Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Brykczynski, Terry.
Title:	Terry Brykczynski and Andrea Miller Collection Relating to Parrots
Inclusive Dates:	1678-2000
Quantity:	12.25 linear feet
Abstract:	Photographs, postcards, and printed material related to parrots.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives

Biographical History

Parrots, scientifically known as Psittaciformes, have been domesticated for thousands of years, first documented in Brazil 5,000 years ago. Their primary places of origin are South America, Central America, Australasia, and India, but they were transported to Europe as early as 327 B.C. when Alexander the Great conquered India. Parrots are prized for their intelligence, vocal recall, and colorful feathers. They are currently at risk of extinction due to the pet trade, hunting, and loss of habitat.

Terry Brykczynski and Andrea Miller are wildlife conservationists dedicated to preventing the extinction of vulnerable animals. Their work with animals led to a fascination with parrots. According to Brykczynski via email, parrots "are unique among animals in that their genetic adaptations have made them prone to form extraordinarily deep emotional bonds with people and are responsible for a long and incredibly rich history…but the parrot’s time frame may be ending, unfortunately, as their numbers steadily decrease.” Because of this concern, Brykczynski and Miller collected a large variety of materials documenting the relationship between parrots and humans.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Terry Brykczynski and Andrea Miller Collection Relating to Parrots consists of ephemera, photographs, postcards, printed materials, subject files, and miscellaneous materials. All materials depict parrots in or on them.

Donor files contains price listings of parrot images sold in online auctions and a thumb drive with an inventory of the collection.

Ephemera contains cigar labels, collectable cards (primarily cigarette cards), matchbooks, matchbox labels, postage stamps, and poster stamps. While some cigarette cards feature only illustrations of parrots, many also provide factual information about them.

Photographs consists of photographs of parrots, in many cases accompanied by or interacting with humans. Formats include autochrome, daguerreotypes, negatives, glass plates, prints, stereoscopic photos, and tintypes. A description with one of the daguerreotypes describes it as being one of the first photographs of a parrot.

Postcards contain illustrative and photographic postcards. They are a mix of black and white and color images. Included those from many countries, primarily those in the Americas, Europe, Asia, and Australasia.

Printed materials contains articles and chapters, books, branded images, catalogs and bulletins, comic books, die cuts, illustrations, magazines, newspaper clippings, pages from books and magazines, recipe cards, and sheet music. The books are primarily guides on caring for parrots or children's books featuring parrots. The articles, chapters, and magazines contain imagery depicting parrots. The newspaper clippings relate to Paula and Polly, a performance act in which Polly the parrot sings like a human.

Subject files contains files on Arnott’s Biscuits Limited, a company that has a parrot in their logo, and Yvette Dare, a burlesque dancer who included a parrot in her act.

Miscellaneous includes an assortment of everyday items that have images of parrots. Some items include bridge score cards, greeting cards, and playing cards.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically within each series by type or format.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Please note that the collection is housed off-site, and advance notice is required to allow time to have the materials brought to the Reading Room on campus. Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Terry Brykczynski and Andrea Miller Collection Relating to Parrots,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Terry Brykczynski and Andrea Miller, 2024.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DTF
Date: 17 Jun 2024
Revision history: 18 Nov 2025 - Collection is processed (PMK)

Return to top

Inventory

	Donor records
Box 5		Parrots (thumb drive) May 2024 - accompanied by copy of collection inventory folders list (Flash Memory: USB) (ID#: brykczynski_coll_002)
Box 5		Price listings 2009-2020 - lists of parrot images from online auctions

	Ephemera
Box 6		Calendars 1885, 1889, circa 1900, 1912, 1917, 1928, 1934, undated
Oversize 1		Calendars 1933
Box 1		Cigar labels circa 1870-1900
Box 1		Collectable cards 1972, 1996, undated (2 folders)
Box 6		Fans undated
Box 1		Matchbooks 1983-1984, undated
Box 1		Matchbox labels undated
Box 1		Menus 1902, 1924, 1935, 1938, 1953, 1958, undated
Box 1		Postage stamps 1969, 1972-1975, 1979-1981, 1984, 1993-1995, undated - includes those from the Philippines, Cuba, Yemen, Cayman Islands, the United Arab Emirates, and other countries
Box 1		Poster stamps undated
Box 1		Stickers 1990, undated
Box 1		Wine bottle labels 1985

	Photographs
Oversize 4		Autochrome undated
Oversize 2		Daguerreotypes undated (12 items)
Oversize 3		Glass plates 1899, undated (21 items)
Oversize 4		Glass plates undated (2 items)
Box 1		Negatives 1929-1931, undated
Box 1		Prints 1850-1860, 1880-1936, undated - some include descriptions of the parrots (5 folders)
Box 2		Prints circa 1880-1920, 1943-1946, 1949-1950, 1956-1964, undated - some are hand-colored, including one photograph of a parrot with a plastic eye adhered to the image (9 folders)
Oversize 1		Prints 1942, undated
Oversize 7		Prints 1880-1885, 1891-1907, undated
Box 2		Stereoscopic images undated
Oversize 3		Tintypes undated (12 items)

