Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Dávila, Carlos G., 1887-1955.
Title:	Carlos Davila Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1930-1957
Quantity:	6 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the Chilean diplomat, journalist, author. Collection includes correspondence, photographs, clippings, manuscript essays and speeches, and published addresses and essays by Dávila (1943-1954), and articles and clippings by and about Dávila.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Carlos Davila (1887-1955) was a Chilean statesman, diplomat, editor, and writer. Davila was born in Los Angeles, Chile, and studied law at the University of Chile, Santiago. There he was president of the Students' Federation. He founded and directed the newspapers La Nacion and Los Tiempos, and the magazine Hoy.

From 1927 to 1931 he was Chile's ambassador to the United States, and in 1932 he became President of Chile. He was a member of the Interamerican Financial and Economic Advisory Committee in 1939 and 1940, and was visiting professor of International Law for the Carnegie Peace Foundation. In 1941, Davila was a recipient of the Cabot Prize awarded by Columbia University's School of Journalism for distinguished service in Inter-American relations in journalism. He was on the social and economic council of the United Nations and from 1943-1946 was on the UN Relief and Rehabilitation Administration. He received degrees of Doctor of Law Honores Causa from Columbia University and Southern California University at Los Angeles. In 1954, Davila was elected Secretary-General of OAS. He was one of the most widely read South American writers and author of the book We of the Americas.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carlos Davila Papers consist of subject files, manuscripts, and published material (general as well as bound articles and books).

Subject files contains correspondence, photographs, clippings and related items.

Manuscripts contains manuscripts of articles, books, notes, speeches and lectures by Davila.

Published material contains addresses, articles, news clippings, pamphlets, periodicals, a report and a scrapbook. Addresses are by Davila, and by others; articles are by Davila; news clippings are about Davila, others and by Davila. Periodicals contain articles by or about Davila and are arranged first alphabetically, then chronologically.

Numbered articles by Davila contains bound articles and a bibliography. The articles are arranged chronologically and then by number.

Books consists of the collection owned by Davila; many of them are autographed.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts and Published material are arranged alphabetically by type. Numbered articles are bound in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carlos Davila Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Donated by Frances Adams Dávila, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: circa 1975
Revision history: 23 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Subject File
Box 1		Biographical material
Box 1		Almegro undated
Box 1		American Man 1950-1953
Box 1		Bank deposit slip May 6, 1948
Box 1		Cabot Award Nov. 3, 1941
Box 1		Caricature of Davila undated
Box 1		Coffee 1944
Box 1		Davila, Mrs. Carlos [Frances Adams] 1950-1957
Box 1		El Diario de Nueva York Sept.-Oct. 1948
Box 1		Election to Secretaryship of OAS June 17, 1954
Box 1		Eloy Alfaro International Foundation Cross Jan., 1950
Oversize 1		Hispanic Society of America Oct. 25, 1956
Box 1		"Hoy" 1933-1936
Box 1		Inter-American Financial & Economic Advisory Committee Nov., 1939
Box 1		Inter-American Financial & Economic Advisory Committee-Davila Plan Dec. 1934
Box 1		International Bank 1954
Box 1		Interviews with Davila 1955
Box 1		Joaquin Fernandez [Foreign Minister] 1943-1946
Box 1		Land 1953
Box 1		Lotus Club 1955
Box 1		Monroe Doctrine 1946-1954
Box 1		OAS 1954
Box 1		ONU [United Nations] 1952
Box 1		Oscar Fenner (Ministo) 1953
Box 1		Pan-American Week in Chicago 1955
Box 1		Photo with note from Eduardo Rojas Jacome Oct. 7, 1954
Box 1		Photos of Davila undated
Box 1		Portrait of Davila undated
Box 1		Promotional Material for "El Mundo Que No Fue" undated
Box 1		Racquet Club 1954
Box 1		Rotary Club of Washington, D.C. Oct. 15, 1954
Box 1		Sociedad Minera Exploradora del Tatio [Geothermic Project] 1951
Box 2		Trip to Cuba & Dominican Republic June, 1939
Box 2		Trip to South America 1954
Box 2		UNRA-I [United Nations Relief & Rehabilitation Administration] 1944
Box 2		UNRA-LL 1944
Box 2		UNRA-LLL 1944
Box 2		We of the Americas, I 1950
Box 2		We of the Americas, II 1949-1952
Box 2		We of the Americas, III 1949-1954

