Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Cook, Howard Norton, 1901-1980
Title:	Howard Norton Cook Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1866-1979
Quantity:	12.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence (1928-1972); artwork (original watercolors and reproductions); writings by Cook (articles, essays, reminiscences about the Taos community, statements and notes on Cook's artistic philosophy); and memorabilia, including financial and legal documents, and printed material (articles, reviews, clippings about Cook, exhibition announcements, invitations, and catalogs). Correspondents include artists Ernest L. Blumenschein, Victor Candell, Jean Charlot, Fred Conway, Russell Cowles, Andrew Dasburg, Lamar Dodd, Ernest Fiene, Lez Haas, John Haley, Ward Lockwood, Henry Lee McFee, B.J.O. Nordfeldt, Arthur Osver, Rudolph Ruzicka, Millard Sheets, and Carl Zigrosser. Other correspondents include Margaret Anderson, Joseph Blumenthal, John Hodgdon Bradley, J. Frank Dobie, and Lenore Marshall. Extensive correspondence relating to Cook's mural work includes that of the Mayo Clinic, the U. S. Post Office, the U.S. Public Buildings Administration, and the U.S. Treasury Department.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

American painter, illustrator, muralist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1866 to 1972, the Howard Norton Cook Papers comprises correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia of the American illustrator, muralist, and painter (1901-1980). The collection not only illuminates the personal life and professional career of the artist, but also reflects the multiculturalism of the the Southwest and the growth of the Taos art community.

The Correspondence-subject Files (Boxes 1-9) encompasses family and general correspondence, including both incoming business and personal letters and a number of outgoing holograph drafts, as well as photographs, reports, and printed material. Spanning 1928 through the 1960s, letters between Howard Cook and his wife, artist Barbara Latham, together with a small amount of printed material (artwork reproductions and exhibition catalogs) relating to her career, constitute the bulk of the family material. The remainder of the Correspondence Subject Files comprises letters of artists (Ernest L. Blumenschein, Victor Candell, Jean Charlot, Frederick Conway, Russell Cowles, Andrew Dasburg, Lamar Dodd, Ernest Fiene, Lez Haas, John Haley, Ward Lockwood, Henry Lee McFee, B. J. O. Nordfeldt, Arthur Osver, Rudolph Ruzicka, Millard Sheets, Carl Zigrosser); academic institutions (Dartmouth College, San Jose State College, University of Hawaii, University of Illinois, University of Texas, Washington University); and agents and private galleries (Raymond Burr Galleries, Grand Central Art Galleries, Grand Central Moderns, Frank K. M. Rehn, Rosequist Galleries, E. Weyhe). Correspondence also includes that with art institutions and museums (Art Association of Newport, Art Institute of Chicago, Associated American Artists, Baltimore Museum of Art, Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center, Dallas Museum of Fine Arts, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, Museum of New Mexico, Philbrook Art Center); authors (Margaret Anderson of Common Ground, John Hodgdon Bradley, J. Frank Dobie, Lenore Marshall); clients and patrons (Joseph Blumenthal of Spiral Press, Mayo Clinic, R. Gray Winnan, Woodcut Society); and professional organizations (American Artists Group, American Institute of Graphic Arts, Artists Equity Association, Associated American Artists, Society of American Graphic Artists). Materials relating to the production of Cook's mural paintings for the post office in Pittsburgh and the courthouse and post office in San Antonio (U. S. Post Office, U. S. Public Buildings Administration, U. S. Treasury Department) demonstrate federal support for the arts during the Depression through the early 1940s. Additional documentation concerning the relationship between the arts and government may be found among the material relating to the U. S. Office for Emergency Management and the U. S. Office of Civilian Defense.

Original sketches, watercolor drawings, woodcut and lithographic proofs as well as reproductions of Cook's graphic work and paintings constitute Artwork (Box 10). Original work includes drawings for an unpublished Book of the Month Club edition of Jack London's The Call of the Wild; drawings and page proofs for Cook's children's book, Sammi's Army; watercolor drawings for The Reader's Digest; a self portrait sketch; and a number of sketches for Cook's San Antonio frescoes. Reproductions include periodical illustrations arranged by title of publication in which they appeared; a portfolio of murals at the Mayo Clinic, for which Cook contributed "Man's Responsibility to Others;" and miscellaneous graphic work and paintings arranged by title.

