Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine Editorial Correspondence
A description of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Magazine of fantasy and science fiction (Cornwall, Conn.) |
| Title: | Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine Editorial Correspondence |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1949-1950 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Documents related to the founding of the Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
The Magazine of fantasy and science fiction (usually referred to as F&SF) is an American genre fiction magazine, first published in 1949 by Lawrence Spivak's Mystery House, a subsidiary of Mercury Press. The first editors were Anthony Boucher and J. Francis McComas. Later editors included Avram Davidson, Edward Ferman, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Gordon Van Gelder, and Charles Coleman Finlay.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Documents and letters relating to the founding of The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, including approximately 250 letters between the early editors.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Associated Titles
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine Editorial Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Edward Ferman, 2023.
Processing Information
The collection is unprocessed.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025
Revision history:
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.