Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Hartigan, Grace.
Title:	Grace Hartigan Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1942-2006
Quantity:	25 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, primarily incoming, 1942-1970; drawings by Alfred Leslie and Saul Steinberg; exhibition catalogs; a notebook containing recipes and sketches; photographs of Hartigan, her work, and various of her artist friends, including Mary Clyde, Willem de Kooning, Helen Frankenthaler, Alfred Leslie, Frank O'Hara, and Larry Rivers; and writings of Hartigan and others, including that of Ted Joans, Barbara Guest, and Frank O'Hara
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Grace Hartigan (1922-2008) was an American painter and art educator, and a significant member of the Abstract Expressionist School of art which emerged in New York City in the 1950s. Her circle of friends included Jackson Pollock, Larry Rivers, Helen Frankenthaler, Willem and Elaine de Kooning, Frank O'Hara, and many other luminaries of the artistic and literary scene. Her paintings are held by numerous major galleries and museums, including the Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum of American Art, and the Smithsonian Institution.

Grace Hartigan was born in Newark, New Jersey on March 28, 1922. During a bout of pneumonia at age 6, she taught herself to read and draw, although she did not take formal art lessons until she was nearly twenty. In 1941, she moved to Los Angeles, where she took her first drawing classes. In 1942 she returned to the East coast where she worked as a draftsman in a war plant, and studied with painter Isaac Lane Muse.

Hartigan moved to New York City in 1945. There she became acquainted with several important artists, many of whom remained lifelong friends and artistic allies, including Milton Avery, Adolph Gottlieb, and Mark Rothko. In 1948 she was deeply impressed by an exhibit of Jackson Pollock's work and met both Pollock and Willem de Kooning. Hartigan and her husband at the time, artist Harry Jackson, spent most of 1949 painting in Mexico. Hartigan returned to New York City in 1950, and after exhibiting in several small avant-garde shows her work was selected by Clement Greenberg for the Koontz Gallery's "Meyer Schapiro New Talent" Exhibit. In 1951 and 1952 Hartigan had her first two solo exhibits, both at the Tibor de Nagy Gallery, a new gallery run by John Bernard Myers. In 1953, at her third show at Tibor de Nagy, the Museum of Modern Art purchased her painting Persian Jacket.

Like other painters of the so-called "New York School", Hartigan was closely associated -- both personally and professionally -- with several outstanding poets of the time such as Barbara Guest, James Schuyler and Frank O'Hara. She incorporated the text of O'Hara's poems "Oranges" into a series of twelve paintings, also titled "Oranges," in 1953. Later in her career, she created prints based on work by James Schuyler and Barbara Guest. In 1959 she participated in several international exhibitions including "Twelve Americans," "Art in Embassies," and "New American Painting," and was featured in a Life magazine essay.

In the early 1960s, following a move to the Baltimore, Maryland area with husband Winston Price, she invented a new medium, watercolor collage, using washes to create form, then tearing and reassembling the pieces. She also began teaching painting at the Maryland Institute College of Art's Hoffberger School of Painting, and in 1965 was appointed its director. In that capacity, she influenced students from all over the world. In 1969 Price's health began a slow decline, due to illness resulting from a self-administered experimental vaccine; he finally died in 1981. For this and other reasons the 1970s proved emotionally trying for Hartigan, as reflected in her work from this period.

In the early 1980s, Hartigan focused on heroines as her subject matter. She created a series of paper dolls based on 1930s movie stars and did a series of "Great Queens and Empresses" including Empress Theodora of Byzantium, Elizabeth I of England, Empress Josephine of France, and Eleanor of Aquitaine. She had a solo exhibition at ACA Galleries in New York City in 1992 and her work was included in the Whitney Museum's exhibit "Hand Painted Pop" in 1993.

Hartigan was the subject of a major monograph, Grace Hartigan: A Painter's World, by art historian Robert Mattison, as well as two important exhibit guides, Grace Hartigan and the Poets, by Terrence Diggory and Painting Art History, by Sharon L. Hirsh. An edited selection of her diaries was published in 2009 by Syracuse University Press.

Hartigan was married four times: Robert Jachens (1941-1947), with whom she had a son Jeffrey (1942); Harry Jackson, a fellow painter (1949-1950); Robert Keene, a New York gallery owner (1959-1960); Winston Price, epidemiologist and Abstract Art collector (1960-1981).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1942 to 2006, the Grace Hartigan Papers comprises correspondence, writings and memorabilia of the abstract expressionist painter (b. 1922). While documenting Hartigan's career as a painter and as a teacher at Maryland Institute College of Art, the collection also illuminates the New York City literature and art scene, particularly of the 1950s.

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-31) contains incoming letters and drafts of some outgoing letters, original art from fellow artists and students, and Hartigan's notes on a variety of people and subjects. Correspondents whose letters are of greatest depth and duration include Sally Lindsay Bos, Fay Chandler, Mary Abbott Clyde, Terence Diggory (author of a study on Hartigan and the New York school of poets), Helen Frankenthaler and Robert Motherwell, Gertrude Kasle, Robert Mattison (author of a monograph on Hartigan), Beatrice Perry, Rex Stevens (Hartigan's studio assistant for many years), and Maynatalie Tabak. There is substantial correspondence with the galleries that handled Hartigan's work through the years both in the U.S. (ACA Galleries, Gres Gallery, Grimaldis, Gruenebaum Gallery, Kouros Gallery, Martha Jackson Galleries, Julian Weissman Fine Arts, Tibor de Nagy), and abroad (Galleria Schneider). There is also significant material relating to Hartigan's many years as a teacher at the Hoffberger School of the Maryland Institute College of Art, Baltimore, Maryland.

Material on Frank O'Hara is scattered throughout the collection and includes letters (Frank O'Hara, Joseph Le Seuer), monograph notes (Terence Diggory) and lecture notes (Daniel McGuinness).

Hartigan's other correspondents include artists (Lawrence Bahrych, Robert Blackburn, Leonard Bocour, Paul Brach and Miram Schapiro, Salvatore Federico, Tatyana Grosman, Jasper Johns, Ed Kerns, Alfred Leslie, Ryozo Morishita, John Raimondi, Larry Rivers, John Salt, Joan Stolz), poets (Douglas Crase, Barbara Guest, Ted Joans, Roger Kamenetz, Frank O'Hara), and writers (Patricia Albers, Lawrence Campbell, Martha Crow, Waldemar Hansen, Wendy Jeffers, Leslie King-Hammond, John and Marion Somers), as well as composer John Cage and photographer Walter Silver.

Organizational correspondence includes that of educational institutions (Brandeis University, Brooklyn College, Kent State University, Loyola Marymount, Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture, University of Maryland); museums (Baltimore Museum of Art, Guggenheim Museum, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, Whitney Museum, Neuberger Museum, Corcoran Gallery of Art, National Gallery of Art [Washington, D.C.], Smithsonian Museum); galleries (Allene Lapides Gallery, Anita Shapolsky Gallery, The Brata Gallery, David Anderson Gallery); publishers (Ballantine Books, Doubleday, Hudson Hills Press, St. James Press); charitable institutions and foundations (Ford Foundation, Joan Mitchell Foundation, Sarah Campbell Blaffer Foundation); and various professional or art-related organizations (Artists Equity Association, College Art Association of America, Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art.)

Writings (Box 32) includes autobiographical material (typed journal excerpts, copies of items excerpted from the Correspondence-Subject files, and material Hartigan prepared for publication), addresses and remarks, and other. Memorabilia (Boxes 32-43) includes biographical material (prepared by others), a calendar from 1950 with annotations, recipes, financial material (receipts), lists of Hartigan's paintings prepared for various purposes, medical information, and photographs. Photographs (Boxes 39-43) includes prints, negatives and transparencies of Hartigan's artwork and studio, artwork by others, and personal photographs. Many of the photographs, together with negatives and proof sheets, were taken by noted photographer Walter Silver, including candid shots and portraits of Hartigan's friends and associates in New York City during the 1950s.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into family and general; within that, material is arranged alphabetically. Writings and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by title or type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A number of items - consisting mostly of exhibit catalogs - have been removed from the collection and cataloged as part of the Rare Books Collection. Please search our regular online catalog using "hartigan, grace" as the keyword to find these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grace Hartigan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of collection, gift of Grace Hartigan, 1969, 2004; Some correspondence, gift of Fay Chandler, 2007; Some correspondence and photographs, gift of George Silver, 2009.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JMC/MRR
Date: April 2006
Revision history: 11 Apr 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR); 24 Aug 2006 - Finalized per Grace's responses (MRR); 20 Apr 2007 - updated to reflect Fay Chandler's donations; 26 Mar 2008 - Chandler additions processed (LMS); 7 Jul 2009 - Silver additions (MRC); 18 Jun 2012 - LCSH updates (MRC); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD); 12 Nov 2013 - artwork, draft of Mattison's book (MRC); 22 Apr 2016 - bioghist updated (MRC); 21 Feb 2020 - bioghist updated (MRC); 18 May 2022 - matted prints rehoused as OS 2 (MRC); 10 Jan 2024 - scrapbook date updated (DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

