Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Arens, Egmont, 1889-1966.
Title:	Egmont Arens Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1880-1966
Quantity:	45 linear feet
Abstract:	Papers of the American industrial designer. Collection includes correspondence, research material, manuscripts, photographs, and sketches, reflecting Arens' career in industrial design. Clients include Columbian Rope Co., the Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea Co. (A&P), J.C. Penney, Philip Morris, and Reynolds Metals Co. Materials on the Flying Stag Press include correspondence with Rex Stout (1924-1936) and Rockwell Kent (1924-1933).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Egmont Hegel Arens, industrial designer, was born in Cleveland, Ohio, on 15 December 1889, the son of Franz Xavier and Emma (Huegal?) Arens. He was a leading design pioneer in the fields of packaging and plastics and is credited with introducing "appetite appeal" in packaging design. From 1911 to 1914 he attended the University of New Mexico and in 1915-1916 the University of Chicago. Before beginning his career in design, he was a sports editor for the Albuquerque (N.M.) Tribune-Citizen, a bookseller in his own Washington Square Bookstore in New York's Greenwich Village (1917-1923), a salesman of fine printing produced by his own Flying Stag Press (1918-1927), and editor for the periodicals Vanity Fair (1922-1923) and Creative Arts (1925-1927), and the printer, publisher, and editor (1919-1925) of the artistic and literary periodical Playboy, which published works by D.D. Lawrence and Max Weber, among others.

In 1929 he entered the field of industrial design as the founder and director of the division of industrial styling at Calkins and Holden, and in 1935 he established his own New York design office. As an industrial designer his activities included product design, plastics research, product development, color consultation, office and industrial interior design, store planning, and package and trademark design. He designed business machines, electrical appliances, radios, furniture, toys, and boats for such diverse clients as Reynolds Metals, Philip Morris, A & P, and the Columbian Rope Company.

Egmont Arens was manager (1917-1920) and director (1920) of the Peoples Symphony Concerts in New York, which had been founded by his father. Besides serving as president (1929) of the American Union of Decorative Artists and Craftsmen, he was a member (1946) of the planning committee for the Center for Graphic Industries of New York University, president (1949-1950) of the Society of Industrial Designers, a member (1952) of the advisory committee of Pratt Institute, and a member of the United States delegation to the International Trade Fair, held in Liege, Belgium, in 1955. He was the co-author with Roy Sheldon of the 1935 book Consumer Engineering. From 1962 until his death he held the position of chairman of the board of Egmont Arens - DeRaffel, Inc. in New York. Egmont Arens died in New York City on 2 October 1966.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Egmont Arens Papers contain personal and business correspondence; business records; legal and financial records; organization records; original art, including layouts, plans and sketches; photographs and slides; published material, including books, clippings, labels, periodicals and reprints; and writings. The inclusive dates of these papers are 1883-1966; the bulk dates are 1930-1960.

The material is arranged under six major headings: Personal Correspondence, Industrial Design Records, Miscellany, Organization Records, Publication Records, and Writings. Material within each group is arranged either alphabetically or chronologically, as is material within subdivisions.

Personal Correspondence (1883-1966) contains the incoming and outgoing personal letters of Egmont Arens. There is also personal correspondence of members of Arens' family and his friends, among them Camille Davied Arens, Emma Huegal Arens, Josephine Bell Arens, Mathilde Zwilling Arens, Winifred B. Arens, Patricia Arens Cumming, and Margaret Laubenstein. Correspondence is arranged chronologically to the month. Undated correspondence is arranged alphabetically by the writer's name and is boxed immediately after the dated correspondence. Other correspondence is located elsewhere in these papers, especially in the industrial design section and boxes 29-30.

Industrial Design Records (1929-1966) contain materials relating to Arens' career as an industrial designer. The material is arranged in six subgroups:

The Client and Project File contains material generated by Arens in designing products of packaging on his own or for clients. Types of material include blueprints, clippings, correspondence, holograph notes, labels, layouts, news releases, patent applications and assignments, photographs, reports, and sketches. Of special interest is the folder "Diagram for Tomorrow" under Book Ideas which contains correspondence with Albert Einstein. Materials are arranged alphabetically by the name of the client or project and, within that are further subdivided by subject and type of document.

General Correspondence includes miscellaneous incoming and outgoing business letters which were originally located throughout the various files of the industrial design records. This correspondence is arranged chronologically.

The Office File contains materials relating to the operation of Arens' own design firms. Materials in this small file are arranged alphabetically by type.

Photographs and Slides are divided into three groups: Prints and Negatives, 35mm Slides, Lantern Slides. Prints and negatives are arranged alphabetically by names of client or subjects. Where there is more than one folder of photographs or negatives for a client, these are arranged alphabetically by subject. Thirty-five millimeter slides are divided into two groups according to the manner in which they were received: loose and boxed. Both groups are arranged alphabetically by subject. Because one box may contain slides of more than one subject, box and section numbers are indicated for each subject. The lantern slides, used by Arens to illustrate his lectures, are arranged alphabetically by his own general topic designations.

The Publicity File contains materials relating to the promotion of Arens' services as an industrial designer. This material is arranged alphabetically by type.

Writings contains writings in the field of industrial design, the greater portion by Arens himself. Materials are arranged alphabetically by author's name, then alphabetically by type. Articles, books and book reviews are arranged chronologically. Arens' lecture material is further subdivided by type. The manuscripts and correspondence section is arranged chronologically with undated articles arranged alphabetically at the end of that section. Notes and slide captions and background materials are arranged alphabetically by subject.

Miscellany (1901-1965) includes a melange of materials generated by the following people in addition to Egmont Arens: Camille Davied Arens, Emma Huegal Arens, Franz Xavier Arens, Josephine Bell Arens, Mathilde Zwilling Arens, Ralph Waldo Arens, Ruth Chrisman Arens, Patricia Arens Cumming, and J. Marie Egts.

Material is arranged alphabetically by individuals' last names, thereafter alphabetically by type of material or subject matter. Included are memorabilia, legal and financial records, diaries, photographs and negatives, medical records and a few pieces of correspondence. Titles of photographs and negatives in quotation marks on the shelf list are those given by Arens.

Organization Records (1936-1965) contains materials arising from Arens' membership in various organizations. It includes reports, minutes, membership lists, correspondence, and other similar material.

Publication Records (1918-1960) contains materials generated by Arens during his magazine editorial work and during the operation of his own Flying Stag Press. The material is arranged alphabetically by publishing house. Within the subsections on each publishing house, material is arranged alphabetically by type, and thereafter by author and/or title.

Writing (1915-1927) contains works by Arens and others on subjects other than industrial design. The material is arranged alphabetically by authors' names, thereunder by the type of work, and by the title.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

See Scope and Content, above.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The following items were removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging:

• Brodsky, Horace, A Portfolio of Linoleum Cuts, New York, No. 6 of 100, signed by the artist 1920, 1920
• Casanova, Giovanni Jacopo, Memoirs, 12 volumes, New York: Aventuros 1925
• Cronyn, George, Sandbar Queen. Flying Stag Plays, No. 1 1918
• De La Mer, Alice, Paulet Thevanaz, privately printed 1922
• Dell, Floyd, The Angel Intrudes, Flying Stag Plays, No. 3, New York 1918
• Playboy Nos. 1-9 1919-1924 and assorted fragments
• The Quill, Vol. 2, No. 2 1918
• A Pagan Anthology, New York: Pagan Publishing Company ca. 1918

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Egmont Arens Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Egmont Arens.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: AMV
Date: Jul 1971
Revision history: Dec 1978 - revised (-); 8 Apr 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 9 Jan 2012 - box numbers revised (MBD); 19 Dec 2013 - restriction lifted, formatting cleaned up (MRC); 13 Jun 2014 - added Eight O'Clock Coffee, Kitchen Aid items (MRC); 6 May 2019 - added Hugo Gellert Exhibition (KD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Personal correspondence
Box 1		1883 Nov - 1910 Jun
Box 2		1910 Jul - 1913 Aug
Box 3		1913 Sep - 1914 Dec
Box 4		1915 Jan - 1921 Dec
Box 5		1922 Jan - 1933 Dec
Box 6		1934 Jan - 1940 Dec
Box 7		1941 Jan - 1949 Dec
Box 8		1950 Jan - 1954 Dec
Box 9		1955 Jan - 1966 Feb
		undated
Box 10			A-C
Box 10			Arens, Camille Davied (7 folders)
Box 11			Arens, Emma Huegal (3 folders)
Box 11			Arens, Josephine Bell
Box 11			Arens, Ralph Waldo
Box 11			Arens, Winifred B.
Box 11			Baird, Bill
Box 11			Cronyn, George
Box 11			D-G
Box 11			H
Box 12			J-K
Box 12			L-M
Box 12			N-R
Box 12			S-Z
Box 12			Unidentified

