Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Title:	L. Frank Baum Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1850-2004
Quantity:	14.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Materials relating to L. Frank Baum and his family, as well as to the Wizard of Oz franchise and fanbase.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

L. Frank Baum (1856-1919) was an American author known for the Oz book series. Baum was born in Chittenango, New York, and raised in Mattydale, New York. From 1888 to 1891, Baum and his wife lived in Aberdeen, South Dakota, where he ran a general store called Baum's Bazaar and edited the local newspaper. Following the failure of the newspaper, the Baums moved to Chicago.

In 1900, Baum wrote and published the best-selling children's book The Wonderful Wizard of Oz in collaboration with illustrator William Wallace Denslow. Baum and Denslow worked with composer Paul Tietjens to adapt the book into a successful stage musical, directed by Julian Mitchell, in 1902. Baum wrote a total of fourteen Oz books, as well as a number of other novels and short stories under various pseudonyms.

Following Baum's death in 1919, the Oz series was continued by other authors, including Ruth Plumly Thompson, John Neill, and Jack Snow. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz has had a number of notable theater and film adaptations, including the 1939 musical film The Wizard of Oz and the 1974 musical The Wiz.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The L. Frank Baum Collection contains materials related to L. Frank Baum and his family, materials related to the Oz franchise, and materials collected by Oz enthusiast Russell P. MacFall.

The Baum and family series contains biographical materials and correspondence relating to the Baum and Gage families, photographs of Baum and his family members, and writings and productions by Baum unrelated to the Oz series. It also includes draft typescripts of To Please a Child, the first biography of Baum, cowritten by Frank J. Baum and Russell P. MacFall.

The Oz materials series contains materials relating to assorted audio, film, theater, and print adaptations of the Oz series, as well as artwork, writings, products, and miscellaneous press materials and scrapbooks. Additionally, the series includes clippings and photographs related to the yearly OzFest (now the Oz-stravaganza Festival) celebration in Chittenango, NY, and materials from the International Wizard of Oz Club.

Russell P. MacFall research materials primarily consists of correspondence-subject files relating to his research on L. Frank Baum and the Oz franchise, including his communications with publishers, authors, illustrators, and the Baum family.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is aranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Additional Oz and Baum material may be found in the Fred M. Meyer Papers, the Sue Ferrara Collection of Baum Research Material, and the W. W. Denslow Collection collections.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

L. Frank Baum Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from rare books, 1970,1982; purchase from Russel P. MacFall, 1973,1977; OzFest materials gift of Susan Keeter, 1994

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1980
Revision history: 3 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 21 Oct 2008 - correction (MRC); 03 May 2024 - reprocessed and additions integrated (SAB)

Return to top

Inventory

	Baum and family
		Biographical materials
Box 1			Baum, Benjamin Ward 1878, 1885, 1887, undated
Box 1			Baum family businesses 1889, undated
Box 1			Baum family genealogy 1850, 1854, 1857, undated
			Baum, L. Frank
Box 1				American heritage magazine Dec 1964
Box 1				Bankruptcy case 1911
Box 1				Clippings 1870, 1899, 1956-1980, 1999-2003
Oversize 4				Clippings undated
Box 1				Essays about Baum 1922, undated
Box 1			Baum, Maud Gage 1953, undated
Box 1			Gage family genealogy 1934, undated
Oversize 4			Map of Sullivan undated
Box 1			Obituaries 1919
			To please a child
Box 1				Draft typescripts versions 1-2 undated (6 folders)
Box 2				Draft typescripts versions 3-5 1960-1961, undated (13 folders)
Box 3				Notes 1955-1962, undated
Box 3				Press coverage 1961-1962, undated
Box 3			Wills 1934, undated
		Correspondence
			See also Russell P. MacFall research materials, correspondence subject files
Box 3			Baum, Frank J. outgoing 1956-1957
Box 3			Baum, Harry Neal incoming 1961
Box 3			Baum, L. Frank. outgoing 1886, 1888, 1894, 1900, 1906, 1917-1918
Box 3			Baum, Maud Gage outgoing 1882, 1904, 1906, 1922-1923
		Photographs
Box 3			Baum home and properties undated
Box 3			Baum family 1873, 1893, 1900, 1908, 1916, undated (2 folders)
Box 3			Baum, L. Frank portraits 1877-1917, undated (2 folders)
		Writings and productions
Box 3			Articles undated
Box 3			Book advertisements 1901, 1911
Box 3			Father Goose: his book 1899
Box 3			The last Egyptian undated
Box 3			The maid of Arran 1882, undated
Box 3			Rose Lawn home journal 1870-1871, 2002
Box 3			Short stories 1901, 1905-1906, 1916, undated
Map-Case 102			Short stories 1902, 1905, undated
Box 3			The show window 1899, 1957
Box 3			The uplifters club 1915, 1924, 1957, undated

