Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Cobb family.
Title:	Cobb Family Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1825-1972
Quantity:	30.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Several generations of an important New England family. Clippings, correspondence, subject file, manuscripts, printed material, journals, photos, scrapbooks, books, artifacts, sermons, articles, correspondence, diaries, calendars, notebooks, more.
Language:	Most in English, scattered items in French and Spanish
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Cobb family was a large and important New England clan (see Philip Cobb's A History of the Cobb Family, Cleveland:1907). The main branch of the Cobb family descended from Ebenezer and Elizabeth Cobb, both of whom were descended from Elder Henry Cobb who arrived in America on the second voyage of the Mayflower. One of their eight children, Sylvanus, was born in 1798 and grew up in Norway, Maine, and it is his branch of the family that is represented in this collection.

As a young man Sylvanus showed an aptitude for journalism, and wrote poetry and prose for the Republican war party of 1812. At sixteen he converted to the Universalist faith and a few years later studied for the ministry under Sebastian Streeter. After his ordination he traveled across Maine, preaching the Universalist doctrine. Because his views opposed the Calvinist doctrine of predestination, he met with considerable hostility and was attacked in the press. He was also active in politics and served two terms in the state legislature.

In 1828, amid controversy and protest, Sylvanus became pastor of the First Unitarian Universalist Church of Malden, Massachusetts. Shortly after his installment he was elected to the Massachusetts legislature where he made the acquaintance of many important politicians, including Leverett Saltonstall. This did not prevent him from pursuing his primary calling as a clergyman, and his influence within the Universalist movement continued to grow. As his reputation expanded he developed friendships with most of the major figures in the movement, especially Hosea Ballou. He attended, and was one of the leaders of, the Universalist General Conventions, speaking out vigorously in many of the debates. In 1839, while living in East Boston, he founded the newspaper Christian Freeman and Family Visitor, which under his editorship supported such causes as abolition, temperance, and of course the Universalist movement. Some of the greatest debates of the era between orthodox Calvinists and Universalists were carried on in the pages of the Freeman. Sylvanus also wrote several books, of which Compend Divinity and New Testament of Our Lord and Savior were the most significant.

Sylvanus Cobb Jr. was the eldest son of Sylvanus and his wife, Eunice Hale Waite, born in 1823. As a young man he joined the Navy, and during his service he traveled throughout Europe, building a storehouse of knowledge that would serve him well in his later career as a novelist. Soon after his marriage in 1845, he began to write short stories for his own newspaper, Rechabile, which was notable for its attacks (in the name of temperance) on President Polk, Daniel Webster and others. Later he wrote for Robert Bonner's New York Ledger. He became one of the most prolific fiction writers of his time.

On August 6, 1834, twin boys were born to Sylvanus and Eunice. Darius and Cyrus grew up in the family home near Boston and studied art, music and literature, becoming skilled enough artists that they eventually started their own portrait business. After brief service during the Civil War with the 44th Massachusetts regiment, the two men returned home and married sisters Laura and Emma Lillie. The two men took up art again, Darius concentrating on painting and Cyrus on sculpture. In time Cyrus became a lawyer with the intention of supporting his brother's artistic endeavors. After ten years as an attorney Cyrus again took up art but, although he achieved some success (most notably with his design and execution of the Cambridge Soldiers' Monument), Darius became far better known. John Greenleaf Whitter judged his painting "Christ Before Pilate" to be "the best ideal of Divine Humanity I have ever seen" and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow -- a personal friend -- headed a list of subscribers for steel plate engravings of the work. Darius also became known for his portraiture and historical pieces, particularly "Washington at Dorchester Heights."

Both twins had large families and several of their children became famous. Ernest Cobb, son of Cyrus, was a well-known educator and the author of a number of children's books, as well as One Foot on the Ground, a plea for reconsideration of the Progressive Education method. Stanwood, son of Darius, was valedictorian of his class at Dartmouth and studied at Harvard Divinity School. As a young man he traveled in Europe with Porter Sargent's Travel School for Boys, and taught at Robet College in Constantinople. Out of his experiences in Turkey grew a lifelong interest in the Near East, particularly in the Baha'i religion, which he espoused. In 1919 he founded the Chevy Chase Country Day School in Maryland and the Progressive Education Association; he became editor of a major Baha'i publication and the author of numerous books on Baha'i, mysticism, the Near East, and education.

For reference purposes,Special Collections Research Center staff has created a family tree of the Cobb family. Names given in capital letters signify individuals who are represented in the collection.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cobb Family Papers consist of materials created by various members of one small branch of a very large and important New England family, and offer a window into both their careers and private lives. The papers provide valuable information on Universalism, Progressive Education, Baha'i, and the cultural history of Boston during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Span dates for the collection are 1823-1968, with the heaviest concentration in the period 1850-1955, when the main branch of the family resided in Massachusetts.

The majority of the papers relate to Stanwood Cobb and his activities as author and educator. There are also substantial sections associated with Stanwood's father Darius Cobb, a popular Boston artist, and his grandfather Sylvanus Cobb Sr., Universalist clergyman, author, and editor-publisher of his own newspaper, Christian Freeman and Family Visitor. The extensive diaries kept by Sylvanus Cobb Sr. and Darius Cobb are perhaps the most important part of the collection, of interest to cultural historians of Boston as well as to students of the history of education or religion. Other Cobb family members represented include Sylvanus Jr., Ernest, Eunice Hale Waite, and Percival B. Cobb.

The papers are divided into five sections, as follows.

Artwork, subdivided by individual, contains original drawings, sketches, and related material by Darius Cobb and his twin brother Cyrus.

