Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Eleanor Brown Portfolio

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Brown, Eleanor.
Title: Eleanor Brown Portfolio
Inclusive Dates: [1973?]
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Modeling portfolio with black-and-white photographs of young Black woman model.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Nothing could be discovered about Eleanor Brown, the woman featured in this portfolio.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eleanor Brown Portfolio consists of a brochure and a single sheet featuring a Black American model. Black-and-white photographs show her in a variety of outfits and expressions. The information provided includes measurements, shoe size, and glove size. Clothing and accessory styles suggest mid-1970s.

One of the photographs is stamped as having come from the studio of Chicago photographer Ernest H. Dellahoussaye.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Closed until we can make redacted facsimiles (items have her SSN on them)

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brown, Eleanor.

Subjects

African American models.
Fashion photography.
Fashion.
Feminine beauty (Aesthetics) -- United States.
Popular culture -- United States.
Women, Black.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eleanor Brown Portfolio,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2021

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 4 May 2021
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
SC 870 Modeling portfolio [1973?]

Return to top