Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Crane, Stephen, 1871-1900.
Title:	Stephen Crane Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1871-1980
Quantity:	19.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American novelist, journalist, poet, war correspondent. Collection includes correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of the American author and his wife, Cora Crane, and includes the research materials from a number of literary scholars and private collectors. The Stephen Crane Collection Photographs and the Lillian Gilkes Papers unrelated to Crane are inventoried and housed separately. In addition, many published Crane works and reference materials are located in Special Collections.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Stephen Crane (1871-1900) was an American novelist, poet and journalist. Crane's mother, Mary Helen Peck, was the daughter of George Peck, an American Methodist Episcopal clergyman, author, and President of Cazenovia Seminary in Madison County, New York. Crane attended but did not graduate from Lafayette College and Syracuse University before moving to New York City where he worked as a freelance journalist and writer. His first novel, Maggie: A Girl of the Streets, was published in 1893, followed in 1895 by the novel for which he is best known, The Red Badge of Courage. The latter, about a young soldier's initiation into the horrors and ironies of war set during the American Civil War, won great acclaim for its vividness and psychological depth.

Crane and Cora Stewart-Taylor, who would become his wife, moved to Sussex, England in 1897. The two worked together as war correspondents during the Greco-Turkish War of 1897, novelized in Crane's Active Service (1899) whose central character is a journalist covering the war. Crane died at age 28 of tuberculosis in Badenweiler, Baden, Germany.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stephen Crane Collection comprises correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of the American author and his wife, Cora Crane, as well as the research materials of a number of literary scholars and private collectors. There are also a few recordings of indeterminate provenance.

Spanning the years 1889 to 1910, Correspondence is divided into incoming and outgoing Stephen Crane letters, incoming and outgoing Cora Crane letters, and third-party correspondence, and further delineated by sender or recipient; citation numbers in parentheses (e.g., "no. 123") refer to letters in The Correspondence of Stephen Crane, Wertheim and Sorrentino, ed. (Columbia University Press, 1988). Stephen Crane's correspondence encompasses family members (Edmund and William Crane); friends (Armistead Borland, Lucius L. Button, Nellie Crouse, Clara and Moreton Frewen, Louis Senger, Post Wheeler); and publishers and literary agents (Copeland and Day, James B. Pinker, Paul Revere Reynolds). Cora Crane's correspondence consists primarily of letters she wrote for Crane to literary agent James B. Pinker and several letters to Crane's friends (Mr. and Mrs. Frewen, Corwin Knapp Linson, Louis Senger) after his death. Third-Party correspondence refers to Stephen Crane or his work.

Writings (Box 5) includes thirteen holograph manuscripts, five typescripts, and two published versions of Crane's prose and verse.

Memorabilia (Box 6) comprises family papers, legal materials, and miscellany, and includes writings by Stephen Crane's sister, Agnes, Crane's death certificate, an affidavit of M. Helen Crane, autograph albums with Crane inscriptions, and artifacts (a baseball used by Crane, calling cards, and stationery sheets with Crane's name among those on the letterhead).

In addition, the Stephen Crane Collection includes the research files of eight Crane authors and/or collectors:

The Lillian Gilkes Research Files (Boxes 7-10) comprises correspondence-subject files, writings, and memorabilia. Author of Cora Crane: a Biography of Mrs. Stephen Crane, Gilkes amassed files which contain correspondence with the Crane and Howorth families and their contemporaries, publishers, editors, and other literary scholars and researchers, as well as copies of Cora and Stephen Crane's correspondence, writings, legal papers and drawings. Writings consist of articles, book reviews, books, and miscellaneous notes by Gilkes on Cora and/or Stephen Crane. Memorabilia include photographs, printed material, writings by others, and miscellany (a brass button, and Cora Crane's calling cards).

The Cyrus Day Research Files (Box 11) contains correspondence, writings, and memorabilia concerning the 1897 shipwreck of the Commodore, on which Crane was bound for Cuba.

The Mansfield J. French Research Files (Box 11) and the Frank W. Noxon Research Files (Box 11) consist of correspondence and reminiscences about Crane by his former Syracuse University classmates.

The Vincent Starrett Research Files (Box 11) are composed of the author's correspondence with Crane's contemporaries and publishers, as well as others associated with Crane.

Corwin Knapp Linson Writings (Box 12) comprises several manuscript versions of the American artist's book about his friend, My Stephen Crane. (Linson's photographs of Crane are among the Stephen Crane Collection Photographs which is arranged and stored separately.)

Constituting the bulk of the collection, the Melvin H. Schoberlin Research Files (Boxes 13-23) encompasses correspondence-subject files, writings, and memorabilia. Correspondence-subject files comprise Schoberlin's incoming and outgoing letters of Crane's family and contemporaries and their descendants, as well as Crane scholars and researchers. Categorized as books and notes, writings include an unpublished book manuscript for a Crane biography, production records for Sullivan County Sketches and a book unrelated to Crane, and extensive research material on Crane. Clippings (relating to Crane or Schoberlin), photographs, illustrations, photostats with Crane associations, writings by others (on Crane and his work), and miscellany (Spanish moss from Cora's grave, stationery sheets with Crane's name among those on the letterhead) constitute memorabilia.