Correspondence spans more than 150 years and a wide range of topics, from family matters to religion and politics.

Financial and legal records pertain primarily to Cyrus and Stanwood Cobb. These consist of account books, lists of subscribers for Darius' paintings, several notebooks recording Stanwood's college and other expenses, and a variety of legal documents such as mortgages and agreements.

Memorabilia, subdivided by the individual to whom it pertains, encompasses a vast range of material including clippings, Baha'i material, college catalogs, clippings, diaries, drawings, genealogies, invitations, lecture notes, obituaries, periodicals, photographs, scrapbooks, and so on. A few of these items are in French.

Photographs, subdivided by individual, span roughly a hundred years. Most are of family and friends at various family homes and at school. There are also some of Stanwood's students at his Chevy Chase boarding school.

Writings, subdivided by individual, includes articles, books, essays, sermons, speeches and more. The bulk of this section is comprised of Stanwood Cobb's writings on progressive education, the Baha'i faith, social criticism, and literary subjects. Other significant items include Darius Cobb's diaries, which span more than sixty years, and his fiction and non-fiction writings.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is in chronological order. For the other series, other than their alphabetical subdivision by individual family member, there is no discernible order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Most of the published books in the collection have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cobb Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of collection gift of Stanwood Cobb, 1964-1969.

Additions, donor unspecified, 1971-1972.

"The Muse: A Birthday Poem for Laura Lillie Cobb," gift of Estelle Weed, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 3 May 2010
Revision history: 16 Aug 2013 - Box 15 correction (MRC); 28 Jan 2014 - fixed clippings, box 9 (MRC); 15 May 2023 - additions processed, entire collection reviewed, inventory updated/corrected/enhance (MS); 1 Jun 2023 - oversize items added (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Artwork
		Cyrus Cobb
Box 1			sketch (1 folders)
		Darius Cobb
Box 1			Original sketches 1854-1916 (1 folders)
Oversize OS 1			Original sketches (1 folders)
Box 1			Reproductions (1 folders)
Oversize OS 1			Reproductions - note by Stanwood on back (1 folders)
Box 1			Sketchbooks circa 1882-1883, undated (7 volumes in 3 folders)
		Laura M. Lillie Cobb
Box 1			Drawing books circa 1860 (5 volumes in 2 folders)
		Stanwood Cobb
Box 1			Doodlings

	Correspondence
Box 2		[General] Jan 1823-Sep 1901 (18 folders)
Box 3		[General] Oct 1901-May 1907 (12 folders)
Box 4		[General] Jun 1907-Dec 1911 (11 folders)
Box 5		[General] Jan 1912-Apr 1915 (12 folders)
Box 6		[General] Jul 1915-1931 (15 folders)
Box 7		[General] Jan 1932-1960 (13 folders)
Box 8		[General] Jan 1961-Oct 1969 (14 folders)
Box 9		[General] Nov 1969-Jun 1971, Jan 1972 (9 folders)
Box 9		"Letters with biog. material" 1969-1970
Box 9		"Praise of 'Radient Love'" 1970 - letters from readers
Box 9		Miscellaneous undated (3 folders)

	Financial and legal records
		Cobb, Cyrus
Box 45			Cobb, C. vs Buchleg, D.A. lawsuit, dismisssed 1890
Box 45			Cobb, C. and Cobb, A. agreement 1902
Box 45			Cobb, C. and Cobb, D. agreement 1894
Box 45			Cobb, C. and Cobb, D. mortgage 1895
Box 45			Cobb, C. and Recchia, F. agreement 1900
Box 45			Marcy, H.O. and Cobb, Cyrus agreement 1895
Box 45			Mills, S.A. and Cobb, Cyrus agreement 1899
Box 45			Wilcox, J. and Cobb, C. and D. agreement 1879
		Cobb, Stanwood
Box 9			Account book of minor expenses 1903
Box 9			Account books of college expenses 1900-1903 (2 volumes)
Box 10			Account books of summer earnings and expenses 1899 (2 volumes)
Box 10			Miscellaneous financial 1923, 1937
		Miscellaneous
Box 10			Account books, miscellaneous 1905-1919 (3 volumes)
Box 10			List of subscribers for paintings by Darius Cobb - loose pages
Oversize 3			List of subscribers for paintings by Darius Cobb - large scroll
Box 10			Sales and credit slips 1896-1912

