarily arranged in many repeating roughly alphabetical sequences. This portion of the inventory is presented as a spreadsheet to enable sorting in various ways.

Business records remain in original order.

Books are arranged in no particular order. This portion of the inventory is presented as a spreadsheet to enable sorting in various ways (see inventory below).

Illustrations are arranged in numerical order according to the "Drawing Number" stamped an the backing plate. Plates which are out of sequence, extra large, or unnumbered are placed at the end as well as illustration material organized by book title, beginning with Oversize 1060. To simplify locating all plates on a given topic, this portion of the inventory is presented as two spreadsheets (one arranged by plate number and location and the other by topic and plate number); see the inventory below.

Miscellanea is arranged alphabetically by topic or title.

Return to top

Other Related Finding Aids

Portions of the finding aid inventory are presented as spreadsheets to enable sorting the data in various ways. These are: the General correspondence (click here), the Books published (original accession and 1998 additions), and the Illustrations (click here and here). A more detailed explanation of each series, with a link to it, is provided at the appropriate location in the inventory below. Staff have also compiled a list of plates with works by major artists.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

American Book Company, our heritage and our history, a two-volume unpublished history of the company written by Managing Editor Mauck Brammer, has been removed from the collection and cataloged as part of the the Rare Books collection.

Many of the textbooks have been digitized by Google books/Hathitrust.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Book Company Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority, gift of the American Book Company.

Some items (noted in inventory below) gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK, KBP, JMB, DMB
Date: October 1978
Revision history: 23 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 6 Mar 2012 - added 1998 books (MRC); 10 Oct 2013 - Brammer book corrected (MRC); 3 Sep 2014 - Ordewer gifts added, missing boxes added (MRC); 10 Jul 2017 - box 821 books added (MRC); 20 Dec 2017 - updated after rehousing of original artwork (SM); 14 Oct 2019 - list by plate number (ABC_4A.xlsx) off by one; updated (MRC); 14 Oct 2021 - list of plates by major artists added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Many of the textbooks have been digitized by Google books/Hathitrust.

	General correspondence
Box 1-244		General correspondence 1801-1964
			The general correspondence contains ABC's correspondence with its authors, illustrators, and editors, as well as with other publishers; in many, though not all, cases, an author's name is accompanied by the title of the book(s) under discussion. There are also organizations, educational institutions, and other correspondents as well as material relating to declined manuscripts, copyright, contracts, and a few meeting minutes. The material is arranged in a roughly chronological order in repeating alphabetic sequences; as a result material relating to a given correspondent or book title may be found in several different locations. To simplify locating all relevant information, this section of the inventory is presented in the form of a spreadsheet, which can be sorted by box number, correspondent, book title/subject, or date. Click here to open the spreadsheet.
			There is also a partial index to the correspondence; see Business records : Index card files : Correspondence.

	Business records
		Business records do not contain any employee files or other employee records.
Box 245		Calendars 1887-1963 (3 folders)
Box 245		Dropped books list
Box 245		Design and proposition procedure
Box 245		Lorna Dietz
Box 245		Managers 1919
Box 245		W.H. Dennis, obituary
Box 245		Magnetism
Box 245		Wilson, Ben J.
Box 245		Americanism
Box 245		Butler, Sheldon & Co.
Box 245		Everett T. Calvert
Box 245		P.L. Carret
Box 245		Litton Industries
Box 245		Contract form
Box 245		Gillman 1914-1931
Box 245		Miscellaneous
Box 245		Editorial notices (2 folders)
Box 245		Suggestions for authors
Box 245		E.S. Bird
Box 245		A.S. Barnes & Co.
Box 245		James Baldwin
Box 245		Appleton & Co.
Box 245		American Book vs American Book Company
Box 245		ABC - Ambrose 1896-1914
Box 245		Aladdin Books
Box 245		Blake 1939
Box 245		Blakeman and Iveson 1895-1896
Box 246		Brown 1956
Box 246		Herbert G. Molden
Box 246		McGuffey, William Holmes
Box 246		Permission procedure
Box 246		Major steps in book production
Box 246		Proof corrections
Box 246		Publishers Book of Trade
Box 246		Merriam-Webster
Box 246		Marriner 1946-1956
Box 246		Managers' meetings 1920-1922
Box 246		Sales offices
Box 246		Samuels
Box 246		School Book Publishers Society 1907
Box 246		Filing system and policy
Box 246		Forms, blank
Box 246		Founders
Box 246		Author biographies
Box 246		Leo Gans
Box 246		Harper
Box 246		Russell Hinuran
Box 246		War Production Board 1942
Box 246		The Union Label
Box 246		Vail
Box 246		Van Antwerp, Brace and Co.
Box 246		ABC Histories, Howe 1931-1939
Box 246		Ivison, Blakeman and Co.
Box 246		Edward W. Smith
Box 246		State publication
Box 246		State blueprints, Texas
Box 246		Gilmon H. Tucker
Box 246		Intercompany business 1904-1930 (23 folders)
Box 246		Editorial department
Box 246		Plate account and plate expense (8 folders)
Box 247		Annual reports, corporate 1964-1965 - includes original printing plate for ABC logo (2 folders)
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 247		Annual reports, editorial dept. 1931-1951 (4 folders)
Box 247		Buckingham study of typography in relation to readability in first grade materials 1932-1933
Box 247		Policy statements for authors - copyright, copyright procedure, contract and quotation privileges
Box 247		Books published 1904-1932 - total number of books published each year
Box 247		Statistical reports, editorial dept. 1952-1961 (3 folders)
Box 247		Editorial activities, education - college - international 1962-1966 (3 folders)
Box 247		Editorial expenses - covers mid-1950s to mid-1960s; includes booklet of ABC type specimens from 1892
		Company biography by Mauck Brammer
			Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
Box 247		Pamphlets (2 folders)
			One Hundred Fifty Years of Arithmetic Textbooks, (1945), by Henry Lester Smith, Merrill T. Eaton, and Kathleen Dugdale Alphabetical Price List (circa 1900?), American Book Company; includes instructions, "If ordering by telegraph" Our Textbooks, Yesterday and Today (1953), by W.W. Livengood Winthrop B. Smith: Creator of the Eclectic Educational Series (1971), by Mauck Brammer (in Ohio History Vol. 80 No. 1)
Box 248		Miscellaneous publications
Box 249		Prices and catalogues 1890-1967
Box 250		Books of entry (4 volumes)
			RESTRICTED: Handle with Extreme Care
Oversize 1		Books of Entry 1905-1945 (2 volumes)
		Weekly reports, editorial department
Oversize 2			Weekly reports Oct. 6, 1923-Sep. 25, 1931 (4 volumes)
Oversize 3			Weekly reports Oct. 3, 1931- Nov. 27, 1937 (3 volumes)
Oversize 4			Weekly reports Dec. 11, 1937-Aug. 25, 1947 (3 volumes)
Oversize 5			Weekly reports Sep. 1, 1947-May 28, 1951 (2 volumes)
		Index card files
Box 251			Correspondence index, A-Z by author - several hundred cards, including Brammer's original note accompanying the donation; unclear what dates are covered, but no later than 1966
Box 251			Permissions - about 30 index cards listing permissions information for various titles
Box 553			Transfers, A-D
Box 554			Transfers, Ea-Z
Box 555			Transfers 1910-1927
Box 555			Declined manuscripts circa 1930-1950
Box 556			Declined proposals
Box 557			Declines and transfers to 1910