The Ames Williams Research Files (Box 24) consists of correspondence-subject files, writings, and memorabilia relating to Crane. Correspondence-subject files include Williams's incoming and outgoing letters of Stephen and Cora Crane's contemporaries and friends as well as some photocopies of their correspondence with literary agents. A paper on Crane by Williams and a copy of a photograph of one of Crane's romantic interests, Lily Brandon, complete the collection.

Recordings contains five recordings of various scholars discussing Crane, including Lillian Gilkes and Professor Walter Sutton. How these came into the collection is unknown, but they were likely part of Lillian Gilkes' research files.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence of Stephen and Cora Crane are subdivided into incoming and outgoing, and then arranged chronologically; third-party correspondence is arranged alphabetically. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type and then by title. Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by type.

Researcher's files are subdivided into correspondence, writings, and memorabilia, in that order; correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent, while writings and memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Stephen Crane Collection Photographs and the Lillian B. Gilkes Papers (unrelated to Crane). In addition, Special Collections Research Center has many published Crane works and reference materials in its Rare Books holdings; please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing. Special Collections Research Center is also the repository of the papers of George Peck, Crane's maternal grandfather.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stephen Crane Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gifts and purchases, 1950-1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEH
Date: Jul 1993
Revision history: 28 Nov 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 3 Aug 2012 - added Ames Williams dates + 1 item (MRC); 7 Jan 2014 - added Peck connection (MRC); 8 Oct 2014 - added letter, 2/15/1896 (MRC); 27 Jul 2016 - bioghist correction (MRC); 30 Mar2018 - recordings added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Stephen Crane
Box 1			Outgoing 1889
				Ap 4 Armistead Borland (no. 3)
Box 1			Outgoing 1890
				Mr 10 Armistead Borland (no. 4) N? Claverack schoolmate (no. 7
Box 1			Outgoing 1891
				Ja 9 Odell Hathaway (no. 8)
Box 1			Outgoing 1892
				F 16 Armistead Borland (no. 10) D 14 Lucius L. Button (no. 13)
Box 1			Outgoing 1894
				F 20 Lucius L. Button (no. 29) D 22 Post Wheeler (no. 57) D 22? Copeland and Day (no. 58) late Post Wheeler (no. 60) late Post Wheeler (no. 61) late Post Wheeler (no. 62)
Box 1			Outgoing 1895
				Ja 2 Copeland and Day (no. 64) Ja 30 Louis Senger (no. 71) F 19 Corwin Knapp Linson (no. 76) Ag 3 Karl Knortz (no. 99) O 24 Willis Brooks Hawkins (no. 115) N 5 Post Wheeler (no. 124) N 23 Louis Senger (no. 143) D 10 Louis Senger (no. 150) D 31 Nellie Crouse (no. 166)
Box 1			Outgoing 1896
				Ja 6 Nellie Crouse (no. 173) Ja 7 Louis Senger (no. 176) Ja 11 Louis Senger (no. 179) Ja 11 (4) Louis Senger (no. 180-3) Ja 12 Nellie Crouse (no. 184) Ja 26 Nellie Crouse (no. 186) F 5 Nellie Crouse (no. 200) F 11 Nellie Crouse (no. 204) F 15 Editor of The Critic (foldered separately) Mr 1 Nellie Crouse (no. 209) Mr 24 Dewitt Miller (no. 219) Mr 24 Louis Senger (no. 220) late Ap Viola Allen (no. 235) [May 1896+] Lucius L. Button (no. 242) My 10 Charles J. Pike (no. 243) Ag 3 E.S. Goodhue, M.D. (no. 262) N 3 Lucius L. Button (no. 281)
Box 1			Outgoing 1897
				Ja 4 copy Lillian Barrett Ja 8 Charles Pope (no. 307) S 9 Edmund B. Crane (no. 328) N 8 Louis Senger (no. 336) D 20 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 346) [1897] book Louis Senger late 1897? Elbert Hubbard (no. 351)
Box 2			Outgoing 1898
				Ja 31 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 360) F 8 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 365) Mr 1 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 372) Mr 13 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 374) Mr 17 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 378) early My Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 384) My 8 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 385) My 30 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 387) Je 8 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 388) early S Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 396) S 14 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 397) S 27 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 402) O 21 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 410) O 24 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 411) O 25-28? Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 412) N 1 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 414) N 24 book J.G. Widrig (no. 423)
Box 2			Outgoing 1899
				Ja 19 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 448) Ja 31 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 454) F 1 James B. Pinker (no. 455) F 4 James B. Pinker (no. 457) F 9 James B. Pinker (no. 463) F 10 "Dear Sir" (no. 464) F 13 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 466) F 20 Clara Frewen (no. 471) F 21 James B. Pinker (no. 472) late F Pocket Magazine (no. 477) Mr 2 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 480) Mr 12 Moreton Frewen (no. 485) Mr 16 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 488) Mr 17 James B. Pinker (no. 490) Mr 25 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 493) Mr 30 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 498) Mr 31 Paul Revere Reynolds (no. 499) Ap 10 Moreton Frewen (no. 500) My 1 James B. Pinker (no. 513) My 15 Moreton Frewen (no. 517) Je 8 Camilla Ingalls (no. 524) Jl 21 James B. Pinker (no. 528) Ag 1? James B. Pinker (no. 530) Ag 4 James B. Pinker (no. 531) Ag 6? James B. Pinker (no. 533) Ag 10 William Howe Crane (no. 536) Ag 13? Henry Sanford Bennett (no. 537) Ag 13? James B. Pinker (no. 538) Ag 15? John [Scott-Stokes?] (no. 543) Ag 29 Henry Sanford Bennett (no. 547) S 10? George Wyndham (no. 554) S 22 James B. Pinker (no. 558) S 26 Moreton Frewen (no. 562) S 28? James B. Pinker (no. 563) S 30? James B. Pinker (no. 565) S 31 James B. Pinker (no. 568) O 23? James B. Pinker (no. 578) N 4 James B. Pinker (no. 583)
Box 2			Outgoing 1900
				Ja 31 S. Crane's namesake (no. 636) F 5 James B. Pinker (no. 643) F 5 James B. Pinker (no. 644) Mr 8 James B. Pinker (no. 657) Mr 10 James B. Pinker (no. 658) Mr 24 James B. Pinker (no. 661) Mr 31 James B. Pinker (no. 666) My 23 Henry Sanford Bennett (no. 718)
Box 2			Incoming 1893-1896
				Mr 22 1893 Barry, John D. (no. 18) Ap 1 1896 Black, William O 31 1894 Copeland and Day (no. 49) My 1 1895 copy Copeland and Day (no. 84) S 5 1899 Stokes, Frederick A. (no. 552) S 23 1899 Stokes, Frederick A. Stephen Crane (no. 561) [Ap 1896?] copy Verdi, P. (no. 239)
		Cora Crane
Box 3			Outgoing 1899-1906
				F 13 1899 Margery Pease (no. 468) Mr 6 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 482) Ap 25 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 508) Ag 31 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 548) S 30? 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 567) O 8 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 571) O 21 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 576) O 26 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 581) O 30 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 582) D 7 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 599) D 12 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 600) D 18 1899 James B. Pinker (no. 601) Ja 2 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 612) Ja 6 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 620) Ja 7 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 621) Ja 9 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 626) Ja 10 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 627) Ja 24 1900 Post Wheeler (no. 633) F 14 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 651) F 20 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 654) mid-Mr 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 659) Mr 29 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 664) Ap 6 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 670) Ap 8 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 673) Ap 11 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 676) Ap 15? 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 680) Ap 16 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 681) Ap 17 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 682) Ap 23 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 688) Ap 24 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 689) My 5 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 700) My 8? 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 706) My 20 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 714) My 23 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 719) My 29 1900 James B. Pinker (no. 722) Ag 15 1900 James B. Pinker Ag 28 1900 "Dear Sir" S 28 1900 Corwin Knapp Linson O 18 1900 Corwin Knapp Linson O? 1900 James B. Pinker O 22 1900 Louis Senger O 26 1900 G.H. Perris Ag 25 1904 G.H. Perris D 1906 The Moreton Frewens
Box 3			Incoming 1910
				F 10 [Budd, Ernest] Edward
		Third-party correspondence
Box 4			Third-party correspondence 1894-1903
				Crane, William to Nellie [ ] Je 21 1900 Dumond, Frank Vincent to Mr. Noble Ap? 1900 Dumond, Frank Vincent to Mr. Noble Ap 12 1900 Dumond, Frank Vincent to Mr. Noble My? 1900 Dumond, Frank Vincent to Mr. Noble Je 10 1900 Hubbard, Elbert to Mr. Day Ap 16 1896 Ingalls, Camilla to Margery Pease Je 21 1900 Linson, Corwin Knapp to Louis Senger D 4 1894 Linson, Corwin Knapp to Louis Senger Ja 10 1895 Linson, Corwin Knapp to Louis Senger Ja 1899 Linson, Corwin Knapp to Louis Senger My 27 1899 Reynolds, Paul Revere R.W.[sic] Johnson to D 22 1896 Stokes, Frederick A. to James B. Pinker Je 6 1900 Stokes, Frederick A. to James B. Pinker N 11 1902 Stokes, Frederick A. to James B. Pinker Je 26 1903 [ ] to Louis Senger D 4 1896