	Manuscripts
Box 3		Articles 1935-[1954]
Box 3		Book undated
Box 3		Book: Popular History of the U.S. undated
Box 3		Notes, lists undated
Box 3		Speeches, lectures 1953-1957

	Published Material
Box 4		Addresses by Davila 1932, 1948, 1954
Box 4		Addresses by others Feb. 24, 1948
Box 4		Articles by Davila undated
Box 4		News clippings about Davila 1936-1954
Box 4		News clippings about Davila 1941-1955
Box 4		News clippings about Davila 1947-1954
Box 4		News clippings by Davila 1938-1954
Box 5		Pamphlet 1951
Box 5		Periodicals A 1955-1956
Box 5		Periodicals C-W 1945-1954
Oversize 1		Records of Consejo Nacional de Comercio 1951 Exterior, Chile
Box 5		Report on American Republics Oct. 1, 1944
Box 5		Resolution of OAS Dec. 7, 1955
Oversize 1		Scrapbook of clippings 1930-1932

	Numbered Articles by Davila
Box 6		Bibliography
Box 6		Articles (#'s 1-500) 1943-1948
Box 7		Articles (#'s 541-851) 1948-1951
Box 8		Articles (#'s 852-1061) 1952-1954

	Books
		* indicates the book is signed by the author; ° indicates the book is signed by someone else
Box 9		List of authors in Davila's Collection
Box 9		Andrew, Doctor / * El Partideño
Box 9		Andrew, Doctor / * Héroes Sangrantes
Box 9		Arboleda, Diego Castrillion / * Sol en Tambalimbú
Box 9		Arciniegas, German / Entra La Libertady El Miedo
Box 9		Bello, Joaquin Edwards / °Don Eliodoro Yañez
Box 9		Berman / * Hombre de Accion
Box 9		Borges, Jorge Luis / La Muertey La Brujula
Box 9		Bustamante I Rivero, Jose / * Tres Años de Lucha Por Luis La Democraciaenel Peru
Box 9		Carbia, Romulo D. / Historia De la legenda Neyra Hispanio-American
Box 9		Castro, Daltazar / * Un Hombre por el Camino
Box 9		Concho, Manuel / Tradiciones Sevenenses
Box 9		Contrevas, Eleazar Lopez / * El Pensamiento De Bolivar, Liberta dor
Box 9		Cruz, Guillermo Feliu / * En Torno de Ricardo Palma
Box 9		Cuervo, R. J. / Obras (2 parts)
Box 9		Culbertson, Ely / * Total Peace
Box 9		Davila, Carlos / * Nosotros, Los de las Americas (2 copies)
Box 9		Davis, Harold E. / * Latin American Leaders
Box 9		De Baratta, Maria / * Cuzcatgan Tipico (2 parts)
Box 9		De Castro, Josúe / * Geografia Da Rome
Box 9		De Cosso, Jose Llado / * Izaguirre
Box 9		De Gomez, Ana Caballero / * Imagen De Niño
Box 9		De LasCuevas / Biografia Del Vino de Jerez
Box 9		De La Torriente, Loló / * Estudio de las Artes Plasticus en Cuba
Box 9		De Quesada, Gimeney / Capitanes
Box 9		De Santillan, D. A. / El Pensamiento Politico De Roosevelt
Box 9		D'Halmar, Augusto / Pasion y Muerte Del-Cura-Deusto
Box 9		Donnay, Maurice / °Musset y el amor
Box 9		Du Maurier, Daphne / Rebeca (Una mujer inolvidable)
Box 10		Eliot, Geo. Fielding / The Ramparts We Watch
Box 10		Fevrava, Orestes / * Cirevon y Mirabeau
Box 10		Figueras, Tomas Garcia / * Marruecos
Box 10		Fuentes, Roberto Meza / * Cinco Romances de la Patria
Box 10		Fuentes, Roberto Meza / * Fiesta de la Primavera
Box 10		Galvey, Jose / * Estampas Limeñas
Box 10		Genta, Edgardo Ubaldo / * Poesias
Box 10		Gonzalez-Blanco, Pedro / Against Arciniegas