	Artwork
Oversize 2		"Salute" silkscreen prints 1961 (3 items)

	Correspondence-subject files
		Family correspondence
Box 1			Cahill, Pam (niece) 1986, 1989, 1993-1998, 2003, undated
Box 1			Fuller, Valerie (granddaughter) 1987-2003, undated
Box 1			Hartigan, Arthur (brother) 1975-2003 - includes GH on religious beliefs
Box 1			Hartigan, Brian (cousin) 2000
Box 1			Hartigan, Matthew A. and Grace Orvis (parents) 1962, 1968, 1972, undated
Box 1			Hartigan, Patrick (nephew) 1981-1995, undated (3 folders)
Box 1			Hollowell, Erika (daughter of Vicky) 1998, 2000
Box 1			Hollowell, Vicky (granddaughter) 1986-1992, 2001, undated
Box 1			Jachens, Jeffrey (son) 1955, 1962, 1978, 1988-1994, 2003, undated
Box 1			Jachens, Robert (first husband) 1960 (letter about), 1983
Box 1			Jackson, Harry (second husband) 1995
				See also Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others
			Keene, Robert (third husband)
				See Robert Keene Gallery (Southampton, New York)
Box 1			Price, Florence (mother-in-law) 1975
Box 1			Price, Winston (Dr.) (fourth husband) 1964, 1967, undated
Box 1			Sesee, Barbara, Bob (sister and brother-in-law) and family 1962, 1972-1980, 1987-2003, undated
Box 1			Von Spreckelson, Susan (niece) 1991, 1998
Box 1			Virginia and Henry (sister and brother-in-law) undated
Box 1			Miscellaneous family
		General correspondence-subject files
Box 2			A (1 folder)
Box 2			AA (Alcoholics Anonymous) 1988, 1990
Box 2			AARC (art appraisers) 2002
Box 2			Aaron Galleries (Chicago, Illinois) 1995
Box 2			Abbeville Press 1986
			Abbot, Mary
				See Clyde, Mary Abbot
Box 2			Abiodun, Julian 2003
Box 2			Abplanalp, Beverly undated
Box 2			ACA Galleries (New York, New York) (2 folders) 1990-2003, undated (2 folders)
				See also Bush, Martin; Weissman, Julian and Karen
Box 2			Acharya, Dhruvi 1996-2001, undated
Box 2			Acheson, Alice (Mrs. Dean) 1981
Box 2			Acheson, Jonathan and Lindsey, Phil undated
Box 2			Adams, Connie 2000-2003
Box 2			Adams, Joy and Fred 1981-1983
Box 2			Adams, Pat 1997
Box 2			Agnes Scott College (Decatur, Georgia) 1974
Box 2			Aguirre, George 1984
Box 2			AIDS Interfaith Residential Services (AIRS) 1996-1997
Box 2			Albany Institute of History and Art (Albany, New York) 1980, 1985, 1991
Box 2			Albers, Patricia 2002
Box 2			Albright-Knox Art Gallery (Buffalo, New York) 1971-1985
Box 2			The Aldrich Museum (Ridgefield, Connecticut) 1975
Box 2			Alexander, Dean undated
Box 2			Alexander, Jane 1990
Box 2			Allen, Don 1969-1974
Box 2			Allene Lapides Gallery (Santa Fe, New Mexico) 1993-1994
Box 2			Allentown Art Museum (Allentown, Pennsylvania) 1973
Box 2			Alliance of Independent Colleges of Art 1990
Box 2			American Academy of Arts and Letters 1972-1999
Box 2			American Art Forum 1990
Box 2			American Indian Heritage Foundation 1991
Box 2			The American University (Washington, D.C.) 1972-1987
Box 2			Amherst College (Mead Art Museum) (Amherst, Massachusetts) 1979-1992
Box 2			Amman, Max 1993-1994
Box 2			Amnesty International 1989-2001
Box 2			Amos, Sarah 1999, undated
Box 2			Anbinder, Paul 1991, 1998
Box 2			Anco Wood Specialties 1971
Box 2			Anderson, David 1962
Box 2			Anderson, Donald 1985-1987
Box 2			Andlinger, Arni 1973-1984, undated
Box 2			Andrews, Alice 1990, undated
Box 2			Anita Shapolsky Gallery (New York, New York) 1991, 1993
Box 3			Anne Arundel County Public Schools (Annapolis, Maryland) 1982
Box 3			Antupit, Samuel 1991, undated
Box 3			Anuszkiewicz, Richard 1969, 1990
Box 3			App, Timothy 1997
Box 3			Architectural Digest 1993
Box 3			Archives of American Art (Washington, D.C.) 1981-1992
Box 3			Arnett, Earl 1990
Box 3			Arnold, Anne (Ernie Briggs) 1984
Box 3			Arshile (magazine) 1998
Box 3			Art Academy of Cincinnati 1976
Box 3			The Art Connection 1999
Box 3			Art Emergency Fund 1970, undated
Box 3			Art Gallery of Ontario 1988
Box 3			Art in Architecture Program 1989
Box 3			Art in Embassies Program 1973-2003
Box 3			Art Institute of Chicago 1983, 1988
Box 3			The Art League (Alexandria, Virginia) 1983
Box 3			Art Museum Association of America 1984
Box 3			Art School of the Society of Arts and Crafts 1972
Box 3			Artex Fine Art Services (Tacoma Park, Maryland) 1993-2003
Box 3			Artists Against Abuse 2000
Box 3			Artists Coalition 1969
Box 3			Artists Equity Association 1974-1978, undated
Box 3			Artists' Fellowship Inc. 2000, undated
Box 3			Artist's Rights Association 1974
Box 3			Artists Talk on Art Panel Series 1994-1995
Box 3			ARTNews 1959, 1981, 1992-1993
Box 3			Arts Four Corp. 1992
Box 3			Arts Magazine 1978, 1985
Box 3			Aselage, Robert 1987, 1989, 1994
Box 3			Ashton, Dore 1973-1977, undated
Box 3			Associated American Artists 1990
Box 3			Associated Space Design (Atlanta, Georgia) 1984
Box 3			Australian National Gallery (Canberra) 1985, 1988
Box 3			Awards in the Visual Arts 1981-1982
Box 3			Azur, Judith 1992
Box 3			B (1 folder)
Box 3			Bachmann, Gerd 1990-2001
Box 3			Baer, Nancy 1975
Box 3			Baggish, Michael and Caryl 1971-1975, undated
Box 3			Bahrych, Lawrence undated (1990s?) - includes many decorated envelopes, letters, handmade Christmas cards
Box 3			Baldini, Gene 1976-1993
Box 3			Baldwin, Charles and Jacqueline 1972-1984
Box 3			The Baldwin School (Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania) 1969-1970
Box 3			Ball State University (Muncie, Indiana) 1987-1996
Box 3			Ballantine Books 1968
Box 3			Balsys, Algis 1979
Box 4			Baltimore (City of) 1968-1989
Box 4			Baltimore (City of - Mayor's Advisory Committee on Art and Culture) 1982-1995
Box 4			Baltimore Center for the Performing Arts 1976
Box 4			Baltimore City Historical Society 2002
Box 4			Baltimore Council for International Visitors 1969-1974
Box 4			Baltimore Jewish Times 1982
Box 4			Baltimore Museum of Art 1962-2002 (3 folders)
				See also Lehman, Arnold; Richardson, Brenda
Box 4			Baltimore New Directions for Women 1984
Box 4			The Baltimore Sun 1969-1980
Box 4			Banks, Eric 1981-1993, undated
Box 4			Bard College (Annandale-on-Hudson, New York) 1982-2001
Box 4			Barr, Alfred 1960
Box 4			Barrash, Lawrence and Evelyn 1969-2003, undated
Box 4			Basen, Dan 1963-1964 - includes postcard art
Box 4			Bates, Mimi 1994
Box 4			Beaman, Dorothy 1984-1997, undated
Box 4			Bear, Elmer, Barbara and Andrea 1974-1979, undated
Box 4			Beard, Robert Roane (Bobby) 1987-1993
				See also National Academy of Design (New York, New York)
Box 4			Benitez, Sylvia 1997
			Bergen, Jeffrey
				See ACA Galleries (New York, New York)
Box 4			Bergman, Dan 2001 - includes photos of his sculpture
Box 4			Bergman, Jennifer 1994 - includes reminiscences about Robert Blackburn
Box 4			Berkshire School of Contemporary Art (North Adams, Massachusetts) 1990-1994
Box 4			Berkson, Bill 1977
Box 4			Berman, Avis 1987-1997 - includes brief artist's statement from GH, "Who do you paint for?"
Box 4			Bezner, Lili Corbus 1989
Box 4			Biddle, Livingston undated
Box 4			Bigelow, Isabel 1996
Box 4			Bing, Alexander 1952-1959
Box 5			Birmingham Bloomfield Art Association (Birmingham, Alabama) 1981-1993
Box 5			Birmingham Museum of Art (Birmingham, Alabama) 1997-1998, undated
Box 5			Blackburn, Robert Hamilton 1990-1997, undated
				See also Bergman, Jennifer
Box 5			Blackthorn Galleries (Merseyside, United Kingdom) 1998
Box 5			Block, Corliss 1980-1990, most undated
Box 5			Blow, Elizabeth 1998-1999
Box 5			Blum, David 1993
Box 5			Bocour, Leonard 1959-1988
Box 5			Böhlke, Rainier 1995, 1999
Box 5			Boomhouwer, Susan 1979-1982
Box 5			Boone, Bruce 1973, undated
Box 5			Boothe, Power 1995-1996
Box 5			Bos, Sally Lindsay and John 1977-1984 (4 folders)
Box 5			Boston University (Boston, Massachusetts) 1969
Box 5			Boston Visual Artists Union 1986
Box 5			Bourne, Louise 1992-1993, undated
Box 5			Bowen, Paul 1974-1978
			Brach, Miriam (Mimi) and Paul
				See Schapiro, Miriam (Mimi) and Paul Brach
Box 5			Bradley, George 1986 - includes poem with etching by David Vereano
Box 5			Brandeis University (Waltham, Massachusetts) 1983, 1989, 2002-2003
Box 5			Brata Gallery (New York, New York) 1959
Box 5			Bratnober, Patricia 1983