	Writings
		Prose
Box 5			"Across the Covered Pit" - typescript ms.
Box 5			"The Angel-child" - autographed holograph ms.
Box 5			"A Desertion" - holograph ms.
Box 5			"A Detail" - holograph draft
Box 5			"An Explosion of Seven Babies" - typescript ms.
Box 5			"Great Bugs in Onondaga" New-York Tribune June 1, 1891
				See also "Huge Electric Light Bugs" and "The Syracuse Bugs"
Box 5			"Greed rampant" - typescript ms.
Box 5			"Huge Electric Light Bugs," Syracuse, New York Standard, p. 6 June 1, 1891
				See also "Great Bugs in Onondaga" and "The Syracuse Bugs"
Box 5			"Jack" - holograph ms.
Box 5			"The King's Favor" - typescript ms.
Box 5			"Ol' Bennet & the Indians" - autographed holograph ms.
Box 5			"Prologue" - autographed holograph ms.
Box 5			"The Syracuse Bugs," New-York Daily Tribune June 2, 1801
				See also "Great Bugs in Onondaga" and "Huge Electric Light Bugs"
		Verse
Box 5			"I'd rather have-" - holograph ms.
Box 5			"Lines" - typescript ms.
Box 5			Untitled - "Fast rode the knight" - autographed holograph ms.
Box 5			Untitled - "I looked here / I looked there" - holograph ms.
Box 5			Untitled - "In a large vaulted hall" - holograph ms.
Box 5			Untitled - "In heaven, / Some little blades of grass . . ." - holograph ms.
Box 5			Untitled - "Should the wide world roll away" - holograph ms.
Box 5			Untitled - "What? You define me God with these trinkets" - holograph ms.

