Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Dasburg, Andrew, 1887-1979.
Title:	Andrew Dasburg Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1908-1981
Quantity:	3.8 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American painter. Correspondence, photographs of work, exhibition catalogs, and miscellaneous published material. Correspondents include William C. Agee, John H. Bradley, Alexander Brook, Louise Bryant, Jerry Bywaters, Witter Bynner, Peggy Church, Howard Cook, Philip Dedrick, Arthur Davison Ficke, Edwin Gamble, Marsden Hartley, Richard Hollander, Lila Howard, D.H. Lawrence, Ward Lockwood, Erle Loran, Mabel Dodge Luhan, Henry Lee McFee, John Marin, Georgia O'Keeffe, Louis Ribak, Morgan Russell, Lesley Simpson, Carl Van Vechten, Victor White, Owen Wister, and others.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Andrew Michael Dasburg (1887-1979) was an American modernist painter and teacher. Born in Paris, he attended the Art Students League of New York and became a leading early cubist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Andrew Dasburg Papers contain subject files, correspondence, writings, and memorabilia.

Subject files contains a detailed speech about Dasburg's early life, documenting his place of birth, his childhood and education, and the development of his talents. An interview with Dasburg in 1964 includes his thoughts about his work and that of other contemporary painters, and a discussion about Mabel Dodge Luhan. Also in this section is a list of painting prices handwritten by Dasburg, in which various types of paintings are listed with their selling price. Also included are photographs of some of Dasburg's work, both titled and untitled.

Correspondence covers the years from 1908 to 1971, and includes letters from family members and relatives (Alfred Dasburg, Daphne Dasburg, Andrew Kerr, Deborah Park, Diana Schwalbe, Owen Wister). There are many letters from patrons and art collectors, foremost among them Edwin Gamble and Mabel Dodge Luhan. Museums and art galleries that have shown his work and have corresponded with Dasburg include the Denver Art Museum, Frank K. M. Rehn, Inc., Kennedy Galleries, Inc., Leone Kahl Gallery, and the Museum of New Mexico.

Dasburg corresponded with many contemporary artists of his time including Kenneth Adams, Ernest Blumenschein, Alexander Brook, Paul Burlin, Lez Haas, Marsden Hartley, Arthur Lee, Ward Lockwood, Henry Lee McFee, John Marin, Judson Smith, and Robert Walker. Other prominent individuals connected to the art world with whom he corresponded include William C. Agee, Louise Bryant, Jerry Bywaters, F. Van Deren Coke, Lyon Hayes, and Georgia O'Keeffe.

Writings contains Dasburg's lecture notes about painting and his lectures as transcribed by an unidentified student. These notes reveal how Dasburg thought about painting, what he considered important in art, and his thoughts about how a painter relates to what he sees and what he puts on canvas. There are several articles written by Dasburg between 1932 and 1951; the topics include Cubism, and his position on exhibition rental policy.

Also in this collection are catalogs from Exhibitions of Dasburg's one-man shows as well as shows in which he had only one or two works. Dating from the 1930s to the 1970s, these catalogs feature Dasburg together with many of the artists with whom he corresponded.

Printed material about Dasburg contains articles and clippings dated from 1949 to 1981. They concern his exhibitions, his honors and awards, and his death in 1979.

Memorabilia contains printed material consisting of articles and clippings about Dasburg's correspondents. There are also articles about the pai nter Dasburg discovered, John Kane. Also under Memorabilia are the published works of Milton Brown, The Story of the Armory Show; Ward Lockwood, The Marin I knew: A Personal Reminiscence; and Gertrude Stein, Portrait of Mabel Dodge at Villa Curonia. Also included are individual issues of The Arts, Hue and Cry, and Laughing Horse.