	Books
		These boxes contain publications of the American Book Company and its acquisitions, its founders and their acquisitions. There are multiple copies of many books, in which case at least one copy is the "marked copy" -- the Editor's Library copy, carrying pasted-in proofs showing changes made between printings and editions. The series also includes wall posters, flash cards, and writing slates. Items include textbooks, teachers' guides, answer keys, tests, additional instructional material, etc.
		The material is roughly arranged in repeating alphabetic sequences; as a result items relating to a given author or book title may be found in several different locations. To simplify locating all relevant information, this section of the inventory is presented in the form of two, spreadsheets, one for the original accession and another for the later 1998 accession, which can be sorted by box number, author, book title, or date.
		See also Business records : Index card files above for additional material relating to books.
Box 252-551, 821		Books published by the American Book Company, original accession 1801-1971
			Click here to open the spreadsheet for the initial accession. Also includes Oversize 1-B.
Box 558-818		Books published by the American Book Company, 1998 accession 1801-1971
			Click here to open the spreadsheet for the 1998 accession; this list does not include names of any authors.

	Illustrations
Box 552		Photographs - both original and reproduction, with a wide range of formats, dates and subject matter from pigs to streetcars; likely used in books published by ABC
Oversize 8-1200		Illustrations commissioned by the American Book Company for use in its publications 1801-1964
			These boxes contain illustrations commissioned by the American Book Company for use in its publications (see the main Scope and Content description above for a list of authors and book titles whose illustrations are included here). The material is arranged in order by plate number but oversize plates have been relocated to the end and the series also includes unnumbered plates and plates identified only by book title. To simplify locating all relevant information, this section of the inventory is presented in the form of two spreadsheets, which can be sorted either by box number and plate number (click here) or by subject matter and plate number (click here). The spreadsheets do not reference the plates by artist and does not correlate plate numbers and publications.
			See also Miscellanea : Artwork above for a few other examples of images used in ABC books.

	Study charts
		Study charts (51 rolls, 1 tripod)

	Miscellanea
Box 819		Artwork - photograph and print, apparently used in World History Since 1870
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Map-Case 131		Artwork - camera-ready map mounted on cardboard entitled "A Map of New England" prepared by the Hagstrom Company of New York, which appeared in The Puritans by Perry Miller and Thomas Johnson published in 1938
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 819		Book covers - samples of covers for hardcover and paperback textbooks on a variety of topics, including college texts, foreign languages, math and science, grammar, spelling, etc. (7 folders)
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 819		Bylaws 1965
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 819		Clippings 1966, 1981 - acquisition of ABC by Litton; Litton's sale of ABC to Thomson; Thomson's sale of ABC assets to D.C. Heath (Raytheon)
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 819		Letterhead, corporate
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Oversize 1-B		Notebook : "Movements of Private Car, Anthracite" 1914-1917
Box 819		"Our Heritage" 4 Jan 1947 - address delivered to the company by W.W. Livegood, editor-in-chief and vice president
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 820		"Our Language Today" packet - covers, content, teacher's guide, etc.
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Oversize 7		Perception cards
			Story Hour Readers Perception Cards. Primer, First Year-First Half; Story Hour Readers Perception Cards. Book One, First Year-Second Half
Box 820		Pins - commemorative pins given to10-year employees
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Oversize 6		Posters
			Wall posters to accompany Stoddard, Bailey, Lewis, McPherson English Series; Krusi’s Industrial Drawing Elementary Architecture Complete; Alphabetical Register no.1; American School Daily Weekly and Quarterly Register
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 820		Printing plates - ABC logo, decorations, etc. (5 items in 2 folders)
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 820		School catalog 1970-1971
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 820		"You and Your Company" 1956 - corporate overview for new employees
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.
Box 820		Miscellaneous artifacts 1956 - loupe, ruler/square, etc.
			Gift of Selma Ordewer, 2014.

Return to top