	Memorabilia
		Family
Box 6			Agnes Crane's diary (fragment) pp. 53-60 1874-1875
Box 6			Agnes Crane's "Memory book " 4/23/1875 - leaf about J. Townley Crane
Box 6			Agnes Crane's "The Cipher Dispatches" 1878 - holograph prose ms.
		Legal
Box 6			Death certificate of Stephen Crane - "Badenweiler " 6/11/1900
Box 6			M. Helen Crane - affidavit as executrix of J. Townley Crane's estate Mar. 1880
Box 6			Will of Stephen Crane (copy) 1900
		Miscellany
Box 6			Autograph albums of Armistead Borland containing Stephen Crane's inscriptions 4/4/1889, 3/10/1890 (2 volumes)
Box 6			Baseball used by Crane at Geneva, N.Y. in game with Hobart College May 23, 1891
Box 6			Calling cards (2)
Box 6			Claverack Academy and Hudson River Institute - 1 illustration and advertisements (with copy photographs and negatives)
Box 6			Stationery sheet with letterhead: "Crane's New Jersey Coast News Bureau, Sandy Hook to Barnegat Bay, Asbury Park, N.J., J. Townley Crane, Manager, Stephen Crane, Secretary, Edgar C. Snyder, Treasurer" 1891-1892