	Industrial design records
		Client and project file
Oversize 1			Aerosleep Bed undated - poster
Box 13			Aerosol Can 1963 - sketches, correspondence
Box 13			American Design Registration Institute 1936 - correspondence
Box 13			American Tobacco Company, Lucky Strike Advertising Ideas undated - p.r. mat., photo., handwritten note
Box 13			Apron Fastener undated - sketch
Box 13			Art Exhibit, "Junk is My Hobby" 1941 - correspondence, handwritten notes p.r. mat.
Box 13			Ashtray 1947 - marketing survey
Box 13			Avery Corporation, Paper Doll Project 1951 - correspondence, handwritten notes, pr. mat.
Box 13			B & K Economy Stores, Ltd. undated - layout
Box 13			Battery Case 1938 - patent application
Box 13			Battleship 1942 - sketches, painting, cartoon, article
Box 13			Better Finishes & Coatings, Inc. undated - photo, pr. mat
Box 13			Billboard Projection 1938 - 1939 - sketches, handwritten notes, pr. mat., correspondence
Box 13			Block & Guggenheimer 1940 - clippings
			Book ideas
Box 13				Biography of Frank Harris 1929, 1932 - correspondence, handwritten notes, clippings,
Box 13				"Diagram for Tomorrow" 1938-1939 - clippings, correspondence, (Einstein)
Box 13				"Rackets" 1934-1936 - clippings
Box 13				Miscellaneous 1929-1964, undated - clippings, handwritten notes, correspondence
Box 13			Bottle 1957 - patent specification
Box 13			Bottle Carrier 1939-1940 - photo., correspondence, photostats, patent copies, claim for invention
Box 13			Bowl undated - sketches
Box 13			Box: all black 1947-1949 - sketch, correspondence
Box 13			Briddell, Charles, Inc. undated - clipping
Box 13			Brillo Manufacturing Company 1949, 1950, 1957 - correspondence, notes, clipping
Box 13			Bristol-Myers 1958 - pr. mat.
Box 13			Bristol Laboratories, Inc. 1945 - clipping
Box 13			Cake Container 1941 - claim for invention
Box 13			Caldwell, A. & G.J., Inc. 1934 - pr. mat.
Box 13			Calvert Lithographing Company 1957 - labels, evaluations by E.A., letter
Box 13			Camera 1930 - report
Box 13			Camouflage 1942 - correspondence, handwritten notes, mimeo. mat.
Box 13			Carborundum Company 1946 - photo., pr. mat.
Box 13			Center for Research in Package Marketing 1957 - 1958 - correspondence, report, news release
Box 13			Chair (Beach) 1935 - correspondence, sketch, patent copies
Box 13			Chair (Plywood) 1939-1940 - correspondence, sketches, renderings, handwritten notes, blueprint (2 folders)
Box 14			Chairs undated - sketches
Box 14			Chaplin, Charlie 1931-1938 - animated film idea, correspondence, clippings
Box 14			Chrysler Corporation 1934 - magazine idea, correspondence
Box 14			Cigarette filters, (TNT) 1945-1960 - correspondence, sketches, handwritten notes, photostats, certificate of trademark registration
Box 14			Cigarette Packaging & Method of Making 1931 - patent petition, patent assignment, correspondence
Box 14			Colgate-Palmolive Company, Bottle 1960 - correspondence, patent application
Box 14			Colonial Sugar, Consumer Preference Survey by Container Corporation of America undated - layout
			Columbian Rope Company
				Aluminum furniture
Box 14					correspondence, handwritten notes 1944-1945
Box 14					Photo undated
Box 14					Photostats, letter 1944
Box 14					handwritten notes, rough sketches 1945, undated
Box 14					Photostats, sketches 1945
Box 14					Photostats 1945
				Co-Ro-Lite
Box 14					Artek Pascoe furniture 1944-1946 - correspondence, sketches photostats, notices, photo.
Box 14					Baby carriages 1943-1945 - correspondence, handwritten notes, sketches
Box 14					Barrel 1944-1947 - correspondence, handwritten notes, sketches, photo.
Box 14					Boat 1934 - correspondence, captions
Box 14					Boat hulls - correspondence, handwritten notes, sketches, pr. mat., photostat, blue prints, 1943-1946; photo., photostats, 1944-1945 (2 folders)
					Book: Low Pressure Molding
Box 15						handwritten, ts notes 1944-1947
Box 15						correspondence 1944-1947
Box 15						Draft 1945
Box 15						Photo., pr. mat. 1943-1945
					Chair
Box 15						correspondence 1949-1950
Box 15						Clippings re: posture studies undated
Box 15						Clippings re: chair 1949
Box 15						Miscellaneous 1948, undated
Box 15						Sketches ca. 1944, undated
Box 15						Sketches re: posture studies undated
Box 15						Photo. undated
Box 15					Competition 1944 - correspondence, clippings
Box 15					Co-Ro-Lite in combination with Jersey Cloth 1943-1945 - correspondence, handwritten notes
Box 15					Debossed rubber molding blanket 1944 - correspondence, handwritten notes
Box 15					Designs for uses, sketches, photostats undated (2 folders)
Box 16					Felt: Stretchable 1944, undated - correspondence, sketches
Box 16					Filaments 1944-1945, 1955 - correspondence, patent application, handwritten notes, pr. mat.
Box 16					Furniture 1943-1946 - correspondence, sketches, pr. mat.
Box 16					John Wesley Hyatt (Award for the Advertising of Plastics) 1945 - correspondence, report, blueprint
Box 16					Industrial Machine Housing undated - sketch
Box 16					Laboratory & Design Project 1943-1945 - correspondence, photo-stats, notes
Box 16					Luggage 1943-1944 - sketches, handwritten notes, correspondence
Box 16					Materials 1943-1944 - correspondence
Box 16					Miscellaneous undated - sketches
Box 16					Patent Material 1943-1945 - correspondence, patent applications, assignment, handwritten notes
					Publicity
Box 16						correspondence 1943-1946
Box 16						Copy 1943-1945, undated
Box 16						Pr. mat. 1940-1946
Box 17					Report of Progress 1944-1945 - report, correspondence, notes
Box 17			Copyrights and Design Protection 1935-1960 - correspondence
Box 17			Crystalace undated - letter of agreement
Box 17			Cubicles for Hotels 1949 - correspondence
Box 17			Cups: Molded undated - sketch
Box 17			Derris, Inc. 1933 - clipping
Box 17			Dixon Pencil Company 1941 - sketches
Box 17			Doll, Styrene, Electrostatic 1950 - affidavit
Box 17			Drawer undated - sketch
Box 17			Electric Reel undated - sketch
Box 17			Elon Bede 1945 - trademark registration
Box 17			Exhibit: Dayton, Ohio undated - captions
			Fastening & Tight Packaging
Box 17				Means & methods of providing same, patent application 1945-1948 - sketches, photostats, correspondence, legal papers
Box 17			Food Fair Stores, Inc. 1950-1958 - labels and wrappers, handwritten notes
Box 17			Fuller & Smith & Ross, Inc. 1949-1952 - correspondence, sketch, handwritten notes
Box 17			Furniture: Unibox 1942 - sketches, correspondence, handwritten notes
Box 17			Gasoline Station 1932 - clipping, photo.
Box 17			Glass Dress 1939 - clippings, photo.
Box 17			Glue 1941 - correspondence, legal papers
Box 17			Gobel, Alfred, Ind. undated - ham package label, sketches
			Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Company
Box 17				Clippings 1934-1955
Box 17				Bread products report 1935
Box 17				Cereal packages report 1952
Map-Case 131				Eight O'Clock Coffee poster, mounted undated
Box 17				Sample label, sketches 1940-1950, undated
Box 18			Hat Display Stand 1937 - correspondence, photostat
Box 18			Heide, Henry, Inc. 1960, undated - photo., clipping,
Box 18			Heinz, H.J., Inc. 1941 - labels, letter, sketches
Box 18			Helmet 1957-1959 - correspondence, patent application
Box 18			Higgins Ink Company ca. 1938 - clipping, layout, photo.
			Hobart Brothers, Inc.
				Electric Welder
Box 18					correspondence 1942-1945
Box 18					Photo., photostats 1943, undated
Box 18					Proposal 1943
Box 18					Sketches, handwritten notes 1943?
				Kitchen Aid Line
Box 18					Correspondence 1941-1963
Box 18					Office design for E. A. Hobart 1942-1944 - correspondence, handwritten notes
Map-Case 131					Poster, mounted undated
Box 18					Publicity, clippings 1934-1938, undated
Box 18					Sketches, blueprints, handwritten notes, personnel brochure, layout 1959-1963
			Hobart Manufacturing Company
Box 18				Food mixing apparatus 1939 - patent oath, petition, assignment (photostats)
Box 18				Model 100 Scale 1941 - correspondence, patent oath, petition, assignment, photostat
Box 18			Holding Frame for Label or Direction for Application to Coffee Mill or the Like 1934 - patent application
Box 18			Hollow-Wall Construction 1935 - sketches, correspondence, pr. mat.
Box 18			Holsum Unified Bakeries undated - label, publicity
Box 18			Hotel of the Future 1936-1940 - correspondence, handwritten notes, proposal
Box 18			Houseboat 1933-1934 - correspondence, handwritten notes
Box 18			Household Tools 1939-1940 - sketches, claims for invention, correspondence
Box 18			House of Sidney Johnson 1948-1949 - correspondence, sketches, pr. mat.
Box 19			Housing: Prefabricated 1932-1935 - sketches, handwritten notes, correspondence, clippings
Box 19			Hydraulic Engine 1941-1942 - correspondence, legal papers, sketches, blueprint, report
Box 19			Ice Cube Ejector 1941-1942 - correspondence, sketch, blueprint, handwritten
Box 19			Ice Cube Freezer 1941 - correspondence, sketches, blueprint
Box 19			Industrial Equipment undated - redesign notes
Box 19			Industrial Tape Corporation 1945-1954 - correspondence, photo., layout, clipping
Box 19			Industries Sales Committee, Home Caravan Project 1934 - correspondence, reports, sketches
Box 19			Interstate Highway System 1930-1937 - correspondence, clippings
Box 19			Jar Ring Device 1935-1936 - correspondence
Box 19			Jigger Tubes 1935 - sketches, blueprint
Box 19			Julian, Bernard, Inc. undated - clipping
Box 19			Labels, correspondence, 1934; correspondence re: legal requirements, 1939, 1955
Box 19			Lampshade 1937-1938 - sketches, blueprint, correspondence
Box 19			Lever Brothers Company, Lux Soap undated - case history
Box 19			Life Boat, Torpedo 1942 - sketch, photostat, letter
Box 19			Life Magazine 1932, 1937 - correspondence, handwritten notes,
Box 19			Sample layout undated
Box 19			Liquid Dispense 1944 - correspondence, sketch, handwritten, notes
Box 19			Lumber System: Self-Membering Agreement 1942 - sketches
Box 19			Magazine (unnamed) 1933 - ideas, correspondence
			Manhattan Inner Loop Skyway, (Skyloop)
Box 19				correspondence 1945-1947
Box 20				Clippings, notes 1948-1950, undated
Box 20				Maps, photo. ca. 1946
				Manhattan Skyloop Committee
Box 20					Correspondence, notes 1946
Box 20					Legal form ca. 1946
Box 20					Literature ca. 1946
Oversize 1					Rendering ca. 1946
				Townway Plan
Box 20					correspondence 1953-1961
Box 20					Miscellaneous 1951-1953
Box 20					Photographs, photostats undated
Box 20					Presentations 1945-1953 (2 folders)
Box 20					Rough drafts ca. 1953
Box 20			Mars, Inc. correspondence 1955
Box 20			Memo valet, correspondence 1937
Box 20			Merkin, M.J. Paint Company, Inc. 1950 - correspondence
Box 20			Motor Boat 1929-1931 - correspondence, handwritten notes, clippings
Box 20			Multiple Projection 1939 - correspondence
Box 20			Mutual Life Insurance Company undated - layout
Box 20			Nashua Corporation 1963 - label dispenser, correspondence, handwritten notes, specifications
Box 20			Nashua Package Sealing Company 1941 - tape dispenser, patent oath, specification, petition, correspondence
Box 20			National Biscuit Company, Packaging program 1947 - report & recommendations
Box 21			National Biscuit Company, Repackaging program 1940 - report & recommendations
Box 21			Nestle Company, Inc. undated
Box 21			Nestle-Lemur Company, Hairdryer 1939 - patent application, (photostat) clippings
Box 21			New York Herald Tribune, Rotogravure layouts 1935 - correspondence, handwritten notes
Box 21			New York Zoological Society, Conservation exhibit 1950 - letter, proposal
Box 21			North Bros. undated - clipping
Box 21			Nowland & Company, Inc. 1960 - correspondence
Box 21			Oil Can Opener 1933 - claim for invention, handwritten notes, correspondence
Box 21			Oleomargarine Color Mixer, correspondence 1945-1946 - handwritten notes
Box 21			Paris & Peart 1938 - consent & release
Box 21			Paper Bag Closure (Seal Tack) 1943 - correspondence, sketch
Box 21			Panel Fastener 1955 - correspondence, patent, photostats
Box 21			Panglo Lamps 1931-1932 - correspondence, sketches, photo., pr. mat.
Box 21			Patent Attorneys 1945 - correspondence, handwritten notes
Box 21			Patents: general information 1937-1939 - correspondence
			Penney, J. C., Inc.
Box 21				Monogram, sketches, photostats, paper samples undated
Box 21				Trademark, sketches, photostats, proofs undated
Box 21			Pet Milk Company 1953 - correspondence
Box 21			Pfizer, Charles & Company, Inc. 1951 - correspondence, proposal, report
			Philip Morris, Inc.
				Advertising ideas
Box 21					Miscellaneous 1947
Box 21					"Gentle Cigarette" 1955 - letter, notes, clippings
Box 21					"Lock Out the Aldehydes" ca. 1953
Box 21					"No Cigarette Hangover" undated - clippings
Box 21					"Smoke Rings" - correspondence, clippings, 1949; photo. ca. 1949
Box 21				Benson & Hedges 1956 - correspondence
Box 21				Contracts 1949-1956 - correspondence
Box 21				correspondence 1947-1960 (2 folders)
				Dunhill Cigarettes, no
Box 22					Notes, sample package 1954
Box 22					Report by Color Research Institute of America 1953
Box 22				Grocery store merchandising 1948-1949 - correspondence, handwritten notes
				Interior Design
Box 22					Louisville plant
Box 22						Color specifications, reports, correspondence, photo. 1951-1952
Box 22						correspondence 1951
Box 22						Miscellaneous 1952
Box 22						Paint & fabric samples undated
Box 22						Photo., 35mm slides ca. 1952
Box 22						Press releases & publicity 1952
Box 22						Purchase order, correspondence 1951
Box 22						Sketches, blueprints, floor plan 1950-1951
					New York offices
Box 22						correspondence 1949-1957
Box 22						Floor plans, sketches, swatches ca. 1950
Box 22						Notes 1950, ca. 1956
Box 22						Publicity, 35 mm slides, photo., pr. mat. 1950
					Richmond plant
Box 22						Color specifications 1954
Box 23						correspondence 1950-1956
Box 23						Floor plans, sketches, blueprints, photostats, photo. undated
Box 23						handwritten notes, specifications, pr. mat., sketches undated. 1950-1951