Comprised of published and unpublished material, Cook's Writings (Box 11) are arranged alphabetically by format. They include articles, a draft essay on artist Ernest L. Blumenschein, inventories of Cook's work (some with prices), reminiscences about Taos, the transcript of a speech delivered at a retrospective exhibition of Andrew Dasburg's work, statements and notes on Cook's artistic philosophy, and miscellaneous notes, including those for the Mayo Clinic mural project.

Financial and legal material, identification and membership cards, photographs, and printed material compose Memorabilia (Boxes 12-19). Printed material includes articles, reviews, and clippings about Cook (1923-1965), exhibition announcements, invitations, and catalogs (1920s-1969) for Cook's group and one man shows, and miscellaneous periodical issues and reports. Arranged by institution, there are also a number of catalogs which Cook collected for exhibitions in which he did not participate.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Part of this collection is also available on microfilm.

See also the Aaron Bohrod Papers.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Howard Norton Cook Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Howard Cook, 1964-1972. Kurtz letters gift of the Petrie Institute of Western American Art, 2009.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: TG/KM
Date: Aug 1993
Revision history: 2 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 15 Mar 2006 - updated subject heading names (MRC); 17 Jul 2009 - Kurtz additions (MRC); 9 Jan 2012 - microfilm added to inventory (MBD); 18 Jun 2012 - LCSH updates (MRC); 18 Sep 2012 - box 7/8 corrections (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Part of this collection is also available on microfilm.

	Family Correspondence Subject Files
		Cook, Barbara Latham (wife)
Box 1			1928-1950s (14 folders)
Box 2			1960s, undated (3 folders)
Box 2			Printed material
Box 2		Cook, F. Raymond (brother) and family 1916, 1921, undated
Box 2		Cook, Frank and "Mother" (parents) 1920, 1921, 1939, undated
Box 2		Dewar, Loretta Cook (sister) and family 1920-1972, undated
Box 2		Norton grandparents 1866 - undated correspondence; memorabilia
Box 2		Perry, Marian and James (cousins) 1964-1971, undated
Box 2		Miscellaneous relatives