Box 5			Braunstein, Terry 1967, 1968, 1979, 1988
Box 5			Breeskin, Adelyn Dohme 1967, 1976, 1986
Box 5			Brennan, Rhonda Bates 1991-1995
Box 6			Brenner, Art 1959-1960
			Brewington, Dinah Kendall
				See Kendall, Dina(h)
Box 6			Bridges, S. Powell 1975
Box 6			Bring, Murray 1986-1990
Box 6			Briseño, Rolando 1992
Box 6			British-American Arts Association 1987
Box 6			Brooklyn College (Brooklyn, New York) 1997
Box 6			Brooklyn Loft Tenants 1986
Box 6			Broward Community College (Ft. Lauderdale, Florida) 1971
Box 6			Brown, Eric 1987-2003, undated
Box 6			Brown, Helen 1992-1999, undated
Box 6			Bru, Salvador 1993, undated
Box 6			Buckwalter, Sue and Charles 1959-1962
Box 6			Budd, David 1960, 1961, 1973, 1984
Box 6			Buffington, Rachael 1996
			Buhlmann, Britta E.
				See Pfalzgalerie (Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Box 6			Bush, Martin 1993-1994
				See also ACA Galleries (New York, New York)
Box 6			Button, John 1975, 1978
Box 6			C (1 folder)
Box 6			Cage, John (avant-garde composer and philosopher) 1962, 1969
Box 6			California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Program 1974-1975
			Camillos, Angelos and Charlotte
				See [Camillos] Kouros Gallery (Baltimore, Maryland)
Box 6			Campbell, Lawrence (Larry) 1983-1991
Box 6			Caniglia, Jeremy 1994, 1995, 2003, undated
Box 6			Carleton College (Northfield, Minnesota) 1989
Box 6			Carnegie Institute 1960-1961
Box 6			Carter, Allen 1979, 1990
Box 6			Castleman, Riva 2003 - includes draft of article on Floriano Vecchi
Box 6			Cavalieri, Corliss F. (Corky) 1983-2003, undated
Box 6			CDS Gallery (New York, New York) 1988-1990
Box 6			Center for Creative Studies (College of Art and Design, Detroit, Michigan) 1999
Box 7			Chandler, Appy 1994-2003
Box 7, 7A			Chandler, Fay 1966-2004, undated (12 folders)
Box 7A			Chapman, Cheri 1979-1980
Box 7A			Chatham College (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) 1960, 1979
Box 7A			Cheltenham Art Center (Cheltenham, Pennsylvania) 1967, 1986
Box 7A			Cheon, Mina 1998-2003, undated
Box 7A			Chirimar, Nandini 1991, undated
Box 7A			Christie's 1983, 1995
Box 7A			Churchill, Barbara 1989-1993
Box 7A			Ciscle, George 1984-1993
Box 7A			City University of New York 2002
Box 7A			Claire, William 1976, undated
Box 7A			Cleveland Institute of Art (Cleveland, Ohio) 1988
Box 7A			Cleveland Museum of Art (Cleveland, Ohio) 1978-1979
Box 8			Clyde, Mary Abbot 1950-1960, undated (5 folders)
				See also Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others
Box 8			Clyde, Thomas 1957-1962
Box 8			Clyde, Toby 1959
Box 8			Coggeshall family 1972-2003, undated
Box 8			Cohen, Hallie 1972-1982
			Cohen, Murray
				See Genesis Galleries (New York, New York)
Box 8			Colby, Joy 1969-1982
Box 8			Colby, Sarah 1980, undated
Box 8			College Art Association of America 1982-1983
Box 8			College of Saint Rose (Albany, New York) 1989
Box 8			Collings, Gerald undated
Box 8			Compton, Cher 2000-2001
Box 8			Conceptual Glass Design (Baltimore, Maryland) 1983-1984
Box 8			Concordia University (Montreal) 1986-1987
Box 8			Connolly, Karl 1994, undated
Box 8			Connor, Colin 1965-1976, undated
Box 8			Contemporary Arts Museum (Houston, Texas) 1982-2000
Box 9			Cooke, George and Eleanor 1962-1964, undated
Box 9			Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art (New York, New York) 1980, 1986
Box 9			Corcoran Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.) 1960, 1975-1976, 1996-1997
Box 9			Cornell University (Ithaca, New York) 1981
Box 9			Correa, Federico 1988-2003, undated
Box 9			Corrin, Nicholas 1991, 1993
Box 9			Cotter, Jacqueline 1982
Box 9			Coulter, Vera (Mrs. Stanley) 1958
Box 9			Coyer, Max 1987-1988
Box 9			Cranbrook Academy of Art (Bloomfield Hills, Michigan) 1981-1987
Box 9			Crase, Douglas 2001
Box 9			Crow, Martha 1978-1979
Box 9			Culpepper, Winston 1974-2004, undated
Box 9			The Cummer Museum of Art and Gardens (Jacksonville, Florida) 2003
Box 9			Cunliffe, Betty 1990, 1995
Box 9			Cutter, Cynthia 1993
Box 9			D (1 folder)
Box 9			Dalsheimer, George 1990
Box 9			Damen, Jessica 1998-2003, undated - includes original watercolor
Box 9			Daniels, Edwin (Ned) 1979-1980
Box 9			Dann, Elonzo 2001-2003
Box 9			David Anderson Gallery (New York, New York) 1987
			Davis Museum and Cultural Center
				See Wellesley College Museums (Wellesley, Massachusetts)
Box 9			Davis, Jack 1976-1977
Box 9			Davis, Mary Anne and Jim 1996, undated
Box 9			Davis, Turner G. undated
Box 9			De Chassey, Eric 1990
Box 9			De Kooning, Elaine 1977-1987, undated - includes memorial notices, tribute notices, Hartigan's notes for tribute to her
			De Nagy, Tibor
				See Tibor de Nagy Gallery (New York, New York); Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others
Box 9			Dean, Charles 1998-2002
Box 9			"Dee-Dee" 1998-2001, undated
Box 9			Delaware Art Museum (Wilmington, Delaware) 1971, 1987-2003, undated
Box 9			Dennis, Emily 1955-1962, undated - includes brief essay on GH
Box 9			Detroit Institute of Arts 1968-1983
Box 9			Dickinson College (Carlisle, Pennsylvania) 1998-2003, undated - includes proof of book, Painting Art History, with chronology and GH interview, and exhibit catalog
Box 10			Dickson, Deborah 1991
Box 10			Diggory, Terence 1987-2003 - includes ms of Diggory's monograph on Frank O'Hara and GH, also catalog essay for Skidmore College exhibit (2 folders)
Box 10			Ding, Jenny (Xiaoqing) 2003 - includes photos of her work
Box 10			Diocese of Connecticut (Episcopal) 1969 - includes annulment inquiry re. GH's third husband, Robert G. Keene
Box 10			Donnelly, Judith Mazur 1967-1968, undated
Box 10			Dorsey, John 1981, 1992
Box 10			Doubleday 1991-1992
Box 10			Drew University (Madison, New Jersey) 1990-1991
Box 10			Drucker, Ruth 1983
Box 10			Duncan, Jeff 1979-1987
Box 10			Dutterer, William (Bill) 1972-2003, undated
Box 10			E (1 folder)
Box 10			Ebersole, Susan 1987-1995
Box 10			Economoz, Nancy 1965-1966, 1977, undated
Box 10			Edelson, Brenda 1989
Box 10			Edris, Anne 1987-1988
Box 10			Edward Tyler Nahem Gallery (New York, New York) 1990-1991, 2000
Box 10			Edwards, Ron 1984-1985, undated
Box 10			Effra Gallery (Charlotte Harbor, Florida) 1970-1973, undated - includes details of canvas stretching
Box 10			Elzea, Ruth Miller, Rowland and Jessica 1972-1988, undated
Box 10			Embry, Norris 1978-1979
Box 10			Emergency Cultural Government 1970
Box 10			Enyart, Mary 1971-1972
Box 10			The Equitable Trust Company 1979
			Esman, Rosa M.
				See Rosa Esman Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 10			Evangeline, Margaret 2000, 2003
Box 11			Evans, Mary Page 1981-2000, undated
Box 11			Evans, [Mary] Page (daughter of Mary Page Evans) 1993-1994
Box 11			Evans, Thomas B. Jr. (Congressman) 1979, 1997
Box 11			F (1 folder)
Box 11			Fabric Workshop (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) 1989-1990
Box 11			Fastov Galleries (Washington, D.C.) 1988 - includes photo of forged GH painting
Box 11			Father Martin's Ashley at Oakington (Aberdeen, Maryland) 1983-2000
Box 11			Federico, Salvatore 1975, 1991
Box 11			Feibes and Schmitt, Architects 1994
Box 11			Feist, Harold 1968
			Feminist Art Program
				See California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Program
Box 11			Ferrer, Rafael 1980, 2000
Box 11			Fetteray, Susan 1978-1981, undated
Box 11			Fiterman, Dolly 1983-2000
Box 11			Fitzhugh, Jane 1989, 1991, undated
Box 11			Flack, Audrey 1979, 1998
Box 11			[Richard] Florsheim Art Fund 1995, 2001
Box 11			Foard, Philip (Foard, Gisriel, O'Brien & Ward LLC) 2002
Box 11			Fogg, Richard 1986-1999, undated
Box 11			Folger, Walt and Dotty 1966-1968, undated
Box 11			Ford Foundation 1959
Box 11			Forsell, Jack 1977, undated
Box 11			Fort Wayne Museum of Art (Fort Wayne, Indiana) 1980-1981
Box 11			Fort Wright College of the Holy Names (Spokane, Washington) 1971
Box 11			Foster, Sally 1976, 1982, undated
Box 11			Foster, Stephen 1992, 1998 - includes proposal for Franz Kline retrospective
Box 11			Foundation for Contemporary Performance Arts (New York, New York) 1993, 2001