Box 10		Hamilton, Carlos / Comunidad de Pueblos Hispanicos
Box 10		Haring, C. H. / * The Spanish Empire in America
Box 10		Hughlett, Lloyd J. / Industrialization of Latin America
Box 10		Huidobro, Vicente / * La Proxima
Box 10		Iglesias, Augusto / * Gabriela Mistral y El Modernismo en Chile
Box 10		Iglesias, Augusto / * Entredos Siglos
Box 10		Iris / * Tierra Virgin
Box 10		Johnston, Eric/ * We're all in it
Box 10		La Cunza, P. Manuel / * Las Doctrinas
Box 10		Lagoz L., Moises / * La Caja de los Periodistas de Chile
Box 10		Larrain, Sergis Fernander / * Informa
Box 10		Lisboa, Rosalina Coclho / ...a seara de Caim (2 copies)
Box 10		Lisboa, Rosalina Coclho / Pasos en el Camino
Box 10		Lomboy, Peinaldo / Ranquil
Box 10		Loucel, Maria / Ilapso
Box 10		Mac-Clure, Rafael Elizalde / Los Angeles de Hollywood
Box 11		Mallea, Eduardo / Historia de una Pasion Argentina
Box 11		Marco, Mariategni, Jose / l Alma Matinal
Box 11		Mc Bride, Geo. M. / Chile, Land and Society
Box 11		Mc Connel, Burt M. / Mexico at the Bar of Public Opinion
Box 11		Merrick Lectures for 1943 / Christian Bases of World Order
Box 11		Mendoza, Humberto / * Socialismo
Box 11		Mendoza, E. Rodriguez / El Golpe de Estado de 1924
Box 11		Molina, Abbe Don J. Ignatius / The Natural History of Chile
Box 11		Molina, Abbe Don J. Ignatius / The Civil History of Chile
Box 11		Nabrica, Carolina / * La Vida de Joaquim Nabuca
Box 11		Naft, Stephen / * Conversion Equivalents in International Trade
Box 11		Nobre, Fernando / * Academia Punlista de Letras
Box 11		Nobre, Fernando / * Roma! Roma!
Box 11		Norton, Henry Kittredge / °The Coming of South America
Box 11		Obra Sindie al "Artesania" / °El Portesano Español os Ofrice
Box 11		Occelli, Pierluigi / Pio X
Box 11		Páez, Gen. Jose Antonio / Autobiografia
Box 11		Pereyra, Carlos / Herman Cortes
Box 11		Pierson, W. W. Jr. / * Hispanic-American History: A Syllabus
Box 11		Proust, Marcel / * Sus mejores páginas
Box 11		Quintanilla, Luis / A Latin American Speaks
Box 11		Requena, Andres / Los Enemigos de la Tierra
Box 11		Reves, Emery / The Anatomy of Peace
Box 11		Rembao, Alberto / * Meditaciones Neoyorkinas
Box 12		Reulet, Anibal Sanchez / * Contemporary Latin-American Policy
Box 12		Reyes, Chela / * Puertas Verdes
Box 12		Romero, Alberto / * La mala estrella de Perucho Gonialey
Box 12		Roosevelt, Franklin D. / Por qué nos Armamos
Box 12		Sacasa, Dr. Juan B. / * Como y por qué cai del poder
Box 12		Salazar, Eduardo / * Derechos Del Hombre
Box 12		Soule, George / Latin America in the future world
Box 12		Speeches / Speeches Incident to the West, of Sec. Root to S.A. Zoe
Box 12		Subercaseauz, Benjamin / Crónicas del Centenario
Box 12		Varas, Atilio Macchiavello / Albas de Medianoihe
Box 12		Vicuna, Alejandro / * Abelardo
Box 12		Vicuna, Alejandro / * Ciceron
Box 12		Vicuna, Alejandro / * Horacio
Box 12		Vicuna, Alejandro / * Imes de Suarez
Box 12		Vicuna, Alejandro / * Pablo de Tarp
Box 12		Vicuna, Alejandro / Yo, El Jordan
Box 12		Townsend, Francis E. / Quisqueya
Box 12		Ziff, William B. / * Two Worlds

Return to top