	Correspondence Subject Files
Box 3		A
Box 3		Abbott, Gordon C. 1941-1942
Box 3		Adams, Kenneth M. and Hilda 1939-1963
Box 3		Adler, Elmer 1941-1950
Box 3		Adler, Samuel 1951
Box 3		Albany Institute of History and Art 1952-1958
Box 3		Albright Art Gallery (Buffalo, N.Y.) 1952-1957
Box 3		Allen, James E. 1945
Box 3		Allidi, Peter 1945
Box 3		American Artists Group 1937-1945
Box 3		American Institute of Graphic Arts 1944, 1947
Box 3		Anderson, Donald B. and Patricia 1968-1971
		Anderson, Margaret
			See Common Ground.
Box 3		Arms, John Taylor 1941-1953, undated
Box 3		Art Association of Newport 1953-1958
Box 3		Art Center in La Jolla 1951-1952
Box 3		Art Institute of Chicago 1937-1956
Box 3		Artists Equity Association 1951-1955, undated
Box 3		Associated American Artists 1939-1949, undated
		Atlanta Art Association
			See Atlanta Art Institute.
Box 3		Atlanta Art Institute 1950-1953
Box 3		Audubon Artists 1945-1946 - printed material
Box 3		B
Box 3		Baltimore Museum of Art 1950-1952
		Berninghaus, Oscar E. and Winifred
			See Taos Arts Association.
Box 3		Birmingham Museum of Art 1952-1954
Box 3		Blake, Nancy J. 1969-1970, undated (2 folders)
Box 3		Bloch, E. Maurice 1959
Box 3		Blumenschein, Ernest L. 1948-1952
Box 3		Blumenthal, Joseph 1952-1972, undated
Box 3		Book of the Month Club 1945-1949
			See also Artwork: Original: Drawings: Watercolors.
Box 3		Boston Public Library 1951-1956
Box 3		Bradley, John Hodgdon and Katharine 1947-1958
		Breeskin, Adelyn D.
			See Baltimore Museum of Art.
Box 3		Brooklyn Museum undated
Box 3		Brooks Memorial Art Gallery (Memphis, Tenn.) 1952
Box 3		Browne, Byron 1955
Box 3		[W. S.] Budworth & Sons 1940-1953
Box 3		[Raymond] Burr Galleries (Beverly Hills, Calif.) 1962-1964
Box 3		Butler Art Institute (Youngstown, Ohio) 1952-1953
		Bywaters, Jerry
			See Dallas Museum of Fine Arts.
Box 4		C
Box 4		Calfee, William H. 1952
Box 4		California Palace of the Legion of Honor 1947, 1957
Box 4		California School of Fine Arts 1952
Box 4		California Water Color Society 1941, 1944
		Canade, Laura
			See E. Weyhe.
Box 4		Candell, Victor 1951, undated
Box 4		Carnegie Institute 1941-1953
Box 4		Carnegie Institute of Technology 1948-1958
		Chappell, Warren
			See Book of the Month Club.
Box 4		Charlot, Jean 1948-1956
Box 4		Chavez, Edward A. 1956, 1960, 1964
Box 4		City Art Museum of St. Louis 1952-1962
Box 4		Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center 1941-1963
Box 4		Columbia Museum of Art (Columbia, S.C.) 1953
Box 4		Common Ground 1941
Box 4		Conway, Frederick undated
Box 4		Couse, William Percy and Elizabeth 1942-1972
Box 4		Cowie Galleries (Los Angeles, Calif.) 1948-1950
Box 4		Cowles, Russell 1946-1951
		Craft, John Richard
			See Columbia Museum of Art.
Box 4		[El] Crepusculo 1952-1959, undated
Box 4		Cudworth, James R. 1963-1964
Box 4		Currier Gallery of Art (Manchester, N.H.) 1941, 1953
Box 4		D
Box 4		Dallas Museum of Fine Arts 1940-1960
Box 4		Dallas Print Society 1941-1942
Box 4		Dartmouth College 1952-1958
Box 4		Dasburg, Andrew 1955-1971
Box 4		Deines, E. Hubert 1942
Box 4		Denver Art Museum 1947-1960
Box 4		De Schulthess, Amalia M. 1956-1970
Box 4		Des Moines Art Center 1952
Box 4		Devree, Howard undated
Box 4		[M. H.] De Young Memorial Museum (San Francisco) 1951-1952
Box 4		Dike, Phil 1952
Box 4		Dobie, J. Frank 1934-1964
Box 4		Dodd, Lamar and Mary 1950-1970
Box 4		Dows, Olin 1941, undated
			See also United States. Office of Civilian Defense.
Box 4		E
Box 4		Eichenberg, Fritz 1953-1955
Box 4		Ellerbe and Company 1951-1955
			See also Mayo Clinic.
Box 4		F
Box 4		Fiene, Ernest 1950-1957
Box 4		Fine Arts Gallery of San Diego 1941, 1952
		Fisher, Reginald
			See Museum of New Mexico.
		[La] Fonda Art Gallery
			See Karavas, Saki.
Box 4		Ford Foundation 1958-1960
Box 4		Fort Worth Art Association 1940-1941
		Fowler, Alfred
			See Woodcut Society.
Box 4		G
Box 4		Gamble, Edwin F. undated
Box 4		Georgia Museum of Art 1952
Box 4		Gonzalez, Xavier 1952, undated
Box 5		Grand Central Art Galleries (New York, N.Y.) 1950-1968, undated
			See also Grand Central Moderns (New York, N.Y.).
Box 5		Grand Central Art Galleries Yearbooks 1952, 1953, 1955, 1957, 1958-1963 (3 folders)
Box 5		Grand Central Moderns (New York, N.Y.) 1950-1964, undated (6 folders)
			See also Grand Central Art Galleries (New York, N.Y.).
Box 5		[John Simon] Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1931-1961
Box 5		Gundlach, Waldo L. 1954-1956, undated
Box 5		H
Box 5		Haas, Lez 1950, 1965, undated
Box 5		Haley, John and Monica 1948-1959
Box 5		Hallmark Art Award 1949-1950
		Heintzelman, Arthur W.
			See Boston Public Library.
		High Museum School of Art
			See Atlanta Art Institute.
		Hogan, James Denton
			See University of Illinois.
Box 5		Horgan, Paul 1942
Box 5		Hougland, Willard and Georgine 1941-1942
Box 5		Hubbard, Bess undated
Box 6		I
Box 6		J
		James, William
			See Museum of Fine Arts (Boston).
Box 6		Johnson, J. Theodore and Bobbie 1948
Box 6		Jonson, Raymond 1956
Box 6		Joslyn Memorial Art Museum (Omaha, Neb.) 1952
Box 6		K
Box 6		Kansas State Federation of Art 1940-1941
Box 6		Karavas, Saki 1953-1971
Box 6		Kennedy & Company 1944-1952, undated
Box 6		Kent, Norman 1945
Box 6		[M.] Knoedler & Co., Inc. 1944, 1946
Box 6		Korn, Ann and Karl 1955, undated
Box 6		Kozuszek, Larry and Jane 1970-1971
Box 6		Kuniyoshi, Yasuo and Sara 1950
Box 6		Kurtz, William C. and Alma 1964-1979
Box 6		L
Box 6		Library of Congress 1946-1952
Box 6		Lockwood, Ward 1940-1959
Box 6		Luyber, Joseph 1950
Box 6		M
Box 6		McFee, Henry Lee and Eleanor 1950-1953, undated