Box 11			Fouts, David 1995, undated
Box 11			Fox, Steve 1997-2001
Box 12			Frankenthaler, Helen and Motherwell, Robert 1959-2000, undated (3 folders)
				See also Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others
Box 12			Franklin Siden Gallery (Detroit, Michigan) 1967
Box 12			Frazier, Espi 1995-2001, undated
Box 12			Frost, Douglas 1969, 1977
Box 12			Frostburg State College (Frostburg, Maryland) 1968-1969, 1980
Box 12			G (1 folder)
Box 12			Galleria Minima (Milan) 1960
Box 12			Galleria Schneider (Rome) 1955
Box 12			The Gallery of Contemporary Art (Winston-Salem, North Carolina) 1970 - includes slides
Box 12			Gansz, David C.D. 1985-1992
Box 12			Garfin, Judy 1986-1997, undated
Box 12			Garman, Beverly 1968
Box 12			Garmey, Stephanie 1994-1999
Box 12			Gaugh, Harry F. 1983-1986
Box 12			Genesis Galleries (New York, New York) 1976-1980
Box 12			Georgia Museum of Art 1969, 1992
Box 12			Gerber, Robert A. 1986, 1989
Box 13			Gibbar, Jennifer 1975-1976
Box 13			Gibson, Jennifer 1972-1976
Box 13			Gilbert, Edith 1972, 1989
Box 13			Gillespie, Dorothy 1983
Box 13			Gillet, Iva 1996
Box 13			Glantzman, Sara 1975
Box 13			[Bob] Glucksman Advertising 1978
Box 13			God's Love We Deliver 1989-1999
Box 13			Goings, Ralph 1993
Box 13			Gomez Gallery (Baltimore, Maryland) 1992, 1995, 1993
Box 13			Gooch, Brad 1991, 1993
Box 13			Goucher College (Towson, Maryland) 1977-1996
Box 13			The Greenberg Gallery (St. Louis, Missouri) 1992
Box 13			Greenberg, Clement 1954
				See also Litwin, Harry
Box 13			Greene, Steve 1975-1985, undated
Box 13			Gregg, Jon 1994, 1996, 2000
Box 13			Gres Gallery (Chicago, Illinois) 1961
			Gres Gallery (Washington, D.C.)
				See Perry, Beatrice
Box 13			Grim, Patricia 1979-1992, undated
Box 13			Grimaldis Gallery (Baltimore, Maryland) 1979-2003, 2006 undated - includes sales data
Box 13			Grosman, Tatyana 1974
			Gross, Irwin M.
				See Detroit Institute of Arts (Detroit, Michigan)
Box 13			Groulx, Adele 1978-1981
				See also Guilford College (Greensboro, North Carolina)
Box 13			Gruenebaum Gallery (New York, New York) 1974-1988, undated
				See also Weissman, Julian and Karen
Box 13			Guest, Barbara 1953-1974, undated - includes original poems
Box 13			Guggenheim, Peggy 1959
Box 13			Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1957 - includes GH's application for Guggenheim fellowship
Box 13			Guggenheim Museum (New York, New York) 1980-1990
Box 13			Guild Hall Museum (East Hampton, New York) 1981-2003
Box 13			Guilford College (Greensboro, North Carolina) 1978
				See also Groulx, Adele
Box 13			Gunderson, Karen 1984-2003, undated (most)
Box 14			Guston, Philip 1962-1980, undated
Box 14			H (1 folder)
Box 14			Hall, Janice 1972
Box 14			Hall, Lee 1991-1993
Box 14			Hamburger, Sydney K. 1982-2003, undated
Box 14			Hamilton Gallery (New York, New York) 1979-1983
Box 14			Hammatt, Zoë 1992-1993
Box 14			Hankin, Ann and Michael 1991, 1993, 1999, undated
Box 14			Hansen, Waldemar 1951-1953
Box 14			Harbourt, Craig 1982-1983, undated
Box 14			Harcus Gallery (Boston, Massachusetts) 1985
Box 14			Harding, Robert 1987-1999
Box 14			Haring, Doug 1998-2001
Box 14			Harmon, Hank 1967, 1973
Box 14			Harrington, Chris 1996, 1998
Box 14			Harvey, Emily 1973, 1984
Box 14			Haussamen, Florence 1962
			Hayes, Charles
				See Hughlett, Bill
Box 14			Head, Martha 1991-1992, undated
Box 14			Health Education Resource Organization (HERO) 1986
Box 14			Heilman, Philip D. 1996
Box 14			Henley, John 1993-1994, undated
Box 14			Hickey, JoAnn 1995
				See also Johns Hopkins Hospital, charity and donations
Box 14			Hildebrandt, Bernhard 1997, 1999, undated
Box 14			Hills, Patricia 2000
Box 14			Hirshhorn Museum (Washington, D.C.) 1979-1981, 1999, undated
Box 14			Hobson, Ian 1990-1995, undated
Box 14			Hochschild-Kohn (Baltimore, Maryland) 1971-1972
Box 14			Hodges, Melinda 1978-1980
Box 14			Hoffberger, LeRoy E. 1972
Box 14			Hoffberger graduate students undated - get well cards signed by students
			Hoffberger School
				See Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA)
Box 15			Hoffman, Hans 1964-1966
Box 15			Holly Solomon Gallery (New York, New York) 1987-1989 - includes 2 letters from GH
Box 15			Holt, Elizabeth 1978, 1983
Box 15			Hook, Scott 1998-2003, undated
Box 15			Hopkins, Genya C. 1999-2001
Box 15			Horton, Rick 1984-1989, undated
			House of Brata (New York, New York)
				See Brata Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 15			Hsieh, Chase C. 1995
Box 15			Hubbard, Sandra and John 1983-1984
Box 15			Hübuer, Otto and Kirsten 1997, undated
Box 15			Hudson Hills Press 1989-2003, undated
Box 15			Hudson River Editions 1984-1991
Box 15			Hughlett, Bill 1990
Box 15			Hummel, Ralph 1989, undated
Box 15			Humphrey, Ralph 1959
Box 15			Hunter College (New York, New York) 1982-1983
Box 15			I (1 folder)
Box 15			Illinois Wesleyan University (Bloomington, Illinois) 1971-1975
Box 15			Independent Curators Inc. 1984-1986
Box 15			Institute of Contemporary Art (University of Pennsylvania) 1986
Box 15			Institute of International Education (New York, New York) 1969-1970
Box 15			International Artist's Colony (Dunedin, New Zealand) 1990
Box 15			Irving Feldman Galleries (Southfield, Michigan) 1981-1982
Box 15			Isospin Two South, Inc. (Baltimore, Maryland) 1993
Box 15			J (1 folder)
			Jackson, Martha
				See Martha Jackson Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 15			Jacobs, Phyllis 1975
Box 15			Janowich, Ron 1972
Box 15			Jeffers, Wendy 1994-2003 - includes GH's comments on Dorothy Miller
			Joan Mitchell Foundation
				See [Joan] Mitchell Foundation
Box 15			Joans, Ted 1959 - includes poem "For Grace: Lines"
Box 15			Johns Hopkins Hospital, charity and donations 1980-1996
Box 15			Johns Hopkins Hospital, medical information 1975, 1994, 1998
Box 15			Johns, Jasper 1990
Box 15			Johnson, Jamie 1983-2003, undated
Box 15			Johnson, Theresa 2000 - includes draft of GH's letter of recommendation
			Julian Weissman Fine Art
				See Weissman, Julian and Karen
Box 16			K (1 folder)
Box 16			Kamenetz, Rodger 1981 - includes poems
Box 16			Kansas City Art Institute (Kansas City, Missouri) 1979
Box 16			Kansas City Artists Coalition 1979 - includes interview with GH
Box 16			Kaputsos, Chrysanthea 1987-1988 - includes poems
Box 16			Karlen, Megan 1988, undated
Box 16			Kasle, Gertrude and Leonard 1967-1997, undated (2 folders)
Box 16			Kasle, Mercy and Leah 1976-1991
			Kast, Sheilah
				See Rosapepe, Jim and Sheilah Kast
			Keene, Robert
				See Robert Keene Gallery (Southampton, New York)
Box 16			Keller, Jeffrey 2000
Box 16			Kendall, Dina(h) 1965-1966, 1999
Box 16			Kent State University (Kent, Ohio) 1971, undated - includes GH print
Box 16			Kernan, Nathan 1995
Box 16			Kerns, Ed 1978-2003 - includes 2 original drawings by Kerns and GH's notes for letter of recommendation
Box 16			Kimler, Wesley 1994
Box 16			King-Hammond, Leslie 1993-2001, undated
Box 16			Kingsley, April 1983-1990
Box 16			Kinnecone, Mary 1996-2000
Box 16			Kinney, Ann and Gilbert undated
Box 16			Kline, Carl (nephew of Franz Kline) 1997, 1999
Box 16			Klitzke, Ted 1977, 1995, 1998
Box 16			Kootz Gallery (New York, New York) 1950
Box 16			Koplin Gallery (Santa Monica, California) 1990 - includes show announcements for various artists
Box 16			[Camillos] Kouros Gallery (Baltimore, Maryland) 1982-1992
Box 17			Kramer, Esta 1978-1992, undated
Box 17			L (1 folder)
Box 17			La Perriere, Michelle 1989-1999 - includes handmade cards, collages
Box 17			Labadie, Kevin 1980-1984
Box 17			Lafayette College (Easton, Pennsylvania) 1981-1994
Box 17			Landau, Ellen G. 1977
Box 17			Langer, Sandra L. 1980
Box 17			Lanyon, E. Jean 1979
Box 17			Lapcek, Barbara undated
				See also Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture (Skowhegan, Maine)
			Lapides, Allene
				See Allene Lapides Gallery (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
Box 17			Larrimore, Jo Ann 2002
			Lattin, Vernon
				See Brooklyn College (Brooklyn, New York)
Box 17			Lawrence Oliver Gallery (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) 1982
