Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Eloise Heaton Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Heaton, Eloise K.
Title: Eloise Heaton Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1889-1974
Quantity: 7.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Academic records, correspondence, printed material, and writings of the American musician, teacher and composer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Eloise Klotz Heaton (born 1909) was an American organist, pianist, teacher, writer, and composer from Baldwinsville, NY. Eloise Heaton was an American composer and poet. She was an alumna of Syracuse University (class of 1937), where the Eloise K. Heaton Fellowship in Music Composition & Theory is named for her.

Heaton received her Bachelor's in Music from Syracuse University (Syracuse, NY) in 1933 and a Master of Arts in 1960. She also attended summer programs at the NY State College for Teachers, New England Conservatory of Music, the Royal Conservatory of Music, University of Toronto, and the Boston University School of Education.

Heaton taught at Peterboro Union School in Peterboro, NY (1936-1938), Syracuse Public Schools (1944-1947 and 1953-1954), Itawmba Junior College in Fulton, MS (1950) and private studios in and around Syracuse, NY (1933-1950). She also worked at the John Worley Music Co. in Boston, MA (1948), served as a piano instructor to Syracuse public school students (1955-1956), and appeared in the 1954 edition of "Who's Who in Music". She also composed chamber, vocal, and sacred music, an operetta, and teaching pieces.

Heaton was a member of the Society for the Publication of American Music; Music Teachers National Association; Composers, Authors, Artists of America; the Syracuse Museum of Fine Arts (now known as the Everson Museum); and the Poetry Society of Virginia.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eloise Heaton Papers consist of academic records, correspondence-subject files, printed material, and writings.

Academic records consist of Heaton's high school, undergraduate, and graduate school transcripts as well as resumes and job-search correspondence.

Correspondence-subject files includes correspondence from faculty and students when she became a teacher in Mississippi, service men in 1943, and wedding and birthday announcements as well as letters and information about organizations including the American Society for Aesthetics, International Piano Teachers Association, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and others.

Printed material includes clippings, which Heaton sorted by topic, such as art, archeology, drama, mosaics, etc.; publications from the Syracuse Fine Arts Museum (now the Everson), music books which Heaton used for teaching students, and more.

Writings contains Heaton's class notes, musical compositions, poetry, and exams/term papers, including her first attempt at her master's thesis.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by series. Wherever possible, Heaton's original labeling has been retained.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A publication by Eloise Heaton entitled "Henry Purmont Eames: Educator, Critic, Musician" can be found in the Subject Files series of the William C. Fleming Papers at the Syracuse University Archives.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Berwald, W. (William), 1864-1948.
Findlay, Francis M., 1894-1967.
Fleming, William C.
Heaton, Eloise K.
Lewis, Harold Merrills, 1908-
Podolsky, Leo, 1891-1987.
Porter, Quincy, 1897-1966.
Veinus, Abraham.

Subjects

Church music.
Composers -- United States.
Composition (Music)
Music -- 20th century.
Music -- Instruction and study.
Music teachers.
Secular music.
Sight-reading (Music)
Women composers.
Women music teachers.

Genres and Forms

Birth announcements.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Concert programs.
Correspondence.
Examinations (documents)
Hymns.
Lecture notes.
Music books.
Newsletters.
Notes (documents)
Scores (documents for music)
Sheet music.
Term papers.
Transcripts.
Wedding announcements.

Occupations

Composers.
Music teachers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eloise Heaton Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Music Library, 1985-1986.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Arlien Ricciardi
Date: April 19, 2022
Revision history: 24 Apr 2022 - collection processed (AR); 29 Sep 2022 - updated FA (RMH)