Box 23						Main Street office entrance, correspondence, photo., blueprint, swatches 1953-1956
Box 23						Stockton Street floor plan, sketches, handwritten notes, correspondence, swatches 1953
Box 23				Market Research, correspondence, reports, sketches 1948
				Marlboro Cigarettes
Box 23					Advertising proofs 1943
Box 23					Project X
Box 23					correspondence, handwritten notes, sketches 1953-1954
Box 23					Report 1954
Box 23					Report on package & carton design by Color Research Institute of America 1954
Box 23				Mayfield Cigarettes 1959 - correspondence, handwritten notes
Box 23				Package of the Future 1957 - correspondence
				Parliament Cigarettes
Box 23					HiFi Filter, correspondence, notes 1957
Box 23					New Package
Box 23					Advertising proofs, photo. 1956
Box 23					correspondence, handwritten notes, pr. mat. 1954-1958
Box 23					Report on box designs by Color Research Institute of America 1954
Box 24				Paul Jones Cigarettes 1954 - correspondence, notes
				Phillip Morris Cigarettes
Box 24					Christmas cartons, correspondence 1956
Box 24					New package color, acetate sheets, sample packages, correspondence 1957
Box 24					Project Mayfair
Box 24					Clippings 1955
Box 24					Photo. ca. 1955
Box 24					Photo captions ca. 1955
Box 24					Presentations, paper samples 1954
Box 24					Publicity, correspondence 1955
Box 24					Reports, correspondence, handwritten notes 1954-1956
Box 24					Report by Color Research Institute of America, paper samples 1953-1954 (3 folders)
Box 24					Snap open carton, correspondence, handwritten notes, clippings, sample 1954
Box 24					Vending machine inserts 1957
Box 24				Polyethylene cigarette case 1948 - sketches, handwritten notes
Box 24				Relative Visibility Survey ca. 1955
Box 24				Revelation Pipe Tobacco 1947 - correspondence
Box 24				Sales Meetings 1948 - correspondence, photo., speeches
Box 24				Spud Cigarettes 1947-1948, 1955 - job outlines, correspondence, notes
Box 24				Tobacco & Pipe Box 1948 - sketches
Box 24			Photo-Color ca. 1951 - patent search
Box 24			Photographic Paper 1938 - correspondence
Box 24			Photometric Analysis 1962, undated - letter, description of procedure
			Plastic Boats, Inc. (Plastiboat)
Box 25				Blueprints, handwritten notes, sketches 1946
Box 25				Building instructions undated
Box 25				correspondence 1946-1956
				Photographs
Box 25					Prints ca. 1946 (3 folders)
Box 25					Negatives ca. 1946
Box 25					35 mm slides ca. 1946
Box 25					Publicity, copy, circulars ca. 1946
Box 25					12' Boat, photo., blueprints, handwritten notes 1946-1948
Box 25			Plastic containers 1943-1945 - correspondence, photostats, sketch
Box 25			Plastic Screen undated - sketch
			Plywood Structural Unit (Plyfold)
Box 25				Claim for invention 1942
Box 26				correspondence 1941-1943
Box 26				Sketches 1942
			[Alfred] Politz Research, Inc.
Box 26				Chrysler Project 1959-1960 - report, correspondence, handwritten notes
Box 26			Projection: Outdoor undated - sketches, handwritten notes, photo
Box 26			Projector 1934, 1939 - correspondence
Box 26			Radar Corner Reflector 1951 - correspondence, claim for invention
Box 26			Reflecto-Mount 1952, 1961 - correspondence, handwritten notes, sketches, photo-stats, paper samples
			Refrigerator
Box 26				correspondence 1943-1949
Box 26				Design patent, patent application, photo., legal correspondence 1943-1944
Box 26				Sketches, photostats, pr. mat. 1943
			Reynolds Metals Company
Box 26				Aluminum furniture, correspondence 1961
Box 26				Beer labels, samples undated
Box 26				Campbell Soup Company 1941 - correspondence
Box 26				correspondence 1941-1955 (2 folders)
Box 26				Glenmore Distilleries 1941 - correspondence, sketches
Box 26				Goebel, Alfred, Inc. undated - frankfurter label, sketch
Box 26				Grass, I.J. Noodle Company 1941 - correspondence
Box 26				Lipton Tea 1941 - handwritten notes, sketch
Box 26				Seeman Brothers 1941 - correspondence, sketches, photo., clipping
Box 26				Silver Nip 1941 - sketches, letter
Box 26				Stokely-Van Camp 1941 - correspondence, sketches
Box 26				Swift & Company 1941 - correspondence, samples
Box 26				Tropic Gold undated - sketches, photo.
Box 26				V-8 Juice 1941 - correspondence, sketch
Box 26				Vick Chemical Company 1941 - correspondence
Box 26			Riegel Paper Corporation 1949-1950 - correspondence, pamphlet
			Roadway Housing Plan
Box 27				correspondence 1934, 1935, 1944
Box 27				Presentation 1935
Box 27				Sketches, handwritten notes undated
Box 27			Scale, Electric 1943 - sketch
Box 27			Scoville Manufacturing Company, Garden Hose Line 1956 - correspondence, specifications
			Scrambled Songs, Ins.
Box 27				correspondence 1951
Box 27				Ideas, handwritten & ts notes 1951
Box 27				Incomplete drafts ca. 1951
Box 27				Original words ca. 1951
Box 27				Rough drafts ca. 1951 (2 folders)
Box 27				Sample galleys ca. 1951
Box 27				Song lists ca. 1951
Box 27			Sebring Pottery Company 1936 - pottery design & marketing report
Box 27			Sign: Illuminated 1946 - correspondence, patent application, photostats, patent copies
Box 27			Slicing Machine 1942-1943 - correspondence, design, patent application, patent assignment, photostat
Box 27			Soap: Protective Coating, Method of application 1941 - claim for invention
Box 27			Society of the Plastics Industry, Badge Design 1961 - correspondence, sketches, blueprints
Box 27			Socony Vacuum Oil Company 1954 - correspondence, sketches
Box 27			Spinning Top 1943-1944 - correspondence,sketch
Box 27			Steam Electric Products, Ltd. Steam Irons 1950 - correspondence, handwritten notes, sketches
Box 27			Streamliner 1946 - correspondence
Box 27			Switch Handle Lock 1954-1955 - correspondence, patent copies
Box 27			Tank 1942 - sketches
Box 27			Tappan Stove Company 1948 - correspondence
Box 27			Tatham-Laird, Inc. 1952, 1954 - correspondence
Box 27			Tennessee Enamel Manufacturing Company, Coca-Cola Signs 1945, undated - sketches, photostats
Box 27			Tie Tree 1937 - correspondence
Box 27			Trains of the Future Oct 1930 - correspondence,notes, clippings, draft article, 36
Box 28			United Business Publishers Group 1933 - report
Box 28			United States Economy Flow Chart 1942 - correspondence, charts, pr. mat.
Box 28			United States Government 1948-1956 - correspondence
Box 28			United States Patent Office 1942-1944 - bills, correspondence
Box 28			United States Plywood undated - report on plastic laminate market
Box 28			Virginia Dare Extracts Company 1940 - clippings
Box 28			Washing machine 1943 - letter, handwritten note
Box 28			Waterman Pen Company undated - sketches
Box 28			Whitehall Pharmacal Company, Pill Dispenser 1953, 1955 - patent application, assignment, correspondence, pr. mat.
			Whitewood Products Company
				Lilliput Lumber
Box 28					correspondence 1935-1937
Box 28					Presentation undated
Box 28					Sketches, photostats undated
Box 28					Trademark registration 1937
Box 28			Wigwam Mills, Inc. undated - pr. mat.
Box 28			Wilbert Products, Inc. 1939 - clippings
Box 28			Wilson & Company 1954 - correspondence, handwritten notes.
			World's Fair
				Film: "Three-Thirds of a Nation"
Box 28					correspondence 1938
Box 28					correspondence, handwritten notes 1939
Oversize 1					Magazines 1939 (3 folders)
Box 28					Photo., pr. mat. 1939
			Wrigley's Gum
Oversize 1				Posters undated
		General correspondence
Box 29			1931-1953 (12 folders)
Box 30			1954-1966, undated (12 folders)
		Office files
Box 31			Billing recovery 1958-1963
			Christmas cards
Box 31				E.A. Business 1939-1963
Box 31				From staff 1950, 1951, undated
Box 31			Contract forms undated
Box 31			Job descriptions 1945
Box 31			Letterheads undated
Box 31			Lists of staff & business friends 1962, undated
Box 31			Personal drawing account of Egmont Arens 1951-1962
Box 31			Resumes 1941-1963
		Photographs and slides
			Prints & negatives
Box 32				Advertising arts 1931
Box 32				Advertising ideas, "Smoke Rings" 1931
Box 32				Anheuser-Busch, Inc. undated
Box 32				Arens, Egmont, office of undated
Box 32				B. & K. and Kwick Chek Food Stores undated
Box 32				Boat undated
Box 32				Calking & Holden, Prize-winning Pictures Art Directors' Show 1931
Box 32				Carborundum undated
Box 32				Chase Automobile, interior (negative) undated
				Columbian Rope Company
Box 32					Autoclave undated
Box 32					Chair undated
Box 32				Competitive Industrial Styling undated
Box 32				Designs by Egmont Arens undated (3 folders)
Box 33				Designs by Egmont Arens undated (4 folders)
Box 33				Exhibit: Dayton, Ohio undated
Box 33				"Fighting with Color" 1943
Box 33				Furniture designed by Egmont Arens undated
				The Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Company
Box 33					Bread products 1943
Box 33					Coffee packages 1930-1931, undated (2 folders)
Box 33					Displays 1931-1932, undated
Box 33				Gynex undated
Box 34				Herreshoff Manufacturing Company, boat 1945
Box 34				Hobart Brothers, Inc., mixer & slicer 1937-1940, undated
Box 34				Hoffman, bottle 1930
Box 34				Hudnut, Richard, compact, perfume packages 1931
Box 34				"Industrial Design Today" and exhibit undated
Box 34				International Paper Company, packages 1931-1932, undated
Box 34				Krasne Brothers, packages undated
Box 34				Matthew Products, Inc., packages undated
Box 34				Nashua Corporation, tape dispenser undated
Box 34				Negatives: Clients & others 1936-1937, 1946, 1949, 1951, undated (17 rolls)
Box 35				Nestle-Lemur, hairdryer & waver ca. 1939
Box 35				North Brothers undated
Box 35				Office Photographs undated
Box 35				Philip Morris, Inc., convention negatives 1947 (15 rolls)
Box 35				Plastic Boats, Inc. undated
Box 35				Plastic package for fruit undated
Box 35				Savory Toasters undated
Box 35				Seeman Brothers, Inc. undated
				Society of Industrial Designers
Box 35					1947 Convention Dinner
Box 35					1949 Convention Dinner
Box 35				Sweden House Bakers undated
Box 35				Toledo Scales undated
Box 36				Van Camp, cans undated
Box 36				Varityper 1931
Box 36				Waterman Pens 1931
Box 36				Wesson Oil & Snowdrift Sales Company, shortening can undated
Box 36				Wilbert Productions, Inc., truck undated
Box 36				World's Fair 1939
Box 36				Unidentified undated
			35 mm slides
				Loose slides
Box 37					A-Penn undated
Box 37					American Chicle Company, display stand undated
Box 37					Battleship undated
Box 37					Bristol-Myers Company undated
Box 37					Carborundum Company 1948
Box 37					Crookes Laboratories, Inc, Enzo, California undated
Box 37					Designs of Egmont Arens undated
Box 37					Dif Corporation undated
Box 37					Dixon, Joseph Crucible Company, graphites undated
Box 37					"Fighting with Color" 1943
Box 37					Gerber Products Company, cereal baby food undated
Box 37					Glass dress undated
Box 37					Gobelin 1948-1949
					Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Company
Box 37						Ann Page line 1952
Box 37						Various brands 1940-1948
Box 37					Higgins Ink Company, filigree brand undated
Box 37					Independent Grocer s Alliance, (I.G.A.) coffee & teas undated
Box 37					Italian Cook Salad Oil undated
					Jenkins Brothers
Box 37						Gold Seal Friction Tape 1948
Box 37						Jar rings undated
Box 37					Main of Orleans Sherry undated
Box 37					Major Treat Ice Cream undated
Box 37					Mars Candy, display 1944
Box 37					Meador Peanut Brittle 1946
Box 37					Mobile Air-Sea Base 1942
Box 37					Monegal, NASA: Spanish dancer undated
Box 37					North Brothers, ice crusher-chopper undated
Box 37					Northern Electric Company, radios undated
Box 37					Old projects 1948, undated
Box 37					Packages 1949, 1951, undated
Box 37					Red Cross and Seminole Towels undated
Box 37					Q.T. Pie Crust undated
Box 38					Reynolds Metals Company
Box 38					Foil undated
Box 38					Metals & foil undated
Box 38					Rockwood & Company, chocolate products undated
Box 38					Sarong undated
Box 38					Seeman Brothers, Inc., White Rose Foods undated
Box 38					Seven Minute Pie Mix undated
Box 38					Six O'Clock Waffle Mix undated
Box 38					Sklar Manufacturing Company 1945
Box 38					Swan Disposables undated
Box 38					Sweden House undated
Box 38					Thanx undated
Box 38					Virginia Dare Extract Company undated
Box 38					White House Milk undated
Box 38					Whitehall Laboratories undated
Box 38					Wilbert Floor Wax and Shoe Polish 1949
Box 38					World's Fair 1939
				Boxed slides
					Slide box 1
Box 39						Sections 1-8 Appetite Appeal 1940-1949
Box 39						Sections 9-15 Color Cynamics 1948-1956
					Slide box 2
Box 39						Sections 1-11 Color Theory 1947-1948
Box 39						Sections 12-15 Design Influences 1948-1949
					Slide box 3
Box 40						Sections 1-15 Package Design, studies 1948-1949
					Slide box 4
Box 40						Sections 1-7 Holsum Air Shots and others 1956
Box 40						Sections 8-11 Holsum Bread 1950
Box 40						Sections 12-15 Industrial Design 1949
					Slide box 5
Box 41						Sections 1-14 Merchandising undated
					Slide box 6
Box 41						Sections 1-15 Miscellaneous undated
			Lantern slides
Box 42				Arens Organization undated (3 folders)
Box 42				A.A. Armstrong, embossed linoleum undated
Box 42				Art line undated (2 folders)
Box 42				PO-A. Brodovitch-Athelia undated
Box 42				Packaging undated
Box 43				Packaging 1937, undated (3 folders)
Box 43				Plastic undated (2 folders)
Box 44				Streamlining in Nature undated (2 folders)
Box 44				Typography 1932, undated (3 folders)
Box 45				Typography 1934, undated (4 folders)
		Publicity file
Box 46			Clippings about Egmont Arens, with scrapbook 1936 - re: Dayton Lecture
			Material prepared by Egmont Arens Organization
Box 46				Client captions 1935-1946, undated
Box 46				handwritten notes, layout undated
Box 46				Pr. mat. 1943, 1950, undated
Box 46				Proqrams 1929-1949, undated
Box 46			News releases 1939-1954
Box 47			Promotional material undated (3 folders)
Box 47			Scrap book undated
Package 2			Scrap books (2) 1920-1936, undated
Box 47			Testimonial letters 1934-1958