	Memorabilia
		Cobb, Cora
Box 10			Clippings 1909-1959
Box 10			Darius and Cyrus biographical incident, handwritten letter undated
Box 10			"Life of Darius Cobb as told by Cora to me [Stanwood]" undated
Box 10			"Paintings and sculptures in which Cyrus and Darius shared" list undated
		Cobb, Darius
Box 10			Birthday poem by Rev. George G. Phipps on Darius's 78th birthday
Box 10			Church bulletins 1915 - where Darius exibited his painting "The Master"; includes obituary
Box 45			Clippings about [including his twin brother Cyrus] 1899-1951 (2 folders)
Box 45			Critiques of paintings by Darius 1880-1900
Box 10			Invitation to White House reception 1912
Box 10			"The Master" material 1915, undated - material promoting Darius's speaking and showing tour of his famous painting of Christ called 'The Master'
Box 45			Obituaries 1919
Box 45			Promotional material of his paintings 1914, undated
Box 10			"Views of Constantinople" 1907 - picture book given by Stanwood to his father, with his annotations
		Cobb, Ida Nayan Whitlam
Box 10			Obituary 1967
		Cobb, Lily
Box 45			Clipping about undated
		Cobb, Percival B.
Box 10			Ordination program 1914
		Cobb, Stanwood
			Articles about
Box 10				"A Visit with Stanwood Cobb" by Walter H. Drost [both original journal and reprint, from The Educational Forum, Mar 1971, along with a signed photo of Stanwood] 1971
			Articles by others
Box 10				on education undated
Box 10				miscellaneous undated
Box 10			Autographed clipping by John Powell [noted segregationist] circa 1914
			Baha'i material
Box 10				Pamphlets, booklets, etc. 1908-1969
Box 10				Star of the West: The Baha'i Magazine Apr 1926 - Stanwood was editor
Box 10			Biographical association with McCall family 1967
Box 10			Biographical association with Potter Sargent and Elihu Vedder, S.C. 1967
Box 10			Cartoon original by C.K. Berryman, to S.C. 1940
			Chevy Chase School - school outside of Washington where Stanwood was principal
Box 10				Annoucements 1919
Box 10				The Cornucopia (school newsletter) Dec 1932
Box 10				Spring Poems' booklet, written by Second and Third grade pupils circa 1925
Box 45			Clippings about 1903-1970
Box 45			Clippings by 1907-1912 - newspaper articles by Stanwood, mostly on Turkey (the country) (2 folders)
			Dartmouth College
Box 11				Class bulletin 1903
Box 11				Class of 1903 25th reunion 1938
Box 11				Clippings, Dr. Tucker 1903
Box 11				Commencement program 1903
Box 11				"The Daily Dartmouth" 1903 [Jun 22]
Box 11				"Dartmouth '03 - First Report" 1904 - Class of 1903 1st year alumni report
Box 11				Examination booklet, Philosophy 1903
Box 11			Great thoughts: an anthology of sayings 1954 - includes a saying by Stanwood
Box 11			Greece - photo reproductions
Box 11			Harvard Knitting Mill 1905 - personnel notes and instructions
Box 11			Horoscope provided by Elise M. Maynard 23 May 1969
Box 11			The Laymen's Movement Review Mar/Apr 1962-Mar/Apr 1963
Box 11			Lecture annoucements 1963-1969, undated
			Lecture notes
Box 11				Discussion of style 1904
Box 11				History of Religion, Harvard 1906 (6 folders)
Box 12				History of Religion, Harvard 1906 (4 folders)
Box 12			Letters of recommendation 1903-1913
Box 12			Literary Society [of Washington], 80th year leaflet 1953-1954
Box 12			Marriage vows and certificate 1919
Box 12			Medical record 1929
Box 12			Memoranda undated (6 small volumes in 3 folders)
Box 12			Memorial record [1967] - names of those who called at the funeral of Nayan Ida CobbStanwood's wife
Box 12			Monastery of St. Iviron 1908 - notes on illuminated manuscript seen there
Box 12			"My portrait as in The Real Turk" [1914] - reproductions of photos in his 1914 published book
			Newton High School
Box 12				The Newton High School Review May 1898-Jul 1899 - Stanwood's first printed writing at the periodical he edited, 13 issues (2 folders)
Box 13				Notebooks 1898-1899 (2 volumes)
Box 13				Quarterly report 1899
Box 13			Notecards on Mary Baker Eddy, Christian Science, New Thought, mental healing 1907 - research for Harvard Degree
Box 13			Numerological chart of life of Stanwood circa 1924
Box 45			Ottoman Empire official document [circa 1910] - in Arabic, most likely a ":safe passage" document
Box 13			Progressive Education Association 1920-1936 - bulletins, brochure
			Publications in French
Box 13				"L'experience de l'ecole des roches et la reforme de l'education en France" 1918
Box 13				La nouvelle education Nov 1927, Nov 1932
Box 13				"La reforme de l'education nationale et l'ecole des roches" 1920 - Stanwood visited this school in 1922 per note
Box 13				"Methode Decroly" 1922 - includes notes on the method by Stanwood
Box 13				"Notice sur Les problemes de la psychologique genetique et sur les applications de cette science a l'education et a l'economie social' " 1923
Box 13				Pour l'ere Nouvelle Dec 1928
Box 13				"Vers l'ecole renovee" 1921
Box 45			Publisher promotional material for Stanwood's books undated
Box 13			Reproductions of Turkish photographs undated
			Robert College [in Constantinople]
Box 13				Campus panorama circa 1910
Box 13				Catalogs circa 1912, circa 1924
Box 13				Notebook for teaching english composition undated
Box 45			Safe passage papers for travel in Turkey, U.S. Dept of State circa 1910
Box 13			St. John's College picture booklet circa 1910 - Annapolis, Maryland
			Scrapbooks
Box 13				[Untitled] [circa 1907-1913] - postcards, mainly from Europe and Turkey while teaching at Robert College
Box 45				"Travels in Europe" 1910-1913 - postcards
Box 14			Shoghi Effendi Letters 1931-1957 - note reads "typed originals without the Guardian's personal notes"
Box 14			Spirit messages 1933, 1941
Box 14			Summaries of books read by Stanwood 1899-1902, undated
Box 14			Translation of Arabic poem undated
Oversize OS 1			"The Travel Lore" Dec 1912-May 1913 - printed commemorative book written by the group of young men who went on an extended European tour through Porter Sargent Travel School
Box 14			Washington Author's Club undated - Stanwood was president
Box 14			Miscellaneous
		Cobb, Sylvanus Jr.
Box 14			Family record from Bible circa 1879
Box 14			Genealogies for family of Sylvanus and Eunice Cobb undated - includes photographs
Box 14			Uncle Seth and the Modern Novel Poem 1913 - galley from Boston Transcript, poem by Sam Walter Foss
		Cobb family, miscellaneous
Box 14			"A Brief History of Tremont Temple [Boston] 1839-1950" undated - booklet
Box 45			Clippings, miscellaneous 1919-1961 (2 folders)
Box 46			Eunice Cobb 1853, 1950-1953 - maiden name Eunice Hale Waite; article and clippings
Box 14			Event programs 1905, 1912, circa 1915. 1969
Box 14			The Female Institute, Oaksville [Massachusetts] 1828 - announcement
Box 14			Genealogy of Stanwood and Cobb families, from notes made by Laura Lillie Cobb
Box 14			Grand Army of the Republic 1907-1910 - annual reunion 1887 (poems); roster 1907, 1910; 46th anniversary of the Siege of Little Washington
			Hotel Tuileries, Boston
Box 14				"Catalogue of the Tuileries, 270 Commonwealth Ave. Boston" 1896 - includes descriptions of paintings by Cyrus and Darius
Box 14				The Hotel: Its Interests and Management Jan 1897 - feature story of the Hotel Tuileries and description of paintings hung there by Darius and Cyrus
Box 14			Norway Liberal Institute, catalog for the fall term 1849
Box 14			Plan for a daily calendar circa 1900 - cards with sayings
Box 14			"2nd Prize Company Drill '99 Lieut. Cobb" medal circa 1899
Box 14			Silhouettes
Box 46			Survey about 'The Cause', with handwritten answers undated
Box 14			"Synopsis of Phrenology; and the Phrenological Developments…" circa 1840

