Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Environmental Activism Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Environmental Activism Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1970-1972
Quantity: 2 items
Abstract: Posters relating to advocacy for clean air, clean water, etc.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Environmental activism, or environmentalism, refers to advocacy and efforts concerned with the protection, repair, and improvement of the planetary environment -- air, water, and earth -- for humans, animals, and plants. The term embraces a very wide range of actions, from the traditional to the radical. Traditional activities include legal (lawsuits, injunctions), financial (fund-raising, purchase of land), and political (lobbying for legislation, endorsement of candidates). More radical actions include civil disobedience such as protesting or picketing, and violence (sabotage of oil pipelines, destruction of logging equipmet). Because environmental costs in the United States have fallen disproportionately on people of color, environmental activism may overlap with anti-racist work.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Environmental Activism Collection consists of posters about combating pollution.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holding related to various forms of activism, including abolition, prison reform, and radicalism in the arts. Please search our collections or refer to the SCRC Subject Index for more.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Cheslock, Edward.

Corporate Bodies

Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States.
Junior League of Wilmington, Delaware.

Subjects

Air pollution.
Environmentalism -- United States.
Environmentalism in art.
Environmentalism in mass media.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Environmental Activism Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2021.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 28 May 2021
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
Map-Case Posters circa 1970-1972
"Fight Foul," Equitable Life Assurance Society
"Pollution is only human," Junior League of Wilmington
"Oh Say Can You See," Junior League of Wilmington

Return to top