Box 17			Lawrence, Lisa 1977-1982
			Lazarus, Fred
				See Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) (Baltimore, Maryland)
Box 17			Le Sueur, Joseph (companion of Frank O'Hara) 1959, 1977
				See also O'Hara, Frank
Box 17			Leake, Eugene 1971-1994
			Lebish, Harriet
				See Genesis Galleries (New York, New York)
Box 17			Lehman, Arnold 1983, 1991, 1994, undated - includes letter from GH
				See also Baltimore Museum of Art
Box 17			Leslie, Alfred 1953-1960
				See also Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others; Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Photos of others
Box 17			Levy, Esther 1980-1981
			Lewis, James
				See Morgan State University (Baltimore, Maryland)
Box 17			Liberatore, Sarah A. Mattis 1994-1997
Box 17			Library of Congress 1984-1985 - includes poster for show on painting and poetry featuring GH and Frank O'Hara
Box 17			Lieberman, Elissa 2003
Box 17			Life (magazine) 1957, 1959
			Lindsay, Sally
				See Bos, Sally Lindsay and John
Box 17			Lindsley, James Eliott and Barbara 1982-1984
Box 17			Linnan, Brenda 1996, 2000, undated
Box 17			Lipman, Barbara 1987, undated
Box 17			Lisle, Laurie 1986
Box 17			Litwin, Harry 1978-1992 - includes letter from Clement Greenberg to Litwin about GH and letter from GH to Clement Greenberg about Litwin
				See also Greenberg, Clement
Box 17			"Liza, Bob, Anna and Henry" 1992, 1999, undated
Box 17			Lott, Lawrence 1982-1990
Box 17			Lovett, Didi (Mrs. Robert S.) 1972-1973
Box 17			Loyola College in Maryland 1972-1998
Box 17			Loyola Marymount University (Los Angeles, California) 1982-1984
Box 17			Lucic, Karen 1999
Box 17			Lundquist, Sara 1998 - includes essay on Hartigan/Guest collaboration
Box 17			Lurie, Sheldon 1964-1967
Box 17			Lynch, Dee 1997
Box 17			M (1 folder)
Box 18			MacDowell Colony (Peterborough, New Hampshire) 1969
Box 18			MacLeod, Glen 1987-1995 - includes mss about GH's relationship with poet Wallace Stevens
Box 18			Maddex, Alison 1993-1994, undated
Box 18			Mademoiselle (magazine) 1957-1959 - includes draft of interview
Box 18			Madoo, Bob 1981
Box 18			Maggio, John 1986-2002 - includes copy of letter from GH
Box 18			Maguire, Bob 1993-1994
Box 18			Maguire, Maura 1985-2003, undated
Box 18			Maier Museum of Art (Lynchburg, Virginia) 1959, 1991
Box 18			Majerski, Raymond 2002-2003
Box 18			Majorowitz, Roger 1990
Box 18			Mann, John (Dr.) 1995-2001
Box 18			Marchant, Shani 1982-1991, undated
Box 18			Marcus, Marcia 1957-2003?
Box 18			Marino, Louise 1966-1967, undated
				Additional material in Oversize box 1
			Mark Rothko Foundation
				See [Mark] Rothko Foundation
Box 18			Markbreiter, Shari and Michael 2000-2001, undated
Box 18			Marks, Claude 1978-1979 - includes GH's notes for autobiographical sketch
Box 18			Marquand Books (Seattle, Washington) 1994
Box 18			Martha Jackson Gallery (New York, New York) 1959-1973, undated - includes GH's notes on Martha for memorial service as well as dated documentation of a curious incident in which Ray Williams, an alleged mafioso, tried to sell some stolen GH paintings back to the gallery (2 folders)
Box 18			Maryland Art Place 1983-1984
Box 18			Maryland Historical Society 1975, 1992
Box 18			Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) 1966-2003, undated - includes GH's letters to Fred Lazarus (director) and draft of MICA/Hoffberger description for website (4 folders)
				See also Meyerhoff, Jane and Robert
Box 19			Maryland State Department of Education 1988
Box 19			Massachusetts Institute of Technology 2002
Box 19			Matisse, Pierre (son of Henri Matisse) 1971
Box 19			Matter, Mercedes 1956, 1973, undated
Box 19			Mattison, Robert Saltonstall 1983-2001, undated - includes extensive draft material for Mattison's book on GH (4 folders)
				See also Hudson Hills Press; for typescript of diary entries from "Living for Art" see Writiings : Living for Art
Box 19			Mattison, Carolyn (Mrs. Norman D.) 1990-1994, undated
Box 19			Maynes, Bill 1990 - includes letter from GH
Box 19			McAlee, Samée 1990, 1995, undated
Box 19			McCarthy, David 1996
Box 19			McGinnis, Lucille 1957
Box 19			McGuinness, Daniel 1997 - includes copy of notes for lecture on GH and Frank O'Hara
Box 19			McIntyre, David 1983, 1992
Box 19			McNay Art Museum (San Antonio, Texas) 1976, 1988-1989
Box 19			McNeil, George 1990-1994
			Mead Art Museum
				See Amherst College (Mead Art Musem) (Amherst, Massachusetts)
Box 19			Meagher, David 1982-1983, 1988, 1998
Box 19			Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, New York) 1983-1991
Box 20			Meyerhoff, Jane and Robert 1962, 1964, 1971, 1972, 1990, 1995, 2002, undated
				See also Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA)
Box 20			Meyerhoff, Marilyn 1981
Box 20			Meyers, Doris 1972-1973
Box 20			Meyerson, Ronnie 1990
Box 20			Meza, Rosemary 1995-1998, undated
Box 20			Michael Rosenfeld Gallery (New York, New York) 2001
Box 20			Michener, James A. 1964
Box 20			[James A.] Michener Arts Center (Doylestown, Pennsylvania) 1988-1989
Box 20			Michigan State University 2002-2003
Box 20			Michigan Water Color Society 1973-1984
Box 20			Midwood (Germantown, New York) 1999
Box 20			Mikolowski, Ken and Ann 1974-1976
Box 20			Mikulski, Barbara (Senator) 1978, 1992
Box 20			Millburn High School (Millburn, New Jersey) 1962
Box 20			Miller, Dorothy 1976-1979
				See also Jeffers, Wendy
Box 20			Miller, Richard 1954, undated
				See also Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others
			Miller, Robert
				See Robert Miller Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 20			Miller, Trace 1986-1999, undated
Box 20			Ming, Wendy 1971-1973, undated
Box 20			Minter, Lew 1974, 1978, 1982
Box 20			Mitchell, Joan 1958, undated
				See also Robert Miller Gallery (New York, New York); Somers, John and Marion
Box 20			[Joan] Mitchell Foundation 1994-2003 - includes meeting minutes, press releases, publicity (GH served on Board of Directors)
Box 20			Mogavero, Michael 1976, 1993, undated
Box 20			Mondale, Walter F. 1971, undated
Box 20			Moody, Vearl Gil and Linda 1984-1992
Box 20			Moore College of Art (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) 1969
Box 20			Moore, Elizabeth 1995
Box 20			Morgan State University (Baltimore, Maryland) 1990
Box 20			Morishita, Ryozo 1975-2003
Box 20			Morris, Carol 1972, 1989
Box 20			Morris, Kate 1989-2000
Box 20			Mosely, Quentin 1971-1972, undated
			Moss, Tobey C.
				See Tobey C. Moss Gallery (Los Angeles, California)
			Motherwell, Robert
				See Frankenthaler, Helen and Motherwell, Robert
Box 20			Mozley, Anita Ventura 1992-1994, undated
Box 21			Muhlbauer, Micki 1988-1993
Box 21			Muhlert, Chris and Jan 1979-1980
Box 21			Mullarkey, Maureen 1987
Box 21			Mullin, Diane 1993 - includes dissertation prospectus
Box 21			Munro, Eleanor 1997, undated
Box 21			Munson-Williams-Proctor Institute (Utica, New York) 1974
Box 21			Museum and Arts Magazine 1990
Box 21			Museum of Contemporary Art (Los Angeles, California) 1992-1993, 1998
Box 21			Museum of Fine Arts (Boston, Massachusetts) 1984
Box 21			Museum of Modern Art (New York, New York) 1953-1999
Box 21			Myers, John Bernard 1952-1962, 1981-1983, 1987 - includes GH's notes for memorial service
				See also Tibor de Nagy Gallery (New York, New York); Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others
Box 21			N (1 folder)
Box 21			Nahas, Dominique 2001-2003
			Nahem, Edward Tyler
				See Edward Tyler Nahem Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 21			Nason, Thelma 1975
Box 21			National Academy of Design (New York, New York) 1976-1988
Box 21			National Art Education Association 1994
Box 21			National Association of Women Artists 1986
Box 21			National Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.) 1992-2001, undated
Box 21			National Gallery of Canada (Ottawa) 1990
			National Museum of American Art
				See Smithsonian Museum (Washington, D.C.)
Box 21			National Museum of Women in the Arts (Washington, D.C.) 1990-2002
Box 21			National Organization for Women 1975, 1981