	Photographs
Box 14		Cobb, Cora circa 1895-1900
		Cobb, Cyrus and Darius - photographs of the twins
Box 15			Glass plate positive circa 1870
Box 15			Miscellaneous circa 1855-1900
		Cobb, Darius
Box 15			Daguerreotype circa 1850
Box 15			Daguerreotypes 1861, 1878
Box 15			Glass plate positive 1878
Box 15			Miscellaneous 1864-circa 1910
Box 15		Cobb, Edith circa 1890-1905
Box 15		Cobb, Ernest circa 1910
Box 15		Cobb, Estelle 1900
Box 15		Cobb, Eunice Waite circa 1870
Box 15		Cobb, Frederick W. circa 1905
Box 15		Cobb, Ida circa 1910-1930
Box 15		Cobb, Laura Lillie circa 1880-1916
Box 15		Cobb, Lillie circa 1880, 1960 - Stanwood's eldest sister
		Cobb, Percival circa 1905-1955 - Stanwood's brother
Box 16			Boarding school students - students at his Chevy Chase School
Box 16			Friends
Box 16			Homes in Chevy Chase [MD] and Newton [MA]
Box 16			Illustrations for Troubled Turkey - pictures, mostly taken by Stanwood, in scrapbook (3 folders)
Box 16			Mast Cove Camp [Maine] - negatives
Box 16			Mr. and Mrs. Stanwood Cobb circa 1925, 1967
Box 16			Sargent's Travel School 1912-1913 - photos of Europe with the young men he toured with
Box 16			Trip through Europe 1910-1912
Box 16			Miscellaneous 1899-1970's (3 folders)
Box 16		Cobb, Sylvanus and family circa 1850
Box 16		Cobb, Sylvanus Jr. circa 1885
Box 16		Cobb, Walter circa 1890
Box 16		Family, miscellaneous
Box 16		Distant relatives
Box 16		Frost, Robert, with Ben de Mier Miller 1932
Box 16		Richardson, Captain Spencer 1863 - 44th Massachusetts Infantry, Civil War
Box 16		Unidentified children circa 1880-1920
Box 17		Miscellaneous