	Oz materials
		Adaptations and sequels
			Audio
Box 9				The Wizard of Oz, record 1 1961 (Vinyl record) (ID#: baum_lf_003)
					Audiobook recording, part of a set of 4 LPs, accompanied by a complete illustrated book of the Wizard of Oz. The recording contains: side 1: Chapter 1 - Chapter 3, Part 1; side 8: Chapter 20 - Chapter 24.
Box 9				The Wizard of Oz, record 2 1961 (Vinyl record) (ID#: baum_lf_004)
					Audiobook recording, part of a set of 4 LPs, accompanied by a complete illustrated book of the Wizard of Oz. The recording contains: side 2: Chapter 3, Part 2 - Chapter 6, Part 1; side 7: Chapter 15, Part 2 - Chapter 19.
Box 9				The Wizard of Oz, record 3 1961 (Vinyl record) (ID#: baum_lf_005)
					Audiobook recording, part of a set of 4 LPs, accompanied by a complete illustrated book of the Wizard of Oz. The recording contains: side 3: Chapter 6, Part 2 - Chapter 9, Part 1; side 6: Chapter 13 - Chapter 15, Part 1.
Box 9				The Wizard of Oz, record 4 1961 (Vinyl record) (ID#: baum_lf_006)
					Audiobook recording, part of a set of 4 LPs, accompanied by a complete illustrated book of the Wizard of Oz. The recording contains: side 4: Chapter 9, Part 2 - Chapter 11, Part 1; side 5: Chapter 11, Part 1 - Chapter 12.
			Films - clippings, photographs, and promotional materials for screen adaptations
Box 3				Fairylogue and radio plays 1908, 1990, undated - a stage and screen multimedia touring performance in which Baum would appear in person and interact with the characters on the screen (2 folders)
Oversize 1				Fairylogue and radio plays 1908
Box 3				The new Wizard of Oz undated
Box 3				Oz film manufacturing company 1914, 1916, 1925, 1963, undated
Oversize 4				The Patchwork Girl of Oz 1914
Box 3				Return to Oz 1985
				The Wizard of Oz
Box 3					Anniversary clippings 1986, 1989, 1999
Box 4					Documentaries 1990
Box 4					Press 1939, 1969, undated
Oversize 1					Press undated
			Print
Oversize 1				The colorful world of Oz undated - abridgement of the Oz story accompanied by coloring pages
Map-Case 102				The land of Oz undated - illustrated abridged Oz story
Oversize 4				LIFE magazine abridgement 1953
			Theater - clippings, photographs, scripts, and promotional materials for stage adaptations
Box 4				The girl from Oz undated (2 folders)
Box 4				Ice show 1999
Box 4				Local productions 1952, 1957, 1960-1962, 1965, 1981, 1993, 2000-2003, undated
Box 4				Playlets undated
Box 4				The TikTok Man of Oz 1913
Box 4				The Wiz 1975, 1993, 2001
				The Wizard of Oz
Box 4					Lyrics undated
Box 4					Photographs 1902-1903
Box 4					Press and reviews 1902-1903
Box 4					Script 1902 (2 folders)
Box 4					Sheet music undated
Oversize 1					Sheet music undated
Box 4				The Woggle Bug 1905
		Artwork
Oversize 1			Book covers undated
Oversize 3			Book illustration slides undated
Box 3			Book illustrations undated
Oversize 1			Book illustrations 1904-1905
Oversize 1			Book posters 1962, undated
Oversize 1			Character proof sheet undated
Box 4			Denslow reproductions 1904, undated
Box 5			Eubank, Bill 1965, undated
Oversize 4			Maps 1927, undated
Box 5			Martin, Dick 1966, undated
Oversize 4			Martin, Dick undated
Oversize 4			Neill, John R. undated
Box 5			Russian version illustrations 1939, 1960, undated
		Events
Box 5			Auctions 1989, 1994
Box 5			Exhibitions 1975-1976, 1978
Box 5			Fairs and festivals 1961-1962, 1986-1989
Box 5			Mock trial 1993 - clippings related to mock trials for Dorothy and the Wicked Witch
			OzFest
Box 5				Administrative paperwork 1989, 1991, 1994
Box 5				Clippings 1996-2004 (2 folders)
Oversize 4				Clippings 1989, 1993-1994
Oversize 5				Mounted photographs 1994
Oversize 6				Mounted photographs 1994
Box 5				Photographs 1994
Oversize 3				Slides 1993
			Syracuse University summer session - collaborative display and event by Syracuse University and OzFest