	Lillian Gilkes research files
		Correspondence-subject files
Box 7			B
Box 7			Barr, Philip 1959
Box 7			Barrett, Clifton Waller 1959
Box 7			Barrett, Richmond 1934-1963
Box 7			Bassan, Maurice 1963-1969
Box 7			Beer, Alice 1956-1959
Box 7			Beer, Thomas
				See Crane Family - from Thomas Beer files
Box 7			Berryman, John 1954-1956
Box 7			Bohnenberger, Elizabeth and Carl 1943
Box 7			Bower, Warren 1960
Box 7			Bowers, Fredson 1968-1972
Box 7			Brede Place undated
Box 7			Broward, Audrey 1954-1960
Box 7			Brown, Spencer Curtis 1954-1959
Box 7			Budd, Louis 1970
Box 7			C
Box 7			Cady, Edwin H. 1964-1973
Box 7			Columbia University 1954-1959
Box 7			Colvert, James 1969
Box 7			Corcoran, Marguerite 1955
Box 7			Cordell, Richard A. 1955-1956
Box 7			Cornell University Press 1971
			Crane, Cora
Box 7				Drawings, negative
Oversize 1				Drawings, oversize
Box 7				Frewens correspondence 1898-1900 - photocopies of letters (most from the Library of Congress)
Box 7				Legal papers
Box 7				Photocopies of letters 1898-1901
Box 7				Writings 1901
			Crane, Stephen
Box 7				Legal papers
Box 7				Photocopies of letters 1888-1900
Box 7				Writings - photocopies of articles and clippings
			Crane Family
Box 7				[Miscellaneous] 1948-1962
Box 7				From Thomas Beer files 1921-1934
Box 7			D
Box 7			Daniel, Richard P. 1959
Box 7			Day, Cyrus L. 1959
Box 7			Dent & Sons, Ltd. 1959
Box 7			E
Box 7			F
			Forman, Barry
				See Harold Frederic Family
Box 7			Franchere, Hoyt C. 1958-1961
Box 7			Harold Frederic family 1958-1961, undated
Box 7			Frewen, Roger 1955-1961
Box 7			Frewen, Roger/Kipling, Rudyard 1900 - photocopies of letters from the Library of Congress
Box 7			Garner, Stanton 1973-1974
Box 7			Gullason, Tom 1970
Box 8			H
Box 8			Hallam, George W. 1964-1967
			Harold Frederic Edition
				See Garner, Stanton
Box 8			Hathaway, Odell S. 1961-1962
Box 8			Hicks, Granville 1969
Box 8			Hoffman, Daniel 1954-1960
Box 8			Hoskins, Frank L. 1964-1972
Box 8			Howorth Family (Cora Crane's family) 1954-1958
Box 8			Indiana University Press 1959-1968
Box 8			Jones, Edith Richie 1954
Box 8			K
Box 8			Kantor, James Roland Kristofer 1960
Box 8			Kazin, Alfred 1969
Box 8			Keller, Dean H. 1968-1970
Box 8			King, Robert T. 1969
Box 8			Koster, Donald N. 1968-1972
Box 8			Kyles, Gillian 1970-1971
Box 8			L
Box 8			Leary, Lewis 1968-1969
Box 8			Leslie, Shane 1955
Box 8			Levenson, Jack C. 1970
Box 8			Lohf, Kenneth A. 1969
Box 8			The London Times 1962-1963
Box 8			McCready, Ernest W. 1934 - photocopies of letters
Box 8			May, Philip 1948-1960
Box 8			Mayfield, John S. 1954-1977
Box 8			Monteiro, George 1969-1971
Box 8			N
Box 8			New York Public Library 1955-1959
Box 8			Nottinghamshire Guardian 1956
Box 8			O
Box 8			Osborn, Scott C. 1956-1969
Box 8			Paine, Ralph D. 1954-1956
Box 8			Mark Patterson & Co. Limited 1959
Box 8			Pease, Muriel 1955-1961
Box 8			"Permission to Publish" letters 1958-1959
Box 8			Powell, Anthony 1962
Box 8			Roeder, Ralph 1954
Box 8			S
Box 8			Schoberlin, Melvin H. 1948-1961
			Sheridan, Clare
				See Williams, Ames
Box 8			Smillie, Lily Brandon Monroe (and family) 1955
Box 8			Solomon, Eric 1971
Box 8			Stallman, Robert W. 1953-1956
Box 8			Stewart family (Cora Crane's 2nd husband) 1901, 1959
Box 8			Stronks, James 1961-1972
Box 9			T
Box 9			Turner, Arlin 1970-1972
Box 9			U
Box 9			Ward, Lynd 1959
Box 9			Wells, Lester G. 1954-1960
Box 9			Wheeler, Harry F. 1956
Box 9			Williams, Ames 1945-1955
Box 9			Woodward, Robert H. 1962-1970
Box 9			Y
		Writings
			Articles
Box 9				"Egg-Walking in Biography" - typescript draft
Box 9				"More on 'How Crane Got to Greece': a Moot Question" 1972 - typescript ms.
Box 9				"Not at Columbia: Postcards to Cora Crane" / Lillian Gilkes and Joseph Katz Columbia Library Columns, Feb. 1974
Box 9				"Stephen and Cora Crane: Some Corrections, and a 'Millionaire' Named Sharefe" - typescript ms.
Box 9				"Stephen Crane and the Biographical Fallacy: The Cora Influence" - Modern Fiction Studies, Winter 1970-71 - typescripts and a reprint
Box 9				"The Stephen Crane Collection Before Its Acquisition by Columbia: a Memoir" Columbia Library Columns, Nov. 1973
Box 9				"Stephen Crane, John Hay, and Dr. Nathan E. Boyd" - typescript with corrections
Box 9				"Stephen Crane's Burial Place: Some Inconsequential Ghost Laying" - typescript
			Book reviews
Box 9				"Corrections of R.W. Stallman's Stephen Crane: a Biography" - Stephen Crane Newsletter, Spring 1969
Box 9				"A Recent Book About Stephen Crane", review of Stephen Crane: a Biography / R.W. Stallman - The Courier, Spring 1969 - typescript, author's proofs
Box 9				"Some Omissions" - Saturday Review Aug. 31, 1968
Box 9				Stephen Crane / John Berryman - unpublished typescript
Box 9				"Stephen Crane: Ecrivain-journaliste, 1871-1900" (1969) / Jean Cazemajou American Literature, Jan. 1971
			Books
				Cora Crane: a Biography of Mrs. Stephen Crane
Box 9					Typescript ms. (3 folders)
Box 10					Production records - author's proof with corrections
Box 10					Production records - cover design, advertising pamphlet, illustrations list
Box 10				Stephen Crane: Letters / R.W. Stallman and Lillian Gilkes, editors 1960 - production records - advertisements
Box 10			Miscellany
		Memorabilia
			Photographs
Oversize 1				"The Luncheon given by the Society of American Women in London, Victoria Hall, Hotel Cecil, London" July 3rd, 1899 - 1 mounted original and 1 copy
Box 10				Negatives, miscellaneous
Box 10				Photographs, miscellaneous
			Printed material
Box 10				Clippings, miscellaneous
			Writings by others
Box 10				Experiment in Autobiography / H.G. Wells - - typescript passage from book
Box 10				"George Gissing on Frederic: a Correction" / Robert H. Woodward - The Frederic Herald, Jan. 1969
Box 10				"How Stephen Crane Got to Crete" / R.W. Stallman - American Literature undated
Box 10				"Jacksonville's Most Famous Madam" / Peggy Friedman - Jacksonville, May/June 1980
Box 10				Joseph Conrad and His Circle / Jessie Conrad 1935 - typescript notes from book
Box 10				More Lives Than One / Claude Bragdon - excerpts
Box 10				"Stallman's Crane" / Thomas A. Gullason - The CEA Critic, May 1969
Box 10				"Stephen Crane - a Biography by R.W. Stallman" American Literature, May 1969 - publicity
			Miscellany
Box 10				Brass button given by Cora Taylor (Crane) to Henry W. Walters
Box 10				Calling cards of Cora Crane and her companion, Mrs. Ruedy