Box 21			Neill, Christine 1973-2001, undated
Box 21			Nemser, Cindy 1969-1974, 1990, 1996, undated
Box 21			Neuberger Museum (Purchase, New York) 1989-2003 - includes letter from GH, copies of reviews of 2001 show
Box 22			New York Central Art Supply Co. 1974-1990
Box 22			New York State 1980, 1993, 2000
Box 22			New York State Art Teachers Association 1985-1986
Box 22			New York University (New York, New York) 1972, 1984
Box 22			The New Yorker 1991
Box 22			Newport Harbor Art Museum (Newport Beach, California) 1983-1990
Box 22			Newsweek 1959
Box 22			North Carolina Museum of Art 1985-1986
Box 22			Northern Virginia Community College (Alexandria, Virginia) 1975
Box 22			O (1 folder)
Box 22			Obel, Karen 1987-1988 - includes essay on GH
Box 22			O'Connor, Francis V. 1970-1975 - includes dissertation outline
Box 22			O'Donnell, Petey 1990-1992
Box 22			O'Hara, Frank 1954-1983
				See also Le Sueur, Joseph; Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others; Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Photos of others
Box 22			Oklahoma City Museum 1969, 2002-2003
Box 22			Ollendorf Fine Arts (Long Island City, New York) 1975
Box 22			O'Neil, Martin 1999-2001
Box 22			Ordeman, John 1970-1989
				See also St. Paul's Parish (Baltimore, Maryland)
Box 22			Organization of Independent Artists 1992
Box 22			Osaka International Festival Society 1958
Box 22			Ostergaard, Gail 1994-1998, undated
Box 22			P (1 folder)
Box 22			The Painter's Guild 1987
Box 22			Pajak, Elizabeth (Betty) 1981-1993
Box 22			[Herbert B.] Palmer and Company (art dealer and collector, Los Angeles, California) 1982
Box 22			Palyjcuk, Wasyl 1990
Box 22			Pan, Yihang 1989-1998 - includes hand-colored kiri-e piece (Japanese cut-paper work)
Box 22			Parlato, John 1978
Box 22			The Parrish Art Museum (Southampton, New York) 1998-2001
Box 22			Pavia, Philip 1987, 1998, 2003
Box 22			Pearson, Steve and Alicia 1996-1998, undated
Box 22			Pease, Roland 1959-1964, undated
Box 22			Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) 1968, 1970, 1986-1990, undated
Box 22			Pensacola Museum of Art (Pensacola, Florida) 2003
Box 22			Perloff, Marjorie 1975-1978 - material regarding a book she was writing on Frank O'Hara
Box 23			Perry, Beatrice 1959-2000 (5 folders)
Box 23			Perry, Hart Jr. 1967-2003
Box 23			Pew, Elaine 1996-1999, undated
Box 23			Pfalzgalerie (Kaiserslautern, Germany) 1999-2000
Box 23			Philadelphia College of Art 1982-1983
Box 23			Philadelphia Museum of Art 1989
Box 23			Phillips, Gerry 1985-1986, undated
Box 23			Phillips, Paula 1995-1998, undated
Box 23			Pierce, Constance (Connie) 1976-1992
Box 23			Pipkin, Suzanne 1976, 1979-1980
Box 23			Plansky, Carl 1992-2000, undated
Box 23			Polinske, Kenneth (Kenny) 1986-1987, undated
Box 23			Ponselle, Rosa 1981-1982, 2000
Box 23			Porter, Fairfield 1954
Box 23			Portland Museum of Art (Portland, Maine) 1997-1999 - includes letter from GH to director Daniel O'Leary
Box 23			Portland School of Art (Portland, Maine) 1991
Box 23			Poston, Lewis 1993-1995
Box 23			Price, Barbara undated
Box 23			Prioleau, Betsy 1999-2003, undated
Box 23			Project Rebuild (Udine, Italy) 1976
Box 23			Queens Museum of Art 1997, 1999
Box 23			Quisgard, Liz 1989
Box 24			R (1 folder)
Box 24			Rabin, Ed 1991, 1999
Box 24			Rabkin, Leo and Dorothy 1958
Box 24			Raimondi, John 1984-1997, undated
Box 24			Rakusin, Sadie 1975
Box 24			Rand, Archie and Maria 1988-2003, undated - includes GH on "power" and "women artists' drawings"
			Randolph-Macon Women's College
				See Maier Museum of Art (Lynchburg, Virginia)
Box 24			Random House 1983
Box 24			Rango, Jo 1980-1999, undated
Box 24			Ratcliff, Carter 1992-1995
Box 24			Ratliff, Floyd 1992
Box 24			Redmond, Catherine 1988-1989
Box 24			Reed College (Portland, Oregon) 1969, undated
Box 24			The Reporter (New York, New York) 1959
Box 24			Republican Senatorial Inner Circle 2001 - includes GH comment on George W. Bush
Box 24			Reuter, Barbara 1973-1974 - includes some biographical notes
Box 24			Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) (Providence, RI) 1972-1976, 2002-2003
Box 24			Richardson, Brenda 1990, 1997, 1999
				See also Baltimore Museum of Art
Box 24			Riley, Lee and Helen 1983-2003, undated - includes letter from GH
Box 24			Ringling Museum of Art (Sarasota, Florida) 1997
Box 24			Ritchell, Ann 1970, 1974
Box 24			Rivers, Larry 1953-1955, 1957 - includes Rivers' statement about his artistic approach
Box 24			Robert Keene Gallery (Southampton, New York) 1959
Box 24			Robert Miller Gallery (New York, New York) 1959, 2003
Box 24			Rockefeller, David 1972 - material re. "Salute to Charlie Chaplin"
Box 24			Rockefeller, Nelson 1975
Box 24			Rockville Arts Place (Rockville, Maryland) 1992-1993
Box 24			Rogoff, Jay 1988, 1993, 1996
Box 24			Rolfes, Sidney and Maria 1959, undated
Box 24			Roll-preissler, Audrey 1996
Box 24			Rood, Beverly 1998-1999
Box 24			Rosa Esman Gallery (New York, New York) 1981-1982
Box 24			Rosapepe, Jim and Sheilah Kast 2001
Box 24			Rosemont College (Rosemont, Pennsylvania) 1997-1998
Box 24			Rosenberg, Harold 1966, 1973, 1975
			Rosenfeld, Michael
				See Michael Rosenfeld Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 24			Rosenthal Art Slides 1976
Box 24			[Mark] Rothko Foundation 1971
			Rothman, Sidney
				See Sidney Rothman Gallery (Barnegat Light, New Jersey)
Box 24			Rutgers University (Camden, New Jersey) 1982-1997
Box 24			Ryan, Deborah 1997-1999
Box 24			Ryerson, Charles 1984, 1999
Box 25			S (2 folders)
Box 25			Sachs Gallery (New York, New York) 1976
Box 25			Sachs, Sid 1995
Box 25			St. James Press (London, United Kingdom) 1975, 1982
Box 25			St. Louis Art Museum (St. Louis, Missouri) 1974, 1984
Box 25			St. Paul's Parish (Baltimore, Maryland) 1970 see also , 1980, 1989
				See Beaman, Dorothy; Ordeman, John
Box 25			St. Paul's School (Brooklinville, Maryland) 1970, 1975
Box 25			Salant, Walter and Edna 1962, 1964, 1987
Box 25			Saler, Karen 1965-1968
				Additional material in Oversize box 1
Box 25			Salt, John, Jean, Thomas and Katy 1972-2004, undated
Box 25			San Francisco Museum of Modern Art 1989
Box 25			Sandler, Irving 1977-1998, undated
Box 25			Santa Fe Institute of Fine Arts (Santa Fe, New Mexico) 1984
Box 25			Santa Rosa Junior College (Santa Rosa, California) 1977, 1982
Box 25			Santiago, Richard and Maria 1996-1997, undated
Box 25			Sarah Campbell Blaffer Foundation 1978
Box 25			Sawyer, Kenneth 1957, 1960
Box 25			Schapiro, Miriam (Mimi) and Paul Brach 1954, 1957, 1980-1985, undated
				See also Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others
Box 25			Schimmel, Yvonne 1988
Box 25			Schneebaum, Tobias 1988-2001
Box 25			Schneidt, May 1977
Box 25			Scholastic Art & Writing Awards 1992-1993
Box 25			Schrade, Art 1999-2000, undated - includes letter from GH
Box 25			Schutzenhofer, Josef 1987, 1988, undated
Box 25			Schuyler, James 1956, 1995, 1997
Box 25			Schwarz, Joanna 2000-2001, undated
Box 25			Schweitzer, Albert (artist) 1994-2001 - includes letter from GH, many handmade cards
Box 26			Scott, Ce 1997, undated
Box 26			Scott, Sam 1972-2001, undated
Box 26			Segal, George 1977
Box 26			Seldin, Jeff 1974?-1977, undated
Box 26			Seraphin Gallery (Philadephia, Pennsylvania) 2003
Box 26			Shamsky, Constance 1971-1972
Box 26			Shapiro, Babe 1995, undated
			Shapolsky, Anita
				See Anita Shapolsky Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 26			Sherman, Peter and Winifred 1993-2001
Box 26			Shiflett, Drew 1979, 1981, 1990
Box 26			Shore, Tony 1997
			Siden, Franklin
				See Franklin Siden Gallery (Detroit, Michigan)
Box 26			Sidney Rothman Gallery (Barnegat Light, New Jersey) 1978
Box 26			Silva, Eliseo Art 2001-2003
Box 26			Silver, Carole (sister-in-law of Walter Silver) 1998-2001
Box 26			Silver, Jonathan and Barbara 1992, undated - includes GH notes for tribute
Box 26			Silver, Walter 1952-1994
				See also Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Photos of others
Box 26			Simpson, Alan K. (Senator) 1992