Box 6		Marshall, Lenore G. 1955-1964
Box 6		Mayo Clinic 1952-1955
			See also Ellerbe and Company; Artwork: Reproductions: Murals at Mayo Clinic.
Box 6		Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.) 1941, 1950-1953
Box 6		Miller, George C. 1953
Box 6		Minneapolis Institute of Arts 1950, undated
Box 6		Mission Gallery (Taos, N.M.) 1967-1968
Box 6		Montclair Art Museum 1952-1953
Box 6		Morang, Dorothy 1964
		Mosman, Warren T.
			See Ellerbe and Company.
Box 6		Mozley, Loren undated
Box 6		Museum of Fine Arts (Boston) 1937, 1957
Box 6		Museum of Fine Arts of Houston 1953-1954
Box 6		Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.) 1941-1952
Box 6		Museum of New Mexico 1951-1961, undated
Box 6		N
Box 6		Nagler, Fred 1951
Box 6		National Academy of Design 1944-1958, undated
Box 6		[William Rockhill] Nelson Gallery of Art (Kansas City, Mo.) 1952
Box 6		New Britain Institute Art Museum (New Britain, Conn.) 1953-1957
Box 6		Nordfeldt, B. J. O. and Emily 1949-1956, undated
Box 7		O
		Ogg, Oscar
			See Book of the Month Club.
Box 7		Osver, Arthur 1950-1972
Box 7		P
Box 7		Paradise, Phil undated
Box 7		Pearson, Ralph M. 1939, 1950
Box 7		Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts 1946, 1949, 1952
Box 7		Philadelphia Art Alliance 1952
Box 7		Philadelphia Water Color Club 1947-1949
Box 7		Philbrook Art Center (Tulsa, Okla.) 1947-1954
Box 7		Phillips, Bert G. 1946, 1949
Box 7		Princeton Print Club 1941-1942
Box 7		Print Club (Philadelphia) 1946-1952
Box 7		Quick, Marion undated
Box 7		R
Box 7		Rabow, Alexandre and Rose 1941-1956
Box 7		Reed, Doel 1952
Box 7		Refregier, Anton 1953
Box 7		[Frank K. M.] Rehn, Inc. 1944-1950, undated
		Roberts, Colette
			See Grand Central Art Galleries (New York, N.Y.) ; Grand Central Moderns (New York, N.Y.).
Box 7		Roberts, George 1962-1964
Box 7		Rochester Art Center 1954-1955
Box 7		Rood, John and Dorothy 1960
Box 7		Rosequist Galleries (Tucson, Ariz.) 1957-1964
Box 7		Roswell Museum and Art Center (Roswell, N.M.) 1952-1971, undated
Box 7		Rotunda Gallery, City of Paris (San Francisco, Calif.) 1948
Box 7		Rubenstein, Lewis 1951, 1964
Box 7		Rusnell, W. A. 1971
Box 7		Ruzicka, Rudolph 1944-1945
Box 7		Ryder, Worth 1948
Box 7		S
Box 7		San Jose State College 1948
Box 7		Santa Barbara Museum of Art 1949-1952
Box 7		Schneider, Carolyn A. 1953-1962, undated
Box 7		Schooley, Elmer 1951-1957
Box 7		Schorre, Charles 1971, undated
Box 7		Schumann, Sonia 1963, undated
Box 7		Scripps College 1950-1953
Box 7		Seth, Jean 1971, undated
Box 7		Sheets, Millard and Mary 1952-1954
Box 7		Simon, Sidney undated
		Slusser, Jean Paul
			See University of Michigan Museum of Art.
Box 7		[George Walter Vincent] Smith Art Museum (Springfield, Mass.) 1952-1953
		Society of American Graphic Artists, Inc.
			See Arms, John Taylor.
		Spruce, Everett
			See University of Texas.
Box 7		Standard Oil Company 1946
Box 7		[Edward] Stern and Company Incorporated 1951-1952
		Spiral Press
			See Blumenthal, Joseph.
Box 7		Stewart, Albert and Hoppy 1951, undated
Box 7		Stites, Raymond S. and Margaret 1948-1964
Box 7		Stone, Justin 1963-1964, undated
Box 7		Syracuse Museum of Fine Arts 1952, 1957
Box 7		T
Box 7		Taos Arts Association 1963-1971, undated
Box 7		Taos News 1951-1963, undated
Box 7		Thatcher, Madelaine 1951-1955, undated
Box 7		Thomas, Kenneth 1951, undated
		Tupperware Art Fund
			See Fiene, Ernest.
Box 7		U
Box 7		United States Department of State 1946
		United States. Federal Works Agency. Public Buildings Administration
			See United States. Public Buildings Administration.
Box 7		United States. Office for Emergency Management 1941-1942
Box 7		United States. Office of Civilian Defense 1941-1942
Box 7		United States. Post Office 1938-1941
			See also United States. Public Buildings Administration; United States. Treasury Department.
Box 8		United States. Public Buildings Administration 1939-1942, undated (2 folders)
			See also United States. Post Office; United States. Treasury Department.
Box 8		United States. Public Buildings Administration. Bulletin Section of Fine Arts, Public Buildings Administration no. 20, 22-24 1939-1941
Box 8		United States. Treasury Department 1935-1939, 1942, 1945, undated (2 folders)
			See also United States. Post Office ; United States. Public Buildings Administration.
Box 8		United States. Treasury Department Art Projects. Bulletin no. 10, 11, 13, 18, 19 1936-1939
Box 8		United States. War Department 1945-1947
Box 8		University of Hawaii 1949, 1953
Box 8		University of Illinois 1951-1952, undated
Box 8		University of Michigan Museum of Art 1947-1957
Box 8		University of Texas 1962-1964
			See also Lockwood, Ward.
Box 8		V
		Valvo, Ninfa
			See [M. H.] De Young Memorial Museum.
Box 8		Van Veen, Stuyvesant 1971-1972, undated
Box 8		W
Box 8		Washington University (St. Louis) 1954-1955
Box 8		Watson, Forbes 1938-1946
			See also United States. Treasury Department.
Box 8		E. Weyhe 1935-1943, undated
			See also Zigrosser, Carl.
Box 8		Whitney Museum of American Art (New York, N.Y.) 1940, 1942, 1951
Box 8		Whyte, James 1940-1942
Box 8		Wichita Art Association 1947-1948
Box 8		Winnan, R. Gray 1970-1971 (4 folders)
Box 9		Winnan, R. Gray 1972 (2 folders)
Box 9		Witte Memorial Museum (San Antonio) 1947, 1953
Box 9		Woodcut Society 1941-1942
Box 9		Year 1956
Box 9		Zigrosser, Carl 1935-1971, undated (2 folders)
			See also E. Weyhe.
		Zigrosser, Laura Canade
			See E. Weyhe.
		Zornes, Milford
			See California Water Color Society.
		Unidentified
Box 9			Incoming (2 folders)
Box 9			Outgoing drafts (2 folders)