	Cyrus Day research files
Box 11		Correspondence 1957-1962 - concerning the Jan 3, 1897 wreck of the ship Commodore
Box 11		Notes on the Commodore wreck and Stephen Crane
		Memorabilia
Box 11			Clippings of articles (copies) about the Commodore wreck, some by Stephen Crane Jan. 3, 1897-Jan. 7, 1897
Box 11			Photographs and illustrations related to the Commodore wreck, Stephen Crane, and correspondents in Florida during the Spanish-American War

	Mansfield J. French research files
		Correspondence
Box 11			Esmond, Burton D. 1930
Box 11			Lafayette College 1930
Box 11			Robinson, Christian 1932
Box 11			Schoberlin, Melvin H. 1947-1948
Box 11			Travis, A. Lincoln 1930
		Writings
Box 11			"Stephen Crane, Ball Player" - holograph

	Frank W. Noxon research files
		Files consist entirely of correspondence.
Box 11		Esmond, Burton D. 1930
Box 11		French, M. J. 1934
Box 11		Herzberg, Max J. 1926-1927
Box 11		Linson, Corwin Knapp 1930
Box 11		Perry, William H. 1926
Box 11		Robinson, Christian 1931
Box 11		Taber, Harry P. 1929

	Vincent Starrett research files
		Files consist entirely of correspondence.
Box 11		Bacheller, Irving 1927
Box 11		Cary, Henry N. 1922
Box 11		Conrad, Joseph 1919, undated
Box 11		Dulau and Company, Ltd. 1927
Box 11		Emerson, Edwin 1928
Box 11		Esmond, Burton 1930
Box 11		Frewen, Moreton 1922
Box 11		Harriman, Karl E. 1934
Box 11		Linson, Corwin Knapp 1931
Box 11		Mayfield, John S. 1943
Box 11		Somerville, Peter F. 1928-1933
Box 11		Vielbe-Griffin, Francis 1929
Box 11		A-Z (miscellaneous)

	Corwin Knapp Linson writings
Box 12		My Stephen Crane, third revision (working title: "Stephen Crane Memories and Appreciation") - holograph
Box 12		My Stephen Crane, third revision (working title: "Stephen Crane Memories and Appreciation) - holograph manuscript, bound
Box 12		My Stephen Crane (working title: "Stephen Crane A Personal Record) - typescript, includes photos and death certificate
Box 12		My Stephen Crane, typescript photocopy - pp. 1-88 (2 folders)
Box 12		My Stephen Crane, printer's typescript copy 1958