	Writings
		Cobb, Cora Stanwood
			God's Wonder World. A Manual for Religious Instruction in Junior Grades, Boston: Beacon Press 1918
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 17			The Queerness of Coffee (article) undated
		Cobb, Cyrus
Box 17			Diary 1877-1880
Box 17			Published material
Oversize OS 2			Published articles 1857-1862 - some are by his brother Darius, some may be written under an alias; various papers, including The Christian Freeman and Family Visiter [sic], which was founded and published by Sylvanus Cobb Sr.
		Cobb, Darius
Box 17			"Adeline Desmond : or the Spy of Newbern. A Story of the War." circa 1865 - makes up the issue of The Novelette, no.94 und
Box 46			Articles - original handwritten (very fragile) and photocopy (4 folders)
Box 46			Articles 1900, undated - miscellaneous
Box 17			Autobiography undated - handwritten journals (2 folders)
Box 17			Diaries vol. 1 1852-1854 (1 folders)
Box 18			Diaries vol. 2-vol. 6 1854-1865 - includes 1862-1863 Civil War diary when Darius was a soldier (5 folders)
Box 19			Diaries vol. 7-vol. 10 1866-1881 (4 folders)
Box 20			Diaries vol. 11-vol. 14 1881-1907 (4 folders)
Box 21			Diaries vol. 15-vol. 16 1907-1919 (2 folders)
Box 21			Diary notes 1879
Box 21			Hymn lyrics [some with musical notation]
Box 46			Letters to the Editor undated
Box 21			Novel, unidentified undated - handwritten (5 folders)
			Poems
Box 21				Handwritten 1856-1872, undated
Box 46				Printed 1905-1918, undated
			Speeches/lectures
Box 22				Colonial circa 1877
Box 22				The growth of American art under Rushin's influence circa 1877
Box 22				How shall Boston keep her art?" 1877
Box 22				Israel Putnam circa 1877
Box 22				[Untitled]
			Speeches / Sermons
Box 22				The kingdom of God is within you circa 1877
Box 22				The vitalizing power of the sacred element in art circa 1877
		Cobb, Emma Lillie
Box 22			Poem on the birth of her niece 1879
		Cobb, Ernest
Box 22			Book reviews circa 1915
		Cobb, Eunice Waite
Box 22			Poems circa 1870
		Cobb, Laura Lillie
Box 22			When the cat's away, the mice will play - handwritten
Box 22			Miscellaneous stories 1912 - handwritten
		Cobb, Percival B.
			The Son of Man: An epic, Bartlett Publishing Co. [as Percival W. Wells] 1916 - includes letter written by Stanwood identifying the author as his younger brother
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 22			The Muse: a birthday poem for Laura Lillie Cobb on her 64th year, April 18, 1910 - printed and ring bound by Estelle Cobb Weed, with commentary from her, in 2006
		Cobb, Stanwood
			Articles
Box 22				Abdul Baha in America 1963 - handwritten
Box 22				Advice to Parents circa 1927 - handwritten and typed notes
Box 22				America's Lofty Destiny circa 1938 - typescript
Box 22				Art and Morality circa 1906
Box 22				Bahai[sic] Education - handwritten draft
Box 22				Baha'I Education in the Future World - typescript
Box 22				Baha'I Ideas of Education - typescript
Box 22				The Biological Aspect of Education - handwritten
Box 22				The Birth of Religion - typescript
Box 22				The Brotherhood of the East and West 1912 - reprinted from Boston Evening Transcript by Orient-Occident Unity, Washington
Box 22				Canoeing on the Charles River - includes untitled fragments and photographs
Box 22				A Chance for Every Child: Quantity Versus Quality Education Dec 1928 - printed in Delaware Parent-Teacher
Box 46				Character in Handwriting - handwritten
Box 22				The Chevy Chase Country Day School Dec 1926 - reprint from Childhood Education
Box 22				The Civilization of the Celestial Empire - handwritten
Box 22				The Civilization that is America circa 1925 - typescript
Box 22				The Classroom Opens a Business Aug 1930 - printed in Nation's Business
Box 22				A Coaching Tour in Devon and Cornwall - typescript
Box 22				Communism in the Early Church - typescript
Box 22				The Continuity of Religion 1936 - in "A World Faith: Studies in the Teachings of Baha'u'llah. A Symposium", New York: Baha'i Publishing Committee
Box 23				Creative Expression in the Arts - handwritten
Box 23				Day of God Nov 1935 - reprint from World Order
Box 23				Death Comes to a Friend 1935 - typescript
Box 23				The Decision of Fate May 1900 - printed in The Dartmouth Literary Monthly
Box 23				Deck Passage in the Orient Apr 1913 - printed in The Illustrated Outdoor World and Recreation
Box 23				Defects of the American novel circa 1904-1907
Box 23				The Difficulties of the Young Party Jan 1912 - printed in The North American Review, with explanatory note card by Stanwood
Box 23				The Early History of the Progressive Education Association circa 1920 - typescript
Box 23				Educating for Tomorrow circa 1920 - typescript
Box 23				An Eskimo Artist circa 1936 - typescript
Box 23				The Eternal Battle Between the Romanticists and the Classicists - typescript
Box 23				Ethics and Aesthetics 1914 - typescript
Box 23				An Evening with Robert Frost at the Cosmos Club - handwritten
Box 23				An Extraordinary Life-Guidance - typescript
Box 23				Food for our Poets - typescript
Box 23				The Founding and Early Organization of the Progressive Education Association - typescript
Box 23				The Future of Education - typescript
Box 23				Gift of the Fairies - handwritten
Box 23				Goals to be Reached - typescript with corrections
Box 46				The Growth of the Short Story circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 46				High School circa 1920 - handwritten rough draft
Box 23				Hinduism Creates a Civilization 1971 - handwritten draft
Box 23				History of the Progressive Movement in the United States circa 1920 - typescript
Box 23				Homoculture - alternate subtitles: The Education System if the Bahai World State; Principles of Baha'i Education
Box 23				How to Loaf and Succeed - handwritten
Box 23				How Young Should a Child Go to School? - typescript
Box 23				The Inferiority Complex: Its Causes and Cure - typescript
Box 23				Is Your Child a Genius? - typescript
Box 23				Knowledge is my Province - typescript
Box 23				A Land Debarred to Women [early 1900s] - printed in Harper's Bazaar
Box 23				The Law of Change - handwritten
Box 23				Learning to Teach - handwritten
Box 23				Life and Death - typescript (2 copies)
Box 23				Life and its Problems - handwritten draft, typescript
Box 23				The Lord's Prayer 1906 - typescript
Box 23				Man's Illuminatable Progress circa 1936 - handwritten draft, typescript