		Writings
			Arens, Egmont
				Articles
Box 48					"A & P Coffee" undated
Box 48					"The Advertising Agency Enters Packaging" undated
Box 48					"Automobiles Have It" undated
Box 48					"Challenge" undated
Box 48					"The Cigarette Package of the Future" undated
Box 48					"Color Problems of the Architect" undated
Box 48					"Commission to Design Caldwell Products Bottles & Labels" undated
Box 48					"Cosmetic Displays" undated
Box 48					"Design for Living" undated
Box 48					"Designing the Royal Guest & Sunny Morn Coffee Packages" undated
Box 48					Drafts of articles by Egmont Arens undated
Box 48					Ideas, handwritten notes undated
Box 48					"Egmont Arens Designs New Paraffine Companies Showroom" undated
Box 48					"Engineered Styling New Trend" undated
Box 48					"Five Ways to Lose Money on Your Packages" undated
Box 48					"Follow-Through Wins the Game" undated
Box 48					"Glass Packages: Consumer Engineered" undated
Box 48					"Good or Bad Packages: How to Tell?" undated
Box 48					"Heide Goes to Supermarket" undated
Box 48					"History of the Redesigning of the Higgins Ink, Pastes & Mucilages" undated
Box 48					"How a Fast-Selling Bread Wrapper Was Designed for Holsum Bakers" undated
Box 48					"The How & Why of Creating a New Label for Decaf" undated
Box 48					"How to Find Your Packaging P.Q." undated
Box 48					"How to Relate Package to Advertising in other Media" undated
Box 48					"Imagination for Sale" undated
Box 48					"It's Thrifty to Be Smart" undated
Box 48					"Kent, Rockwell" undated
Box 48					"Kitchen Design that Avoids Monotony" undated
Box 48					"Low Pressure Molding of Carrying Cases" undated
Box 48					"Make It Easy for The Prospect" undated
Box 48					"Making Readers More Responsive to Advertising" undated
Box 48					"Marching Out of Step Pays in Packaging" undated
Box 48					"New Era in Boat Building" undated
Box 48					"One Million Can't Be Wrong" undated
Box 48					"Our Sublimated Fifth Sense" undated
Box 48					"Packaging" undated
Box 48					"Packaging for Mass Consumption" undated
Box 48					"Packaging Standardization" undated
Box 48					"Packaging Up" undated
Box 48					"Photography" undated
Box 48					"A Plea for Imagination" undated
Box 48					"Program for a $2 Billion Market" undated
Box 48					"Streamline as You Rebuild" undated
Box 48					"Ten Outstanding Packages of Today" undated
Box 48					"The Store of the Future" undated
Box 48					"The Train of Tomorrow" undated
Box 48					"We Acquire New Eyes" undated
Box 48					"Package Engineering" 1930
Box 48					"Display Engineering" 1931
Box 48					"Color" 1932
Box 48					"Horton's Ice Cream Package" 1932
Box 48					"Super Suds & Ivory Snow Packages" 1932
Box 48					"Three Packaging Steps Necessary Essentials to Spontaneous Selling" 1932
Box 48					"Designing for the Chain Store" 1933
Box 48					"Package Takes Confusion Out of Product Demonstration" 1933
Box 48					"Second Annual Packaging Roundtable" 1934
Box 48					"Streamline for Recovery" 1934
Box 48					"How to Use Type on Your Packages" 1934
Box 48					"Packaging Marches On" 1935
Box 48					"Protection by Packaging" 1935
Box 48					"The Color Racket" 1935
Box 48					"Consumer Engineering vs. Consumer Research" 1935
Box 48					"Drug & Cosmetic Industry" 1935
Box 48					"Use Black to Sell Color" 1935
Box 48					"What Will They Buy Next Year" 1935
Box 48					"How I Produce a New Pack" 1935
Box 48					"New Packages Aid Sales, Cut Consumer Cost" 1936
Box 48					"Next Year's Cars" 1936
Box 48					"Streamline America" 1936
Box 48					"What Should the Designer Aim at in This Field" 1936
Box 49					"Where is Liquor Packaging Going?" 1936
Box 49					"Women's Hands Determine Sales" 1936
Box 49					"Best Design of the Month" 1937
Box 49					"Decorative Trends for 1937" 1937
Box 49					"Looking Over the Industrial Designer's Shoulder Memo valet" 1937
Box 49					"Packaging Pays" 1937
Box 49					"Photography in Business & Profession" 1937
Box 49					"What Makes Designs that Click" 1938
Box 49					"Packaging" 1938
Box 49					"Atlas Batteries" 1939
Box 49					"Eye Appeal for Transit Vehicles" 1939
Box 49					"How to Make Things Today that Will Sell Tomorrow" 1939
Box 49					"A Selling Tool Untried for Cigarettes" 1940
Box 49					"Good Design has no Recipe" 1940
Box 49					"Whither Styling?" 1940
Box 49					"Egmont Arens & Radio Today" 1940
Box 49					"New Trends in Coffee Today" 1940
Box 49					"Easy to Look at -- Easy to Use" 1940
Box 49					"Color Harmony Manual & Color Harmony Index" 1942
Box 49					"Color in the Factory" 1943
Box 49					"Fighting with Color Clippings" 1943
Box 49					"The Post-War Refrigerator" 1943
Box 49					"The Functions & Responsibilities of an Industrial Designer" 1944
Box 49					"Pretesting the Post-War Package" 1944
Box 49					"Low Pressure Molding for Toys & Sporting Goods" 1944
Box 49					"Air Conditioned Bed & New Bathroom" 1945
Box 49					"Die Casting for the Modern Package Sealer" 1945
Box 49					"How's the Readership of Your Package" ca. 1945
Box 49					"The Industrial Designer Looks At Magazines" 1945
Box 49					"Lighting to Invite More Customers" ca. 1945
Box 49					"Design for Maintenance" 1946
Box 49					"Manhattan Inner Loop Skyway" 1946
Box 49					"Plastic Film: Syntilie" 1946
Box 49					"Ten Outstanding Packages of Today" 1946
Box 49					"Package Redesign Pays" 1947
Box 50					"Six Basic Elements of Package Redesign" 1947
Box 50					"Dynamic Design Aids Merchandising" 1947
Box 50					"Wanted: Fine Color Reproduction on Folding Boxes" 1947
Box 50					"Cover Package" 1948
Box 50					"Do You Need a Package Design Counselor?" 1948
Box 50					"Restaurant Traffic Control Helps to Speed Up Service" 1948
Box 50					"Make Modern Packages Fast Reading" 1949
Box 50					"Color Values in Television" 1949
Box 50					"How To Cash in On Packaging Trends" 1949
Box 50					"So You Want To Sell Color" 1949
Box 50					"Type Types Your Package" 1949
Box 50					"What Plastic Packages Can Do to Freshen Buyer Interest" 1949
Box 50					"Reinforced Plastics for Furniture" 1949
Box 50					"Techniques in Fabricating Furniture with Reinforced Plastics" 1949
Box 50					"White Rose Packages" 1950
Box 50					"Using Illustration Effectively" 1950
Box 50					"Prepackaging Fresh Produce Revolutionizes an Industry" 1950
Box 50					"Drugstore Packaging Goes Super" 1950
Box 50					"Package Design for Increased Sales" 1950
Box 50					"Irene Taylor Story" 1950
Box 50					"New Importance of Good Labels in Modern Merchandising" 1950
Box 50					"Period Pieces" 1950
Box 50					"Introduction to Packaging" 1950
Box 50					"Designer's Outlook" 1950
Box 50					"How Do You Make Packages Attractive to Children?" 1951
Box 50					"How a Designer's Name May Be Used as a Guarantee of Quality" 1952
Box 50					"The Magical Rain Cape" 1952
Box 50					"Twenty-Five Years of Package Design" 1952
Box 50					"The Shape of Things" 1952
Box 50					"Cure for Lazy Trademarks" 1953
Box 50					"A Designer Looks at the Packaging Show in Chicago for Industry Packaging Trends" 1953
Box 50					"What's Ahead in Self-Service?" 1953
Box 50					"A Sale I Will Never Forget..." 1954
Box 50					"Packaging for Color Television" 1954
Box 50					"Today's Three A's for Packaging" 1955
Box 50					"Appraisal of Packaging & Color T.V." 1955
Box 50					"Packaging Top Issue in Food Marketing" 1956
Box 50					"Spotlight on Packaging" 1956
Box 50					"Yessir, You Can Afford 20,000,000 Salesmen!" 1956
Box 50					"The Principle Point of Sale Persuader" 1957
Box 50					"Women's Appetites Dey Modern Packages" 1957
Box 50					"Package Design for Self-Service Toiletries Market" 1961
Box 50					"Ideal Bread Package" 1962
				Books
Box 51					Consumer Engineering 1931-1933
Box 51					Modern Food Marketing, "Stop Traffic With Your Package" 1949
Box 51					On Industrial Design, background mat. 1958 (2 folders)
				Book reviews
Box 51					Birren, Faber, Creative Color 1961
				Lectures
					Manuscripts & correspondence
Box 51						On Brand Names undated
Box 51						On Premiums undated
Box 51						On Packaging 1932
Box 51						"Style in Copywriting" 1932
Box 51						Remarks at Chicago World's Fair, re: Century of Progress Exhibition 1933
Box 51						The Creative Evolution of the Printed Word 1933
Box 51						Visual Aspects of Selling 1934
Box 51						"See America Streamlined" 1935
Box 51						On Streamlining 1935
Box 51						Roundtable on Industrial Design 1936
Box 51						Packages in Uniform 1936
Box 51						The Merchandising Hazards of Some Current Packaging Ideas 1937
Box 51						Visual Aspects of Streamlining 1937
Box 51						Package Engineering 1937
Box 51						On Packaging 1938
						New York University Lectures
Box 52							Anatomy of Eye Appeal undated
Box 52							Correspondence 1946-1947, undated (2 folders)
Box 53						The Sales Value of Attractive Boxing & Packaging 1938
Box 53						Tea Packaging 1938
Box 53						Fighting With Color 1939-1944, undated (2 folders)
Box 53						The Experts Tackle Packaging 1940
Box 53						The Functions & Responsibilities of an Industrial Designer 1944
Box 53						Designs for Tomorrow 1944
Box 53						On A & P Packages 1945
Box 53						Low Pressure Molding Comes of Age 1945
Box 53						Lecture Trends in the Low Pressure Field 1946
Box 53						On Packaging in Terms of Readership 1948
Box 53						Finishing & Packaging your Product 1948
Box 53						The Psychology of Impulse Buying 1948
Box 53						The Redline: A Store Modernization Plan Designed to Stimulate Store Traffic 1948
Box 53						How Packaging Can Increase Ice Cream Sales 1949
Box 53						Plastics & Premiums--A New Dimension 1949
Box 53						Product Merchandising Through Vending Machines 1949
Box 53						The Hidden Assets in Your Package 1949
Box 53						Package & Label Design 1949
Box 53						On Design & Designers 1950
Box 53						Canada's Stake in Design 1950
Box 53						Package & Product Design 1950
Box 54						The Dynamic Use of Color 1950
Box 54						Industrial Design & Mass Production 1950
Box 54						Package Design 1950
Box 54						Wanted: Fine Color Reproduction on Folding Boxes 1950
Box 54						The Practice of Industrial Design 1950
Box 54						Recent Trends in Label Design 1950
Box 54						Use of Color in Product Design 1950
Box 54						The Future of Industrial Design 1950
Box 55						Packaging for the Mass Market 1952
Box 55						Lazy Packages 1953
Box 55						Plastics Going High Style 1953
Box 55						The Dynamics of Art 1954
Box 55						On Produce Packaging 1954
Box 55						7th National Plastics Exposition Remarks 1956
Box 55						Significant Trends & Future Developments in Package Design 1958
Box 55						Role of Packaging in American Marketing 1959
				Notes and slide captions
Box 56					Art, advertising undated
					Art, applied undated
Box 56						Child undated
Box 56						Humorous undated
Box 56						Line undated
Box 56						Painting undated
Box 56						Primitive undated
Box 56					Fashion & costume undated
Box 56					Household design undated
					Housing
Box 56						Architecture undated
Box 56						Interiors undated
Box 56						Mobile undated
					Industrial design undated
Box 56						Liege Fair 1955
Box 56					Merchandising undated
Box 56					Packages undated (2 folders)
Box 56					Photo line undated
Box 56					Posters undated
Box 57					Sense of Touch undated
Box 57					Streamlining in nature undated
					Transportation
Box 57						Air undated
Box 57						Auto undated
Box 57						Early undated
Box 57						Marine undated
Box 57						Railroad undated
Box 57					Typography undated
Box 57					Vision undated
				Background material
					Advertising 1955-1958
Box 58						Creative 1960-
Box 58					Art Education 1929-1937
					Color 1931-1951
Box 58						Fighting with Color 1943
Box 58					Consumer engineering 1934-1935
Box 58					House, movable undated
Box 58					Industrial design 1947-1950
Box 58					Language, speed in 1934-1950
Box 58					Mechanizations, Early 1951
Box 58					Miscellaneous undated
Box 58					Packaging 1952-1961, undated (3 folders)
Box 58					Photography 1931-1935
Box 59					Quotations 1947-1960 (2 folders)
Box 59					Sense of smell 1935-1950
					Streamlining 1933-1936, 1946
Box 59						Airplanes 1932-1935, undated
Box 59						Automobiles 1931-1939
Box 59						Boats 1934-1935
Box 59						Misuse 1936
Box 60						Trains 1933-1934
Box 60						Type styles undated
Box 60				Programs 1947-1958, undated (2 folders)
			B.B.B.
Box 61				Speech, "Remarks at Exhibition of Modern American Glass" undated
			Brinkema
Box 61				Article, "The Story of Low Pressure Molding" undated
			Calkins, E.E.
Box 61				Article, "What Consumption Engineering Really Is" undated
			Chapman, Dave
Box 61				Doodles undated
			Clark, Rene
Box 61				Speech, "On Layout" undated
			Composing Room, Inc.
Box 61				Article, "About U.S." 1961
			Fitzpatrick, Paul
Box 61				Article, "Why Business Buys Design" 1950
			Frank, Betty
Box 61				Article, "Egmont Arens" 1943
			Hoffman, Paul
Box 61				Speeches, "On Industrial Design 1947
			Nichols, Dale
Box 61				Article, "Hold that Streamline" undated
			Shaw, Robert
Box 61				Report, "On Studies of Exhibitions in Europe" undated
			Sheldon, Roy
				Articles
Box 61					The Artist Contributes a Merchandising Idea 1931
Box 61					Beautiful Bottles 1931
Box 61					On Cooperative Merchandising 1931
Box 61					Dealing in Futures 1931
Box 61					Opportunities Wrapped Up in Combination Packages 1931
Box 61					Packages That Make Life Easier for the Consumer 1931
Box 61					A Plea for More Convenient Packages 1931
Box 61					Psychologically the Depression is Over 1931
Box 61					Reputations Lying Idle 1931
Box 61					There Ain't No Santa Claus 1931
Box 61					On the Wheat Surplus 1931
				Book reviews
Box 61					Tolmer, Mise En Page 1931
			Sims
Box 61				Article, "Ann Page: 4th Generation" undated
			Smedley, Doree
Box 61				Article, "Fun Ahead" undated
			Swan, Carroll
Box 61				Article, "How To Tell If Your Package Will Sell" 1948
			Wright, Hal
Box 61				Article, "On Holsum Bread" undated