Box 26			Skidmore College (Saratoga Springs, New York) 1970, 1984, 1993, 2000-2001
Box 26			Skold, Stacey 1994-1996
Box 26			Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture (Skowhegan, Maine) 1977-1995
Box 26			Slivka, David 1995
Box 26			Smith, Alexander 1977-1979 - includes Frank O'Hara material ("Oranges" and "Meditation in an Emergency")
Box 26			Smith, Arvie 1999, undated - includes letter of recommendation from GH
Box 26			Smith, David 1959, undated
Box 26			Smith, Hazel 1986-1987
Box 26			Smithsonian Museum (Washington, D.C.) 1971-2000
Box 26			Soby, James Thrall 1955-1962
Box 26			Solomon & Co. 1984
			Solomon, Holly
				See Holly Solomon Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 26			Somers, John and Marion 1976-2001
Box 26			Sotheby's 1981
Box 26			Southern Illinois University (Edwardsville, Illinois) 1969-1970, 1985
Box 26			Sparks, Esther 1984, 1990, 1991
Box 26			Sparks, John 1984
Box 26			Spaventa, George ca. 1968
Box 26			Springbok Editions, Inc. (New York, New York) 1969-1971
Box 26			Stam, Gera 1996
Box 26			Stanton, Frank 1965
Box 26			State University of New York College at Plattsburgh 1977-1980
Box 26			State University of New York College at Purchase 1981-1989
Box 26			States (Taylor), Sarah 1978-1984, undated
Box 26			Stefanelli, Joe 1977-1978
Box 27			Steinbaum Krauss Gallery (New York, New York) 1996
Box 27			Stephan, Gary 1994 - includes GH letter of recommendation
Box 27			Stevens, May 1993, 2001
Box 27			Stevens, Rex, Regina and Ryan 1986-2003, undated - Rex Stevens was GH's studio assistant; includes GH letter of recommendation (3 folders)
Box 27			Stewart, Bill 1975-1977
Box 27			Stiles, George 1959
Box 27			Still, Patricia 1980, 1990-1991 - includes 2 letters from GH
Box 27			Stolz, Joan 1984-1990, undated
Box 27			Straughan, Carolyn 1976
Box 27			Stroffolino, Chris 1988, 1997, 1999
			Stroud, Marion Boulton ("Kippy")
				See Fabric Workshop (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
Box 27			Style (magazine) 1996, 2002 - includes letter from GH
Box 27			Succhitani, Sandra and John 1983-1985
Box 27			Sugatt, Mary 1985
			Sujo, Clara Diament
				See CDS Gallery (New York, New York)
Box 27			Sullivan, Mark 1988 - includes GH letter of recommendation
Box 27			Susquehanna Art Museum (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania) 1999-2000, undated - includes letter from GH and interview with GH
Box 27			Swatch Co. 1994 - includes letter from GH
Box 27			Sweet Briar College (Sweet Briar, Virginia) 1991, 2001
Box 27			Syracuse University (Syracuse, New York) 1968-1969, 1974, 1998
Box 27			T (1 folder)
Box 28			Tabak, Maynatalie (Mrs. Harold Rosenberg) 1958-1979 - includes original Steinberg drawing inscribed to her (2 folders)
Box 28			Tafel, Edgar 1975, undated
Box 28			Tarsell, Emily 1979, undated
Box 28			Taylor, Patrick 1982 - includes transcript of interview with GH
Box 28			Tellez, Emily 1998-2002 - includes handmade cards
Box 28			Tiber Press undated
Box 28			Tibor de Nagy Gallery (New York, New York) 1954, 1959-1960, 1970, 1980, 1990, 1994, 2000 - includes 2 GH tributes to TdN
				See also Myers, John Bernard
Box 28			Tillim, Sidney 1969-1970
Box 28			Tobey C. Moss Gallery (Los Angeles, California) 1999
			Toninelli, Romeo
				See Galleria Minima (Milan)
Box 28			Towson State University (Towson, Maryland) 1982-1983
Box 28			Trefuy, Frank 1974, 1976
Box 28			Tumulty, Philip 1973-1989
			Udine, Italy
				See Project Rebuild (Udine, Italy)
Box 28			Uhl, Barbara 1974, undated
Box 28			UNICEF 1991
Box 28			United States Information Agency 1971
Box 28			Universal Limited Art Editions 1984-1985
				See also Art Institute of Chicago; Grosman, Tatyana
Box 28			University of Arizona 1982
Box 28			University of Chicago 1996
Box 28			University of Colorado at Boulder 1980
Box 28			University of Connecticut at Storrs 1982
Box 28			University of Delaware 1974, 1981
Box 28			University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 1971
Box 28			University of Iowa 1979
Box 28			University of Kansas 1973, 1976, 1994
Box 28			University of Maryland, College Park 1979-1999, 2001
Box 28			University of Maryland (Baltimore County) 1995-1996
Box 28			University of Massachusetts (Amherst campus) 1976, 1997
Box 28			University of Michigan 1992
Box 28			University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) 1963, 1983
Box 28			University of Minnesota (Duluth) 1977
Box 28			University of New Mexico 1973-1995
Box 28			University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 1982
Box 28			University of North Carolina (Greensboro) 1994-1995
Box 28			University of Rhode Island 1994
Box 28			University of Texas at Austin 1969-1986
Box 28			University of Washington 1970
Box 28			University of Wisconsin 1997
Box 28			University Publications of America 1984-1985
Box 28			Upin, Ira 1974, 1978, 1986, 1993, 1996
Box 28			V (1 folder)
Box 28			Van Ameringe, Judyth 1985-1989
Box 28			Van Campen, Jerry 1975-1976
Box 28			Van Devanter, Ann C. 1973
Box 28			Vanity Fair 1993
Box 28			Vecchi, Floriano 1989-1994, undated
				See also Castleman, Riva; Memorabilia: Photographs: Personal photographs: Grace Hartigan with others
			Vereano, David
				See Bradley, George
Box 29			Vermont Studio Center (Johnson, Vermont) 1986-1998
Box 29			Virginia Commonwealth University (Richmond, Virginia) 1973-1989
Box 29			Virginia and Henry
Box 29			Virginia Museum of Fine Art (Richmond, Virginia) 1969
Box 29			Virginia Polytechnic Institute (Blacksburg, Virginia) 1970-1977
Box 29			Visual Artists and Galleries Association 1979
Box 29			Vivar, Monica 1998
Box 29			Voell, ? (Dr.) 1980
Box 29			W (1 folder)
Box 29			Walker, Walter ("Skip"), Zoe and Brianna 1995-2001, undated - includes handmade cards, GH letters
Box 29			Wallace, Pam 1978-1985
Box 29			Wallace, Weldon 1983
Box 29			Wanzung, Carl 1976, undated
Box 29			Washington University (St. Louis, Missouri) 1979-1980
Box 29			Washington Women's Art Center (Washington, D.C.) 1979
Box 29			Waters, John undated
Box 29			Weinberg and Green 1987
Box 29			Weiner, Laura and Leslie 1980-2003
Box 29			Weissman, David 1996-2000 - includes student papers
Box 29			Weissman, Julian and Karen 1983-2003, undated - includes comments on Martin Bush
				See also ACA Galleries (New York, New York)
Box 29			Wellesley College Museums (Wellesley, Massachusetts) 1992-1998
Box 29			Westchester County Times (New Milford, Connecticut) undated
Box 29			Wexner Center for the Arts (Columbus, Ohio) 1999-2000
Box 29			Whirlwind and Company (Women's Museum, New York) 2000
Box 29			The White House 1982
Box 30			Whitney Museum of American Art (New York, New York) 1952-2000 (2 folders)
Box 30			Wichita Art Museum (Wichita, Kansas) 1996, 1999
Box 30			Wichita State University (Wichita, Kansas) 1992
Box 30			Widdows, Bruce 1992-1994
Box 30			Wiener, Phyllis Ames 1983
Box 30			Wilcox, Darrell 1997-1998, undated
Box 30			Williams, Betty 1979-2001
Box 30			Wilson, Debra 1999-2001
Box 30			Wires, Susan undated
Box 30			Withers, Josephine 1978-1981, undated - includes many photos from filming of documentary on GH
Box 30			Wittels, Dan 1979-1983
Box 30			Wodzianski, Andrew 2000-2003
Box 30			Woelffer, Emerson 1992
Box 30			Woffard, Philip 1988
Box 30			Wolman, Elsa 1981 - includes handmade necktie
Box 30			Women's Art Registry of Minnesota (Minneapolis, Minnesota) 1983
Box 30			Women's Caucus for Art 1986-1987, 1995, undated
Box 30			Woodmere Art Museum (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) 1994, 1999
Box 30			Woodward Foundation 1964
Box 30			Worcester Art Museum (Worcester, Massachusetts) 1984-2001
Box 30			Wun, Clifford 1994, undated
Box 30			Xenakis, Tom 1998-2003
Box 30			Y (1 folder)
Box 30			Yaddo (Saratoga Springs, New York) 1951
Box 30			Yale University (New Haven, Connecticut) 1987
Box 30			"Yoryi" 1977-1993, undated - includes three letters from GH
Box 30			Young, Charles 1998
Box 30			Yunkers, Adja 1975
Box 30			Z (1 folder)
Box 30			Zeller (Patricks), Ruth undated
Box 30			Zierler, William 1970-1981
		Unidentified
Box 31			A-L
Box 31			M-Z
Box 31			Unidentified