	Melvin H. Schoberlin research files
		Correspondence-subject files
Box 13			A
Box 13			Abramson, Ben 1949-1950
Box 13			Adams, George Matthew 1946-1950
Box 13			Allen, Francis H. 1941
Box 13			Allen, Frederick L. 1941
Box 13			Allen, Gardner Weld 1941
Box 13			B
Box 13			Barrett, Clifton Waller 1958-1968
Box 13			Beer, Alice 1948-1956
Box 13			Beer, Thomas
				See also Beer, Alice; Herzberg, Max J.; Starrett, Vincent.
Box 13			Bowers, Fredson 1967-1974
Box 13			Bruccoli, Matthew J. 1966-1971
Box 13			Lucius L. Button Family 1948
Box 13			C
Box 13			Clemens, Cyril 1947-1949
Box 13			Collamore, H. B. 1946-1950
Box 13			Crane, Edith and Crane Family 1922-1962
Box 13			Nellie Crouse Family 1948
Box 13			D
Box 13			E
Box 13			Edel, Leon 1948-1949
Box 13			F
Box 13			Fretwell, Elizabeth and Mark 1947-1948
Box 13			G
Box 14			Ghodes, Clarence 1951
Box 14			Gibson, Donald B. 1967
Box 14			Gilkes, Lillian 1954-1973, undated
Box 14			Goodwin, Clarence N. 1948-1949
Box 14			Greene, Nelson 1944-1949
Box 14			H
Box 14			Hathaway, Odell 1948-1950
Box 14			Herzberg, Max J. 1936-1949
Box 14			I
Box 14			K
Box 14			Katz, Joseph 1963-1970
Box 14			Alfred A. Knopf Incorporated 1946-1950
Box 14			L
Box 14			Lawrence, Frederic M. 1948-1949
Box 14			Linson, Corwin Knapp 1946-1954
Box 14			M
Box 14			N
Box 14			Norris, Kathleen Thompson 1948
Box 14			O
Box 14			P
Box 14			Pease, Michael and Nicolas 1948-1955
Box 15			R
Box 15			Rosenbach Company 1946-1948
Box 15			S
Box 15			Lewis Senger Family 1948-1949
Box 15			Snyder, Edgar C. 1949-1952
Box 15			Stallman, Robert Wooster 1951-1957
Box 15			Starrett, Vincent 1922-1948
Box 15			Syracuse University Press 1948-1968
Box 15			T
Box 15			U
Box 15			V
Box 15			W
Box 15			Wheeler, Post 1947-1952
Box 15			Williams, Ames W. 1946-1950
Box 15			Y
		Writings
			Books
				Flagon of Despair (unpublished)
Box 15					Book proposal, Guggenheim Fellowship application
Box 15					Master copy (Book I, 167pp; Book II 159pp; Book III 130 pp.) (3 folders)
Box 16					"Original rough" [draft] (2 folders)
Box 16					"Copy II" (2 folders)
Box 16					Chapter XI
Box 16					Chapter XV - draft and notes
Box 17					Criticisms and suggestions
Box 17					Notes
Box 17					Production records - cover ideas, preface
Box 17					Production records - photographs (3 folders)
Box 17				From Candles to Footlights - production records - advertisements
Box 17				Sullivan County Sketches of Stephen Crane - production records - book covers, advertisements, illustration work
			Notes
Box 17				America 1800-1900
Box 17				Bibliographies of Crane material
Box 18				Bohnenberger, Carl - inventory of Crane material
Box 18				Book dealers
Box 18				Brandon, Lily (Mrs. Smillie) 1895-1949
				Chronological Crane history index
					See Indexes: Index file #3 (Box 25)
Box 18				Colour notebook
Box 18				Conrad, Joseph - letters to and about S. Crane (copies)
Box 18				Copeland and Day publications checklist 1893-1899
Box 18				Crane, Agnes - writings
Box 18				Crane, Cora - background, America
Box 18				Crane, Cora - background, England
Box 18				Cora Crane correspondence 1897-1910 - copies
Box 18				Cora Crane writings 1901 - copies
Box 18				Crane, Jonathan Townley - writings (copies)
Box 18				Crane, Mary Helen - writings (copies)
				Crane, Stephen
Box 19					Background 1871-1898 (25 folders)
Box 20					Background 1899-1900 (2 folders)
Box 20					Biographical materials
Box 20					Correspondence, incoming (copies) 1893-1900, undated
Box 20					Correspondence, outgoing 1886-1900, undated - copies (3 folders)
Box 20					Crouse, Nellie 1895-1896 - correspondence (typescript copies)
Box 20					Eulogies
Box 20					Genealogy
Box 20					Legends
Box 20					Letters about Crane 1896-1930, undated - copies
Box 20					Newark, N.J. tablet dedication 1921
Box 20					Portraits and postage stamp design
					Writings
Box 20						Chronology
						Criticism and background
Box 20							Active Service
Box 20							The Black Riders
Box 20							"Blood of the Martyr"
Box 20							Dan Emmonds
Box 20							George's Mother
Box 20							Great Battles of the World
Box 21							Last Words
Box 21							The Little Regiment
Box 21							Maggie
Box 21							Men, Women, and Boats
Box 21							The Monster
Box 21							"Ol' Bennet & the Indians"
Box 21							The Open Boat
Box 21							The O'Ruddy
Box 21							The Red Badge of Courage
Box 21							The Third Violet
Box 21							War is Kind
Box 21							Whilomville Stories
Box 21							Wounds in the Rain
Box 21						Criticism by Crane
Box 21						Greek-Turkish War 1897
Box 21						Philosophy of Crane
Box 21						Press articles 1894-1900
Box 21						Spanish American War 1898, undated
Box 21						Views on literature
Box 21						Miscellany 1880-1898
							See also Index file #3 and Index file #4 in Box 25)
Box 21				Crane contemporaries, American
Box 22				Crane contemporaries, British
Box 22				Criticism of Crane, general
Box 22				Cuba War and background
Box 22				Frederic, Harold
Box 22				Garland, Hamlin
				Hawkins, Willis B.
					See Leslie, Amy / Hawkins, Willis B.
Box 22				Herzberg, Max - correspondence about Crane
				Index, Chronological Crane history
					See Indexes: Index file #3 (Box 25)
				Index, Name - Researchers, Sources, Crane contemporaries
					See Indexes: Index file #2 (Box 25)
				Index, Original Manuscripts
					See Indexes: Index file #3 (Box 25)
				Index, Periodicals
					See Indexes: Index file #1 (Box 25)
				Index, Writings by or about Crane - noting published locations and Schoberlin's sources
					See Indexes: Index file #3 and Index file #4 (Box 25)
Box 22				Legal papers, Crane
Box 22				Leslie, Amy / Hawkins, Willis B. 1896-1897 - correspondence (copies)
Oversize 2				Leslie, Amy / Hawkins, Willis B. 1896-1926 - clippings
Box 22				Little magazines
					See also Indexes: Index file #1 (Box 25)
Box 22				Parodies of Crane
Box 22				Peck, George 1860 - writings
Box 23				Peck, Harry Thurston - writings
Box 23				U.S. Marine Corps - correspondence about Crane
Box 23				Miscellaneous
		Memorabilia
			Printed material
Box 23				Book, Asbury Park Directory 1885
				Clippings
Box 23					About Stephen Crane 1896-1948
Oversize 2					Asbury Park newspapers 1879, 1886
Box 23					From Candles to Footlights / M. Schoberlin - reviews and notices
Box 23					Stephen Crane articles 1891-1900
Oversize 2					Stephen Crane articles 1892-1900 - copies
Box 23					Sullivan County Sketches / Schoberlin, M., ed. - reviews
Box 23					Miscellaneous
			Photographs and illustrations
Box 23				Brede Place
Box 23				Crane, Cora 1892
				Crane, Stephen
Box 23					British locations Crane may have visited
Box 23					Portraits (copy photographs and negatives, illustrations, caricatures)
						See also Oversize package 2
Box 23					U.S. locations Crane may have visited
Box 23					Writings (photographs and negatives)
						See also Oversize package 2
Box 23				Cranes' (Stephen and Cora) grave sites
Box 23				Pennsylvania and Lafayette College
Box 23				Schoberlin, Melvin - portraits
Oversize 2				Miscellaneous oversize
			Writings by others
Box 23				"Mr. Stephen Crane: an Appreciation" / Edward Garnett
Box 23				"The Red Badge of Courage and the Civil War tradition in Fiction: 1861-1895" / Joseph Ridgely 1947
Box 23				"Stephen Crane and His Work" / Edward Garnett
Box 23				"Stephen Crane's Revisions of Maggie: a Girl of the Streets" / Robert Wooster Stallman 1955
Box 23				"Study of the Criticisms on Stephen Crane" / Benedict Wolf 1928
			Miscellany
Box 23				Crane, Cora - spanish moss from above her grave
Box 23				Stationery sheet with heading, "Crane's New Jersey Coast News Bureau, Sandy Hook to Barnegat Bay, Asbury Park, N.J. Townley Crane, Manager, Stephen Crane, Secretary, Edgar C. Snyder, Treasurer" 1891-1892
		Indexes
Box 25			Index File #1 - Periodicals
Box 25			Index File #2 - Researchers, sources, Crane contemporaries
Box 25			Index File #3 - Original manuscripts; Chronological Crane history; Writings by or about Crane
Box 25			Index File #4 - Writings by or about Crane; Miscellany