	Miscellany
		Arens, Camille Davied
			American Girl file
Box 62				Corres 1926-1929
Box 62				Financial records 1929-1929
Box 62				Reports 1927-1928
			McCall's file
Box 62				correspondence, reports, copy 1943-1948
			Vogue file
Box 62				Statistics 1928-1929
		Arens, Egmont
			Address books
Box 62				Bound volume undated (2 folders)
Box 62				Unbound 1952
			Biographical
Box 62				Clippings 1936-1955
Box 62				Introduction & sketches 1936-1962, undated (3 folders)
Box 62				University of New Mexico 1910-1964
			Diaries
Box 62				Bound 1901-1914, undated (5 folders)
Box 63				Unbound notes 1922-1923
			Ephemera
Box 63				Cartoons, sketches undated
				Christmas cards 1939-1963
Box 63					Of others undated
Box 63				Clippings 1921-1939
Box 63				Hobbies 1941-1943, undated (2 folders)
Box 63				Post cards undated (3 folders)
Box 63				Wedding announcements 1914
			Financial records
Box 63				Bills & receipts 1951-1956, 1916 (2 folders)
Box 64				Credit cards 1961
Box 64				Safe deposit box 1952
				Tax records
					New York State 1929-1952
Box 64					New York State Adjustments 1939-1954
Box 64					United States 1929-1952
Box 64			Kent, Rockwell 1932-1937, undated - photo., handwritten notes, clippings
Box 64			Landscape layout, Huntington, L.I. 1953
			Legal records
Box 64				Agreements 1956-1957
Box 64				Bill of Sale 1923
Box 64				Divorce 1923, 1952
Box 64				I.D. cards & passports 1949-1961
Box 64				Lawsuit 1926
Box 64				Partnership 1905
Box 64				Security clearance 1950-1951
Box 64				Will 1947
			Medical records
Box 65				Miscellaneous 1933-1960
Box 65				Electrocardiograms & X-rays 1946-1962
			Photographs & negatives
Box 65				Arens, Egmont undated (3 folders)
Box 65				Book label undated
Box 65				Camping trips 1904, undated
Box 65				Chest of drawers undated
Box 65				Chickens undated
Box 66				Desk & chair undated
Box 66				"Ellenwood" undated
Box 66				Europe undated
Box 66				Gorodnitzky, Beatrice undated
Box 66				Greenwich Village Friends 1952-1954, 1920 (1 folder)
Box 66				House, Southport, Connecticut ca. 1940
Box 67				"Lake Nebo: 1901-1902
Box 67				Landscape, New Mexico undated
Box 67				"Loomis San" undated
Box 67				Oregon undated
				Personal
Box 66					RESTRICTED undated (1 folder)
Box 66					Slides, (box 1) 1943-1950
Box 67					Slides, (box 2) 1952-1954
Box 68				"Pirates" undated
Box 68				"Portraits of the Past from Greenwich Village" undated
Box 68				Rex Stout undated
Box 68				Stacking Hay undated
Box 68				Statues undated
Box 68				University of New Mexico undated
Box 68				Wagon & Team undated
Box 68				World's Fair 1939
Box 68				Unidentified undated (2 folders)
			Sketches
Box 68				Flo Walderman undated
			Sports
				Boating
Box 68					Miscellaneous 1956
Box 68					correspondence 1951-1953
Box 69					correspondence 1954-1965 (2 folders)
Box 69			Travel 1949
		Arens, Emma Huegal
Box 69			Estate 1936
Box 69			Photographs & negatives undated
		Arens, Franz Xavier
Box 69			Miscellaneous undated
Box 70			Scrapbook: "The Hermit's Letters" 1878
		Arens, Josephine Bell
Box 69			Legal records, will 1923
Box 69			Photographs & negatives undated
		Arens, Mathilde Zwilling
Box 69			Miscellaneous 1951
Box 69			Paul Sayres Company, Inc. File 1949-1951 (2 folders)
Box 69			Public Relations File 1949-1952 (2 folders)
		Arens, Patricia
			Ephemera
Box 71				Miscellany undated
Box 71				Clippings undated
Box 71			Photographs & negatives 1945, undated
		Arens, Ralph Waldo
			Financial records
Box 71				Sale of apples 1941-1942
		Arens Ruth Chrisman?
Box 71			Photographs & negatives undated
		Arens Family
Box 71			Genealogical material 1939-1963
		Egts, J. Marie
Box 71			Miscellany 1956
Box 71			Financial records 1956-1957
Box 71			Legal records 1928-1957