	Writings
Box 31		Addresses and remarks 1990, 1995, undated
		Autobiographical material
Box 31			Excerpts from correspondence-subject files (2 folders)
Box 31			Journal excerpts
Box 31			Prepared for publication
Box 32		Journals 1951-1955 - includes transcript of 1954 journal (7 folders)
Box 32		"Living for Art: The New York Art Scene in the 'Fifties: The diaries of Grace Hartigan and Photographs of Walter Silver" typescript 1951-1955 - contains GH's diary entries only; there are none of Silver's photographs and although the cover sheet says "introduction by Robert Mattison" that too is not present
			For additional Robert Mattison material, see also General correspondence-subject files : Mattison, Robert Saltonstall
Box 32		Miscellaneous - fragments, poem, photocopy of inscribed photograph

	Memorabilia
Box 32		Biographical Material
Box 32		Calendar (extensively annotated) 1950
Box 32		Financial
Box 32		Medical
Box 32		Painting lists
Box 32		PBS special, "American Masters: Jackson Pollock" - inclues interview with Grace Hartigan (1 VHS cassette) (ID#: hartigan_001)
		Photographs
			Art photographs
Box 39				Works by Grace Hartigan 1950-1989, undated
					Additional material in Oversize box 1
Box 40				Studio Shots 1944-1969, undated
					Additional material in Oversize box 1
Box 41				Multiple works by Grace Hartigan undated
					Additional material in Oversize box 1
Box 41				Works by others (de Kooning, unknown)
Box 41				Miscellaneous 1959, 1997, 1999, undated
Box 33			Negatives and transparencies
				Walter Silver negatives "Anatomy of Calvert Street" 1969 Art History Lecture "Fire and Water" 1969 "Great Queens Series" Unidentified 1969
			Personal photographs
Box 42				Grace Hartigan 1942-1959, 1987, 1989, 1993, undated
					Additional material in Oversize box 1
Box 43				Grace Hartigan with others 1942-1959, undated
					Additional material in Oversize box 1
Box 43				Photos of others 1945-1980, undated
					Additional material in Oversize box 1
Oversize 1			Scrapbook 1965 - inscription on last page reads, "K. Saler and L. Marino Christmas 1965"
Box 32			Miscellany
		Printed material
Box 34			Articles 1950-2003, undated (6 folders)
			Clippings
Box 35				Clippings 1950-1985 (7 folders)
Box 36				Clippings 1986-2002, undated (6 folders)
Box 36			Discussion panel programs 1955, undated (1950s)
			Exhibition catalogs
Box 36				Solo shows 1951-2006 (5 folders)
Box 37				Group shows 1950-2003 (6 folders)
Box 37				Other artists
Box 38			Theater and concert programs
Box 38			Travel related

Return to top