Box 46				Mardi-Gras for Turks 1 Apr 1898 - printed in Boston Evening Transcript,
Box 23				The Meaning of Evil - typescript with corrections
Box 23				Men, Don't Be Ashamed to Weep - handwritten
Box 23				The Miracle of Shakespeare - typescript
Box 23				My Most Unforgettable Character - typescript
Box 23				The New Education Fellowship circa 1920 - typescript
Box 24				A New Movement in Education Feb 1921 - reprint from Atlantic Monthly
Box 24				The New Patriotism - typescripts, one with corrections
Box 24				Newspapers circa 1905 - typescript
Box 24				Our Faults - handwritten
Box 24				Our Friends Over There - handwritten
Box 24				The Philosophic Background of China - typescripts, some with corrections
Box 24				The Place of Bret Harte in American Literature Apr 1902 - handwritten draft, printed version from The Dartmouth Magazine
Box 24				Poor Billionaires - typescript
Box 24				Prayer is a New Dimension - typescript
Box 24				Preparing for an Education Jan 1923 - printed in Progressive Education Association Bulletin no.15
Box 24				The Prisoner Who Freed Mankind - typescripts
Box 24				Quality Education - handwritten, with typed introduction
Box 24				Religion and Science - handwritten
Box 24				Religiosity versus Spirituality - handwritten
Box 24				Reminiscences of George Innes by Darius Cobb - reprint from The Art Quarterly, summer 1963 1963 - article by Stanwood commenting on, and including, his father Darius's original article of the same name
Box 24				Science to Serve Man - typescript
Box 24				Science Thinking
Box 24				Shakespeare as Acted by Teenagers - typescripts
Box 24				The 'Simple Life' in the Orient Nov 1912 - printed in New England Magazine
Box 24				Some Thoughts on Culture - handwritten and typescript
Box 24				The Spirit of Joy - handwritten
Box 24				The Spirituality of East and West May 1913 - printed in The Open Court
Box 24				The Story of the Progressive Schools - handwritten
Box 24				Superficial Americans, includes folder on research materials and notes circa 1905 - typescript (2 folders)
Box 24				Teaching Comp[osition] - handwritten
Box 24				Theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven - typescript
Box 24				Those Center-Stage Children - typescript
Box 24				Those Remarkable Twins - typescript
Box 24				Train Childern to Obey - typescript
Box 24				Tramps About Constantinople circa 1910 - typescript; includes photographs
Box 24				Travel Schools for the American Boy circa 1912 - typescript
Box 46				Traveling for an Education 31 Jul 1913 - printed in The Congregationalist and Christian World
Box 24				A Tribute of Sarah Farmer - typescript
Box 24				The Unexplored Regions of the Mind - typescript
Box 24				The Unspeakable Turk 26 Aug 1908 - typescript and clipping of article published in Boston Evening Transcript
Box 24				A Vicarious Sacrifice - handwritten
Box 24				La Venidera Civilizacion Mundial 1960 - Spanish translation of 'The Future of World Civilization' published by the Baha'I in Panama
Box 24				The Way of America circa 1944 - typescript
Box 25				The Way to Progress and Happiness 1933 - printed in Progress Magazine
Box 25				Well-living at Vassar - typescript
Box 25				What is the Matter with Our Schools? - handwritten
Box 25				What is Progressive Education - typescript
Box 25				What Makes a Person Creative? - handwritten
Box 25				What the World Wants - typescript
Box 25				Why Children Balk at Study - typescript outline
Box 25				Women and Genius - typescript draft
				Miscellaneous
Box 25					"How to Think" - research materials and notes
Box 25					Life is interesting - proposed column
Box 25					On creating world peace and unity - handwritten
Box 25					on Education
Box 25					on Europe 1912-1913 - handwritten and typescript; written for Newton Times, but only 1 was published (9 folders)
Box 46					on Europe 1912-1913 - handwritten and typescript; written for Newton Times, but only 1 was published (1 folders)
Box 26					on Intuition
Box 26					on progressive education - 5 articles
Box 26					on Turkey (2 folders)
Box 26					"unpublished" - 3 articles
Box 26					"written at the bequest of Ahmad Sohrab" 1964 - galley proofs of Baha'I related items
			Book Reviews
Box 26				Bel Ami and the Choir Invisible - handwritten
Box 26				Boston Evening Transcript 1905-1907 - pasted in scrapbook
Box 46				Boston Evening Transcript 1905-1907 - loose clippings
Box 26				Miscellaneous
			Books
Box 26				The Achievement of Living - typescript outline
Box 26				America's Quest for Wealth - typescript
Box 26				The Art of Palmistry [written as 'Pamistry' on title page] - handwritten, originally in 3-ring binder (2 folders)
Box 26				The Art of Thinking - chapter outline and prelimanary plans for unpublished book
Box 27				Asia in Medievalism circa 1964 - handwritten notes for a book that was never published
				Character: a Sequence in Spirtual Psychology
					Published editions, Avalon Press 1938, 1971 (2 volumes)
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 27					Book reviews 1938
Box 27					Chapter outline and preface
Box 27					Outline 1935
Box 27				The Cultural Awakening of America - typescript
				Discovering the Genius Within You
Box 46					Research materials, includes notes and clippings (3 folders)
Box 47					Research materials, includes notes and clippings (3 folders)
Box 47					Reviews 1932 - mostly clippings
Box 27					Outline, preliminary
Box 27					Introduction draft and notes
Box 27					Draft - handwritten (15 folders)
Box 28					Order forms
					Published edition, John Day Company 1932 - inscribed by Stanwood
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
				The Donkey or the Elephant
Box 28					Printed edition, Avalon Press 1951 - booklet
				The Essential Mysticism
					Published edition, Four Seas Company 1918
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 28					Reviews 1919
				Harmony
Box 28					Notes, research materials, ideas for an unpublished book
				Homoculture
Box 28					Notes, draft sections, and materials for book idea - handwritten and typescripts (2 folders)
				The Importance of Creativity
Box 28					Draft - typescript
				Islamic Contributions to Society
Box 28					Notes, research materials, primitive drafts (2 folders)
Box 28					[Draft A] - handwritten first draft, titled "The Drama of Islam"
Box 28					[Draft B] - typescript, titled "The Flowering of Islam"