	Organization records
Box 72		American Institute of Graphic Art 1955-1956 - correspondence, notes
Box 72		Gaslight Club 1958-1961 - correspondence, notes
		Inter-Society Color Council
Box 72			By-laws 1944-1954
Box 72			correspondence 1948-1963 (3 folders)
Box 72			Election ballot 1952-1962
Box 72			Membership lists 1952-1963
Box 72			Report undated
Box 73			Minutes 1948-1957
Box 73			News letters 1954-1963 (3 folders)
Box 73			Programs 1952-1962
Box 73			Publicity material 1958, undated
Box 74			Report 1949-1960, 1957 (2 folders)
Box 74		Labor Manufacturers' National Association 1950-1951 - correspondence, pr. mat.
Box 74		Lithographers' National Association, Inc. 1956 - correspondence, pr. mat.
		National American Wholesale Grocers Association Inc.
Box 74			correspondence 1952
Box 74			Management forum 1952
Box 74		National Automatic Merchandising Association 1949, 1955
		Package Designers' Council
Box 74			Awards & special exhibits 1962
Box 74			By-laws 1958
Box 74			Certificate of Membership 1961
Box 74			Conference on Packaging 1957
Box 75			Correspondence 1957-1963
Box 75			Minutes 1958-1963
Box 75			Programs 1957
Box 75			Publicity material 1953-1955
Box 75			Report 1956
Box 75		Package Research Conference, proceedings 1957
		Packaging Institute, Inc.
Box 75			Addresses 1955
Box 75			Correspondence 1948-1950
		Peoples Symphony Concert
Box 75			Bank account 1943-1944
Box 75			By-laws 1951
Box 75			Correspondence 1931-1961 (2 folders)
Box 75			Minutes 1936-1964
Box 75			Programs 1906-1957
Box 75			Publicity material 1900-1965
Box 75			Report 1932-1951
Box 76			Treasurer's reports 1952-1961 (9 folders)
Box 76		Pratt Institute 1953 - correspondence, brochure
Box 76		Produce Packaging Association 1954 - misc, conf. mat.
Box 76		The Sales Executive Club of New York 1960-1952
		Society of Industrial Designers
Box 76			Addresses 1959-1962
Box 76			Book: Industrial Design in America 1946
Box 76			By-laws 1957-1961
Box 76			Code of Practice undated
Box 77			Correspondence 1946-1963 (4 folders)
Box 77			List of members 1952-1963
Box 77			Minutes of early organization meetings 1944-1946
Box 78			Miscellaneous undated
Box 78			Newsletters 1954-1964 (2 folders)
Box 78			Photographs 1949
Box 78			Programs undated
Box 78			Publicity material undated
Box 78			Report 1962, undated
Box 78			Standards, services listings undated
		Society of Industrial Engineers
Box 79			Agenda, first meeting 1945
Box 79			By-laws 1939
Box 79			Correspondence 1944
Box 79			Directory 1948
Box 79			Statement 1945
Box 79		Society of Plastics Engineers 1955 - correspondence, notes
		Society of the Plastics Industry, Inc.
Box 79			Correspondence 1949-1956
Box 79			Informative labeling committee 1950-1952
Box 79			Photographs undated
Box 79			Publicity material 1949-1956