	Artwork
		Original
			Drawings
Oversize 1				Watercolors, pencil sketches, and page proofs for Cook's children's book, Sammi's Army
Oversize 1				Watercolors for The Reader's Digest (8 watercolors)
Oversize 2				Watercolors for the unpublished Book of the Month Club edition of Jack London's The Call of the Wild (8 watercolors)
			Sketches
Box 10				Self portrait
Box 10				San Antonio frescoes
Box 10				Miscellaneous
Box 10			Woodcut and lithographic proofs (2 folders)
		Reproductions
			Illustrations (periodical)
Box 10				Adventure undated
Box 10				The Atlantic 1960
Box 10				Century 1924
Box 10				Common Ground 1941
Box 10				The Forum 1925-1933, undated (4 folders)
Box 10				Laughing Horse 1927
Box 10				The Nation 1936, undated
Box 10				New Masses 1937
Box 10				New Mexico Quarterly 1950 (guest artist, H. Cook); 1956
Box 10				The Reader's Digest undated
					See also Artwork: Original: Watercolors for The Reader's Digest.
Box 10				Scribner's Magazine 1937
Box 10				The Survey 1922
Box 10				Survey Graphic 1922, 1923
Box 10				Miscellaneous
Box 10			Murals at Mayo Clinic portfolio
				See also Ellerbe and Co. ; Mayo Clinic ; Writings: Notes: Mayo Clinic project.
Box 10			Miscellaneous (by title)
Box 10				A-Z, untitled (3 folders)