	Ames Williams research files
		Correspondence-subject files
Box 24			Arms, George 1944
Box 24			B
Box 24			Bacheller, Irving 1941
Box 24			Boston Public Library 1942
Box 24			British Museum 1942
Box 24			Collamore, H. B. 1941-1942
Box 24			Crane, Cora / Pinker, J. - typescript copies of corresp.
Box 24			Crane, S. / Pinker, J. - typescript copies of corresp.
Box 24			Crane, S. / Reynolds, P. R. - typescript copies of corresp.
Box 24			D 1942
Box 24			E 1955
Box 24			French, Mansfield 1934-1951
Box 24			Funk & Wagnalls Company 1941
Box 24			G 1940-1942
Box 24			Gaines, Charles Kelsey 1942
Box 24			H 1942
Box 24			Harper Brothers 1942
Box 24			Hearst, William Randolph 1941
Box 24			William Heinemann, Ltd. 1942-1945
Box 24			Hill, Eldon 1942
Box 24			J 1941-1945
Box 24			L 1941-1942
Box 24			Linson, Corwin Knapp 1941-1944
Box 24			Little, Charles G. 1941
Box 24			M 1941
Box 24			Mason, A. E. W. 1946
Box 24			Mott, Howard 1943
Box 24			N 1941-1942
Box 24			P 1941-1942
			Pinker, James
				See Crane, Cora / Pinker, James and Crane, Stephen / Pinker, James (Box 24)
Box 24			R 1941-1942
			Reynolds, Paul Revere
				See Crane, S. / Reynolds, P. R. (Box 24)
Box 24			S 1941-1942
Box 24			Sheridan, Clare 1945
Box 24			Syracuse University 1941-1961
Box 24			T 1941
Box 24			U 1941-1942
Box 24			W 1941-1945
Box 24			Wheeler, Post 1942
		Writings
Box 24			"Alexandria, Virginia, Christmas 1954" Mar. 26, 1961 - private printing of Stephen Crane article "Fire!" with description by Ames Williams
Box 24			"On Collecting Stephen Crane" Mar. 26, 1961 - typescript of paper presented before the Manuscript Society
		Memorabilia
Box 24			Photograph, Lily Brandon - copy photo

	Recordings
Box 26		Charles Kuralt interview with Prof. Walter Sutton in CBS series: Exploring America - discussion of Stephen Crane Thanksgiving week, 1979 - Written on the back of the box: "Not for broadcast purposes". (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: crane_s_002)
Box 26		A Conversation Between Linda Davis and John Conway - Stephen Crane - Note on the back of the cassette case: "Produced by the Sullivan County Historical Society, this 30 minute video is a conversation between Linda Davis, author of Badge of Courage, A Biography of Stephen Crene, and Sullivan Historian John Conway. Together they explore the writings and life of Stephen Crane. (1/2 inch videotape; running time 30:00) (ID#: crane_s_004)
Box 26		Program by Virginia Wren, with guest: Lillian Gilkes, author of Cora Crane and co-author of Stephen Crane, Letters (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: crane_s_001)
Box 26		The Readers’ Almanac: guest Lillian Gilkes, author of Cora Crane Nov. 1, 1960 - Note on the back of the box reads: "Not continuity, intro and Interview only". Copy of the label is in the box. (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:26) (ID#: crane_s_003)
Box 26		SU Library Associates Lecture - Stephen Crane: One Biographer's Journey by Linda Davis 9/9/99 (1/2 inch videotape) (ID#: crane_s_005)

Return to top