	Publication records
		Conde Nast Publications
			Promotional materials
Box 80				Miscellaneous 1921-1922
Box 80				Designed by Egmont Arens 1921
Box 80			Vanity Fair 1929, 1934, undated - correspondence, handwritten notes
		Flying Stag Press
Box 80			Miscellaneous undated
			Books
				Brodsky, Horace, A Portfolio of Linoleum Cuts, New York, No. 6 of 100, signed by the artist 1920, 1920
					Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
				Casanova, Giovanni Jacopo, Memoirs . 12 volumes, New York: Aventuros 1925
					Miscellaneous
Box 80						Art work for bindings 1925
Box 80						Illustrations by Rockwell Kent 1925
Box 80						Legal papers and cost report 1925
Box 80						Photographs 1925
Box 80						Promotional material 1925
Box 80					Draft, Introduction by Arthur Symons ts. rev. 1925
					Page proofs, rev. 1925
Box 80						Volume 1
Box 81						Volumes 2-5
Box 82						Volumes 6-9
Box 83						Volumes 10-12
					Published materials, Volumes 1-12
						Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
				Cronyn, George, Sandbar Queen. Flying Stag Plays, No. 1 1918
					Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
				De La Mer, Alice, Paulet Thevanaz, privately printed 1922
					Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
				Dell, Floyd, The Angel Intrudes, Flying Stag Plays, No. 3, New York 1918
					Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
Box 84			Catalogs of Art Exhibits 1919-1922
Box 84			Correspondence 1920-1960, undated (17 folders)
			Periodicals
				Playboy
					Nos. 1-9 1919-1924
						Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
					Fragments undated
						Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
Box 85					Subscription list undated
Box 85			Posters undated
Box 85			Samples of Work 1920-1925, undated
		Liberty Magazine
Box 85			Correspondence 1935, undated
Box 85			Cover blueprints 1935
Box 85			Cover ideas 1935
Box 85			Page layout 1935, undated (2 folders)