Box 28					[Draft C] - typescript (2 folders)
Box 28					[Draft D] - typescript (2 folders)
Box 29					[Draft E] - typescript and handwritten,titled "Contributions of Islamic Science to World Civilization" (2 folders)
Box 29					[Draft F] - typescript final draft
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1963
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 29					Marketing quotes
				The Jade Necklace of Lin San Kwei
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1958
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
				The Joy of Life
Box 29					Draft 1904-1905 - bound typescript; unpublished
				Life on a New Dimension
Box 29					Chapter synopses - typescript
				Life with Nayan
Box 29					Draft - handwritten and typescript
				Loves of Shelly
Box 29					Draft - handwritten (3 folders)
Box 30					Draft - handwritten (11 folders)
Box 31					Draft - handwritten (1 folders)
				The Magnificent Partnership
					Published edition, Vantage Press 1954
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
				Man in the Universe
Box 31					Notes, research materials, draft pages
Box 31					[Draft A] 'Original script'
Box 31					[Draft B] 'Section I recopied' - handwritten, with random pagination (4 folders)
Box 31					[Draft C] - handwritten and typescript, with random pagination (2 folders)
Box 31					[Draft D] - handwritten and typescript, with random pagination (2 folders)
Box 32					[Draft E] - handwritten and typescript, with random pagination (2 folders)
Box 32					[Draft F] - typescript
Box 32					Chapter drafts - handwritten and typescript (19 folders)
Box 33					Chapter drafts - handwritten and typescript (8 folders)
Box 33					Miscellaneous pages - typescript
				Man's Search for God
Box 33					Draft - typescript
				New Horizons for the Child
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1934
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 33					Reviews 1934
				New Leaven : Progressive Education and it's Effects Upon the Child and Society
Box 33					Appendix material (5 folders)
Box 33					Research materials, including notes (2 folders)
					Published edition, John Day Company 1928
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
				Persia's Contributions to Civilization
Box 34					Chapter outline for unwritten book
				Poems to Live by
Box 34					Draft poems - handwritten and typescript (3 folders)
				Portals to Genius
					Research materials and notes - holo and ts circa 1934
				The Power of Prayer
					Draft - typescript
				The Real Turk
					Published edition, The Pilgrim Press 1914 - inscribed to his mother
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 34					Reviews 1914-1916
Box 34				Sage of the Sacred Mountain
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1953
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 34					Bookcover
				Security for a Failing World
Box 34					Excerpts - condensed
Box 34					Reviews scrapbook 1935
				Simla
Box 34					[Draft A] - handwritten
Box 34					[Draft B] - handwritten (2 folders)
					Published edition, The Cornhill Company 1919 - with some annotations
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 34					Reviews 1919-1920
				Symbols of America
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1946
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 34					Reviews 1947
				Those Remarkable Twins
Box 34					Draft - handwritten and typescript (2 folders)
Box 35					Draft - handwritten and typescript (1 folders)
				Tomorrow and Tomorrow
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1951
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
				Trouble: How to Meet it - Better Still - How to Avoid it
Box 35					[Draft A] - handwritten
Box 35					[Draft B] - typescript
				Use Your Mind
Box 35					Outline - typescript
				What is Genius? [alt title: The importance of creativity] - much of this material was not in fact used in the final book
Box 35					Research materials and notes (10 folders)
Box 36					Research materials and notes (2 folders)
Box 36					Chapter drafts (3 folders)
Box 36					Miscellaneous
				What is God?
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1955
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
				What is Love?
Box 36					Draft
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1957
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
				What is Man?
					Published edition, Avalon Press 1952
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
				What is Wrong with our Schools?
Box 36					Draft - typescript (2 folders)
				What the World Needs Today
Box 36					Draft - handwritten (2 folders)
				Wings of the Spirit
Box 36					Notes (2 folders)
Box 37					Notes (1 folders)
Box 37					[Draft A] - handwritten (3 folders)
Box 37					[Draft B] - typescript (3 folders)
Box 37					"Manuscript of Wings of the Spirit" - handwritten and typescript, appears to be early draft
				[Wu Ming Fu series]
Box 37					Miscellaneous drafts and notes (3 folders)
					Patterns in jade of Wu Ming Fu, Avalon Press 1935
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
					The way of life of Wu Ming Fu, Avalon Press 1942
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
					The wisdom of Wu Ming Fu, Henry Holt and Company 1931
						Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 37					Marketing material
Box 37					Reviews 1932, 1959
				Miscellaneous
					Chapter summaries for book on mass culture circa 1940 - typescript
Box 47					Draft on Education circa 1930-1935 - handwritten
Box 38					Ideas for novels
Box 38					Miscellaneous chapters
Box 47					Research materials and notes for book on science (3 folders)
			College notebooks
				English (2 folders)
			Diaries - mostly bound volumes
Box 38				Diaries 1893 (2 volumes)
Box 38				Diaries 1895 (2 folders)
Box 38				Diaries 1896
Box 38				Diaries 1898-1899 (3 volumes)
Box 38				Diaries 1900
Box 38				Diaries 1901
Box 39				Diaries 1902
Box 39				Diaries 1903
Box 39				Diaries 1903-1904
Box 39				Diaries 1904
Box 39				Diaries circa 1904-1910
Box 39				Diaries 1909
Box 39				Diaries 1909-1910
Box 39				Diaries 1910-1911
			Editorials
Box 39				Baha'i Magazine Oct 1932
Box 39				Miscellaneous ideas for editorials
			Forewords
Box 39				Mystic songs of fire and flame, by K. Arthur-Behenna, Boston: The Cornhill Company, 1921 1921 - printed editions, inscribed to Stanwood