Return to top

Inventory

Academic records
Box 1 Arts, Masters 1958 (3 folders)
Box 1 Transcripts 1929-1933, 1942-1949, 1957-1960
Correspondence - Subject files
Box 2 American Musicological Society 1964-1965, 1969-1970, undated (2 folders)
Box 2 America Society for Aesthetics 1960-1961, undated
Box 2 Guggenheim and other awards 1946, undated
Box 2 House expend, furnishings 1960, undated
Box 2 International Correspondence School undated
Box 2 International Piano Teachers Association 1950-1958 (2 folders)
Box 2 Letters from Chappells, Cole, etc. and Boys in service letters to me 1943, undated
Box 2 Letters from MS faculty and students 1954-1958, 1961-1963, undated
Box 2 Letters received 1954-1955, undated
Box 2 Metropolitan Museum of Art 1961-1962, undated
Box 2 Metropolitan Opera 1961-1962, undated
Box 2 Music Educators National Conference and NYSSNA 1960, undated
Box 2 Podolsky, Leo 1955, 1961-1962, undated
Box 3 Podolsky, Leo 1961-1962, undated
Box 3 Southern Teachers Agency 1942, 1945, 1948-1962, undated (7 folders)
Box 3 Upjohn, R. 1932, undated
Box 3 Syracuse University 1957-1959, undated (2 folders)
Box 3 Waldorf Astoria Hotel 1959
Box 3 Weddings and announcements 1953, undated
Box 4 Weddings and announcements 1935, 1944, 1953-1955, 1958-1959, undated (3 folders)
Box 3 Who's Who in Music 1956-1958, undated
Printed material
Box 4 170th Commencement at Syracuse University 1961
Clippings
Box 4 Antiques: boutiques, lectures, and shows 1960-1961
Box 4 Art 1951, 1960, undated
Box 4 Archeology 1961, undated
Box 4 Architects 1961, undated
Box 4 Compose songs 1920, undated
Box 4 Critics, Syracuse 1946-1948, undated
Box 4 Drama undated
Box 4 Futurism art and architecture 1961, undated
Box 4 Loose clippings 1963-1964
Box 4 Mosaics undated
Box 4 Newspaper clippings 1933, 1947-1948, 1951-1960, undated
Box 4 Shaman, Jeffrey M. clippings from letters recv'd folder 1954
Box 4 Sight reading by Carter and others 1934-1944, undated
Box 4 Syracuse Cultural Center 1961, undated
Box 4 Everson Museum 1957
Box 5 Everson Museum 1958-1961
Box 5 Music books 1917, 1920, 1928, 1933, 1939, 1942-1943, 1947-1948, 1951, 1954-1955, 1961-1962 (6 folders)
Oversize 1 Music books 1899, 1902-1904, 1915 - includes folder titled by Heaton "Mandolin music," multiple Carl Fischer Progressive Orchestra Editions, and English ballad "There is a Garden"
Box 5 Music festivals 1961
Box 5 New York State museums undated
Box 5 Songs - H.S. 1889, 1910, 1924, 1927, 1933-1935, 1942, undated
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1961, 1968, 1974, undated
Writings
Box 5 Academic regalia 1949-1950, 1959, undated - notes
Class notes
Box 5 Baroque Era 1958-1959
Box 6 Baroque Era 1958-1959
Box 6 Berwald, William, Dr. 1944, 1947, undated (3 folders)
Oversize 1 Berwald, William, Dr. 1924-1925, undated
Box 6 BK reviews undated (2 folders)
Box 6 Findlay [Methods] 1945
Box 6 Form and Comp [Lewis, H. Merrills] 1948-1949 (3 folders)
Oversize 1 Form and Comp [Lewis, H. Merrills] 1948-1949 - intact binder of class notes
Box 7 Interpretation of Standard Song Literature [Dean Butler] 1943-1944 (2 folders)
Box 7 Porter, Q. [director of the Northeastern Conservatory of Music in Boston] 1944-1945 (3 folders)
Box 7 Private pupils day schedule undated
Box 7 Viennese Classical 1957-1958 (3 folders)
Box 8 Miscellaneous undated (2 folders)
Box 8 [College choruses] undated
Box 8 Compositions (musical) 1929-1930, 1944, 1948-1950, 1953-1954, 1957-1958, 1961-1965, 1971-1972, undated (6 folders)
Oversize 2 Compositions (musical) 1933, 1940-1944, 1948 undated (2 folders)
Box 8 Exams/term papers 1943-1944, 1958-1959 (2 folders)
Box 9 Exams/term papers 1959-1960 (7 folders)
Box 9 Gardens 1940, 1961, undated
Box 9 Poetry undated
Box 9 Miscellaneous undated

Return to top