	Writings
		Arens, Egmont H.
			Articles
Box 85				"British Labor Walks Out," New Masses, Vol. 1, No. 2 1926
Box 85				Hugo Gellert exhibition catalog 1923
Box 85				"John Carroll: Passionate Young Modern," Creative Art, Vol. 1, No. 2 1927
			Poems
Box 85				"Blind," Pagan, Vol. 2, Nos. 3&4 1917
Box 85				"The Cool of the Night," Collier's, Vol. 5, No. 99 1915
Box 85				"Fear and Love," Pagan, Vol 2, No. 2 1917
Box 85				"Great and Moving Days,", The Conservator, Vol. 29, No. 3 1918
Box 85				"Love and Revolution," The Conservator, Vol. 28, No. 1 1917
				"Our Walnut Tree," and "Gay Moon," The Quill, Vol. 2, No. 2 1918
					Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
Box 86				"Remembrance," Pagan, Vol. 3, No. 9 1918
				"Twenty Blocks" and other poems, A Pagan Anthology, New York: Pagan Publishing Company ca. 1918
					Transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog
Box 86				Fragments and unbound poems and notes undated
		Cumming, Edward
Box 86			Short Stories, "That Spring Miss Lou and I" undated
		Doro, Edward
Box 86			Short Stories, "Parisian Interlude" undated

Return to top