Miscellany contains a personal note written an the back of an envelope, an address, and an unused tax form.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Each series is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Andrew Dasburg Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KMM
Date: Oct 1987
Revision history: 10 Apr 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 4 Feb 2016 - inventory updated, bioghist added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Subject files
Box 1		"Andrew Dasburg - Artist and Influence of the 1920s" - speech undated
Box 1		Interview with Dasburg July 2, 1964
Box 1		Painting prices undated
		Photographs
Box 1			of Dasburg undated
Box 1			of a) Dasburg Castle, b) Blacksmith at Nittel, Germany
Box 1			"Aspens"
Box 1			"Clouds" 1930
Box 1			"Coffee Plantation"
Box 1			"Cottonwoods" 1940
Box 1			"Fruit Still Life" 1931
Box 1			"Fruit Still Life" 1949
Box 1			"Garlic Bulbs"
Box 1			"Hondo Canyon" 1930
Box 1			"Joseph Bakos" 1923
Box 1			"Lamy Road" 1930
Box 1			"Landscape" 1932
Box 1			"Llano Quemado" 1950
Box 1			"Orchard" I 1950
Box 1			"Orchard" II 1950
Box 1			"Orchard In a Windstorm" III 1950
Box 1			"Picuris Mt."
Box 1			"Pines"
Box 1			"Ranchos de Taos" 1935
Box 1			"Sangrede Cristo Mountains"
Box 1			"Sepia Ink Landscape"
Box 1			"Still Life with Mandolin"
Box 1			"Tree" 1949
Box 1			Flower still lifes - untitled
Box 1			Portraits - untitled
Box 1			Sketches of nude models - untitled
Box 1			Vegetable still lifes - untitled
Box 1			Village buildings - untitled
Box 1			of Dasburg's work - duplicates