Box 5				Exhibit labels 1994
Oversize 4				Exhibit labels 1994
Box 5				Photographs 1994
Oversize 4				Syracuse University summer times 1994 - summer course catalog with Oz-related artwork and an article about the display
Box 5				Reproductions 1994
Box 5			Miscellaneous 1964, 1967, 1978, 1989, 2000
		International Wizard of Oz Club
			See also the Fred M. Meyer Papers
Box 5			Articles and press 1963-1967, 1971, undated
Box 5			Conventions 1966, 1968, 1970-1974, undated
Oversize 4			Conventions 1961
Box 5			Directories 1963, 1966-1967, 1970-1972, 1974
Box 5			Greeting cards 1958, 1965-1966, 1968, 1970-1971, 1974-1976, 1990
Box 5			Mailings and newsletters 1968-1977, undated
Box 6			Meyer, Fred correspondence 1948, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1956, 1959
Box 6			Pattrick, Robert correspondence 1959-1961, 1963
		Products
Oversize 2			Birthday calendar 1989
Box 6			Board game clippings 1992 - related to the development and production of Oz board games
Box 6			Book advertisements 1900, undated
Box 6			Card viewer slides 1961, undated
Box 6			Coloring book undated
Box 6			Dorothy of Oz paper doll 1992
Oversize 4			Emerald city of Oz craft book 1980
Box 6			Erasable slate undated
Oversize 2			Jigsaw puzzle undated
Box 6			Magazine game pages 1960-1961 - puzzle and game pages clipped from Humpty Dumpty magazine
Box 6			Marketing materials 1957, undated
Box 9			"Over the rainbow" and "Let's catch a star" from the Wizard of Oz undated (Vinyl record) (ID#: baum_lf_001)
Box 6			Postage stamp undated
Box 6			Postcards 1986
Oversize 2			Stationery 1989
Box 6			Showboat theater playset and script 1962
Oversize 2			Story book plaque undated
Box 9			"We're off to see the Wizard" and "The thank you song" from the Wizard of Oz undated (Vinyl record) (ID#: baum_lf_002)
Oversize 2			The wonderful game of Oz 1921 - includes game board, letter dice, a dice shaker, four wooden game pieces, and four metal game pieces
Oversize 2			The wonderful Wizard of Oz board game 1957 - includes a game board, instruction sheet, 4 wooden game pieces, and a spinner
Oversize 3			Wood character signs undated - painted wood signs depicting the Patchwork Girl and the Scarecrow
		Writings
Box 6			Baum dedications undated - copies of Baum's book dedications
Box 6			Oz book reviews undated
Oversize 4			Ozmapolitan newsletter c. 1920s, 1963, 1965
Box 6			Papers and articles 1929, 1963-1967, undated - papers related to the Oz series including analyses, personal reflections, and histories (2 folders)
Oversize 4			Papers and articles 1957-1958
Box 6			Short stories undated - typescripts and clippings
Oversize 1			Short story 1919
		Miscellaneous
Box 6			Chittenango yellow brick road 1979, 2004 - clippings related to the construction and maintenance of the road
Box 6			Clippings 1925, 1961-1963, 1979-2000, undated
Box 6			Copyright 1904, 1924, 1928, 1937, 1958, 1960 (2 folders)
Box 6			E-text lists 2000 - guide to accessing e-text versions of Oz stories
Box 6			Library controversies 1959-1961, 1986
Box 6			Museums 1992, 1997-2000 - clippings related to the development of Oz-related museums
Box 9			Oz: The American Fairyland 1997 (VHS; running time 115:00) (ID#: baum_lf_007)
				This documentary begins with L. Frank Baum, the creator and Royal Historian of Oz, and takes a journey of exploration to Oz. It uses rare photographs, film clips, books, collectibles and ephemera, plus interviews with literary authorities and artists, to discover how Oz, over the course of a century, has entered the American popular imagination to become a shared myth.
Box 7			Ozcot lodge 1960-1961, undated - map and invitation for a summer gathering at a Baum family run lodge
Oversize 4			Press scrapbook undated
Oversize 5			Productions and art scrapbook undated
Box 7			Theme parks 1970, 1991 - clippings related to a proposed Oz theme park in Madison County