	Writings
		Articles (by title)
Box 11			A-Z (2 folders)
		Essays
Box 11			"Ernest L. Blumenschein" - original draft
		Inventories of work
Box 11			"Pastel circuit"
Box 11			"Studio sale"
Box 11			Miscellaneous
		Reminiscences
		Speech
Box 11			Untitled "final draft" delivered for Andrew Dasburg retrospective exhibition, Santa Fe Oct. 1959
Box 11		Statements and notes on philosophy of art
		Notes
Box 11			Mayo Clinic Project
Box 11			Miscellaneous
Box 11		Miscellaneous

	Memorabilia
		Financial
			Receipts
Box 12				Government projects
Box 12				Miscellaneous
Box 12		Identification and membership cards, exhibition tickets, etc.
		Legal
Box 12			Contracts 1952, undated
Box 12		Photographs (2) student work
		Printed material
Box 12			Addresses in Honor of American Artists Who Have Decorated Federal Buildings Apr. 1940
Box 12			Articles, reviews about 1925-1963, undated (7 folders)
			Books (mention of H. Cook)
Box 12				New Mexico Artists 1952 - reprints from New Mexico Quarterly
Box 12				The Book of Fine Prints by Carl Zigrosser 1948
Box 13			Clippings 1923-1965, undated (9 folders)
Box 13			Exhibition announcements, invitations 1926-1969, undated (3 folders)
			Exhibition catalogs (Cook)
Box 13				Group shows 1920s-1935 (2 folders of 35)
Box 14				Group shows 1936-1944 (8 folders of 35)
Box 15				Group shows 1945-1949 (9 folders of 35)
Box 16				Group shows 1950-1955 (8 folders of 35)
Box 17				Group shows 1956-1966, undated (8 folders of 35)
Box 17				One man shows 1929-1965, undated
			Exhibition catalogs (miscellaneous non Cook) (by institution)
Box 18				Brooklyn Museum 1947, 1951, 1954
Box 18				Dallas Museum of Fine Arts 1945-1947
Box 18				Denver Art Museum 1947, 1956
Box 18				Los Angeles County Museum 1951
Box 18				Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.) 1952
Box 18				Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.) 1944
Box 18				Museum of New Mexico Art Gallery 1951, 1953, 1954, 1960
Box 18				National Academy of Design 1951, 1956
Box 18				Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts 1946
Box 18				Society of American Graphic Artists 1945, 1956
Box 18				Whitney Museum of American Art 1940s-1950s (2 folders)
Box 18				Miscellaneous, A-Z
			Periodicals
				Bulletin - Section of Fine Arts, Public Buildings Administration
					See United States. Public Buildings Administration. Bulletin.
				Bulletin - Treasury Department Art Projects
					See Correspondence Subject Files: United States. Treasury Department Art Projects. Bulletin.
Box 19				Carnegie Magazine Dec. 1947; Dec. 1948; Dec. 1951
Box 19				Claremont College Bulletin Institute of Art (H. Cook, instructor) Mar. 1951
Box 19				Common Ground Spring 1941; Spring 1942
Box 19				Philadelphia Museum Bulletin; Handbook numbers (2) May 1944
Box 19				Print Collectors' Chronicle v. 1, no. 4
			Reports
Box 19				Archaeological Institute of America. School of American Research 1954
Box 19				Art Students League 1964-1965
Box 19				John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1937-1946, 1959-1960 (3 folders)
Box 19			Miscellaneous (2 items)
Box 19		Miscellany (7 items)

Return to top