	Correspondence
Box 1		Adams, Kenneth M. (and Helen) 1923, 1930, 1957-1959, 1970
Box 1		Adkins, Eugene B. 1966-1967
Box 1		Agee, William C. 1964-1966
Box 1		Alexandre Rabow Galleries 1955
Box 1		American Art Research Council 1943
Box 1		American Federation of Arts 1959
Box 1		Archives of American Art 1965
Box 1		Austin, Mary (about Diego Rivera) 1933
Box 1		Bailey, Susa C. 1960-1961
Box 1		Baker, Marilyn 1968
Box 1		Baldinger, Wallace Spencer 1937
Box 1		Bewley, Edwin E. 1956
Box 1		Bibbons, Julia 1970, undated
Box 1		Blanc, W. P. 1956-1957
Box 1		Blumberg, Morrie 1961
Box 1		Blumenschein, Ernest 1955
Box 1		Bradley, John Hodgdon 1933, 1956-1957, 1959
Box 1		Brill, A. A. 1928
Box 1		Brook, Alexander 1924, 1965, 1971, undated
Box 1		Brown, Dorothy H. 1959
Box 1		Browne, Diana A. 1971
Box 1		Bryant, Louise 1920
Box 1		Burlin, Paul 1924
Box 1		Bynner, Witter 1959
Box 1		Bywaters, Jerry 1956-1957, 1959, 1960
Box 1		Church, Peggy Pond 1955, 1957, 1960, 1963
Box 1		Clemmens, Lucienne Chinard 1970, undated
Box 1		Coke, F. Van Deren 1959, 1964, 1970-1971
Box 1		Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center 1957
Box 1		Cook, Howard 1966-1967, 1969-1971
Box 1		Cottam, Betty 1955
Box 1		Cramer, Florence B. 1955
Box 1		Dasburg, Alfred V. (and Ann) 1955-1959, 1961, 1966, 1968-1971, undated
Box 1		Dasburg, Daphne 1955, 1965, 1968
Box 1		Dedrick, Philip 1953-1959, 1965-1967
Box 1		Denver Art Museum 1971
Box 2		de Schulthess, Amalia Mimi 1955-1961, 1963, 1970
Box 2		Dozier, Otis 1957
Box 2		Dundee Designs 1955
Box 2		Elkort, Martin 1959, undated
Box 2		Ellis, Robert C. (and Rosa and Eri) 1963, 1965, 1968, 1970-1971
Box 2		Endowment of 1967 1967-1968, 1970
Box 2		Erickson, R. J. "Eric" 1929-1930, undated
Box 2		Erwin, Dorothy 1958, 1965, 1969, 1971, undated
Box 2		Feeley, Gladys 1970-1971
Box 2		Ficke, Arthur (and Gladys) 1928-1929, 1970-1971
Box 2		Fifth Avenue Gallery 1959
Box 2		Fisher, Alan 1969
Box 2		Ford Foundation 1958-1960, 1962
Box 2		Frank K. M. Rehn, Inc. 1935
Box 2		Gamble, Edwin 1950-1971, undated (5 folders)
Box 2		Garber, Benjamin 1963-1965, undated
Box 2		Garrison, Lewis V. 1957
Box 2		Gillespie, Sallie 1965, 1968, undated
Box 2		Goodwin, Mary 1967, 1969, undated
Box 2		Graham, Donald S. 1971
Box 2		Griffin, John H. "Howard" 1957, 1959
Box 2		Haas, Lez (and Eleanor) 1955, 1958, 1963-1964, 1970
Box 2		Hagerman, Herbert J. 1933
Box 2		Harper, Pauline 1957, 1959, undated
Box 2		Hartley, Marsden undated
Box 2		Hendrickson, Albert Nels 1959
Box 2		Hollander, Richard 1955, 1959, 1965-1966, 1971
Box 2		Howard, Lila 1957-1960, 1964-1966
Box 2		Hutchinson, W. H. 1970
Box 2		John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1932
Box 2		Jonson Gallery 1958
Box 2		Kackley, Fritz 1968-1969, 1971
Box 2		Kassler, Charles Jr. 1967
Box 3		Kennedy Galleries, Inc. 1971
Box 3		Kerr, Andrew III 1968
Box 3		King, David W. 1966
Box 3		Kool, Alice Acker 1959-1960, 1962
Box 3		Lawrence, D. H. 1924, undated
Box 3		Lee, Arthur 1927
Box 3		Leone Kahl Gallery 1965
Box 3		Linden, Carl Eric 1933
Box 3		Lockwood, Ward 1955, 1957, 1960
Box 3		Loran, Erle 1957, 1959, 1970-1971
Box 3		Luhan, Mabel Dodge 1955, 1957-1959, undated
Box 3		Lyon, Hayes 1955, 1957, 1959, 1968-1971
Box 3		McFee, Henry Lee 1930-1931
Box 3		Marin, John (and Norma) 1929-1931, 1970, undated
Box 3		Montgomery, Arthur 1955, 1957
Box 3		Mozley, Loren 1957, 1959, 1969-1971
Box 3		Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute 1957, 1962
Box 3		Museum of New Mexico 1955, 1959, 1970
Box 3		Nash, Willard undated
Box 3		Nehls, Edward 1956
Box 3		O'Keeffe, Georgia 1931
Box 3		O'Rourke, Laurence J. 1970
Box 3		Park, Deborah 1955, 1966-1967, undated
Box 3		Phillips, Burton 1961, 1963, 1965, 1968, undated
Box 3		Phillips, Sandra S. 1970
Box 3		Pitkin, Charles D. 1970
Box 3		Reeder, Dickson (and Flora) 1957, undated
Box 3		Reichman, Fred 1955, 1957
Box 3		Ribak, Louis 1956, 1967-1969
Box 3		Rogoway, Alfred (and Marjorie) 1955-1956, 1958-1960, 1965-1966, 1968, undated
Box 3		Ronnebeck, Arnold 1930, undated
Box 3		Rosenstone, Robert A. 1970
Box 3		Russell, Morgan 1908, 1910-1915
Box 3		Saebean, Samuel 1969
Box 3		Sanger, Margery 1957, 1971
Box 3		Schack, William 1957
Box 3		Schwab, Arnold T. 1971
Box 3		Schwalbe, Diana 1955, 1959, 1961, 1965-1968, undated
Box 3		Shiras, Mary 1955
Box 3		Simpson, Lesley (and Marian) 1932-1933
Box 3		Smith, Anita M. 1957
Box 3		Smith, Emily Guthrie 1958-1959
Box 3		Smith, Judson 1928, 1932, 1955, 1959-1960
Box 3		State of New Mexico 1932, 1979
Box 3		Stevenson, J. H. "Joe" 1933
Box 3		Striebel, John 1956
Box 3		Stroh, Earl 1955-1958
Box 3		Swaine, Ruth 1956, 1958, 1960-1961, undated
Box 3		Tears, Ruth undated
Box 3		Todd, Robertson, Todd Engineering Corporation (about Diego Rivera) 1933
Box 3		Trentham, Eugene "Steve" 1957
Box 3		University of Kansas Museum of Art 1970
Box 3		University of Michigan Museum of Art 1953
Box 3		University of Nebraska Art Galleries 1957
Box 3		University of New Mexico 1958
Box 3		University of New Mexico, College of Fine Arts 1965
Box 3		Van Vechten, Carl 1922, 1925, 1928, 1930, undated
Box 4		Van Wagner, Judy 1969
Box 4		Walker, Robert 1925, 1928-1931, undated
Box 4		Walker, Robert (and Mariella) 1971
Box 4		Waters, Frank undated
Box 4		Wells, Mason B. 1957
Box 4		Weronke, Ann 1968-1969
Box 4		Weronke, Murilla 1968-1969
Box 4		White, Victor 1955, 1957-1959, 1964-1966, 1969, undated
Box 4		Whitney Museum of American Art 1936
Box 4		Williams, Elizabeth 1952
Box 4		Wister, Frances Mitchell undated
Box 4		Wister, Owen J. 1955, 1959-1960, 1965, undated
Box 4		Wolman, Cecil 1930, 1957, 1960-1961, 1964-1967, 1970-1971, undated
Box 4		Wood, Bernadine 1968-1969
Box 4		Miscellaneous 1931, 1955-1960, 1964-1965, 1967-1971, undated