	Russell P. MacFall research materials
		Correspondence-subject files
Box 7			1902 Oz musical 1956-1958, 1960, 1963
Box 6			Baum and psychology 1974
Box 7			Baum, Edna 1961, undated
Box 7			Baum, Elizabeth 1958-1964
Box 7			Baum, Frank J. 1956-1958
Box 7			Baum, Harry Neal 1960-1961, undated
			Baum publishers
Box 7				Bobbs Merrill 1955, 1958, undated
Box 7				Hill and Ogilvie 1902, 1953, 1955
Box 7				Reilly and Lee 1922-1955, 1930, 1959, 1961
Box 7				Way and Williams 1958-1959, 1970
Box 7			Cosgrove, Rachel R. undated - author of two Oz novels
Box 7			Denslow, William Wallace 1896, 1899, 1900-1903, 1945, 1957-1958, 1972, undated (2 folders)
				See also the William Wallace Denslow Collection
Oversize 4			Denslow, William Wallace 1897, 1899, 1909
Box 7			Gage relatives 1960-1963
Box 7			Gardner, Martin 1958, 1961-1962, 1965
Box 7			Greene, Douglas and David 1962-1965, 1968-1969, 1973
Box 7			Houck, Clara 1961, 1975
Box 7			L. Frank Baum school 1961-1963
Box 7			Meyer, Fred 1955-1973 (3 folders)
				See also the Fred M. Meyer Papers
Box 8			Neill, John R. 1929, 1962, 1965, undated - Oz illustrator and author
Box 8			Oz film productions 1959-1960
Box 8			Ratliff, Bertha 1959-1960
Box 8			Schiller, Justin 1957-1963, 1970 - founder of the International Wizard of Oz Club
Box 8			Snow, Jack 1943 - Baum scholar and author of two Oz books
Box 8			Tietjens, Paul 1909, 1956, undated - composer for the 1902 play
Box 8			Thompson, Ruth Plumly 1924, undated - author of later Oz stories
Box 8			Wilson, Eleanor Hall 1956-1958, undated
Box 8			Miscellaneous A-Z 1956-1973 (2 folders)
Box 8		Press clippings 1951, 1961
Box 8		Writings 1961, 1962, undated

Return to top