			Letters to the Editor
Box 39				Miscellaneous 1958
			Pamphlets
Box 39				Miscellaneous 1912, 1932, undated (4 items)
			Plays
Box 39				Black is white; First Thanksgiving - two plays written for Cobb's students at Chevy Chase School to act in
Box 40				First Thanksgiving - written for Cobb's students at Chevy Chase School to act in (2 folders)
Box 40				Various plays - written for Cobb's students at Chevy Chase School to act in (2 folders)
Box 40				Miscellaneous - short plays, plot outlines
Box 40				Newton: a poetic appreciation May 1904 - printed in National Magazine
Box 40				Pilgrimage of the soul circa 1960 - various drafts, handwritten and typescript (2 folders)
Box 40				"Verse and Prose" 1898-1899 - notebook
Box 40				Miscellaneous "Early" circa 1900
Box 40				Miscellaneous circa 1907-1915
Box 40				Miscellaneous
			Research papers
Box 40				Aesthethics circa 1903 - handwritten outline
Box 40				The development of poetic style circa 1904 - Dartmouth College thesis
Box 40				History of Communism 1907 - Harvard paper
Box 40				Modern yypes of mysticism
Box 40				Nietzsche circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				The world order of Marcus Aurelius 1906 - thesis, Harvard; handwritten and typescript
			Sermons
Box 41				Cease from anger and forsake wrath circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				The end of desire circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				The God we worship circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				The joy of religion circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				The liberty of the sons of God circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 47				The minister: First of all a citizen circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				Motives for conduct circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				Religion circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				The religion of feelings and the religion of action circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				Untitled circa 1906 - handwritten
Box 41				Drafts and notes
			Short stories
Box 41				Arillo's Ring circa 1904-1907 - typescript
Box 41				The Burning of Old Dartmouth May 1904 - printed in The Dartmouth Magazine
Box 41				The Charm of Bad Gastein - typescript with postcards
Box 41				A Country Wedding circa 1904-1907 - typescript
Box 41				The Death of a Nurse - handwritten
Box 41				Fame and Immortality circa 1904-1907 - typescript
Box 41				The Fortunes of Haroun - typescript
Box 41				Judartha circa 1904-1907 - handwritten and typescript
Box 41				The Project of Mr. Ashley circa 1904-1907 - typescript
Box 41				The Valley of Children - typescript
Box 41				Virful Cu Dor circa 1904-1907 - typescript
Box 41				Untitled circa 1904-1907
			Speeches and lectures
Box 41				Beginning of Life circa 1935 - handwritten
Box 41				The coming world civilization
Box 41				The Green Acre Story [plus 2 others] 1958 - typescripts for 3 stories
Box 41				Learning to think circa 1938 - handwritten
Box 41				Lecture on Progressive Education - handwritten and typescript
Box 42				Lectures given at Davison [Michigan] Baha'i summer school (8), ts 1936 - typescript
Box 42				Lectures given at Penn State on education 1929 - notes and research materials
Box 42				Man's spiritual life - typescript
Box 42				The Philosophy of Leadership - handwritten and typescript
Box 42				The Place of Sound in Poetry and Literature - notes and research materials
Box 42				President's Address circa 1925 - annotated typescript
Box 42				Primitive Religion - notes
Box 42				Salutatorian address, Newton High School 1899 - handwritten
Box 42				Security for a Failing World 1936 - radio address, ABC Network; typescript
Box 42				Universal Free Eduucation - handwritten
Box 42				What is Genius? 1954 - delivered at the Washington Literary Society; typescript
Box 42				Where is America's bourgeois culture leading to? - author's club talk, holo
Box 42				Miscellaneous - notes and research materials for speech on education
Box 42				Miscellaneous 1930 - talk given at Louisville on college education
			Miscellaneous
Box 42				"Education" - notebook
Box 42				Fragments (3 folders)
Box 47				Fragments (1 folders)
Box 42				"Islam" - notebook
Box 42				[Notebook] circa 1905
Box 42				"Notes for lectures and A Guide to Successful Living" - notebook
Box 42				Notes from interview with Abdul Baha 1908 - handwritten
Box 43				"Notes on Creativeness and Religion and Education" [circa 1935?] - notebook
Box 43				"Notes on religion and philosophy" 1940's - written for lectures given in the 1940s (2 folders)
Box 43				Notes on Robert Frost
Box 43				"Notes on Spiritual Themes" circa 1940 - notebook
Box 43				Notes, miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 43				"Plans for a Series of Articles" circa 1940 - notebook
Box 43				Research material and notes for youth group studying Bahi'I 1935
Box 47				Research materials and notes on education (2 folders)
Box 43				Research materials and notes on education and culture
Box 43				Research materials and notes on creating mass culture
Box 44				Research materials and notes on growing home culture
Box 44				Resarch materials and notes on reading and culture
Box 44				Resarch materials and notes on religion
Box 44				Research material and notes on Sylvanus Cobb Jr. and Sr.
Box 44				The Sayings of Brother Aloysius, the Medieval Mystic, freely rendered frm the Latin - typescript
Box 44				Unpublished material
Box 47				Unpublished scripts, plans of books, literary scraps 1964 - handwritten
		Cobb, Sylvanus Sr. [1798-1866]
Box 44			Article: Cheerfully persevere in duty, fear not for the trials of the earth circa 1841
			Book: A compend of Christian divinity 1846
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 44			Diaries 1825-1839 (3 folders)
		Cobb, Sylvanus Jr. [1823-1887]
			Book: The King's Talisman, M.A. Donohue [1900]
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 44			Poem, "For Laura Dear" - marriage proposal in verse circa 1870
Box 44			Speech description 1862
		Writings by others
			Vedder, Elihu: Doubt and Other Things, Porter Sargent 1922 - inscribed to Stanwood Cobb by Porter Sargentof Sarget's Travel School for Boys
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer toLibraries Search to locate this item.
Box 44			Miscellaneous (2 folders)

Return to top