	Postcards
Box 3		Illustrative 2005
Oversize 5		Illustrative 1899-1916, 1925-1964, 1984-1999, 2008, undated - a couple of postcards feature cutouts or perforations enabling the recipient to construct their own parrot
Oversize 6		Illustrative 1899-1916, 1925-1964, 1984-1999, 2008, undated - one is made out of leather
Oversize 7		Illustrative 1995, undated
Box 3		Photographic 1995
Oversize 6		Photographic 1899, 1905-1913, 1925-1946, 1951-1976, 1980-2000, undated - includes photographs of people with their parrots
Oversize 7		Photographic 1972, 1975, 1996, undated

	Printed Materials
Oversize 8		Album undated - contains branded images and illustrations
Box 3		Books 1872, 1879-1880, 1920-1921, 1926, 1929, 1978, undated (5 folders)
Oversize 1		Books 1923, 1937
Box 3		Branded images 1815, 1882-1885, 1911, 1925, undated (4 folders)
Box 6		Branded images undated
Oversize 1		Branded images 1948, undated
Box 3		Catalogs and bulletins 1897, 1910, 1926, 1935, 1938, undated - containing listings of parrots for purchase
Box 6		Catalogs and bulletins undated - containing listings of parrots for purchase
Box 4		Clippings 1833, 1884-1885, 1906, 1919, 1925, 1937-1940, 1974, 1989, undated - loose pages and covers taken from magazines and books (2 folders)
Box 6		Clippings 1678, 1923, 1929, 1944, 1978 undated
Oversize 1		Clippings 1886-1891, 1916-1917, 1920-1921, 1924, 1937-1939, 1942-1944, undated - loose pages and covers taken from magazines and books
Box 3		Comic books 1955, 1973, 1985
Box 3		Die cuts undated
Box 6		Die cuts undated
Box 4		Illustrations 1840, 1851, 1867, 1872, 1880-1892, 1902, 1919, 1986-1987, 1990, undated (4 folders)
Box 6		Illustrations 1977, 1988, undated - includes lithographs, and reproduced drawings and artwork
Oversize 1		Illustrations circa 1870, 1898-1899, 1991, undated - includes lithographs, and reproduced drawings and artwork
Box 4		Magazines 1838, 1919, 1922, 1989, undated - primarily features parrots on the cover, with one being about parrots
Oversize 1		Magazines 1909, 1925, 1939, 1942, 1947, undated - primarily features parrots on the cover, with some being about parrots
Box 4		Newspaper clippings 1926-1931, 1989, undated - about Paula and Polly, an act where Polly the parrot spoke and sang, which was noted for how human she sounded
Box 4		Recipe cards undated
Box 6		Sheet music 1918, 1921, 1929, 1942
Oversize 1		Sheet music 1912-1913, 1919

	Subject files
Box 6		Arnott's Biscuits Limited 1991 - contains informational booklets about the history of the company and correspondence
Box 6		Dare, Yvette 1947, 1954, undated - includes postcards, photographs, newspaper clippings, and envelopes

	Miscellaneous
Oversize 9		Bridge score cards undated
Oversize 10		Bridge score cards and tallies undated
Box 4		Business documents 1894, 1900, 1903-1905, 1916 - includes business receipts, stock shares certificate, and a trademark form
Oversize 9		Coins 1977, 1986 - from New Zealand and a souvenir coin from Mardi Gras (2 items)
Box 4		Correspondence 1882-1999, undated (2 folders)
Box 4		Currency undated
Box 4		Embroidery transfers undated
Box 4		Greeting cards 1883, 1931, 1983, 1986-1990, 1993, 1996-1997
Box 5		Greeting cards 1984-1986, 1995, 2010, undated - includes photographs of parrots dressed up as humans (4 folders)
Oversize 9		Illuminating parrot pourer undated - liquor bottle pourer spout with a parrot that lights up
Oversize 10		Mechanical birds undated - cardboard models of birds that have moving pieces used to teach children
Box 5		Notepad undated
Reel		Parrot Circus (original) - at Parrot Jungle, Miami, Fl (8mm film) (ID#: brykczynski_coll_001)
Box 5		Playing cards undated
Oversize 9		Playing cards undated (2 items)
Oversize 8		Puzzle undated - pictorial puzzle of parrots comprised of rectangular pieces
Box 5		Record undated - Humperdinck, Engelbert; Ten guitars, Release me (and let me love again); 45-40011; Parrot Records
Box 5		Valentines 1928, 1935, 1992, undated (2 folders)
Box 6		Valentines undated

Return to top