	Writings
Box 5		Lecture notes on painting 1949-1950
Box 5		Lecture notes as transcribed by a student 1950
Box 5		Articles by Dasburg 1923, 1936, 1951

	Exhibitions
		Catalogs
Box 5			Art Students League of New York 1951
Box 5			A Selection of Works From the Art Galleries at the University of Nebraska 1963
Box 5			The Drawings of Andrew Dasburg 1966
Box 5		Miscellaneous 1936, 1939, 1940, 1957, 1960, 1966, 1970
Box 5		Mailings 1966
Box 5		Photographs of Dasburg's work in unidentified gallery undated

	Printed material about
Box 5		Articles 1959, 1966, 1981, undated
Box 5		Clippings 1949, 1951, 1960, 1966-1967, 1979, undated

	Memorabilia
		Printed material
Box 5			Articles (miscellaneous) undated
Box 5			Articles - John Kane 1937, undated
Box 5			Articles - "Santa Fe - Its Years of Art" Nov. 12, 1967
Box 5			Clippings (miscellaneous) 1946, 1958, 1971, undated
Box 5			Clippings - "El Crepusculo" Oct. 15, 1953
		Published material
Box 6			Brown, Milton W., The Story of the Armory Show 1963
Box 6			Hunter, Sam, Modern American Painting and Sculpture 1959
Box 6			Lockwood, Ward, The Marin I Knew: A Personal Reminiscence undated
Box 6			Stein, Gertrude, Portrait of Mabel Dodge at the Villa Curonia 1913
Box 6			The University of New Mexico Bulletin Aug. 14, 1953
Box 6			The Arts July 1924, Nov. 1926
Box 6			The Hue and Cry 1926
Box 6			Laughing Horse Summer 1929

	Miscellaneous
Box 6		Miscellanea - personal note written an the outside of an envelope, an address, and an unused income tax form

Return to top