|Creator:||Hart, Henry J.|
|Title:||Henry J. Hart Collection|
|Quantity:||4.5 linear feet|
|Abstract:||Material relating to real estate and investments in central New York|
|Repository:||Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
Henry J. Hart (dates unknown) was a real estate agent and estate executor in Syracuse, New York in the early 20th century. He is listed in Jackson's Real Estate Directory, 1912-1913 edition, as having offices at 68 Wieting Block. He served as the city's Commissioner of Deeds from 1911-1913 (Proceedings of the Common Council of the City of Syracuse, FY 1911, p. 13), and according to The Real Estate Magazine, Volume 4 (Nov 1914), p. 78 was a delegate to the state's first convention of real estate businessmen. His name also appears in the U.S. Patent Registry as part owner of a patent for an automatic car brake (US Pat. No. 661,435, filed Feb 20, 1900).His wife, Adeline Hart, worked along side Hart in his real estate business.
The Henry J. Hart Collection is separated into Hart's papers and those of others.
The first series consists of Henry J. Hart's business records, the clients for whom he was executor, and his personal financial accounts and correspondence. In the business records subseries, the contracts folders consist of contracts conducted between a second part and either Hart himself or his wife Adeline.
The second series consist of contracts between other, that is individuals not Hart or Adeline. Also within this series are a few blueprints and urban development plans created by unknown companies.
The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by name or type of material and within each folder chronologically.
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Henry J. Hart Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Nov 2019
Revision history: 12 Jul 2021 - processed (RMH)
|Henry J. Hart|
|Oversize 1||Appraisals 1904-1921 (2 folders)|
|Box 1||Appraisals 1919-1923|
|Box 1||Contracts 1907, 1910-1923 (2 folders)|
|Box 1||Financial material 1905-1925, (3 folders)|
|Box 1||Residence property book 1917-1922 (2 folders)|
|Box 1||Scrapbook circa 1915-1925 - newspaper clippings of Hart's advertisments and handwritten notes on numerous types of potential properties|
|Box 2||Miscellaneous circa 1915-1925 - clippings, financial material, and ink stamp (3 folders)|
|Box 2||Hampton, Jennie M. 1911, 1916-1925 - correspondence, contracts, financial material, miscellaneous (4 folders)|
|Box 2||Overacker, Susan 1926-1928 - correspondence, court documents, financial material (3 folders)|
|Box 2||Wilcox, Emmaline 1913-1923 - estate account|
|Box 2||Correspondence 1915, 1926|
|Box 2||Date book circa 1910-1920|
|Box 3||Account ledgers 1898, 1915-1928 (3 folders)|
|Oversize 2||Account ledger circa 1915-1925|
|Box 3||Income tax 1919-1923|
|Oversize 3||Income tax 1918-1924|
|Box 3||Allen, Orpha C. 1918-1922|
|Box 3||Cage, Elizabeth 1917-1919|
|Box 3||Fellows, Nellie L. 1918-1919|
|Box 3||Fellows, William G. 1906, 1908, 1915-1918, 1923-1925|
|Box 3||Blueprints of homes in Syracuse undated|
|Oversize 3||Blueprints of homes and urban development in Syracuse undated|
|Box 3||Contracts, miscellaneous 1874, 1892, 1902, 1908, 1911-1916 (2 folders)|
|Box 4||Contracts, miscellaneous 1920-1928 (2 folders)|
|Box 4||Miscellaneous 1869, 1905, 1921-1923 - court documents and abstract of titles|
|Box 4||Miscellaneous 1910, 1913, 1916-1918, 1920-1922, 1927-1928 - other individual receipts, blank forms, and handwritten notes|